Calving 2019 - Advice and Help thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,428 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

einn32 wrote: »
    There is a tool you can get to turn the calf inside the cow. I forget the name of it but vet used it here successfully. Serious power still needed and a two person job

Ye we used it here a few weeks ago and someone linked it on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

GYNstick.

477195.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Angus2018

Thats a mad looking yoke.

3 more calves here. Heifer just went this morning. Had them out on grass the past 6 weeks to get their strength up. Calf was big so she couldn't get anywhere with the head. Hard enough pull with ropes and it came out. Angus so minimal chance of getting stuck on the hips. The heifer jumped up when it was done, amazing what a few weeks on grass will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Pulled this fella for a neighbour last night. Never seen anything like him. Size 10 wellie for scale. Still does him no justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Pulled this fella for a neighbour last night. Never seen anything like him. Size 10 wellie for scale. Still does him no justice.

Jesus he’s massive! He looks a couple of weeks old. I’d say he took his time getting up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭tanko

Is it off your own bull?!!!

squinn2912 wrote: »
    Jesus he’s massive! He looks a couple of weeks old. I’d say he took his time getting up?

Running around the shed this evening!

tanko wrote: »
    Is it off your own bull?!!!

No. A fairly old bull the neighbour has.
    Enfield Newlook x cf52. Serious breeding bull but you get the odd whopper off him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭High bike

took some cow to push that lad out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭Dunedin

To be fair, it’s been a great spring to get cows and calves out early. The bull will be out a lot earlier too in lots of places

Dunedin wrote: »
    To be fair, it’s been a great spring to get cows and calves out early. The bull will be out a lot earlier too in lots of places

Ai man was saying that a few lads who held off serving until later last year have started ai already this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

1 cow to calf here and suspect something is up. Bull was with cows 6 weeks and all scanned incalf. This girl with twins. Previous cow calved a week ago. She Showing no sign of springing and don't see any movement inside of her. Put her in crush today and can't feel any movement from outside. She doesn't seem as big as a month ago either. While in crush another cow mounted her a couple times. Calving started a month ago. Wait on a couple more weeks and observer? Eating away.

Dunedin wrote: »

Got a bad doing with scour this year (not me now, the calves). First few were fine then 4 or 5 in a row got scour, so I calved the rest outside. None of them got scour. Have one cow that acts up a bit when calving so decided to calve her inside. She went 10 days over and had a big calf that was slow to get going. Left them in for just 2 days and yep he got bad scour.

Had to tube everything for 2 or 3 days, but they all pulled tru. What kind of scour could it be? It struck at around a week old, no blood or mucous and came out like pure water. Scour never really a problem here. Hope it isn't here to stay.

Could be Crypto, was it green in colour.
    Had it here a few years ago, started disinfecting calving pens with Kilcox and lime before calving starts, made a big difference.
    Also used Rotavec Corona this year, well worth doing i think.

tanko wrote: »
    Could be Crypto, was it green in colour.
    Had it here a few years ago, started disinfecting calving pens with Kilcox and lime before calving starts, made a big difference.
    Also used Rotavec Corona this year, well worth doing i think.

Not green. Had one case of Crypto before so I think I recognise it.
    I do powerwash and disenfect (Jeyes fluid) the calving area before calving starts.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Not green. Had one case of Crypto before so I think I recognise it.
    I do powerwash and disenfect (Jeyes fluid) the calving area before calving starts.

I wouldn't be depending on colour to identify cause. Age would better but still not foolproof. Your vet may have a test kit that's cheapish and accurate. Sample would need to be from a sick calf and fresh.
    I'd suggest using disinfectants certified for the causal agent. I wouldn't be sure Jeyes Fluid would be adequate.
    Have the cows as clean as possible before calving. They are part of the calf's 'environment '.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

Lads I have a cow calved 4 days ago, she still not cleaned, let her out to a wall of ivy, vet recommend waiting 10 days before giving injection is there anything else lad can do in the mean time???

My vet would reccomend giving her somerhing like Betamox LA every second day and getting her examined after a week or so if she hadn't cleaned.
    Was it a hard calving?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Lads I have a cow calved 4 days ago, she still not cleaned, let her out to a wall of ivy, vet recommend waiting 10 days before giving injection is there anything else lad can do in the mean time???

The ivy may be a help, I've often been told that grass from a graveyard is a renowned cure. I know of a few lads lately that found it successful but have no personal experience of it working. Is there any cleanings showing? If it was a hard calving / dead calf it often takes them near a week to clean in my experience

Once she's eating I'd leave her be

She is eating away, about a foot hanging out, and it was a hard calvingn, big bull calf 2 weeks over due so that could be a lot of it. Put her in the crush there and to top it all off, one teat like a bullet and a second full of a blood coloured milk........ Looks like my final calving of 2019 is going to put the rest of what can only be called a super calving season to a poor end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭L1985

I have something similar-it’s been 12 days but cows in excellent form and is eating really well but hasn’t cleaned.... will I leave her be which is my instinct or at this point should I inject her? It wasn’t a hard calving.

12 days is a long time to retain the cleanings, i'd get a vet to look at her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭L1985

Typical-saw her this morning and she had cleaned! Happy though as it’s the longest I’ve ever seen a cow not clean . I spoke with the vet before and it’s just the fact she’s in excellent form and eating well I didn’t really see the need to intervene too much!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

She is eating away, about a foot hanging out, and it was a hard calvingn, big bull calf 2 weeks over due so that could be a lot of it. Put her in the crush there and to top it all off, one teat like a bullet and a second full of a blood coloured milk........ Looks like my final calving of 2019 is going to put the rest of what can only be called a super calving season to a poor end

Did you ever test for low selenium or iodine?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote:
    Did you ever test for low selenium or iodine?

No never, would that be a cause of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Cows and calves all back in today and by god were they happy to get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Nice little charolais heifer off the accidental pregnancy! Two feet at 3.15 & calved herself by the time I'd made myself a cup of tea.

ZuqZvAxl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Nice little charolais heifer off the accidental pregnancy! Two feet at 3.15 & calved herself by the time I'd made myself a cup of tea.

I see you are making a pet of this one too.
    Next thing you will give it a nameðŸ˜