Gardai hunting for expired motor tax in car parks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

gctest50 wrote: »
    Near the entrance to a car park would be a great place to put an ANPR camera

https://www.garda.ie/en/roads-policing/road-safety/automatic-number-plate-recognition.html

It would save all the whining about gardai having nothing better to do etc.

I have a strong suspicion that the council owned car park in my town has this. Many times I’ve seen the traffic warden walk in, scan for a car and walk straight up to it and issue a ticket presumably for tax as the car park has a barrier system in use so no pay and display.
    The car park since it’s refurbishment had number plate recognition cameras fitted so easy enough to link the system back to some database in the council.

Just seems a bit too easy that he can walk into the car park, and magically walk straight to the cars with no tax :)

As per the OP. The cops have been doing this for years. The end of the month is usually a good time to see it especially when someone hasn’t met their target for the month and anyone is fair game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I made a 999 call last summer to a break in ongoing in my house that my dad (who was at home) alerted me to. The Gardai didn't even show up. A 999 call to a break in to a house where the would-be burglars knew there was a pensioner alone inside, and the Gardai were too busy to bother their hole. Keep in mind we have heard many a time of old fellas at home alone when a burglar strikes, and they end up severely beaten or killed.
    The Gardai are stretched thin, and under funded. If you want them to act quicker, then funding must be found somewhere to allow them to do their jobs properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

the_syco wrote: »
    The Gardai are stretched thin, and under funded. If you want them to act quicker, then funding must be found somewhere to allow them to do their jobs properly.

The Gardai were every bit as ineffective and corrupt when they had decent numbers so this excuse doesn’t wash.

They’ve been involved in scandal after scandal since the 70’s culminating in 1.5 million fake breath tests and 150000 drivers being summonsed incorrectly having paid FPN’s and yet still nothing was done because they were all too busy trying to destroy the lives of the few decent men who did actually speak up about the widespread corruption.

Corruption and ineptitude have been rife from the very top all the way down to the lowest rank and no amount of resources would have changed that culture.

I’m hopeful that the new commissioner will finally manage to implement real and lasting changes in AGS but we’ll see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭keano25

Ardent wrote: »

Talk about sneaky. Never heard of this before, is this a new phenomenon?

I guess you could say that the Guard was very ardent...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

A Garda walking around a car park is a lot less of an inconvenience to me than a checkpoint holding up traffic on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭Isambard

could it be that the Gard was driving past and his ANPR was activated by a car in the car park?

josip wrote: »
    The litter warden in our area is great.
    He'll always respond to illegal dumping and comb through it looking for an address to prosecute.

Would say the same about the litter warden in my area. Always responds same-day, usually within a couple of hours of a complaint, and goes above and beyond.

Caught him out cleaning graffiti off a wall recently, too. Love that chap. Wish more were like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Ardent wrote: »
    Just got a lovely letter from AGS advising me of a 60 euro fine due to my car (sitting in the train station car park) having an expired tax disc.

Talk about sneaky. Never heard of this before, is this a new phenomenon?

Do the crime, pay the fine.

Next time, pay your motor tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭PurvesGrundy

Mod edit - Abuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Yeah why not... pay your car tax so the money can be badly managed by an incompetent and corrupt system, enforced by corrupt and incompetent gardai.
    Maaaaaaaaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭grogi

Yeah why not... pay your car tax so the money can be badly managed by an incompetent and corrupt system, enforced by corrupt and incompetent gardai.
    Maaaaaaaaa

If only more were as crystal clear as you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

I swore I'd never post on this forum again but this thread angers me. I hope I am right in my estimation that you are a bunch of pathetic incels who get off lecturing on the interweb about how law abiding you all are.

How do I shut my account?

Click your username and then in miscellaneous you will see close account and you click that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

grogi wrote: »
    If only more were as crystal clear as you...

Maaaaaaaaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,602 ✭✭✭✭josip

I swore I'd never post on this forum again but this thread angers me. I hope I am right in my estimation that you are a bunch of pathetic incels who get off lecturing on the interweb about how law abiding you all are.

How do I shut my account?

Profile Settings -> Control Panel -> Scroll To Bottom -> Close Account -> Don't let the door hit ya on the way out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭PurvesGrundy

Mod edit - Abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭AnMuinteoirOg

KevinCavan wrote: »
    Soft targets. They won’t be doing a spot check on a halting site.

