Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

How is a man supposed to find a woman in the 21st century

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭KikiLaRue

mariaalice wrote: »
    I am intrigued by the mindset that sends creepy messages to woman, women who clearly do not want the messages.

Leaving aside someone with some sort of social disorder who maybe do not get social norms

The normal average man who does this why? how did the idea that becaue a woman is on a dating site/ap its means they are interested in complication free sex? and creepy message/ photos of his penis, there is no such thing even complication free sex is complicated.

What is the origin of the fantasy of commitment free sex because the woman is online is immaturity or something?. What sort of family did they grown up in when did they get their ideas and beliefs about women, sex, and intimacy from?

I think it’s the perceived lack of consequences.

They get to say things they would never dare walk up to a woman in a bar and say.

The really sad part is that you get so jaded from receiving messages like that it can be hard to be your brightest and most interesting, fun self when a decent guy comes along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

mariaalice wrote: »
    What is the origin of the fantasy of commitment free sex because the woman is online is immaturity or something?. What sort of family did they grown up in when did they get their ideas and beliefs about women, sex, and intimacy from?

That's male sexuality though. Some men are just smarter about how they get sex, some feign interest in things that she likes to get the ball rolling and then they'll allude to the possibility of commitment and then withdraw it after the goal has been achieved and/or he loses interest in that particular woman. There aren't any men interested in commitment before the age of about 35.

I'm gay so when I want sex I can go online, find someone I'd be somewhat attracted to and arrange the particulars of what type of sexual encounter we'd both like that day. There's no lies, because there's no point in lies. My straight friends of course have the same/similar sexual impulses as I do, given we both have the same hormonal situation going on, they just have a much more difficult time satisfying those wants because women aren't into sex as much, or only interested when it comes with strings attached.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

KikiLaRue wrote: »
    I think it’s the perceived lack of consequences.

They get to say things they would never dare walk up to a woman in a bar and say.

The really sad part is that you get so jaded from receiving messages like that it can be hard to be your brightest and most interesting, fun self when a decent guy comes along.

Re: the insulting messages: it seems to come from the same mindset you occasionally see here - guys who remember girls being mean to them in secondary school, guys who are now in their twenties and maybe even thirties and still bitter about it so go online and send abusive messages to random women to punish them because they are still furious that 'Sorcha said I was a smelly weirdo in geography'

It's incredibly pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

B0jangles wrote: »
    Re: the insulting messages: it seems to come from the same mindset you occasionally see here - guys who remember girls being mean to them in secondary school, guys who are now in their twenties and maybe even thirties and still bitter about it so go online and send abusive messages to random women to punish them because they are still furious that 'Sorcha said I was a smelly weirdo in geography'

It's incredibly pathetic.

Sorcha is still single I wonder why lol

I met her on a dating site recently, she's looking great and still as sharp as ever.

I always liked Sorcha, she's quite academically clever.

I wouldn't say she's mean more like witty and funny....

Why did you pick on Sorcha, Emma was the bully nobody really liked Emma actually Emma's on her third marriage now.

Sorcha was a popular name for girl's up until the early 80's nice name too...

cgcsb wrote: »
    That's male sexuality though. Some men are just smarter about how they get sex, some feign interest in things that she likes to get the ball rolling and then they'll allude to the possibility of commitment and then withdraw it after the goal has been achieved and/or he loses interest in that particular woman. There aren't any men interested in commitment before the age of about 35.

I'm gay so when I want sex I can go online, find someone I'd be somewhat attracted to and arrange the particulars of what type of sexual encounter we'd both like that day. There's no lies, because there's no point in lies. My straight friends of course have the same/similar sexual impulses as I do, given we both have the same hormonal situation going on, they just have a much more difficult time satisfying those wants because women aren't into sex as much, or only interested when it comes with strings attached.

That is not true, women do always want commitment in return for sex seeing it as some sort exchange however the sort of man they want to have a bit of fun with is not he the type that is goes looking for complication free sex on line, as I said its complicated.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,292 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

There's something to that. Men tend to have higher sex drives, plus one advantage to gay encounters is no chance of pregnancy and kids. That's a huge consequence that for most of human history was hard enough to mitigate and left women far more vulnerable physically and in most cases culturally too. It makes sense that even today with contraception(which can fail) women are much less likely to just shag indiscriminately and more likely to seek commitment of some nature.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Cutie 3.14

What do you want a woman for anyway?

Like most men you'll be delighted with yourself for a week or two and then go back to being sick of listening to her, staring at other women right in front of her face, never telling her she looks nice today, probably talking **** about her to the lads "the ole ball and chain" , treating her like she's your new Mammy in ways, lying about where you are etc..

Why do ye bother atall!

Cutie 3.14 wrote: »

Like most men you'll be delighted with yourself for a week or two and then go back to being sick of listening to her, staring at other women right in front of her face, never telling her she looks nice today, probably talking **** about her to the lads "the ole ball and chain" , treating her like she's your new Mammy in ways, lying about where you are etc..

Why do ye bother atall!

This makes sense in a parallel universe. You'd be surprised to hear that some men don't conform to your glib stereotyping.

Wibbs wrote: »
    There's something to that. Men tend to have higher sex drives, plus one advantage to gay encounters is no chance of pregnancy and kids. That's a huge consequence that for most of human history was hard enough to mitigate and left women far more vulnerable physically and in most cases culturally too. It makes sense that even today with contraception(which can fail) women are much less likely to just shag indiscriminately and more likely to seek commitment of some nature.

Yes it makes sense, but the point being that a lot of men just won't get that and women won't get men's motivations either, there is an unwillingness to understand each others point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Why do ye bother atall!

