Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drink driving-virtue signaling gone mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭lalababa

Elemonator wrote: »
    This is insane.

3 pints affects everyone differently. I've seen lads down three pints and not a breeze on them. I've seen others drink 3 and get sick. Only a few short years ago, a girl I knew was out socialising with friends. Got offered a lift home with a man on a few pints. The journey was 3km. On that straight road, he drove into a wall and killed her instantly.

The tolerance for drink driving should be no pints. If you cannot socialise without alcohol, that's your problem.

Here we go...this is it.. confusing one thing with another. What was the causitive factor in the crash? Was he over the limit? Etc. Brainwashed by the media. I'll say one thing though nearly all of my drinking buddies and alot of the men that used to go to the pub could phisically and mentally not stop at a couple , they literally had to have the 6/7/8+ if they were 'socializing'. The laws are fine ATM but if the limits are reduced anymore God help the person that has the maturity to stop at a few pints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,674 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

I can almost guarantee with 100% certainty that anyone who drinks posting on this thread has drove over the limit the following morning without realizing.
    It amuses me to watch people post as if they are gods gift and have never put a foot wrong.
    Ps. those tester kits you buy in the shop are not nearly as accurate as the tests the Garda use.

Not me. I walk or get the bus. I only drive once in a blue moon and usually late in the evening. My 9 year old car only has 14,000 km on it.

The garda tests aren't overly accurate either. Hence the requirement to go to the station for urine tests.

You don't really strike me as an authority on anything here based on your postulations and yet you think you are God's gift and guaranteeing with 100% certainty that you are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,074 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

Steve wrote: »
    Just an idea - there are far more ridiculous laws that aren't enforced.

So - you are saying passengers having internet is more important than all the lives lost every year??

Yes, and me as a driver want internet in my car too, I use it to listen to music/internet radio/ Google maps/ receive or make a call via my in-car Bluetooth system, it is the 21st century we're living in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

I don't see what the logic is of reducing the limit to 50mg, yes there might be slight impairment.
    However I don't see that it has a major impact on actual road safety.
    The UK now has one of the highest limits in Europe yet only one country has safer roads.
    https://ec.europa.eu/transport/facts-fundings/scoreboard/compare/people/road-fatalities_en

Taking resources to process drivers between 50-80mg might be OK if we had unlimited resources but the fact is that at the minute there is basically zero enforcement of things like breaking red lights, the fact you can see drivers breaking that rule literally every five minutes in Dublin to me is a much bigger deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

Not me. I walk or get the bus. I only drive once in a blue moon and usually late in the evening. My 9 year old car only has 14,000 km on it.

The garda tests aren't overly accurate either. Hence the requirement to go to the station for urine tests.

You don't really strike me as an authority on anything here based on your postulations and yet you think you are God's gift and guaranteeing with 100% certainty that you are?

Hahahaha! "not me" :pac::pac::pac::pac:

Do you think not once in your whole life you have drove over the limit ?
    It doesn't matter if you drive in the evening or you feel 100% fine. If you had a rake of pints the night before or wine you will sometimes be over the limit until later the following night therefore rendering the "evening drive" over the limit.

Lucky for you I am indeed gods gift and BTW a car with 14,000 km over 9 years is actually pretty bad for the car. Why bother having a car at all ? Looks like you might be throwing money down the drain while drink driving :P

• Site Banned Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

Bottom line is the vast majority of drink drivers don't cause accidents. Again I emphasis that we allow people to drink themselves to death unless they get into a car. Yes I know they can kill others in a car but a more flexible law is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Bobtheman wrote: »
    Yes I know they can kill others in a car but a more flexible law is needed.

Why?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Allinall wrote: »
    Of course there is a right to drive.

If you’re not disqualified from driving by age, lack of license or any other reason, then by default you have a right to drive.

You are completely wrong in saying rights are set out in the constitution or in law.

Lmfao. No. Driving is a privilege.

Really just amazed at the level of discourse boards is capable of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

What bull****. Crazy drivers on the road all the time. Most of whom have no booze.
    You base society's views on what? The law doesn't always reflect popular opinion. A lot of people will say one thing and think another.

Who said anything about popular opinion?

Diminished capacity due to alcohol is a proven reality.

There are indeed crazy drivers the road and when they break other road traffic laws they should and sometimes do get sanctioned accordingly.

Drink driving is no different.

To be honest, I'm not even sure why I responded to your incoherent post.

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Lmfao. No. Driving is a privilege.

Really just amazed at the level of discourse boards is capable of

To me boards is the anomaly, I have come across no one in real life who supports morning bagging or the lower limit. Friends, family and acquaintances alike giving out about morning bagging, cursing it to the last and no idea at all why the limit reduction was neceaaary has been a general conversation topic over the last while.

lawred2 wrote: »
    What bull****. Crazy drivers on the road all the time. Most of whom have no booze.
    You base society's views on what? The law doesn't always reflect popular opinion. A lot of people will say one thing and think another.

There are indeed crazy drivers the road and when they break other road traffic laws they should and sometimes do get sanctioned accordingly.

I would simply abolish the morning after check points.

Hahahaha! "not me" :pac::pac::pac::pac:

Do you think not once in your whole life you have drove over the limit ?
    It doesn't matter if you drive in the evening or you feel 100% fine. If you had a rake of pints the night before or wine you will sometimes be over the limit until later the following night therefore rendering the "evening drive" over the limit.

Lucky for you I am indeed gods gift and BTW a car with 14,000 km over 9 years is actually pretty bad for the car. Why bother having a car at all ? Looks like you might be throwing money down the drain while drink driving :P

Yes, I can genuinely state that I've never driven while impaired by alcohol.
    I drink even less than I drive. I've not touched a drop in about 5 years and before that I was so worried about drink driving after seeing 8 of my friends killed in a car crash that I wouldn't drive in the same week after having a drink, nevermind the next day.

