Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Explain the dislike towards Ryanair?

• 31-05-2019 12:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭

Why does a Ryanair get such a hard time?

I've flown with them at least a hundred times. Nearly everyone of these flights was on time and trouble-free. Lost luggage only once which was duly put onboard the next flight. Planes were reasonably clean. Most takeoffs and landings were textbook. And each time their staff were unfailingly courteous.

Yet, as a consumer, I can't understand all this animosity towards Ryanair?

Their 'charismatic' leader being a skinflint. He'd charge for the jacks if he got away with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭BrianJD

Their 'charismatic' leader being a skinflint. He'd charge for the jacks if he got away with it.

For a skinflint, he gives very cheap flights.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,158 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Thet fecking jingle. I know it's gone now but playing that stupid song when the plane landed made me want to kill someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,931 ✭✭✭✭GBX

For years people booking flights for less than €10 expecting first class service, any amount of bags, free food and drink . Then getting pissed off because they have to pay for these extras when "they weren't told" but clicked go and accepted it as just a seat on a plane. So they got onto Joe Duffy /Facebook for a rant and Ryanair were the worst in the world for their stupidity and ignorance.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,601 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Anyone who remembers the cost of flying before Ryanair don’t have any issues with them.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 9,197 ✭✭✭maximoose

People give out cuz they don't read T&Cs and get caught out for easily avoidable charges.

These people keep my flights cheap, long may it continue.

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

people have seen parts of the world they never would have because of Ryanair.

actually genuinely think they're more efficient than Aer Lingus - it takes to too long to get off an Aer Lingus waiting on buses etc...

majority who have had problems seem to be the ones who simply haven't read the rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

I thought their 'bad reputation' had pretty much worn off at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

My recent issue with them is their idiotic policy that if i want to sit next to my partner I need to cough up more money to them.
    The amount of flights where people with families I've been on where they are scrambling to sit together is ridiculous.
    You see a flight for 50e and think that's a bargain. Then they make you add this that and the other and the price suddenly starts to double.
    Want to bring more than 2 shirts on your holiday? OK that's another 20e one way please.
    Priority no longer means anything as everyone buys it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Bob Harris wrote: »
    I thought their 'bad reputation' had pretty much worn off at this stage.

this

B_ecke_r wrote: »

I've seen the entire Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,646 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

B_ecke_r wrote: »

True.

Luton is the real jewel of the British Empire.

I've seen the entire Europe.

p01bqr07.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 25,450 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

bear1 wrote: »
    My recent issue with them is their idiotic policy that if i want to sit next to my partner I need to cough up more money to them.
    The amount of flights where people with families I've been on where they are scrambling to sit together is ridiculous.
    You see a flight for 50e and think that's a bargain. Then they make you add this that and the other and the price suddenly starts to double.
    Want to bring more than 2 shirts on your holiday? OK that's another 20e one way please.

Whatbis it they "make" you add? I've flown with them.more times than i care to count and never had to pay any extras for my flight.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭valoren

Dislike them? I'd like to actually own a piece of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,441 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

How is he a skinflint?

Charging for the toilet was a joke he cracked a few years ago and people fell for it and Ryanair got loads of free publicity from it.

People complaining about Ryanair generally don't follow the rules.

Then compare them to Aer Lingus or BA with "free" baggage and drinks years ago.

But ignore the fact that before Ryanair came along flights to London were around €300-400. But the food was "free".

I used to live in Holland and used to pay €300-500 to get home and it impacted life, restricted visits home etc.

Now, back in Ireland but still have Dutch family and they visit regularly and I go there regularly all thanks to getting flights ranging for €30-100. All very affordable so I don't mind playing the baggage game or paying for a coffee on the way over.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,671 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I admire him for living in this country and paying his taxes , unlike some of our other super rich. He sets out the rules clearly, if you can't follow them book with someone else, usually at additional expense.

Whatbis it they "make" you add? I've flown with them.more times than i care to count and never had to pay any extras for my flight.

I gave an example.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They opened up the skies for the riff raff

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

Idiots

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 25,450 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I gave an example.