God you’re nearly as bad as some of the loons on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

Wibbs wrote: »

There are so many reasons woman can't have sex as indiscriminately. The social stigma attached to it, the genuine fear of making yourself vulnerable alone with a stranger leading to rape or murder, the well documented fact that women are just very unlikely to orgasm from one off encounters with people who either don't know what they like, or are just have no incentive to make it pleasurable for her.
    And after all that you have Pregnancy and STIs.

Sex drives vary over time, come and go, it's not at all unheard of for a woman to find her sex drive higher than her male partners.

There are some really messed up ideas in this thread that women just don't like sex, and therefore are using it as a transaction to manipulate men. And clearly this leads to men justifying their own deception of women. It's frankly disgusting.

Anyone who thinks NO men want commitment, has never been in the position of being a woman trying to break up with a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I set it to 70 km one night and only 1 event on it and only person going was organiser..

There are thousands of member and hundreds of events - you must be looking at it wrong or only viewing a single obscure club as every night of the week there are literally dozens of events with hundreds of participants. Singles clubs, elsocial clubs, cookery/meals out/language/going to nightclubs clubs/over 30's singles events adventure clubs etc

Sure to meet with someone who has similar goals or desires there - be it shorttern or something more steady.

face, never telling her she looks nice today, probably talking **** about her to the lads "the ole ball and chain" , treating her like she's your new Mammy in ways, lying about where you are etc..

If you need continuous validation, infantalisation of your partner and a gps location feed on him 24/7, is it any wonder there is an opposite and equal reaction to that? calling you a ball n chain etc.?

FTA69 wrote: »
    God you’re nearly as bad as some of the loons on this thread.

I ain't wrong...

Why do ye bother atall!

That is immaturity and possibley issues with their self-esteem someone has modeled that sort of behavior as the norm to them. The question is why stay with someone who clearly dose not like their partner nor themselves very much.

It is not the norm in a good healthy relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I ain't wrong...

You are. There are indeed men who are lazy and have mammy syndrome when it comes to their partners but that caricature doesn’t define every man. I’m not like that, most of my mates aren’t like that.

Sorry if you’ve had bad experiences in the past but going around the gaff with some chip on your shoulder glibly characterising people will do you no favours in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

I ain't wrong...

You're totally wrong.

I'm going to be crude but you'll get the message:

You need a better filter.

Men either see you as a temporary hole or a potential girlfriend.

You need to filter out the hole seekers.

This is the advice I have given my friends who are constantly used as holes:

Make him wait at least two weeks. Meet him at least twice during those two weeks. If he isn't willing to wait until a third date, you are a hole.

Noodleworm wrote: »
    There are some really messed up ideas in this thread that women just don't like sex, and therefore are using it as a transaction to manipulate men.

Is this not generally true though? I know there are exceptions, but buy-n-large, this is the way it is and it is easily observable in almost every aspect of society.
    And clearly this leads to men justifying their own deception of women. It's frankly disgusting.

Why do you think men lie about being interested in commitment?
    Anyone who thinks NO men want commitment, has never been in the position of being a woman trying to break up with a man.

There's a difference between commitment and dependency, the later is a sort of institutionalisation or fear of the unknown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,947 ✭✭✭Feisar

OP

Sitting at home wishing things were different isn't going to help matters.

Firstly get on Tinder, it's a passive method. You expend little to no energy using it, it's working for you as you sleep.

Next is a little obvious, this weekend go somewhere there are women. This may seem obvious but it's really that simple.

First they came for the socialists...

Why do ye bother atall!

Cutie Pie? More like caustic pie!

OMM 0000 wrote: »
    If he isn't willing to wait until a third date, you are a hole.

Attitudes like that, by women, towards other women, are far more damaging to the cause of gender equality than anything a man can do. If it wasn't the nuns 60 years ago running slave labour camps, it's Aoife slut shaming her friend in the office in 2019, same attitude, different era.

I have no idea what you're talking about.

Men use women for sex all the time.

It's obviously not the women's fault.

I have no idea what you're talking about.

Men use women for sex all the time.

It's obviously not the women's fault.

women who want sex straight away are 'holes'

FTA69 wrote: »
    You are. There are indeed men who are lazy and have mammy syndrome when it comes to their partners but that caricature doesn’t define every man. I’m not like that, most of my mates aren’t like that.

Sorry if you’ve had bad experiences in the past but going around the gaff with some chip on your shoulder glibly characterising people will do you no favours in life.

I didn't say all men are like that, just a lot.

I don't mean all men have all of those characteristics I mentioned above, some might have one or two, or none or all of them.

But they exist, it happens and I'm not wrong about that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I ain't wrong...

Never seen anything more wrong. You had a bad experience (or 3).

women who want sex straight away are 'holes'

No they're not.

But if women want to try to avoid being used as a hole, they need to make the man wait.

If you know a better system, please tell me.

Feisar wrote: »
    Cutie Pie? More like caustic pie!

Some men can't handle a bit of humble pie..

No they're not.

But if women want to try to avoid being used as a hole, they need to make the man wait.

It's a fairly flawed system as back in the day when waiting on A I'd be shagging B and C and possibly D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭wyf437gn6btzue

KikiLaRue wrote: »
    For me the breast doctor who loves big boobs was the creepiest.

so if he had a preference for small tits it would be grand? or if he was more of an ass man it would be grand? or if he was gay it would be grand? Where exactly are you going with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

No they're not.

Ya know how they say if you catch your kid smoking, make them smoke the whole pack and they'll never want one again....

Making a man wait sounds a bit uneven doesn't it. As if there is major inequality in the relationship. Both parties should be sure the other is not a twat and then go for it.