If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Cina wrote: »
    I'd just like to say, fair play to yer wan with the kids for insisting on going halves with the guy, knowing that she didn't want to meet him again, and also insisting on going first and saying that.

The way it should be done.

The guy wasn’t too insistent though: “I’m happy to pay if you want”. You know he didn’t really want to. A confident, alpha man would just say “I’m getting this”, and pay with minimal fuss. I actually felt that put her off a bit, and could’ve been the nail in the coffin. She seemed interested, telling the producers that they’d ticked all the boxes

Well I thought Aleks was great! He seemed dead sound and actually very confident in himself, and had a very mature insight. He talked about his friends getting worked up over him getting abuse and digs from strangers and he was just like “chill”. I think he knows exactly who and what he is! I’d say he’s great craic to be around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,627 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Pussyhands wrote: »
    Flamboyant guy is someone who is defined by his sexuality and appearance.

Other guy seems normal.

Define normal.

Why is a guy gay because he likes to wear makeup? I don't see anything wrong with that and know plenty of straight guys that do it.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

AMKC wrote: »
    Define normal.

Why is a guy gay because he likes to wear makeup? I don't see anything wrong with that and know plenty of straight guys that do it.

Exactly! Heck, even straight guys were doing it in the early 80s (New Romantics).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,327 ✭✭✭joeguevara

If you went on First Dates, how do you think you would be perceived by the posters in this thread? What do you think the worst and or best thing they would say about you. Do you think you would be confident or shy. Do you think you would make a faux pas. At the end would you go first or second when making your choice. Interested in hearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Aleks looks like 80s celeb Marilyn.

Looks like a mix of a poor mans Limahl hairdo and the makeup of Duran Duran. Or maybe Phil Oakley in his prime.
    joeguevara wrote: »
    If you went on First Dates, how do you think you would be perceived by the posters in this thread? What do you think the worst and or best thing they would say about you. Do you think you would be confident or shy. Do you think you would make a faux pas. At the end would you go first or second when making your choice. Interested in hearing.

Normal enough, very very interesting past, and a very alternative hobby.
    Nicest thing would be 'he seems like a genuinely nice lad, great hair'
    Worst: 'fcuk me, he could lose some weight, she won't like that'
    Shy (which is why I'd never go on it)

Faux pas? I'd lose the head trying to get through the door and just throw a flower pot through it, hitting Marco (or whatever his name is) on the head. I'd constantly call the Canadian barman American. I'd spill food on the floor or else tip the drinks over. Probably on her. Or I'd trip into some bloody expensive camera or lighting rig and cost a few grand worth of damage. Probably lock myself into the jacks and they'd need an hour to get the door open and then break the Dyson dryer. I would do all of that stone cold sober.

I'd go first to make things less awkward, I can handle rejection

KevRossi wrote: »
    Looks like a mix of a poor mans Limahl hairdo and the makeup of Duran Duran. Or maybe Phil Oakley in his prime.

Normal enough, very very interesting past, and a very alternative hobby.
    Nicest thing would be 'he seems like a genuinely nice lad, great hair'
    Worst: 'fcuk me, he could lose some weight, she won't like that'
    Shy (which is why I'd never go on it)

Faux pas? I'd lose the head trying to get through the door and just throw a flower pot through it, hitting Marco (or whatever his name is) on the head. I'd constantly call the Canadian barman American. I'd spill food on the floor or else tip the drinks over. Probably on her. Or I'd trip into some bloody expensive camera or lighting rig and cost a few grand worth of damage. Probably lock myself into the jacks and they'd need an hour to get the door open and then break the Dyson dryer. I would do all of that stone cold sober.

I'd go first to make things less awkward, I can handle rejection

What a great post and very funny.

For me it would really depend on which joe turned up. Charming, funny joe who has his date and those around in stitches or joe who can’t seem to say anything right. Really depends on the first 3 seconds but thankfully 95% of the time it’s the first one. Knowing my luck though second joe is the one that is filmed.

Best thing that could be said is he comes across as genuine, interesting, funny and a cracking smile. Worst thing that could be said if they mistake confidence with arrogance or if I told a few stories about my life and they weren’t believed.

I’d definitely have to be careful about what I ordered as can be an enthusiastic eater. Also wine just seems to disappear and could be either hilarious or mortifying. I would love if my date was a sweetheart but if they were not so nice or obnoxious I’d let them at it. I’d get a kick out of them being mean as long as it wasn’t to anyone else.

I’d like to go second as I’d like to know what they thought. If I didn’t like them romantically but they said they wanted to see me I’d say yes. No point being a dick.

