Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Explain the dislike towards Ryanair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭Nicetrustedcup

Look Ryanair isn't that bad it does not sell its self as a posh airline. It sells it self as budget no frills and for the prices they charge you can't say no.

Must of there flights to the UK are cheaper then getting the train to Dublin from Cork. I will also tell you the service is worse on Irish rail and the staff in Irish rail are a hell of a lot worse then Ryanair staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

Gorteen wrote: »
    It's simply about price for me.
    Booked flights yesterday for family of four to Portugal.
    Ryanair = €659
    Aer Lingus €932

Is that a like for like comparison? Any bags? Same destination airport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,404 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Must of there flights to the UK are cheaper then getting the train to Dublin from Cork. I will also tell you the service is worse on Irish rail and the staff in Irish rail are a hell of a lot worse then Ryanair staff.

I know some Irish rail staff, lovely people, so I dunno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Gorteen

Is that a like for like comparison? Any bags? Same destination airport?

Exactly the same route and dates and (as close as possible times)

Dub-Faro
    29/07/19 - 15/8/19)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,673 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

The priority feature has become comedic, with the vast majority of the flight booking priority reverting to old style queueing. I think they’ll have to restrict carry on bags / incentivise bag check ins some other way. They certainly need a change of some description. as they are selling you a notion of “priority” when it’s anything but. Even renaming it to “cabin baggage fee” would be better.

I find seats often to be quite dirty when you sit in the plane - which is as you’d expect given they send passengers down to wait on the steps while the plane is pulling in and yet to offload arriving passengers. The staff have no time to clean anything between flights so if someone ate in the vicinity of your seat on inbound you’ll have a filthy seat and that’s that.

The website has improved over the past few years and the process of flying with them feels less adversarial now than it used to. I’d actually consider using them for a personal trip again, I fly them a lot with work. There’s still great comfort to flying alternatives or long haul. But everyone goes in with eyes wide open for Ryanair. They’ve successfully lowered expectations and business is obviously booming, their loadings attest to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,118 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Easyjet are a cheap, low frills airline. The customer experience which they provide is 100% better then Ryanair in my own experience.

I had to fly with them at for the first time at 48 hours notice, I was dreading it a bit but I was gobsmacked at how attentive, friendly and customer focused their staff were both on the ground and in the air were. I did find the seats onboard slightly less comfy and boy legroom was tight but an overall experience I was happy with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

murpho999 wrote: »
    How is he a skinflint?

Not paying a decent wage
    Banned charging phones in the office
    Ditching the flight crew mini buses

I think they’re great. Flown with them many times. Never had any issues with them. Cheap and staff have always been nice. Once you know what to expect.

Peatys wrote: »
    Not paying a decent wage

Surely the staff know what the wages are before accepting the job?
    Lots of places don’t allow phones at work, let alone charging them!
    Nor do many places provide transport to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭chrissb8

The, we've been on time blady blah times. I have been on 3 flights with Ryanair that have been on time or the sneaky it will take an hour and ten minutes to fly into London and then whoa shock we got there in 50 mins, pat on the back for the lads in the cockpit. It so transparent what they're trying to pull it's a joke.

I will pay the Aer Lingus fare sometimes just so I know it would decrease stress dramatically on my part. I know they will leave on time most of the time and I know a trip from London to Dublin from door to door is not going to take me 5-6 hours. Which it does with Ryanair with their nefarious delays.

I never had any issue with a Rynair flight however I always check Airligus and if the price is the same or only slightly more expensive I go with them.

Micheal O'Leary come across as an odious individual and that is reflected in how the company is run.

The no connection between poor customer services low costs fights that is down to his personal style the same with the way Rynair treat their staff and their management style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I love the fact that they allowed the average wage earner ( or dole recipient) visit other countries and capitals, when the national flag carrier prohibited it.
    Dublin-Paris return with Aer Lingus in the early 1980's cost about two weeks average wage per person.
    Now you can do it for about one days average wage.
    They forced Aer Lingus to compete, and often the price difference between them is small.
    Only once did I have a complaint, the back of my seat was broken and offered little support.
    Reported it on landing, so hopefully they swopped it out before too many others suffered also.

