30 something people still partying all night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Aint nobody got time for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

This discussion reminds me of when I was younger and sometimes we'd get to the club before the dance floor had really taken of (free entry stamps). The dance floor was like a circle with a raised sitting bar area around it, so you could have a drink while watching what went on the dance floor. We were buzzed so went dancing.

Normally in a nightclub you wouldn't pay attention to who was watching because the place is so packed and you're just out to have fun but I found that when we went early, there was always some old guys (50+) who got there before everyone else to get a good view. I was dancing away with my friends one night and this guy in particular was creeping me out. He kept staring at me and not in a casual, checking me out kinda way. It was full on intense stare. My friends noticed it as well and we left the dance floor. We watched him for a few minutes and he did the same thing. Just staring at a young one dancing. It was so creepy. But we were young and drunk and soon forgot about him.

So ya, I've no problem with 35+ enjoying themselves but don't get to 50+ and find yourself going to nightclubs simply to oogle young ones and creep them out. That's really pathetic. When I was going to nightclubs there was no internet porn, so hopefully the creeps can sit at home now and sort themselves out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I stopped going to nightclubs after 25, I felt too old and for me
    It can very much be the venue.

=-=

Often cans at one of the lads houses, drinks in the pub, more cans back at a gaff. Being older, usually we'll know whose house we'll end up at, and have already left cans there. Finish up maybe 6am, few hours sleep, and then down to the pub for lunch at pints.

Have found how to get rid of the hangovers; either a good sleep, or a hefty sh|te followed by a greasy fry and hydration. The latter being what I'd do if golfing the day after the sesh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,197 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Sleep and a curer is the best solution, two pints will usually set you back on the road to right, any more and you’ll be chasing up your tail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭mojesius

A baby put the end to my partying days(mid 30s)

Now I'm a lightweight and can't do hangovers with a life of 630am starts 7 days a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,737 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

There's a group of friends in my hometown who despite all being in their late 30s, 40s and one guy in his 50s, most of whom have kids, all still get together every weekend and get absolutely ****ing hammered and get their way through copious amounts of whatever drugs are available. Their pictures and posts on Facebook just make me feel sad for how pathetic their lives are despite most of them being ok people when you meet them outside of their group.

Just has a conversation about this, a conclusion the saddest of all the 50-year-old hipster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Dont see anything wrong with it, I dont like this idea of 'age approportiate' people should do whatever makes them happy no matter what their age is and not be shamed for it

As for me, Im only 23, and I dont tihnk Id ever be sad if I never saw the inside of a club again. I went out every week from age 18-21 and that was enough, nice memories of it, but dont want it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

I used to hate the thoughts of being 30+ and not having the life I was having at 21, drinking 6 days/nights a week and taking a rake of drugs, id get depressed thinking of how sad my life would be when I was 'too old' to party. Now im 30+ and I love nothing more than staying in or going to a quiet pub with friends the odd night and im happier now than I ever was in my twenties.
    That said, I dont think its as looked down upon when older people go out drinking and go to nightclubs. Over Christmas I went to the nightclub where I spent most of my early to mid twenties, had the fear going in thinking id look like an old cougar but was surprised to see a mix of ages, everything from 18 year olds to people in their 40's and 50's and there was actually a really nice vibe.
    I couldnt stay out until after 3 anymore and one night out does me for half the year but I need a good night out every once in a while to blow off steam, sure whats the harm.

The dreaded three-oh is coming to get me later this year. :( As it is I don't go out a whole lot, and it's been a very long time since I've had an all-nighter clubbing. But while it's not a regular occurrence for me, I don't like the idea of it never happening again. I don't have a very large social circle, and my very best friend (who I love like family!) is very much a "stay in and drink herbal tea" kind of guy....so my opportunities for going out are somewhat limited. So if the chance of an all-night party comes my way, I'm gonna take it! Because if I don't, it might be a long long time before it comes again.

Plus, one of the few advantages of getting older is that you give less of a fúck about what others think. So in that spirit, I'd like to go out and show the young'uns that it can still be done when you're a dried up husk! :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

wakka12 wrote: »
    Dont see anything wrong with it, I dont like this idea of 'age approportiate' people should do whatever makes them happy no matter what their age is and not be shamed for it

The problem is that at around 30-35 it starts to become a case of going on benders with people who go on benders rather than your actual friends, and these days that usually means cokeheads. These sessions, if they're even that much fun to begin with, descend into a paranoid, tetchy and sour atmosphere after about 6am, when it's more about the fear of or inability to stop than continuing genuine good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

It's 2:50 and I'm still up. I'm watching a film with the cat, so it's almost the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

37 now. Haven't been to a nightclub in a couple of years. My hearing is crap from going when i was younger, so i can't hear what people are saying in a busy pub, or one with loudish music.
    I tend to leave pubs early these days because i get bored of missing half the conversation.

31 and haven't gone to a nightclub in a year and a half I'd say. Happier drinking beers with friends or at home playing some games.

