Barcelona v Liverpool UCL Semi Final 1/5/19 20.00 BT2 +Virgin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,482 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Im in work here lads how did this pan out?

As predicted earlier in the liverpool thread, number 6 is coming....to Barcelona

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Surely one of the best free kicks of Messi’s career? Postage stamp from that range was impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

All jokes a side, liverpool produced one of the best away displays I've seen at the Camp Nou in years, the score line doesn't reflect that.

I wouldnt be quick to laugh at the display anyway, I know that bar City, every other side in the PL would have had their arse spanked tonight by Barca.

Chelsea we're destroyed last year in Spain, Utd had a good 10mins here a few weeks and were bate out the gate. Spurs got a draw here a few mo ths ago in the 6th game of the group with barca already through.

I'm all up for taking the piss out of the result but it's frightening as a Chelsea fan to see how far off the pace we are compared to Pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

AidoEirE wrote: »
    It happens when united loose, get posters like md1990 trying to take a rise there.

Just because united fans post so what..

This is the CL semi final, everybody is watching. So liverpool fans getting worked up about people posting about their thrashing need a thicker skin.

It goes every way, i know dir hard arsenal and spurs fans and they slate each other all the time.

Fact is people get worked up. If i was down the pub with a pool supporter now, he'd get a slagin, because its CL night.

Its football

The big difference between being down the pub and slagging mates etc and boards is well...

This is a 'discussion' forum. Like the way all forums are and the back and forth 'banter' isn't much of a discussion and ends in disaster every single time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,709 ✭✭✭✭noodler

It happens when united loose, get posters like md1990 trying to take a rise there.

Just because united fans post so what..

This is the CL semi final, everybody is watching. So liverpool fans getting worked up about people posting about their thrashing need a thicker skin.

It goes every way, i know dir hard arsenal and spurs fans and they slate each other all the time.

Fact is people get worked up. If i was down the pub with a pool supporter now, he'd get a slagin, because its CL night.

Its football

If I didn't have a thick skin I'd be in utd match threads constantly sniping back when they lose.

Or replying directly to the bile tonight with reminders of utds season.

I'm not sure a thick skin means getting involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Noveight wrote: »
    Surely one of the best free kicks of Messi’s career? Postage stamp from that range was impressive.

Probably not in his top 3 this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Sure its just a 3 goal deficit

Once you stop Barcelona scoring at anfield and score 4 goals you will walk into the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,134 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Must say people need to try harder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Probably spent all week coming up with this "top banter"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

The big difference between being down the pub and slagging mates etc and boards is well...

This is a 'discussion' forum. Like the way all forums are and the back and forth 'banter' isn't much of a discussion and ends in disaster every single time.

Yeah of course you'll get united posters coming in, im one myself.

You also get liverpool supporters in our thread slagin.

It is a discussion forum but no side is better thsn the other on the discussion.

You either scroll past it or react if hurts you so much

Tell that to VVD tonight :pac:

In all serious though, I didn't see the game just some highlights and he looked partially at fault for the two goals.

Probably the first time I've seen it this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

noodler wrote: »
    If I didn't have a thick skin I'd be in utd match threads constantly sniping back when they lose.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=110014718&postcount=9994

Not a match thread but definitely sniping :rolleyes:

noodler wrote: »

It does if your getting offended by lads slagin you loosing.

My point was, you'll get posters every weekend in and out of oppostion threads having a go.

Tonight was Champions League where you got hanmered, expect the comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,635 ✭✭✭✭8-10

I just saw the Messi freekick replay, holy moly that was ridiculously good. Didn't arc that much it just rifled in there. It's incredible how many of those he scores. Right in the corner. Beautiful to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭.G.

Once you stop Barcelona scoring at anfield and score 4 goals you will walk into the final.

Like Roma did then? Sound we'll give that a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

brinty wrote: »
    #moralvictoriestrophyithinkitscalled

Dont think Ive ever seen a post of yours that is in anyway relevant to football discussion no matter what thread on the soccer forum your in. Just dont get the point of logging in constantly to just go on the wind up.

