If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Fair play to the minors. Losing the man killed them but showed great heart to keep going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,660 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

****ing joke tbh

The management team doesn't have a clue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Gardner

Fanning is an absolute disgrace. Can he be sacked now. This is as bad as Georgie Leahy and Greg Fives days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Ixlandia

Jeez why can’t we just run at them? Tipp full back line are cleaning up, and have it far too easy. Season over if this is the case, we need to run at them, not put all our hopes down to taking pot shots from the half way line. Management need to react much quicker than allowing this to go on for 35 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Last week I felt we lost the game on the sideline. I'm not sure what they could do to have us living with Tipp today. They just look a better team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭BazBox

I'm all for giving new management teams a chance and there was optimism after a solid league campaign, however I can't help but feel that Waterford under Derek McGrath would have managed this and last weeks game better.

Long 2nd half ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

Fannings time as manager might be short lived id say.

Tipperary look light years ahead of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Annabella1

Tipp not even breaking sweat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭friendlyfun

This painful to watch. Utter ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Crusty Blaa

Hard to see us winning a game in the round robin the way things are going. Brutal tactics and some players just going through the motions and looking like they are lacking interest. Why are we persisting with the puck out tactics? Hitting 50/50 puck outs 50 yards out from goal is a recipe for disaster. Depressing stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Annabella1

Hawkeye ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭The Young Wan

The way we're playing we wouldn't win a raffle, not to mind an All Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

The way we're playing we wouldn't win a raffle, not to mind an All Ireland.

Worst fears transpired. Season well and truely over. That was as bad as any of the defeats in recent years.......18 pts is severe.....throw in a few new guys for next two games and concentrate on next season.....will fanning stay....???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭914

Jaysus lads hard two weeks. Hard to pick any positives out of the past two weeks.

Out of 150 mins or so of hurling we've played about 20 minutes.

Lack of communication between players.

Lack of a solid plan.

Poor distribution of ball (including puck outs)

A lot of points giving away from errors by ourselves.

Being second to the ball.

Unable to win our of puck outs.

Struggling to get Aussie involved.

Two games in a row going in at half time 6 points down.

Hard to see where we go from here.

Fair depressing.

Horrendous and there is no way back

Season over and we still have 2 games too go

Fanning and co will be there next year unless they walk away. Danger is players wont bother coming back to this shambles. We scraped into a league final tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Deiseen

914 wrote: »
    Jaysus lads hard two weeks. Hard to pick any positives out of the past two weeks.

Lack of a solid plan.

Fair depressing.

Hard to disagree with any of that. Depressing stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,654 ✭✭✭giveitholly

914 wrote: »

Lack of a solid plan.

Fair depressing.

Just on struggling to get Aussie involved,if he is as talented as he is supposed to be he should be the one getting himself involved not waiting for fellas around him to do it for him,Does he have the mentality and right attitude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Crusty Blaa

Just on struggling to get Aussie involved,if he is as talented as he is supposed to be he should be the one getting himself involved not waiting for fellas around him to do it for him,Does he have the mentality and right attitude?
    Personally I don’t think his attitude is right. Spends too much time sulking and giving out to teammates. He doesn’t make half enough runs off the ball to try get involved.

Some of the Tipp forwards runs were brilliant. Poor Conor Gleeson will be having nightmares about Bubbles.

Our warm up is so tame too

Fanning standing clueless on the sideline

Sadly unless theres a major player revolt than Fanning will still be in charge next year. I think he should go as hes just not up too the standard and all the talent in the squad will realise this and stay away from the scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

Road-Hog wrote: »
    Worst fears transpired. Season well and truely over. That was as bad as any of the defeats in recent years.......18 pts is severe.....throw in a few new guys for next two games and concentrate on next season.....will fanning stay....???

Who'd take the job if it was free? Some good names linked with it refused it last year and the county board ****ed up appointing Matty Kenny and Pat Ryan. So Fanning will still be there I'd say.

As for throwing in new lads, if the playing structure they're thrown into is a mess would it do them more harm to have them involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

A disgrace of a performance, im sick and tired of this team at this stage. People spending their time and money to go and watch that and they go out and play like that. Today was time for them to put up or shut up and they failed yet again. People blame managers but you know what those players need to take a look in the mirror, theirs not excuse playing like that.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Conor Gleeson had the ultimate nightmare half hour . Enough said about that. The positives were Lyons. TBD. Tommy and Jack in the first half . We have had for many years an inability to win ball in our half forward line , no Seamus Prendergast type player and we never seem to win a breaking ball. We done well to get within 3 points after 50 mins but after the goal the wheels came off. Still think Austin is a centre back. If the county board and present management have any interest in the future of our senior team then the present management team need to be gone in 3 weeks time . Depressing stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,008 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Conceded 4-58 in two games. The whole setup is a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

lertsnim wrote: »
    Conceded 4-58 in two games. The whole setup is a disgrace.

Think you are wrong there. 3-51 conceded in two games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭914

I think its more down to frustration than the wrong attitude. Not sure at this stage does he even know his own position.

In my opinion he needs to be central, facing the plan, centre back. He'll score as much from centre back as he will in the half forward line.

Sure that's a debate for another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,008 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Road-Hog wrote: »
    Think you are wrong there. 3-51 conceded in two games

John Mullane wrong on the radio then. Even still 3-51 is woeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭ovalu

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Our warm up is so tame too

Fanning standing clueless on the sideline

Sadly unless theres a major player revolt than Fanning will still be in charge next year. I think he should go as hes just not up too the standard and all the talent in the squad will realise this and stay away from the scene

Paddy Joe and the county board need to meet this evening and end this farce, waste of a golden generation, last year's U21 management should be put in place as an interim measure for the last 2 games and than appoint a new manager before the end of summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

I hear Jose Mourinho is still free...

ovalu wrote: »
    Paddy Joe and the county board need to meet this evening and end this farce, waste of a golden generation, last year's U21 management should be put in place as an interim measure for the last 2 games and than appoint a new manager before the end of summer

Deff wont happen

Hard too see this group of players doing a 2008 on it and going behind the managers back