Girlfriend still goes to clubs now and then with her friends. She's younger so it makes sense. I used to love them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Plenty of time to be on the high stool in my older years. Partied hard from 20-25. Nowadays give me an active weekend over the session. A good session once enough to keep up social appearances is enough for me.

Saying that I went on a bender last night and missed my footie game this morning. Disgusted with myself.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

sabat wrote: »
    The problem is that at around 30-35 it starts to become a case of going on benders with people who go on benders rather than your actual friends, and these days that usually means cokeheads. These sessions, if they're even that much fun to begin with, descend into a paranoid, tetchy and sour atmosphere after about 6am, when it's more about the fear of or inability to stop than continuing genuine good times.
    Read this in Mark Rentons voice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I'm 31, wouldn't be a fan of nightclubs but definitely still enjoy a good sessions with friends at a late bar or a house party. I do kinda hate being up later than around 3am though, the thought of a session until the sun is creeping through the tatty curtains isn't at all appealing anymore.

I find hangovers are much better now as well than when I was younger, but probably more to do with drink of choice (clear spirit and mixer now) than anything.

I've never been a big fan of nightclubs really, most of them you can barely hear a thing and trying to talk to someone other than whoever is directly beside you is impossible. We used to spend 90% of our time in the smoking areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

How common is it for 30 something men and women to still hit the town hard, going from pub to pub and ending on the dancefloor of a nightclub until 3am? I know its a broad question and probably applies more to single people but I was surprised at the amount of 35-40 year olds who still consider a hard night of drinking and dancing as their ideal night out. I stopped going to nightclubs after 25, I felt too old and for me, a nice night out is a few drinks in the one pub for some decent chat and home before 12 or 1.

Has anyone else experienced people in this age bracket partying just as hard as when they were younger?

Begorrah jaysus.
    Should they not be sat in with the wife In their rural mcmansion watching RTE Saturday night telly, sipping cheap Lidl wine when the 2.5 childer are tucked up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

32 and haven't been to an Irish nightclub in over 3 years. They no longer appeal to me.
    I'd rather make a trip to Europe once a year and go clubbing in places like Berlin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

It's not just age too. I could never ever have gone drinking several nights a week (jaysus!) or on sessions that lasted a couple of days, or afternoon pints after a big night out. No matter how young I was.

Loud bars or clubs where you have to scream to converse with people, you can barely move and you spend large chunks queuing for the bar/toilet, surely that's never ever enjoyable.

And it's mad (and not in a good way) how standard cocaine has become. Combined with alcohol it can cause severe violence. The odd pill or dab at a festival, or joint - don't see an issue with that but getting wasted on coke regularly... crikey, that's dodgy territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I don't know how they do it, I'm really struggling after around 11pm! Two kids under 3 will do that to you though. I'm 34.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Nothing wrong with people going out and enjoying themselves but it’s just embarrassing when you’re out and someone brings their mate who’s only let out twice in six months so he tries to pack a few months worth of missed nights out into one.

All decked out in a checked shirt, bootcut jeans, beet red face and a pair of shiny shoes. The worst part is when he starts putting “the moves” on some unsuspecting and uninterested young one.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

...All decked out in a checked shirt, bootcut jeans, beet red face and a pair of shiny shoes.

you've nailed it - a very particular brand of w*nker!

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

Vita nova wrote: »
    I have encountered people in that age bracket that party hard like you say but they usually do it less frequently and it's often for an event such as a company night out, a stag, a going-away, etc. For a lot of them it's a rare chance to get out of the house and let their hair down, so they go the whole hog.

This describes me. Also much more enjoyable as there is no pressure to go on the pull like there used to be. Tend to stick to late pubs, never go to nightclubs anymore, always disliked them even when younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Go out once around every 6 weeks. Sometimes the night goes on long and other times just take it easy depending on the atmosphere. Usually go to pubs or house parties. Id very rarely go to a nightclub. I was never really that into them but sometimes it was just somewhere to go.

I'm a bit of a lightweight now I'm 35. I get drunk very easily but used to nearly always be the last one standing at house parties and mostly I was the only one not on any drugs but I'd have had quite a lot of drink. I remember at the end of the night one time someone saying to me 'i wish drink did for me whatever it's doing for you now' which I took as a compliment :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

My husband and his friends still enjoy the odd messy night out. They’re all mid- to late-thirties. :) Sure, why not? They are much fewer and farther between these days but they still make a few happen every year. Relentless consciousness can get a bit much for many humans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

In my early thirties, still love going on a mad one, absolutely love it, maybe more now than I did ten years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

you've nailed it - a very particular brand of w*nker!

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

From Roscommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

I’d be late thirties and still love a night out or a stag wknd or whatever but rarely get the opportunity any more, although I was out late the past two weekends for family occasions.

Might not be out late again for months. We have small kids and it’s not worth the tiredness the next day. One of them cruelly does rugby at 10am on a Sunday morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

All decked out in a checked shirt, bootcut jeans, beet red face and a pair of shiny shoes. The worst part is when he starts putting “the moves” on some unsuspecting and uninterested young one.

Gimme bootcut and shoes over painted on to an inch above the ankle and no socks. Jesus.