I wonder if a lot of the complainers who ring up radio shows or write to newspapers consider themselves a bit better than the average citizen, and resent the fact that they are flying RyanAir due to budgetary constraints?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I love the fact that they allowed the average wage earner ( or dole recipient) visit other countries and capitals, when the national flag carrier prohibited it.
    Dublin-Paris return with Aer Lingus in the early 1980's cost about two weeks average wage per person.
    Now you can do it for about one days average wage.
    They forced Aer Lingus to compete, and often the price difference between them is small.
    Only once did I have a complaint, the back of my seat was broken and offered little support.
    Reported it on landing, so hopefully they swopped it out before too many others suffered also.

I wonder if a lot of the complainers who ring up radio shows or write to newspapers consider themselves a bit better than the average citizen, and resent the fact that they are flying RyanAir due to budgetary constraints?

I don't go for the typical Ryanair fanboy excuse of "we didn't have cheap travel and couldn't go anywhere before Ryanair". Ryanair weren't the first, they famously copied Southwest in the US. They also were similar in price until O'Leary took over in the 90s which is probably when the vast majority of people might have had a bit of money to go on a foreign holiday. I first went on a flight in the late 80s, can't remember too well but it was a charter package to the canaries, family holiday style, it wasn't Ryanair. First time I paid for my own flight/holiday was in 1994, and again it was a charter package. First time I was on a Ryanair flight was 2000. I couldn't even book it myself as I didn't have internet access, I had to get a friend to do it for me in work.

Having the internet and access to a printer changed everything for air travel. Travel agents became irrelevant and Ryanair were ahead of everyone else. They had a fortuitous start by getting a 16yr old kid to build their first website for a pittance. That's how they revolutionised air travel, not just by putting it up to just Aer Lingus, but by being ahead of the posse at exactly the right time.

I have older relations that would still go to a travel agent to book a holiday, and they perhaps would be the typical complainer as they wouldn't know the "rules" of travelling Ryanair. While these complainants are becoming less frequent, the PR disasters such as the flight cancellations of a few years ago, or the strikes would do enough reputational damage that a good swathe of the public would be highly cautious of purchasing flights. Always worth remembering that people are far quicker and far louder at complaining than praising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Peatys wrote: »
    Not paying a decent wage

Have your phone charged before work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

It's the Idiots who clap when the pilot manages to land the plane just like any other pilot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,337 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I've never done that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

So, yeah - they're grand when things go fine.

When something out of the ordinary happens, they're ****. Case in point: this.

Flying over for a wedding? We're just going to rebook your flights home to the day before the wedding. And become uncontactable.

In fairness they did reply and ask for the booking number, which she could not provide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

I actually tried to book flights with Ryanair this afternoon, the hoops and hurdles on their website are insane, tiptoeing through pages of relevant ads is no fun, and then when I want to pay, I need an account now??? Fcuk that, The city I wanted to go to has been around for a couple of millennia, I can wait until a decent airline is doing the route.
    I am of an age that I can remember £300 flights to London but we were treated like customers back then, not filth. Ryanair are not the first budget airline and they are far from being the best. They deserve no credit on either count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Cedrus wrote: »
    I actually tried to book flights with Ryanair this afternoon, the hoops and hurdles on their website are insane, tiptoeing through pages of relevant ads is no fun, and then when I want to pay, I need an account now??? Fcuk that, The city I wanted to go to has been around for a couple of millennia, I can wait until a decent airline is doing the route.
    I am of an age that I can remember £300 flights to London but we were treated like customers back then, not filth. Ryanair are not the first budget airline and they are far from being the best. They deserve no credit on either count.

Jesus, someone get on to Michael O’Leary quick and tell him to cancel the new Jag!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,268 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I have flown with Ryanair for years and numerous flights and at no stage was I ever treated as filth .
    I remember flights to Berlin at £ 350 or more and out of our reach in the 80's
    So I will take my €50 Ryanair flight happily and put up with less than the best for that money
    I am well aware that buying a t shirt in Penneys is not as good as a Mark and Spencer t shirt but I make my choice on what my needs are .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

In fairness they did reply and ask for the booking number, which she could not provide.

Really? Cos they hadn't replied hours after the original posting.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I admire him for living in this country and paying his taxes , unlike some of our other super rich. He sets out the rules clearly, if you can't follow them book with someone else, usually at additional expense.

This +1,000,000

All of our other 'great' Irish business men are domiciled abroad but are more than happy to trade on their Irishness... Denis O'Brien, JP McManus, Dermot Desmond...etc

The first two, in particular, aren't shy about letting people know how much money they give back to Ireland. I'd rather they just paid all their tax here rather than choosing their pet projects that boost their ego/profile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

I agree with you 100%.

