Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

The 'what have some travellers somewhere done this time? thread

Explain that report to me! In the beginning it's masked men threating the security with golf clubs and bats and the RSU has to be called...... And then.....

"garda spokesman said that when they arrived, there was no incident and no complaint has since been made."

So then, what exactly is going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/gardai-called-as-armed-men-force-security-from-illegal-dumping-site-in-cork-921877.html

Ken O'Flynn just got himself elected.
    Getting my vote anyway.

How the fcuk as a nation are we putting up with this behaviour.

Unbelievable. The cheek of the f*ckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Explain that report to me! In the beginning it's masked men threating the security with golf clubs and bats and the RSU has to be called...... And then.....

"garda spokesman said that when they arrived, there was no incident and no complaint has since been made."

So then, what exactly is going on?

Intimidation I would guess. They obviously had time to throw out a few old chestnuts, "I know where you live" etc etc.

That or the Gardaí don't want to face up to the travellers.

Unbelievable. The cheek of the f*ckers.

Mysterious armed men that the coppers decided not to see and let go on their way even though the armed backup was called.

A total f**king pisstake at the taxpayers expense lads.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

20,000 hours and you too can be a genius in your chosen field.

You mean somebody else's field which you've 'chosen' to set up shop in for 20,000 hours before moving on to the next 'chosen field' amirite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,092 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

This incident is not acceptable

Local Councillor Ken O’Flynn (FF) said the matter needs to be fully investigated.

“I believe security staff were run off the site and punches were thrown on Wednesday night. Cameras that were mounted to monitor illegal dumping have been broken on scaffolding poles and the scaffolding poles have been torn down.

“Security staff that were minding the site had to be taken off the site by the Gardaí.

“They have been manning the site since the clean up finished and this is the second altercation that has taken place. Contractors putting up the fences were also threatened.

“This is not acceptable. It is city council, public owned land and nobody has the right to come in and intimidate anybody or undermine the authority of Cork City Council,” he added.

https://www.echolive.ie/corknews/Armed-masked-gang-threaten-security-staff-at-former-Ballyvolane-illegal-dump-ad64a19b-6cb8-4712-bfc5-d536906ab55f-ds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,580 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Mysterious armed men that the coppers decided not to see and let go on their way even though the armed backup was called.

A total f**king pisstake at the taxpayers expense lads.:mad:

Didn’t read that in the report.
    I read “no complaint was made”.
    I wonder why no complaint was made to the Garda? Maybe it’s bad journalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Oh how I would love for rte to be used as the new dumping site as rte think the travellers can do no wrong.

Another great idea would be to use Enda Kenny's front lawn and Leo's also.

I have on numerous occasions had to stand up to these bullies in work and outside of it too.

I have lost all faith in the judicial system and Gardai a long long time ago.

Didn’t read that in the report.
    I read “no complaint was made”.
    I wonder why no complaint was made to the Garda? Maybe it’s bad journalism.

Because of those security staff are staying there, as in working and will be left on that site as mentioned they would have received threats which I would bank my house on it.

The Gardai won't be staying so nothing stopping it happening again.

Most likely they will have to be looking the other way when more crap is dumped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Oh how I would love for rte to be used as the new dumping site as rte think the travellers can do no wrong.

I have on numerous occasions had to stand up to these bullies in work and outside of it too.

Those two lads live in their own little bubbles, don't think they have front lawns.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

5 of them surrounded me in the yard in work one day because I had the cheek to run them trying to lift stuff. They only backed off when I took out a Stanley knife.

