Calving 2019 - Advice and Help thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Just meself calving now! Took a walk down to check a cow and she was licking at the cleaning she’s calved maybe 30 mins. Good tight lim heifer up and all. I’m very fond of that cow she’s a Charolais out of a lim out of a Monty that we bought to rear a couple of calves about 10 years ago. Orange with a white face she’s turning into a fantastic suckler. Back to the pit now!

And another new calf tonight. I swore by feeding them at night to keep them back but they’re picking their times these nights. Vet required but no operation thankfully. Weather not making things much easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭golodge

Another calf here too. Using a couple different breeds, but the average birth weight this season isn't going lower than 50kgs. Heifers are due in a couple weeks, so hopefully they'll knock it down a bit.
    53270719-637757630009090-1586518368901398528-n.jpg

golodge wrote: »
    Another calf here too. Using a couple different breeds, but the average birth weight this season isn't going lower than 50kgs. Heifers are due in a couple weeks, so hopefully they'll knock it down a bit.
    53270719-637757630009090-1586518368901398528-n.jpg

Do you weigh them all at birth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭golodge

squinn2912 wrote: »
    Do you weigh them all at birth?
    Those which are born in winter-spring before going out on grass- yes. And count an average from those. I take notes of other calves too, but just guessing their weights and counting another average from those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

in from 1st calving of the year. 3rd time calver, calved away on her own except i had to pull the bag from his head when out. did navel and left them at it. watched on camera and spotted another leg coming about half hour later, let her work away small calf. 15 mins later went back to her to give a hand. think calf wasdead at that stage. had to push back in calf seemed like one of front legs out with a back leg with other front leg down. calf out and dead.
    i suppose i should have stuck the hand in to check when the 1st calf was small, but thought i was doing right thing giving her time to calf away herself when spotted 2nd one. didnt show in the scan as twins, but have another cow that has scanned with twins and looking for advice on what i should do for her..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

If the first one was presented and she worked away that's fine, I'd go in fast enough for the second as at that stage she would be open and bring the calf without too much bother to her, second calves can often be backwards or whatever. So for the next one I would say once she has started handle to make sure calf is presented properly and leave her at it as normal but go in for the second then. Perhaps others differ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,428 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Did anyone ever see the thing the vet had for turning the calf last night? It was about 4 foot long, one end she put the ropes that were attached to the calf's back legs - calf was backwards and upside down - in the other end I put a steel bar and kept turning until the calf turned and wasn't upside down any more. Wonder would it work to turn a calf in a twisted womb?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

whelan2 wrote: »
    Did anyone ever see the thing the vet had for turning the calf last night? It was about 4 foot long, one end she put the ropes that were attached to the calf's back legs - calf was backwards and upside down - in the other end I put a steel bar and kept turning until the calf turned and wasn't upside down any more. Wonder would it work to turn a calf in a twisted womb?

Was it this device?

Probably along the same lines, plastic about 4 inches wide with a hole in each end. Every day is a learning day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mayota

Brother had a Sim cow calve there now, 10th bull calf in a row! (For the cow)

mayota wrote: »
    Brother had a Sim cow calve there now, 10th bull calf in a row! (For the cow)

Odds of 1024/1.

Had a cow calf here last night. Cow was lame for a long time so I had her out when the weather was fine. I knew she was getting a little fat, and was expecting a big calf but he is huge . When I stood him up, he was up to my belt. It just goes to show how important it is to restrict the feed beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Westernrock

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=w1thouALmqY

This is what your after, and yes it’s main purpose is for twists

Yup that was it, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Small herd here so not used to a lot of calvings on the same day....5 in 20 hours has calving capacity at a max but all bulls and healthy out. Fair play to the lads with big herds and compact calving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I never knew such a thing existed. Have turned a few by hand but it's tough going.

I never saw it before either. In fairness I wouldn't need it very often but it worked.

If the cow had a twisted uterus would you go at it yourself, or call the vet?

Would try myself for a short time, then vet. I know fairly quickly if a calving is beyond me

Second calf out of the charolais bull yesterday and a black lim cow. Pity about the colour. Calved herself though.

Not much wrong with that calf!!

Had twins on Sunday night there. Lucky to get the second one out which was the bigger calf. Cow favouring the first born that is a very poor sucker. Such botheration

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

That's a fair calf but I agree about the colour, it's not suited to selling as weanlings and has put me off black coloured cows tbh. He also has the accompanying "catty" type hair which I detest, it usually means they can sense a downpour a hundred miles off and will be standing with a hump under a tree while the rest are out the field grazing. It's very hard to get the job right I know!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Absolute unit. Bull is breeding well anyways. Savage back on him. Thats an especially bad colour though. Still better than a black lim

That's a fair calf but I agree about the colour, it's not suited to selling as weanlings and has put me off black coloured cows tbh. He also has the accompanying "catty" type hair which I detest, it usually means they can sense a downpour a hundred miles off and will be standing with a hump under a tree while the rest are out the field grazing. It's very hard to get the job right I know!!
    Agreed, only have a few black cows. Not ideal for selling weanlings at all.

Absolute unit. Bull is breeding well anyways. Savage back on him. Thats an especially bad colour though. Still better than a black lim

Ya awful power to him for a day old calf. Kinda afraid now though. I gave him to a couple of muscley enough cows and don't think they would put the likes of that fella out. Time will tell I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

a beauty

To me he looks more fleshly than muscley. Too mild a winter and good quality silage doesn't help. He's got some width to him.

He's muscley alright, like the bull.