Halting site wouldnt be a public place under the RTA

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,718 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

ebbsy wrote: »
    The gardai are completely useless. Not worth a ****e. Good at setting up checkpoints and arresting lads with €5 of cannabis though.

There was an attempted kidnapping 3 weeks ago on the road (local "charity businessmen" didn't take too kindly to another "charity businessman" on the area). As he was trying to be bundled into a van, the Guards were called about an active kidnapping. They should be along anytime now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Cheers.

Byyyeee loooosers.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

I'm sick to the teeth of calling the Gardai and have them show up hours later or not at all, or hear about how they're busy at the moment, and then you see the cnuts wandering around car parks and doing people for drink driving on the way to work the following day.

I've nothing against the Gardai as individual people. Generally decent people.

Clearly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Purves was definitely onto something though he should have put it a bit nicer

There's a disproportionate amount of people who claim to stick to the letter of the law and stand up for the law no matter how much of an ass it can be. The mods encourages these characters while making life difficult for the rebels. Boards is deathly afraid of bad press or being shamed on Liveline.

There are other forums out there whose admins don't see it that way

There's a disproportionate amount of people who claim to stick to the letter of the law and stand up for the law no matter how much of an ass it can be.

The bigger asses are those who don't pay their tax then complain when they are caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,922 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

If people paid their taxes perhaps the Gardai would then have more time to deal with other crimes

Think you have just proven the point some people are making.

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Think you have just proven the point some people are making.

So just because some laws are being broken, the Gardai shouldn't enforce any laws? :rolleyes:

Many threads on here people phoning guards for help then turning up late or not at all, then later in the day passing a stop and check on road with four guards present, motor tax generates money, going to someone house after a burglary doesn't.
    Need to prioritise workload.

Many threads on here people phoning guards for help then turning up late or not at all, then later in the day passing a stop and check on road with four guards present, motor tax generates money, going to someone house after a burglary doesn't.

And as I stated if everyone taxed their cars then there would be no need for the Gardai to operate checkpoints (though I suspect checkpoints are used for more than detecting tax evasion)

Given the widespread evasion I would think that increasing the penalties might encourage more to comply. (The recent increase in the penalties for unaccompanied learners has made many reconsider their previous behavior)

I remember over 20 years ago there was a hotel that had a "wedding" car that had a six litre engine, every month the hotel was fined for not displaying tax but the fines were actually cheaper at the time than paying the tax!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

The garda Traffic corps was set up to ensure that traffic policing was not ignored. As well as taxing vehicles, it has a major role in road safety. Everyone thinks their own lost cat or burglary is the most important thing the Garda have to deal with and fail to consider the wider good of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Then send Revenue officers around the car parks looking to issue fines?

I'm sick to the teeth of calling the Gardai and have them show up hours later or not at all, or hear about how they're busy at the moment, and then you see the cnuts wandering around car parks and doing people for drink driving on the way to work the following day.

I made a 999 call last summer to a break in ongoing in my house that my dad (who was at home) alerted me to. The Gardai didn't even show up. A 999 call to a break in to a house where the would-be burglars knew there was a pensioner alone inside, and the Gardai were too busy to bother their hole. Keep in mind we have heard many a time of old fellas at home alone when a burglar strikes, and they end up severely beaten or killed.

Thankfully I got home in time and managed to sort things out, but I waited 2 hours for the Gardai before ringing again to see what they were at (which was when they told me they'd "get to me soon" but they're busy).

As an aside, I work for the local papers; nothing of note was happening. No big crime scene to attend at the time.

It really irks me when I see stupid stuff like this. A legitimately useless police force.

Should have told them you shot two of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,329 ✭✭✭✭elperello

4ensic15 wrote: »
    The garda Traffic corps was set up to ensure that traffic policing was not ignored. As well as taxing vehicles, it has a major role in road safety. Everyone thinks their own lost cat or burglary is the most important thing the Garda have to deal with and fail to consider the wider good of society.

I agree with you about traffic policing, it is an important part of AGS work.

As much as I dislike our current motor tax system it is the law and I never take any vehicle on the road without tax.

As for lost cats I never heard of anyone calling AGS over that particular little emergency.

Investigating and reducing the incidence of burglary is in the interests of the wider good of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

Need to prioritise workload.

You do understand that criminals use vehicles too

A checkpoint catches a lot more than you think and what you think they're set up for

McCrack wrote: »
    You do understand that criminals use vehicles too

A checkpoint catches a lot more than you think and what you think they're set up for

I have to say you seriously believe they're set up to catch criminals rather then motor offences.