I've all the time in the world for someone, traveller or not coming and asking is there any scrap or could they have a couple of ould pallets but these lads were just out thieving.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

I'd say we should all pitch in and buy every traveller family a chip pan as a gesture of good will and reconciliation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Did you hear Brenda Power on Sean O Rourke today? While discussing the Drogheda feud she brought up the fact that they were travellers. She was shot down a couple of times with the line that there are criminal gangs in other places that weren't travellers. Thing is they weren't discussing other places. They were discussing Drogheda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

You and me both. People here think crime should be understood and not punished. These guys couldn't give a rats. They know nothing will happen to them so they're now totally above the law.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Did you hear Brenda Power on Sean O Rourke today? While discussing the Drogheda feud she brought up the fact that they were travellers. She was shot down a couple of times with the line that there are criminal gangs in other places that weren't travellers. Thing is they weren't discussing other places. They were discussing Drogheda.

I didn't hear but it's exactly the same mentality of the snow flake or petals or what ever they're called.

I'm sick to death of hearing ones going on about oh Yee are racist etc etc etc.... Hold on a minute we aren't even a different race so what are Yee on about....

Offended because the sky is blue, god what is the world coming to.

Thief's, rapists, murderers etc are the best cared for and treated with such high standards yet those they destroyed the life's of get nothing.....

I didn't hear but it's exactly the same mentality of the snow flake or petals or what ever they're called.

I'm sick to death of hearing ones going on about oh Yee are racist etc etc etc.... Hold on a minute we aren't even a different race so what are Yee on about....

Offended because the sky is blue, god what is the world coming to.

Thief's, rapists, murderers etc are the best cared for and treated with such high standards yet those they destroyed the life's of get nothing.....

I've said it before and I'll say it again. We need a repeal like movement to sort out sentencing. Every day suspended this and suspended that. The place is becoming an utter kip and our leaders couldn't care less.

Hal3000 wrote: »
    I've said it before and I'll say it again. We need a repeal like movement to sort out sentencing. Every day suspended this and suspended that. The place is becoming an utter kip and our leaders couldn't care less.

Even though the government that ruined us they had the right idea about building the super prison.

We need it not now at least 10 years ago but yet nobody will do anything about it.....

We actually have nobody that will do what the people need or want.

I actually can't believe what we have as a government has actually lasted months never mind near the full term.

It's actually shocking what's allowed carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

RTE should do a whole Traveler special. The audience 100% travelers and all guests too. Let the audience have a few drinks before the show.

See how that works out.

RTE should do a whole Traveler special. The audience 100% travelers and all guests too. Let the audience have a few drinks before the show.

See how that works out.

That Sir is a capitol idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

sligojoek wrote: »

If a traveller was seen helping an old lady across the road, they'd be all over the ethnic identity fact - angle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Hal3000 wrote: »

The thug - delinquency culture is the biggest issue facing the country

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    If a traveller was seen helping an old lady across the road, they'd be all over the ethnic identity fact

Only if they're on the way to the bank to force her to empty her account for a **** fluttering job...

Traveller helping someone ..... yea right

That Sir is a capitol idea.

The comedy and violence would be off the charts. They could put on PPV and make millions.

Jeremy kyle on ketamine with a super T chaser.

Gwan daddi...

Agreed

Jeremy kyle on ketamine with a super T chaser.

Gwan daddi...

Ryan Tubridy presenting from the safety of a small perspex prison on stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭Odelay

I'd say we should all pitch in and buy every traveller family a chip pan as a gesture of good will and reconciliation

That’s a disgusting comment. I’m no fan of them, but that’s not a nice thing to write.

If only there was some kind of consequence for such behaviour but unfortunately we have ****wit scum like judge Martin Nolan. Is there anyone left in Ireland that doesn't have anything but contemp for the courts . Unless you rape a ****ing judges son daughter mother through the ****in eye socket with hot poker you only getting a suspended sentence. Suspended s today for 2 animals who raped a 14yr old.

Build a high ****in prison now and put the ****in animals in their zoo, **** their rights and **** all travellers.

Odelay wrote: »
    That’s a disgusting comment. I’m no fan of them, but that’s not a nice thing to write.

They should be treated with the contempt they deserve. They don't give a **** about me or my right to a peaceable life so why should I care about theirs. If they change I will soften my opinion but my breath will not be held