Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

MD1990 wrote: »
    Looked to be lifting it from his knees

Give him a chance lads.... He's out of practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The commentary for that tackle was hilarious

"Here's Son OH MY WORD LOOK AT THE PACE FROM HEUNG MIN SO- and van Dijk clears it..."

I had a similar reaction.

‘F*ck he’s getting by Van Dijk very quickly....ah no he’s not...he was only giving him a head start.’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Daniel Sturridge is the first player to win the Champions League with two different English clubs in the #UCL era.

2012 final: Unused substitute
    2019 final: Unused substitute

Don't care. ����

https://twitter.com/Squawka/status/1134945467182329856

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,189 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

The one stat TAA does have is being the youngest player to have already started 2 CL finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭facehugger99

It's great that Klopp will be able to rest some players for the League Cup and FA Cup matches next season without some armchair expert claiming that this team needs to 'win something'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

The commentary for that tackle was hilarious

"Here's Son OH MY WORD LOOK AT THE PACE FROM HEUNG MIN SO- and van Dijk clears it..."

And live while it was happening, I never had any doubt in VVD getting back to make the clearance! I love this player!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,189 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Call me as bitter as you'd like I can't help but laugh at the thought of Coutinho forcing his way out of this club right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,164 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Where is that guy who said Allison would cost us before the season ends? Yeah cost us another runners up medal!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Not his biggest fan these days but he earned his medal with the goal against PSG and his overall performance that night. A nice note for him to leave on, he really was a class striker until the injuries took their toll. Wherever he ends up next, I wish him well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

What a feeling. Nerves were gone the last 10 minutes so I went out for a walk. Was at the green around the corner from the house when my 9 yr old son came running around to tell me Origi had scored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Didn't work out well for Newcastle.............:pac:

The Chosen One's Man U contract still has a month to run on it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭ballyargus

VVD gave no backup to Karius there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

https://twitter.com/SMignolet/status/1134942570415607808?s=19

What a fckin team player Simon is hope he sticks around tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Owl.

I wonder if Gary Neville still thinks we should have binned it off? Actually he probably does cos he's gonna be hurting right now :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

Alisson had an immense last 20 mins and what I love about his saves is how he pushes the ball out wide away from danger too!

I just rewatched some highlights of last year to show herself the difference our keeper made tonight compared to last year and in one of the clips, he actually makes a decent save but pushes the ball directly out to a Real Madrid player to tap in which was ruled out for offside anyway but even when he was making a decent save, he was pushing it straight back into a dangerous area. We are so lucky to have Alisson and VVD in our defense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

It is our first trophy in 7 years.

First major trophy since the 06 Fa Cup.

First CL since 05 in 14 years.

I think it could be the most important trophy the club has ever won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,889 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Owl. wrote: »
    I wonder if Gary Neville still thinks we should have binned it off? Actually he probably does cos he's gonna be hurting right now :pac::pac:

What a clown, as if he's Valencia experience wasnt enough.

Reading the champions league thread, omfg salty tears never tasted so good!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Negative_G

brevity wrote: »
    Excellent lift of the trophy by Henderson it has to be said.

Unbelievable energy.

We've conquered all of Europe, were never gonna stop

Paris down to Madrid, we've won the fu*cking lot!

Delighted I didn't go to Liverpool this time around, as I went in 06 and 18 :)

I wont be saying that tomorrow mind you....

Up the reds lads, this one is for the doubters...

Doubters to believers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,076 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Trent my motm, so many important tackles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,503 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Knex. wrote: »

That's f**king brilliant :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Would have been cruel to end this season empty handed - delighted for whole squad - so deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭daheff

Was the penalty a stonewall penno? Haven’t seen any footage yet.!

Anybody got any links to the goals/highlights yet?

https://twitter.com/SMignolet/status/1134942570415607808?s=19

What a fckin team player Simon is hope he sticks around tbh.

Just seen a vid from higher up ,soon as the whistle goes Simon sprint's past everyone straight down to Becker to embrace him in a huge hug .. love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Lots of talk about how it's great to win "a trophy" or great "to win something".

It's not "a trophy" it's the ****ing Champions League!! Worth 20 poxy League Cups or 10 FA Cups! It's so hard to win this trophy, it's the one everyone wants, it's the pinnacle in club football. Every club in Europe is jealous of us tonight.

Spurs will likely never see a final again. City still haven't made a final despite their millions.

This isn't just "a trophy". That's why even getting to a final is a phenomenal achievement. Huge kudos to Spurs and Poch for that. Anyone throwing the "trophy" line at them can **** right off.

Honestly give me a ten year drought and then another CL rather than years of mediocrity playing second tier football against the B squad of big teams or teams from the minor leagues of Europe winning regular Europa's, FA Cup and League Cups. Fair enough if you want that if you get your precious trophy at the end.

Better to compete in the big leagues for the chance to savour true greatness like this.

Nothing compares to this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,897 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

MD1990 wrote: »
    It is our first trophy in 7 years.

First major trophy since the 06 Fa Cup.

First CL since 05 in 14 years.

I think it could be the most important trophy the club has ever won.

the importance is not for me anyway how long it has been since we won a major trophy , but in the last seven years we have lost the league cup final, fa cup final , europa league final and the champions league final last year while finishing runners up twice in the league , a champions league final win is some way of stopping the rot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Jordan Henderson lifting that cup is one of the greatest sights in sports

After all the stick he got from idiots

Just beautiful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

daheff wrote: »
    Was the penalty a stonewall penno? Haven’t seen any footage yet.!

Anybody got any links to the goals/highlights yet?

Under the new rules / directives (natural silouhette etc...), yes it was a penalty.

I still think it's an absurd rule and so it can feel incredibly harsh on Spurs. But it would have been inconsistent and unfair not to give it.

It's following the precedent set of the ridiculous handballs given in the WC, the United on against PSG etc...They clsarified the rules and under those rules this incident = a penalty.

As a football fan I'd rather incidents like these didn't lead to penalties. I think it's an awful rule interpretation and we should trust refs to make a decision based on intent / recklessness from the defender. But technically yes under this terrible rule it was a penalty

Lol

• Subscribers Posts: 32,919 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

By my quick check calculations we've been in the European Cup or champions league 23 times, reaching the final roughly 1 in 2.5 times, and winning it better than 1 in 4 times we've been in the thing.

That's some bloody record.