Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Highest HIV level in western Europe, well done Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

You never hear much about it now. Can they cure it these days or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Where are they getting that PrEP is not available in Ireland? It's certainly offered in the Mater.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Still no actual cure, but symptoms and issues can be treated.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

It has become a social disease, which is a scary thing for such a dangerous virus. Like having genital warts or herpes, you have it for life and it can flair up now and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

God damn it we're awesome

• Registered Users Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Do we know how many of those diagnosed had the disease before arriving in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,755 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The thread title seems to be off with the actual statistics.

Ireland doesn't have the highest rate in Europe

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,471 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Where are they getting that PrEP is not available in Ireland?

PrEP is available in Ireland but it is not funded by the HSE. A plan to roll out publicly funded PrEP to high risk categories is being considered by the department of health, with a decision expected this year.

Branded PrEP is about €400 per month, generic PrEP is about €80~€100 per month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

listermint wrote: »
    Oh great.

More facts .

This thread is a playground of facts .....

It's actually true, the majority of diagnosed cases are recorded as coming from South America or Africa, half of them male gay. There are many Brazilian lads in Dublin now finding it much better than living in the gay unfriendly Brazil. Not that it makes our sex ed any better of course, and my guess is that the majority of Irish cases fuelled by drunken one night stands go undiagnosed as the threat is not taken as seriously in the straight community and testing is rare.

https://www.thejournal.ie/hiv-diagnoses-ireland-4070681-Jun2018/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

It's grand lads. It's just like chicken pox, you can only get it once.

I heard parents these days have aids parties like chicken pox parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,755 ✭✭✭✭listermint

strandroad wrote: »
    It's actually true, the majority of diagnosed cases are recorded as coming from South America or Africa, half of them male gay. There are many Brazilian lads in Dublin now finding it much better than living in the gay unfriendly Brazil. Not that it makes our sex ed any better of course, and my guess is that the majority of Irish cases fuelled by drunken one night stands go undiagnosed as the threat is not taken as seriously in the straight community and testing is rare.

https://www.thejournal.ie/hiv-diagnoses-ireland-4070681-Jun2018/

Did you even bother reading that article.

It literally doesn't say what you just said.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Lately it’s been all Brexit, borders and the children’s hospitals...

Great to have some positive news!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Do we know how many of those diagnosed had the disease before arriving in Ireland?

If I remember the last time I saw stats "born abroad" and "no information available on place if birth" accounted for about 74% of new diagnosis in Ireland

Think the journal had a article with the stats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

listermint wrote: »
    Did you even bother reading that article.

It literally doesn't say what you just said.

There was a report linked in the article with detailed breakdowns but the link seems to be broken now. You can still see some of them quoted in the comments. The report is from 2016 to be clear.

I am not quoting it to bash anyone; I happen to know someone in the community mentioned and I am happy that they can access diagnosis and treatment.

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Lol. You’ve never had sex on weed before?

Or at all?

Why would they brag about being enough of a waster to take weed?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Why would they brag about being enough of a waster to take weed?

Whose bragging?

Nice projection though. I bet you think having a normal social life and friends is ‘degenerate’

Whose bragging?

Nice projection though. I bet you think having a normal social life and friends is ‘degenerate’

Being a pothead is a normal social life?

Mate life isnt binary. Though i can understand that thjs way of thinking is common in the spectrum.

Having a beer =\= alcoholic
    Smoking a joint =\= pot head
    Having sex on weed =\= degenerate

Mate life isnt binary. Though i can understand that thjs way of thinking is common in the spectrum.

Having a beer =\= alcoholic
    Smoking a joint =\= pot head
    Having sex on weed =\= degenerate

One is legal, two aren't.

Ah yes. Appeal to authority. Give me a strawman and a side of fallacy with that, guy!

Still. One is legal, and two are not.

Facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-Lads will ye quit feeding the very obvious troll. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 25,438 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Facts.

Speeding, jaywalking, littering etc are also illegal but you can bet your bottom.dollar you have been guilty of at least 2 of those at some stage ;)

Facts.

Wow this is pretty low IQ im not sure if its parody

But ill humor you. Sex on drugs is in fact not illegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

giphy.gif

Wow this is pretty low IQ im not sure if its parody

But ill humor you. Sex on drugs is in fact not illegal

Depends on whether the drugs are legal or not.

Nah. Possession is illegal. Being on it isnt

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Is this thread about pot or HIV?

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Yet another example of how mass-immigration enriches our country.
    Hooray! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

The gays or the immigrants- this is AH alt right nirvana.