Prius Mk1 vs Mk2

• 20-03-2019 06:14PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭

Hi Guys,

I'm toying with the idea of buying a Prius mk1 or mk2.
    Atm I'm driving a Golf IV 1.4 which is grand for my needs.
    However the reason for the change is that my wife can only drive automatic cars. I would also benefit from a more economical car as my commute is changing from 20km to 60km per day.

My budget is about 4k.

Is there anything I need to look out for?
    Do the batteries have a long life span?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The mk1 is the weird tiny yoke. I’d say you want a mk2 or mk3 (2004-2009 and 2009+)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,921 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The mk1 is the weird tiny yoke. I’d say you want a mk2 or mk3 (2004-2009 and 2009+)

Wasn't the mark 1 only sold in Japan? The few I've seen are wrecks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Nah they offered the mk1 Prius here too. There was one behind me this morning in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,099 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Nah they offered the mk1 Prius here too. There was one behind me this morning in fact.

There is a car I have not seen on the roads in a long time. Amazing that its still going a fair play to the owner too.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.