Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018/2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Just done arbitrary research so open to correction but I think I have worked out that Lukakuhas scored more PL goals by the age of 25 than Rooney managed at a same age.

Has reached double-figures in the league seven seasons in a row, and twice for Anderlecht before moving to Chelsea. Rooney's longest consecutive streak is eleven, and he hit double-figures thirteen times in all.

His first touch may resemble that of an elephant on occasion, and his form and finishing may be streaky, but the trajectory is there for him to at least match Rooney's record should he stay in situ.

Imo, If we can get him the same build as he was at Everton and play balls to him to chase off the defenders shoulder he will thrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Lukaku was immense today could have had 4 or 5. Delighted for him with all the recent criticism he really stepped up today. Deserves to keep his place and with his confidence back should hopefully go on a good run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

nullzero wrote: »
    Having one player taking all penalties is fine if they're always either scoring or at least testing the keeper. There should be at least two regular penalty takers in a side, the notion of professional footballers squabbling like schoolboys is laughable. More players would rather avoid the pressure and responsibility of they were honest.
    I can understand why Pogba is being indulged, Solskjaer doesn't want to rock the boat as he's generally playing well for him.
    Had that penalty been saved at that time with the scores at 2-2 it would have been extremely costly.
    It does feel like we could end up regretting a Pogba penalty at some point.

That's bloody ridiculous!!! Why would we regret a penalty he missed? So what if lukaku had taken it and missed at 2-2 are you saying we wouldn't regret that because he is on a hatrick???

Pogba has scored 5 or six penalties this season and missed 2, I'm not sure but didn't lukaku miss a load I'd of penalties in a row for Everton and then us last year he isn't a penalty taker.

Also going back nearly 20 years ago I remember the team winning a penalty after Diego forlan had joined and was having his goal drought. Someone handed him the ball to take it we were already 2 goals up and Keane came over and ate the bollox off them and would not allow him take it as there is a designated penalty taker in every good team!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Should have brought Chong on before the penalty and not after to give him an easy attempt at his first senior goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

I hope Chong becomes a Utd legend. He fits the profile with that hair.

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Should have brought Chong on before the penalty and not after to give him an easy attempt at his first senior goal.

Penalties ain't easy goals??

Should have let DDG take the peno. It would've looked class on the score-sheet, Pogba's a big meany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,819 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

jayo26 wrote: »
    That's bloody ridiculous!!! Why would we regret a penalty he missed? So what if lukaku had taken it and missed at 2-2 are you saying we wouldn't regret that because he is on a hatrick???

Pogba has scored 5 or six penalties this season and missed 2, I'm not sure but didn't lukaku miss a load I'd of penalties in a row for Everton and then us last year he isn't a penalty taker.

Also going back nearly 20 years ago I remember the team winning a penalty after Diego forlan had joined and was having his goal drought. Someone handed him the ball to take it we were already 2 goals up and Keane came over and ate the bollox off them and would not allow him take it as there is a designated penalty taker in every good team!!

So you are proposing that all sides only ever have one penalty taker?
    And you a use me of being ridiculous.
    I don't even think Pogba is a bad penalty taker, I just think the slow run up shtick is a regrettable aspect of Pogba's game that he should drop.

Glazers Out!

So you are proposing that all sides only ever have one penalty taker?
    And you a use me of being ridiculous.
    I don't even think Pogba is a bad penalty taker, I just think the slow run up shtick is a regrettable aspect of Pogba's game that he should drop.

It definitely makes him look a bit silly when he misses a peno, but I think it's effective overall. Sometimes he drags the run out a good bit, sometimes he only does it for a second. Can be hard for a keeper to know which way he's going to play it.

He absolutely fired that penalty today once he did accelerate towards the ball, I thought it was a good hit, just a good save to go with it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

AidoEirE wrote: »
    Havent read much of the thread today so apologies if asked already but

Lukaku surely has to start up front against psg. He's on some run of form. Hos bullish strength might give the psg defence a go and dare i say it his touch to setup a few of his last goals have been good.

Id almost go
    Martial-Lukaku-Rashford with
    Lukaku and Rashford interchanging.
    Thoughts?

