Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Arsenal, with a couple of additions could be quite the team and one to worry about next season.
    Utd need a lot more I think, and I think they will make a good few signings this summer. But there will be a gelling period required for such an overhaul.

Wouldn't be worried about them at all.

They need a few transfer windows to a good defence & midfield.

Man Utd have money so will improve & sign some good players eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Arsenal, with a couple of additions could be quite the team and one to worry about next season.
    Utd need a lot more I think, and I think they will make a good few signings this summer. But there will be a gelling period required for such an overhaul.

United is an odd one they seem to need loads of player's RB,CB,MF,RW, replacement for Herrea and there is still talk of De Gea, Lakaku and Pogba leaving,

They have been really poor in the market so losing them 3 and having to add replacements to there already long list of positons that need filling is far from ideal ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Tbh I can see everton finish above utd and Chelsea if they bring in lampard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

yea lads must make a fortune in the bookies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    I'd take that wager.

We were shocking under Mourinho and end of season. Simply won't be as poor as that again.

That was said after Mourinho left and a few months later performances were arguably worse.

Which is the correct form and level for that squad, the purple patch after Ole joined, or the periods sandwiching it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

shamrock55 wrote: »

No chance of that, Ole will be immediately sacked if that looks probable in November.
    One thing I will say about Lampard is that imo both Chelsea & Juve replaced their managers for inferior ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

If City sacked Guardiola and brought in club legend Jack Rodwell as manager that would be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

Fair play to Phoenix i say. 30 years of saying the same.. though this time I'm right, next year is definitely the year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,491 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

8-10 wrote: »
    A lot will depend on who Arsenal and United sign. I don't think there's much between them as it stands to be honest and big signings and de Gea staying would push United ahead for me unless Arsenal do good business.

Chelsea I have no idea

You still need to get rid of the toxic atmosphere from the United dressing room.

Emery is a much better manager and has had his season to bed in so I expect he'll push them on now.

TitianGerm wrote: »
    You still need to get rid of the toxic atmosphere from the United dressing room.

Emery is a much better manager and has had his season to bed in so I expect he'll push them on now.

I agree with Emery being a good manger but they need a hell of a lot of players and don't look like they are willing to spend much cash , They will also be without Ramsey , Big big summer for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,523 ✭✭✭✭rob316

40m transfer budget apparently, basically 1 maybe 2 player they can buy. They need pretty much whole new defence.

It'll be city and Liverpool top 2 again next season I see no indication why that will change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Isn't that your saying though? Next year is our year :D

I'm saying we won't be as bad and should sail top 4. City, Pool, Spurs, Utd will be it. Arsenal are just crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,491 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    Isn't that your saying though? Next year is our year :D

I'm saying we won't be as bad and should sail top 4. City, Pool, Spurs, Utd will be it. Arsenal are just crap.

It could always get worse though.

De Gea leaves, Romero not as good as people think. Young RB, Bailey injured again, Jones making funny faces all season. Matic older and slower, Pogba doing his usual Houdini impersonation. Lukaka leaves, Rashford top scorer with less than 15 goals.

Ole like a 90 year old at the wheel, no clue how he got there, no idea where he's going, and just mashing away at the pedals.

Once the window closes we'll have a better idea though. If De Gea, Pogba and Lukaku leave your fecked.

Spur's are a few signing from being a really really good side
    Don't forget they barley played a home game in the last 2 season's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,823 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Spur's are a few signing from being a really really good side
    Don't forget they barley played a home game in the last 2 season's

Still lost 13 games in the league. They'll be better but not significantly I'd say. They need a good few signings for depth as they're not used to being in Europe every year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,277 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Arsenal really have the two lads up front and that's it. Entire rest of the squad you wouldn't be overly bothered if they stayed or left. Lot of work to be done there. Plus big questions on how much money will be made available to spend.

As bad as United are they will probably have little hesitation about spaffing 130M+ on two players.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

If Arsenal get a good centre half and a good deep midfielder they could improve alot. Not challenge for #1 spot, but make it interesting.

Spurs - I'd be more worried about them losing players than adding or even replacing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

TitianGerm wrote: »
    It could always get worse though.

De Gea leaves, Romero not as good as people think. Young RB, Bailey injured again, Jones making funny faces all season. Matic older and slower, Pogba doing his usual Houdini impersonation. Lukaka leaves, Rashford top scorer with less than 15 goals.

Ole like a 90 year old at the wheel, no clue how he got there, no idea where he's going, and just mashing away at the pedals.

Once the window closes we'll have a better idea though. If De Gea, Pogba and Lukaku leave your fecked.

Those 3 won't all be allowed leave and also we will replace them. Not just leave things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

8-10 wrote: »
    [QUOT[/QUOTE de Gea staying would push United ahead for me

He was awful last year, I hope utd keep him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,823 ✭✭✭✭8-10

radiata wrote: »
    He was awful last year, I hope utd keep him

If it was his first season maybe that would sound true but he's been one of the best keepers in the league, if not the best, for a number of years before that. There's a good keeper there and he's going to hit his peak years.

I'd be happy to see the back of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

rob316 wrote: »
    40m transfer budget apparently, basically 1 maybe 2 player they can buy. They need pretty much whole new defence.

It'll be city and Liverpool top 2 again next season I see no indication why that will change.

And they may have to give 30m of that to Ozil to get him out of the club !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Interview with Fab.

Mane seems to be the Man off the pitch as well.
    The adversity Fabinho overcame throughout the 2018-19 season has the player feeling satisfied with his output at the conclusion of year one at Liverpool.