They didn't "make" you pay it you chose to pay it.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,441 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Just don't bother paying it and sit for a couple of hours on your own with book/tablet. Or see if you can get a swap.

You're still forgetting how expensive flights were 20 years ago.

I go on holidays now with a 10kg bag and small backpack. It's plenty and I make sure I get accommodation with a washing machine so we do one wash after a week. All works out great.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,323 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

last flight i had with them was a 27 hour delay (mehanical problem with the plane) it was not a cheap flight.

due to the confusing options now when you try and book i check other airlines first and generally fly with them unless theres no other option.

all i want to know is can i bring small rucsac with a 13 inch laptop and my other electronic bits and peices inside on the plane without having to empty it into a carrier bag. the carry on restrictions are ludicrous at the moment

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

My problem is that we unwittingly subsidise their staff costs. Ryanair staff are regularly put on "unpaid leave". As they are paying Irish PRSI, they are entitled to claim benefits during these periods. However, to claim, they fly in from whatever EU city in which they reside, submit they're claim, specify the bank account to which payment will be made and then fly out on the next flight back home. Its true to say that not all the staff qualify, but an amazing number do. One day one of them tried to claim rent allowance for his flat in Poland, and said he'd been told he was entitled to do so, by his manager.

Caveat, this is from a few years ago, unless rules have changed in the interim, (they're EU rules) I'd imagine its still the same.

Despite all that, I watched a program recently about ship workers. Most shipowners register their workers in Cyprus, because that's where the lowest PRSI rates are. THose employees are also put on "unpaid leave" regularly, but the poor sods get SFA because the benefits in Cyprus are crap. So at least M.O'L isn't starving his staff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,482 ✭✭✭harr

Anyone I have heard complain about just didn’t read the t&c ...I never once had an issue and have been able to afford more city breaks because of cheap flights and Airbnb... single cabin bag and off you go.
    Booked a flight yesterday to Poland in November €30 and accommodation for 3 nights €100 . In all honesty it’s dearer to go to cork or Galway for a couple of nights.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

I love people who complain about the price of the add-ons, the same people would complain if the base cost was x and included all these things, "sure I don't need these things at all".....

Can't win can they.

Only issue I have is with their Customer Service. They are just so unhelpful and don't seem to care or have any consideration for the end customer.

So what I'm saying, they are grand until something goes wrong.

last flight i had with them was a 27 hour delay (mehanical problem with the plane) it was not a cheap flight.

due to the confusing options now when you try and book i check other airlines first and generally fly with them unless theres no other option.

all i want to know is can i bring small rucsac with a 13 inch laptop and my other electronic bits and peices inside on the plane without having to empty it into a carrier bag. the carry on restrictions are ludicrous at the moment

Yes. After it's checked going through security you don't have to take anything out if you don't want to.
    Bag goes under the seat in front. Couldn't be easier.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Should also say, I check prices before I fly and because I don't see any great difference between Aer Lingus and Ryanair, I go with whoever is cheapest. After all, the flight is the smallest part of any holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

jetsonx wrote: »
    Why does a Ryanair get such a hard time?

I've flown with them at least a hundred times. Nearly everyone of these flights was on time and trouble-free. Lost luggage only once which was duly put onboard the next flight. Planes were reasonably clean. Most takeoffs and landings were textbook. And each time their staff were unfailingly courteous.

Yet, as a consumer, I can't understand all this animosity towards Ryanair?

Their "hidden charges" that are flagged up on every page of their website could be considered an idiot tax.

Idiots are annoyed at having to pay idiot tax.

They didn't "make" you pay it you chose to pay it.

No I'm forced into paying it.
    If I'm on a 5 hour flight and it's a holiday with my partner why would I want to start it by being seperate?
    They create a situation where you need to pay for the want to be next to someone you're flying with.
    I remember very well how much it cost to fly 20 years ago but it still doesn't mean that cause it costs x euro to go somewhere that I should need to pay more x euro cause its still x amount less than 2 decades ago.