For me Ryanair are a necessity. There are no other options and they know it. No 10 euro flights for me. They gouge and screw everyone on the route because they can. Where are you going to go if you don't like it? You have no other options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Last flights we flew recently one are Lingus and the Ryanair ,
    Ryanair was the better experience flew to the UK with them no issues whatsoever ,
    Flew to Prague with aerlingus €450 when we boarded in Dublin the aircraft was filthy seats covered in the remains of other peoples sandwiches and split coffee on the trays ,
    Coming back some thick wanted to board with a large childs buggy that the parent couldn't or wouldn't fold ,even after they were told that the buggy had to go in the hold ,
    30 minute delay to the departure because of it ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

chrissb8 wrote: »
    The, we've been on time blady blah times. I have been on 3 flights with Ryanair that have been on time or the sneaky it will take an hour and ten minutes to fly into London and then whoa shock we got there in 50 mins, pat on the back for the lads in the cockpit. It so transparent what they're trying to pull it's a joke.

I will pay the Aer Lingus fare sometimes just so I know it would decrease stress dramatically on my part. I know they will leave on time most of the time and I know a trip from London to Dublin from door to door is not going to take me 5-6 hours. Which it does with Ryanair with their nefarious delays.

Why would Ryanair be later than Aer Lingus? Delays are caused by the airport or weather etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭badboyblast

People dislike Ryanair because they are W@@*÷;=s, plain and simple, work in retail and you will know and meet these said people .

If Ryanair were giving out free 50 euro notes there would be people complaining, I met a gentleman with his son at the whiskey tour in Dublin and he told me he brings his son somewhere every year to a Ryanair city for a weekend and its tradition now, how cool is that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,870 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I've seen the entire Europe.
    Bob Harris wrote: »
    p01bqr07.jpg

Wrong!
    That pic is missing John Norum.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

People dislike Ryanair because they are W@@*÷;=s, plain and simple, work in retail and you will know and meet these said people .

If Ryanair were giving out free 50 euro notes there would be people complaining, I met a gentleman with his son at the whiskey tour in Dublin and he told me he brings his son somewhere every year to a Ryanair city for a weekend and its tradition now, how cool is that .
    How original an insult is that. So if you dislike Ryanair you are automatically a wan4er?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

They need to bring back the trumpets, it was always great craic when you landed and next thing there was this "da da dadadadadadada....."
    Right craic sure.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Like the OP, Im finding it difficult to comprehend why people are still whinging about them.

I'm no fan of them, but they do what they say and I know what to expect in advance. Cheap (most of the time) efficient no frills flights to lots of places I want to go to, so I use them. If I find a better value flight elsewhere to the same destination I use that airline instead.

People need to understand that if they pay a relatively small amount of money to get flights, you cannot expect to be treated like royalty, its a "you get what you pay for" scenario.

If you are still getting annoyed by Ryanair at this stage, pick another airline, simple as. If you continue to fly with them and do nothing but sit there and whinge, then its your fault, no one else's.

They make no secret of how they operate. Their CEO is a brash loudmouth, but they get the job done. Your ticket price gets you on the plane, gets you a seat and lands you somewhere in the rough area of where you want to go. If you want to bring baggage you pay, if you want seating together, you pay, if your baggage is over the stated weight, you pay, if you don't check in in advance and need a boarding pass, you pay.

I've flown with many airlines and more and more are moving towards this model, they are also a hugely successful airline and have a modern fleet which is constantly being upgraded. Where as many airlines are going bankrupt or are in serious financial trouble, Ryanair aren't, So it looks like they are doing something right.

Yes some of their business practices in the past have been very questionable and they have been slapped down for it. Even the shareholders had a revolt a few years back against how the company was operating and the public backlash it received, the result was they pulled it into line.

I've flown with them many times, I pack within their weight limits using the size of bag required, check in in advance, pay for priority boarding to get my bag on the plane, pay for and choose my seat in advance and 99% of the time I board, fly and arrive without any issues. If they are delayed, its annoying but every other airline I've flown with have experienced delays or cancellations.

They get me to where I want to go, cheaply, efficiently and usually on time so I'll continue to use them. When that stops happening I'll use another airline.