(Delighted for the big man btw, always puts in a effort even when he plays and touches like dog ****, fair play to the big man for keeping on going)

I think he has to start while he is in a good place. For a forward if confidence is high they need to keep playing.

Without Pogba it makes selecting the forward line you suggest most likely.

DM_7 wrote: »
    I think he has to start while he is in a good place. For a forward if confidence is high they need to keep playing.

Without Pogba it makes selecting the forward line you suggest most likely.

Id actually forgot about pogba out for it.
    Matic, herrera and fred or perriera(spl?)

Id actually feel confident of getting a goal or two there.
    Everyone will be watching this game including possible transfer targets so lets go to them with a bang.

Ole before games tactically has been immense in his setup. I have no doubt he'll have some plan and im actually lookong forward to it.
    Win or loose, play a strong team and try and hit em hard and early.

I love these kinda games when everything is against you, you never know what will happen in 90minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,819 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

It definitely makes him look a bit silly when he misses a peno, but I think it's effective overall. Sometimes he drags the run out a good bit, sometimes he only does it for a second. Can be hard for a keeper to know which way he's going to play it.

He absolutely fired that penalty today once he did accelerate towards the ball, I thought it was a good hit, just a good save to go with it.

I thought the save was a little fortunate. There's a lot to be said for developing a penalty technique that results in the ball being rocketed into the top corner, down the middle is always risky, that added to the slow run up isn't helping your chances of converting the penalty.
    Anyway, it wasn't the end of the world that he missed it, but he can and should be doing better.

Glazers Out!

I thought the save was a little fortunate. There's a lot to be said for developing a penalty technique that results in the ball being rocketed into the top corner, down the middle is always risky, that added to the slow run up isn't helping your chances of converting the penalty.
    Anyway, it wasn't the end of the world that he missed it, but he can and should be doing better.

Yeah down the middle is always a gamble. Even if the keeper picks a side, that trailing leg is always a risk.

It's agreed then - he should have went for the panenka :D Jaysus can you imagine, even if he scored a panenka there would have been war!

Id actually forgot about pogba out for it.
    Matic, herrera and fred or perriera(spl?)

Id actually feel confident of getting a goal or two there.
    Everyone will be watching this game including possible transfer targets so lets go to them with a bang.

Ole before games tactically has been immense in his setup. I have no doubt he'll have some plan and im actually lookong forward to it.
    Win or loose, play a strong team and try and hit em hard and early.

I love these kinda games when everything is against you, you never know what will happen in 90minutes

It looks like Perreira could well get Pogba's role. Maybe played today as a tester?

Ole said this post game:

“He has gone through the academy, he has loads of energy and drive,” said the Norwegian. “Maybe we found a better position for him. He is more of a No8 or 10 than a six.

“I am so pleased for him, a goal and an assist, it is a nice day to remember.

“Young kids when they get criticism, there is nothing better than seeing them grab their chance.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Hang on, you’ve been throwing round worlds like indulge etc. Absolute nonsense. Pogba has missed two pens but over his career has a good record from the spot. You just don’t like his run up.

The facts are that Pogba is the teams designated penalty taker. This notion that lukaku (not withstanding the fact he is a poor penalty taker) should have taken the pen cause he was on a hatrick is ridiculous. Especially given that the game was still not won.

People are entitled to debate if Pogba should be the teams pen taker (I personally can’t think of anyone else who I’d rather take them in current squad) but he was 100% correct to take it today.

DM_7 wrote: »
    It looks like Perreira could well get Pogba's role. Maybe played today as a tester?

Ole said this post game:

“He has gone through the academy, he has loads of energy and drive,” said the Norwegian. “Maybe we found a better position for him. He is more of a No8 or 10 than a six.

“I am so pleased for him, a goal and an assist, it is a nice day to remember.

“Young kids when they get criticism, there is nothing better than seeing them grab their chance.”

Love that from ole, praise praise praise.
    Dont want to bring up mourinho but this really shows how praising a player even though they kight of had a **** game can change a mindset so they go out and play better next game up.

Not saying per had a bad game, just show casing how a postive attitude from a coach can trickle down to player performace. I hope ole gets the job.

Wouldnt base his get the job or not for the psg game.

