Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

England fans riot in Portugual, sing "F the Pope and the IRA"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

PinotNero wrote: »
    Yes, just ignore the bottle throwing and violence. Good lad.

How would you describe Irish Celtic fans that carry on in a similar way? Are they far right also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

biko wrote: »
    Is it far right to say **** the IRA and the pope now?

They’re traditional slogans of the far-right when used in a British football context yeah; usually pushed by firms who were traditionally sympathetic to groups like the NF. They were the exact same chants used by Combat 18 when they trashed Lansdowne Road. The “f*ck the Pope” stuff is generally a Loyalist/Rangers thing.

Is making a reasoned criticism of the Catholic Church and the IRA ok? Obviously yes. Is that what these people are doing? Obviously not.

As has been explained, these chants are rooted in anti-Irish sentiment; they haven’t a f*cking clue about the political or religious situation in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

They are some gang of one trick ponies... Would they ever just change the record? Do something else...

What's their beef with Portugal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭OldRio

Whataboutery is large in this one.

.Charlo wrote: »
    How would you describe Irish Celtic fans that carry on in a similar way? Are they far right also?

well they would be scumbags

but it's not a running theme with travelling Irish fans is it?

so the whataboutery is just plain delusional bordering on stupid

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

biko wrote: »
    Is it far right to say **** the IRA and the pope now?
    I've never seen or heard anyone sing those words that wasn't some sort of Tommy Robinson wannabe. In fact I doubt even Robinson would sing it as he is Catholic. It's more Nick Griffin/National Front rhetoric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Ah a credit to their country as ever. Load of brainless England football fans boozed up - sure what can go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

decent through ball from john sheridan followed by the best days work those guards ever did at 1min10sec

lawred2 wrote: »
    well they would be scumbags

but it's not a running theme with travelling Irish fans is it?

so the whataboutery is just plain delusional bordering on stupid

You'll hear similar bigoted songs coming from them though and violence. But they are just scumbags yes? Not far right?

pmsl

yeah that's what matters alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

FTA69 wrote: »
    As other people have said, these chants are ciphers for Irish people in general and a statement of British supremacy. They aren’t genuine political and theological disagreements with Pope Francis and Gerry Adams for f*ck’s sake. They’re a bunch of far right yobs doing the fool.

No no, I'm sure any of us could stroll up to them and explain in our Irish accents that we too dislike the pope and the IRA and these lads would say "oh grand so because it's specifically those things which I thoughtfully disagree with, it's not that I have a deepseated sectarian and ethnic hatred for the Irish and I'm only capable of expressing that in four words or fewer".

Just explain you're one of the cool Irish people who's not religious or republican, and there's no way these moral crusaders will start kicking the tar out of you!

When you think of the day that's in it and what went on in France 75 years ago and then these tossers. Deary me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Any examples of Irish Celtic fans in full scale riots with local police?

OldRio wrote: »
    When you think of the day that's in it and what went on in France 75 years ago and then these tossers. Deary me.

It's their way of commemorating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭TAFKAlawhec

Reminds me of a section of the travelling England supporters in Basel back in 2014 for a game between Switzerland and England. The was about a week or so before the Scottish IndyRef, and this lot decide to get in on the act by chanting the following...

"We're all voting yes!"
    "F*ck off Scotland!"
    "We're all voting yes!"

...I should hopefully not have to point out the problem in that rousing bit of patriotism. :rolleyes:

RoryMac wrote: »
    Any examples of Irish Celtic fans in full scale riots with local police?

Plenty of videos of Celtic fans at friendly games in England smashing up shops etc,

They’re traditional slogans of the far-right when used in a British football context yeah; usually pushed by firms who were traditionally sympathetic to groups like the NF. They were the exact same chants used by Combat 18 when they trashed Lansdowne Road. The “f*ck the Pope” stuff is generally a Loyalist/Rangers thing.

Is making a reasoned criticism of the Catholic Church and the IRA ok? Obviously yes. Is that what these people are doing? Obviously not.

As has been explained, these chants are rooted in anti-Irish sentiment; they haven’t a f*cking clue about the political or religious situation in Ireland.
    Spot on post, nothing much else needs to be added to it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Feisar

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    It's in their nature, they are scumbags.

They should be removed from the tournament.

We should not be shocked either, I remember those bastards ripping up the west stand at Lansdowne road. ****.

I know pro Gardaí comments don't go down well these days however they fairly batoned the bollix out of the tans that night!

First they came for the socialists...

Plenty of videos of Celtic fans at friendly games in England smashing up shops etc,

What has the travails of some Scottish people in England got to do with Ireland?

Where are those videos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

OldRio wrote: »
    Pity there's not a handful of Russians to sort them out.

Ah right, the good hooligans

This thread is like those thugs really - gratuitous, pointless action designed to create bad vibes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

The Gards went too easy on them at Lansdowne.

They should have poured the bastards with lead, sent them back over in bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Feisar

Aah in fairness they handed out some timber that night.

First they came for the socialists...

Celtic fans aren't all Irish in fairness. Most of their worst behaved fans would be Scottish for obvious reasons. They aren't nearly as badly behaved either.

I assume you're referencing the Sunderland game last summer where Tommy Robinson turned up in a Rangers jersey with a load of yobs at a shop inciting a riot? That was not all Celtic fans fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

I know exactly what you and others are saying, however I've nothing to do with the IRA so I'm not going to get offended if some numbskulls chant "**** the IRA" and it doesn't make sense to either - "they chanted '**** the IRA', I'm offended as an Irish person". Illogical. Even if it's shorthand for having a go at all Irish people.

Ditto with "**** the pope".

Now "fenians" stuff - yeah that's more personal. Although I honestly don't care what a bunch of sh1t sandwich-thick idiots think of me, and I would put money on it that they wouldn't actually behave in a hostile manner towards all the Irish they meet, that they possibly have Irish/catholic friends, and that some are possibly of Irish/catholic heritage!

I'm not whatabouting btw - the whatabouting is the tedious "Irish fans are as bad blah blah" (no they most certainly are not - English football hooligans are among the worst, and have been for decades and decades).

Seems like the police are giving them a nice dose of medicine, and most English football supporters are normal and decent.

wouldn't be worth it making martyrs of any of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

How long has Elton John been at Talksh'ite?
    I heard one of the pub owners singing
    ‘Don't go breaking my bar ....’ and ‘Saturday nights not alright for fighting’

Ah right, the good hooligans

This thread is like those thugs really - gratuitous, pointless action designed to create bad vibes.

No actually. Its what happens to all bullies. They meet their match.
    As of bad vibes? People are commenting on these scenes from Portugal. Is that allowed? Or will bad vibes upset you too much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Oh you mean 1 video from Sunderland when Tommy Robinson and his mob decided to hold a rally to coincide with Celtic playing, the same time he apologised for building tensions around the game?

Yeah thats the same alright :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,361 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

lawred2 wrote: »
    What has the travails of some Scottish people in England got to do with Ireland?

Where are those videos?

It has everything to do with Ireland when they are flying our flag and singing pro ra songs. did you really need me to explain this to you??