8-10 wrote: »
    I just saw the Messi freekick replay, holy moly that was ridiculously good. Didn't arc that much it just rifled in there. It's incredible how many of those he scores. Right in the corner. Beautiful to watch

Added that to his game this season when Ronaldo thinks he can hit a free kick, messi seems to have a better scoring record at them than Ronaldo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,427 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Yeah of course you'll get united posters coming in, im one myself.

You also get liverpool supporters in our thread slagin.

It is a discussion forum but no side is better thsn the other on the discussion.

You either scroll past it or react if hurts you so much

Maybe we could just ban all the fools with their **** banter? Set up a little corner in Boards and let them at it in there where they can't annoy anyone and let those who might actually want to discuss stuff post in peace in the soccer forum.

Added that to his game this season when Ronaldo thinks he can hit a free kick, messi seems to have a better scoring record at them than Ronaldo

Phil was the best we've had in a long time, must be weird not being allowed take any anymore

I don't have the stats off hand but Liverpool must be nearly close to conceding the same amount of goals in the CL and the league?

I think it's something like 20 in the league only.

Edit : 12 in CL I think. Not as close as I first thought.

TitianGerm wrote: »
    Maybe we could just ban all the fools with their **** banter? Set up a little corner in Boards and let them at it in there where they can't annoy anyone and let those who might actually want to discuss stuff post in peace in the soccer forum.

<
    Relationship issues that way

Tell that to VVD tonight :pac:

In all serious though, I didn't see the game just some highlights and he looked partially at fault for the two goals.

Probably the first time I've seen it this season.

He seemed to be worried about Suarez who spent most of the game playing in or around an offside position pulling him back towards his goal which in turn disrupted the Liverpool line, great when it works from the attacking team as it will cause confusing for those defending as they are unable to play offside effectively

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

spockety wrote:
    It's part of the fan experience everywhere, not just here. I have already had the WhatsApp messages coming in from mates, and work is going to be hell in the morning. What am I going to say back? "Oh you're pathetic"?? I'd be laughed out of it.

Opposition fans haven't had much chances to have a go at Liverpool this season in fairness, was to be expected, you have to take the rough with the smooth.

Well said both of you. Never interacted with either of you before but I'm sure we could have the banter and it'd be taken for what it is.

If you can't take it you shouldn't try and give it

I don't have the stats off hand but Liverpool must be nearly close to conceding the same amount of goals in the CL and the league?

I think it's something like 20 in the league only.

4 defeats in the Champions League. 3 defeats in all other competitions put together this season.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=110014718&postcount=9994

Not a match thread but definitely sniping :rolleyes:

Are you a bit dim or what?

It's a post calling out the same toxic ****e I'm calling out tonight.

It wasn't a snipe based on the poster simply being a utd fan - it was criticism of the above.

Are you just hoping people won't click the link or...?

8-10 wrote: »

Some angle here

https://twitter.com/ThePop_Network/status/1123709192064446464?s=19

brinty wrote: »
    Well said both of you. Never interacted with either of you before but I'm sure we could have the banter and it'd be taken for what it is.

If you can't take it you shouldn't try and give it

Pretty spot on by both and fair play, the point i was making.

Liverpool lads accept the slaggin, ye've gotten far in the cup.

Souness thinks your still in it tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,427 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

They showed that angle on BEIN earlier. You couldn't put the ball in a better spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

I knew since August Barca would win it.
    It's frustrating , because apart from Messi and the luck they get they really are an average side.

Just wait till you see Ajax just lining up to pull Messi's pants down and suck him off in the middle of the pitch, will be the worst final in the history of the comp.

Barca 5 - 0 Ajax

And Ajax and their fans will be loving it.

Pretty spot on by both and fair play, the point i was making.

Liverpool lads accept the slaggin, ye've gotten far in the cup.

Souness thinks your still in it tbf

Utd fans agreeing with each other that Liverpool bashing is grand the same night as a heavy defeat probably doesn't do much in settling the debate.