Lads 3months ago i thought we'd be lucky to get europa league at the end of the season. Were actually in a fight for 3rd which is crazy.
    Yeah 3rd and 4th are the same but we should always aim as high as we can.
    Ole is turning this massive club around.

Im just happy as ****

Yeah, last November I was happy to just see the season end, now it is a shame games are running out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭BenK

Could Shaw have done a bit better on their first goal today or is that harsh? Thought he was a bit slow to get out and turned away from the shot too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

It’s so obvious Perreira could not be a 6

Previous manager was trying to convert him for his own reasons

On a side note. Great to see we’re the first game on MOTD on Saturday night.

Even when City and the North London derby was on!

We are back

Perrira's goal....holy ****

Christ lukakus goals brilliant.

(Sorry lads i missed the match today so only catching in now on motd)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,802 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

It would of been the icing on the cake if that peno went in and GD will be important at the end of the season

Won 3-2 with some brilliant goals, lukaku showing serious form, perrira with a peach.
    Let two goals in fair enough but ward prowse's free kick was superb.

Feck the peno talk lads. Chat should be focused on the massive postivies in lukaku.

Lukaku with 113 goals in the PL at 25. Some record, equals ian wright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭BenK

Some of the clips on MOTD show that our defense does seriously struggle when pressed.

It's going to be a bare-bones and inexperienced team in Paris anyway. Hard to say if we even have a 'strongest team' at the moment, such is the unproven status of quite a few who will probably start against PSG.

Fred, McTominay and Pereira all likely to start in the middle. Sanchez picked up a knock today, do we have anyone bar youngsters to fill in for Sanchez who was already filling in for Martial/Lingard?

If whatever team Ole puts out in Paris manages to win us the tie, it will be a small miracle. We already got our "miracle" this season by getting back into the Top 4, I'm just finding it hard to see a way back after 0-2 in Old Trafford, even if our best 11 were fit and available. PSG will score against us at home, so we're going to need a scoreline of at least 1-3 to do it in normal time.

I'd say that it's the game of Ole's reign so far which will have the least amount of pressure or expectation on him and the players. I wonder if that could be an advantage or disadvantage to us, or even have an effect.

Perrira's goal....holy ****

I've watched Pereira's goal a good 20 times by now, it has to be a candidate for United's goal of the season so far...

Real-time: https://streamable.com/bb931
    Replays: https://streamable.com/iizie

Love Pereira's celebration and the reaction from both the United players and subs.

It was a game of bangers from both teams in fairness...Valery's missile...Ward-Prowse's freekick. The latter actually strikes me as a player who could get called up to their A team during the Summer.

With all these players coming in and putting in good performances it's so polar opposite to what was happening. I remember we saying for years why were the fringe player slooking non intrested when they come in they didn't look like they wanted to fight for a place.

Look at Lukaku! Periera! Mctominay! Fred today! Dalot! They all looked like they were trying to impress the boss it's app good to see bit it also has an effect on the players like martial or Jesse sitting in the stands worrying about how they gonna get back into the team and having to up their game.

It just breaths a different atmosphere in the club so many if us were so wrong.

jayo26 wrote: »
    With all these players coming in and putting in good performances it's so polar opposite to what was happening. I remember we saying for years why were the fringe player slooking non intrested when they come in they didn't look like they wanted to fight for a place.

Look at Lukaku! Periera! Mctominay! Fred today! Dalot! They all looked like they were trying to impress the boss it's app good to see bit it also has an effect on the players like martial or Jesse sitting in the stands worrying about how they gonna get back into the team and having to up their game.

It just breaths a different atmosphere in the club so many if us were so wrong.

Fred had the pose and body language of a woken, hungry pitbull when the camera showed him taking up his position on the field today. He was absolutely raring to go, and played an important part in Lukaku's match-winner.

Tbf, both he and Pereira have given me hope for them and the squad in these past two games.

Fred had the pose and body language of a woken, hungry pitbull when the camera showed him taking up his position on the field today. He was absolutely raring to go, and played an important part in Lukaku's match-winner.

Tbf, both he and Pereira have given me hope for them and the squad in these past two games.

It's like the squad gets bigger and bigger with every hungry performance from the players we have so many options. Yes most won't be good enough to beat teams like city and psg but they are good enough to have us right up there hopefully.