After agreeing to join the Reds from AS Monaco in May 2018, the Brazilian would have just one start – a third-round League Cup tie – to his name towards the end of October.

But fast forward to the final game of the campaign and the No.3 was the midfield shield of a side that won the Champions League having also amassed the third-highest points total in top-flight history.

"Overall I think my first season at Liverpool was good," said the 25-year-old. "In my first season I knew there would be a learning and settling-in period. I went through this.

"It didn't last that long but I remember it wasn't easy starting afresh, I was left out for a few matches.

"Even though I was telling myself that I needed to work hard and be patient, it's not easy being out of the team. But that's in the past now, I started playing more.

"The more you play, the more you can enjoy your football. I think I became an important part of the team, I gave the manager another option he could depend upon. So I think it was a really good season

In addition to help from Brazilian teammates Alisson Becker and Roberto Firmino, Fabinho's adaptation to Merseyside was also aided by Sadio Mane.

The pair can both communicate in French and developed a bond off the pitch and on it – evidenced when Fabinho laid on a wonderful lofted assist for Mane's goal against Manchester United in December.

"Sadio Mane is a genuinely impressive player, he's tireless, playing in every game with such high levels of intensity and concentration," Fabinho continued.

"His technical ability goes without saying, he always makes a difference for us.

"He's a complete player – he gives you the option of a short pass or a long ball, he contributes to the build-up and creation of play as well. He's a great player in amazing form, which is really important for his confidence.

"Off the pitch I chat with him quite a bit as we both speak French, my French is still better than my English. He's a great lad. Sadio has been a really important player for us this season."

https://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/first-team/353620-fabinho-reflects-on-debut-liverpool-season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

I always think even when Mane doesn't play well he contributes. He's like bedlam on legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

gimli2112 wrote: »
    I always think even when Mane doesn't play well he contributes. He's like bedlam on legs.

This is why, for me, he's more important than Salah. He just terrorises defenders every game, like Firmino but in more dangerous areas. Salah can be less present in some games, can cause attacks to break down by trying to beat one too many, not getting into the box to get on the end of things. But they all contribute to the whole.

I also think he's the hardest to replace - pace, finishing with both feet and head, attitude, fitness levels...

gimli2112 wrote: »

Personally I think he is our best player, He combines what Bobby and Salah both have in one player,

He is an absolute baller, If he wasn't such a humble guys he'd have a huge profile and world star,

The guys has everything and has improved every season to date, He was brilliant in 2017/18 and then went and improved again this past season ,

I think he now knows he belongs at the top and has that confidence about him that he knows he is world class , He seems to believe in himself up against any team or any player,

I read where he is in the training ground 2 hours early every day to get massages and to prepare for training , He is proper professional

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

There are games where Mane isn't on the ball at all, but what he is doing to the opposition off the ball is opening lanes for the rest of the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭steve_r

Personally I think he is our best player, He combines what Bobby and Salah both have in one player,

He is an absolute baller, If he wasn't such a humble guys he'd have a huge profile and world star,

The guys has everything and has improved every season to date, He was brilliant in 2017/18 and then went and improved again this past season ,

I think he now knows he belongs at the top and has that confidence about him that he knows he is world class , He seems to believe in himself up against any team or any player,

I read where he is in the training ground 2 hours early every day to get massages and to prepare for training , He is proper professional

Well said.

He also shone in games like Leicester and West Ham when the team was finding it hard going - his scoring run at that time kept the show on the road.

His workrate is incredible in terms of making runs and showing for the ball and I don't think he gets enough credit for how good a finisher he is.

steve_r wrote: »
    Well said.

He also shone in games like Leicester and West Ham when the team was finding it hard going - his scoring run at that time kept the show on the road.

His workrate is incredible in terms of making runs and showing for the ball and I don't think he gets enough credit for how good a finisher he is.

He obviously looked in pre season at how involved our full backs are because his heading of a ball improved no end this season, Its clear as day its something he worked very hard on ,

The guys incredible never seen a player to score as many but also work as hard off the ball ,

• Subscribers Posts: 32,919 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I think Leicester will be looking at the trouble at utd and Chelsea and think time to make top 6 a top 7 and with Arsenal needed alot of work too will be having a small wager they sneak top 4

That's a mad opinion. It's not impossible obviously, but it is extremely unlikely.
    shamrock55 wrote: »

That's also mad.

One of Arsenal, Utd or Chelsea could have a very bad season, like under 60 points bad, but the chances of the 3 of them doing it are very low. I know it's not that long since Leicester were champions and that was a very strange season where second was something like 70 points, but that is very much the exception.

Next season won't be the same as this season, obviously. City will still get a minimum of 85 points (a likely range of 85-100 points imo), even doing badly. Liverpool should still be 80+ points too at least, but the range is higher imo, could be anywhere from 70-100 points depending on stuff that happens.

Spurs are a bit more unpredictable, could be anywhere from 65-90 really, and I'd put Arsenal, Chelse and Utd in a similar bracket of anywhere from 60-85 points.

There are huge variations in what I've said obviously, but that reflects the fact that lots can happen such as injuries, managers pissing off players, teams getting momentum and confidence and grinding out results for loads of extra points, but enough won't get low points for Everton or Leicester to get top 4. I would put their points range at 45-70 points, could go very wrong or a great season would be close to 70 points. Could be close to top 4 in an ideal scenario, but I can't see 4th being less than 70 points.

At the end of the day though, I'm just as clueless as anyone, so who knows.

I'd take 85 points right now if someone offered it for next season.