Anyone who owns a car is throwing money down the drain. It is a rapidly depreciating asset. But it gives a sense of security if you need it in an emergency and taxis aren't available.

To be honest, I'm not even sure why I responded to your incoherent post.[/quote
    Should people drink and drive? No.
    Should there be a bit more flexibility in the law ? Yes
    The first ban should be short-term a couple of months
    The second ban should be jail
    But amazing how many people here jump up and down about drivers drinking who mostly don't cause accidents but had no issue with most high streets being dominated by drug dealers ( pubs)
    Double standards

To me boards is the anomaly, I have come across no one in real life who supports morning bagging or the lower limit. Friends, family and acquaintances alike giving out about morning bagging, cursing it to the last and no idea at all why the limit reduction was neceaaary has been a general conversation topic over the last while.

Never heard one person moaning about it...

e: actually I tell a lie, my mother in law complains about it. But I put that down to her 18 month ban in the UK for still being over the limit at 1130 the next morning. She must have had some skinful the night before.

Should people drink and drive? No.
    Should there be a bit more flexibility in the law ? Yes
    The first ban should be short-term a couple of months
    The second ban should be jail
    But amazing how many people here jump up and down about drivers drinking who mostly don't cause accidents but had no issue with most high streets being dominated by drug dealers ( pubs)
    Double standards

You can go to the pub without driving. Taking the car to the pub is a conscious decision to drink and drive. I don't see any double standard at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Think it's high time to introduce a drinking licence myself.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,357 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If you’re not disqualified from driving by age, lack of license or any other reason, then by default you have a right to drive.

You are completely wrong in saying rights are set out in the constitution or in law.

What are you talking about? You are disqualified from driving due to lack of license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭McCrack

Driving is a privilege which is earned by means of a driving licence which can be taken away by a Court for a determined period of time in accordance with law

There is no automatic right or otherwise that anyone has to drive in a public place

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,357 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I can almost guarantee with 100% certainty that anyone who drinks posting on this thread has drove over the limit the following morning without realizing.
    It amuses me to watch people post as if they are gods gift and have never put a foot wrong.
    Ps. those tester kits you buy in the shop are not nearly as accurate as the tests the Garda use.

Nope, if im driving following day, I ain't drinking. Mainly because I do be a bit slower to wake up, if I've had some. T'is simple to go by.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,058 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

In my opinion they have drink driving beaten, not only are drink drivers seen as the complete scum of the earth but the only people that do it will never stop doing it.

For me, the "old" scheme where you were a little over the limit you got points was spot on and there wasn't a need to change it. The problem I have is no-one know how much is ok to drink with, some times I know I'd be fine after 3 pints but other times I'd be pissed after 3 pints, really depends on a lot of factors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,468 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

I realise we have to have laws on this but to be honest I wonder if the checkpoints in the morning should be done way with ? Or perhaps less checkpoints overall?

I honestly think its ok to drive a short distance (1-3 miles) with 3 pints. There I said it . We allow people to drink heavily which is always a health risk but seem hell bent on persecuting people with a few pints? Im talking about rural areas.

No I dont drive drunk. Never have.

Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,162 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

You may need to add some diversity to your peer group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Clareman wrote: »
    drink drivers seen as the complete scum of the earth

Rightly so

The thing that gets me about the drink driving issue is that a lot of the single car accidents that are reported in the late hours of the night / early morning may in fact be suicide. But that doesn't suit the RSA agenda so they are reporting them as drink/drug driving.

dan1895 wrote: »
    Rightly so

Really drink Drivers scum of the earth?Now that you have exhausted your vocabulary-what are paedophiles?!

Why not?

I live within a mile of ten pubs. Im really aiming at rural dwellers. Im not against drink driving laws just think they need to be moderated. Tired of virtue signalers who have no issue with the amount of booze we allow to be sold, thus costing god knows what for families/health services etc but wet themselves in virtue over drink drivers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It's a known fact that car crashes are never fatal when one of the drivers has driven less than three miles. It's simple physics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

I don't agree with driving with 3 or 4 pints but I do agree that it's very hard to know if you're going to over the limit the morning after the night before and catching people out like this is a bit ott.

I heard a radio article about it before when a woman was breath tested at a checkpoint and found to be over the limit so she was arrested and brought to the Garda station and tested there. She was fine when she got to the Garda station and was let go but what I didn't realise is that still goes down as an arrest on your record! Like wtf?? Arrested on suspicion of something is still an arrest.

That has an effect on someone who needs Garda clearance for their work and that's very serious. I think the limit is so low now that even alcohol in mouthwash is going to be picked up which is just going too far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭pablo128

The thing that gets me about the drink driving issue is that a lot of the single car accidents that are reported in the late hours of the night / early morning may in fact be suicide. But that doesn't suit the RSA agenda so they are reporting them as drink/drug driving.

I would assume post mortems are done afterwards which have indicated intoxicants in the deceased systems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭amcalester

Never heard one person moaning about it...

e: actually I tell a lie, my mother in law complains about it. But I put that down to her 18 month ban in the UK for still being over the limit at 1130 the next morning. She must have had some skinful the night before.

I do a few hours work in a pub every now and then, old school boozer type place, and drink driving comes up quite a lot.

Most punters have no issue with current rules and have said that they’d think twice about driving the morning after or cut back the night before if they had to drive.

This can only be a good thing. Unfortunately there’ll always be people like Nox who think they know better but really are just a collision waiting to happen.