I don’t know if I’d read threads like this as it would hurt if I was ripped apart but if it was constructive could learn some things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

I think I'd have a few drinks to relax. I would like to get the wings but would chose the least messy thing on the menu. I reckon I would dread ending up on a date with someone like Phil as wouldn't know how to deal with him. Matthew from last night's episode on the other hand! Swoon!!

I honestly don't know how boards would react to me!!

I think I'd have a few drinks to relax. I would like to get the wings but would chose the least messy thing on the menu. I reckon I would dread ending up on a date with someone like Phil as wouldn't know how to deal with him. Matthew from last night's episode on the other hand! Swoon!!

I honestly don't know how boards would react to me!!
    It’s strange how different people can have polar views on the same person. One person could think a charming rogue was an obnoxious player. There are some people who everyone will agree on but that would be boring. I wouldn’t mind if some people didn’t like me or didn’t find me attractive but if my character was torn asunder without merit I think that would be the hardest to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

It’s strange how different people can have polar views on the same person. One person could think a charming rogue was an obnoxious player. There are some people who everyone will agree on but that would be boring. I wouldn’t mind if some people didn’t like me or didn’t find me attractive but if my character was torn asunder without merit I think that would be the hardest to take.

Sure apply there for it and report back!!

We shall be nice!! :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Really enjoyed this week's episode, thought all the dates were great, even Tallafornia Phil didn't annoy me too much, despite his bitter outburst towards the end. Loved the fact that his date saw straight through his intentions though :pac:

The French woman was quite up herself I thought, and her date can do better. Glad he's back next week!

I liked Gary and Aleks' date a lot, thought there was some good chemistry there. Some of the comments on here about Aleks are f*cking shameful by the way. Not surprising, given some of the sources, but shameful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,676 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,727 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Well I thought Aleks was great! He seemed dead sound and actually very confident in himself, and had a very mature insight. He talked about his friends getting worked up over him getting abuse and digs from strangers and he was just like “chill”. I think he knows exactly who and what he is! I’d say he’s great craic to be around.

Who constantly called his date bitch.

That’s what some gays do. It’s a term of endearment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭nikkibikki

The guy wasn’t too insistent though: “I’m happy to pay if you want”. You know he didn’t really want to. A confident, alpha man would just say “I’m getting this”, and pay with minimal fuss. I actually felt that put her off a bit, and could’ve been the nail in the coffin. She seemed interested, telling the producers that they’d ticked all the boxes

Maybe he thought she was an independent, modern woman with the ability to pay for her own meals. Maybe he thought she'd be insulted if he insinuated any different. I'm with my husband 15 years so out of the dating game a long time. I always paid my way, I had my own job to do so. Don't think he would've been interested in a woman who wanted a guy to pay for everything.

I didn’t see the date but if his date didn’t mind then don’t be getting worked up on someone else’s behalf.

If it made the date uncomfortable then that’s different. It reminds me that I thought my ex had Tourette’s until i realized I am a fcukijg pr1ck

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 428 ✭✭JohnCreedon81

Thought it was absolutely ridic that they had Phil The Turkey back on despite him not being single. Absolutely pointless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭jellybear

Awh delighted for them. I remember their first date well and they hit it off straight away :)

A term of endearment, give over. If I called my wife bitch all day would it be OK?

If she liked it and didn’t feel disrespected then yes it would be ok for ye. Don’t be insulted on someone else’s behalf.

I'm not insulted for anyone else. I'm just absolutely fed up to the back teeth of people like him being able to say whatever they want with no repercussion because they can just shout Homophobia if someone disagrees.

I agree completely if it made the person uncomfortable. If it didn’t then live and let live. But that wasn’t the question you asked.

It is nothing to do with homophobia and if both people were gay he could hardly shout that. He could say it if someone ridiculed him for saying it when it wasn’t taken as a slur by the person he said it to, simply because it made a heterosexual person uncomfortable.

I agree completely if it made the person uncomfortable. If it didn’t then live and let live. But that wasn’t the question you asked.

It is nothing to do with homophobia and if both people were gay he could hardly shout that. He could say it if someone ridiculed him for saying it when it wasn’t taken as a slur by the person he said it to, simply because it made a heterosexual person uncomfortable.

No doubt someone will give out about me complaining about it, it's completely disrespectful. If that was my son/brother I would be very irritated to see a family member repeatedly being called a bitch.

If that was my brother and I thought he didn’t stand up for himself if someone was making him uncomfortable that would annoy me. If it didn’t annoy him then why would I be irritated.

No one is giving out about you complaining. It is a normal reaction. But similarly if they are trying to explain that he didn’t seem perturbed by it then maybe your irritation is misplaced. But you have the right to feel whatever way you do about the use of a term but that is your feeling. Not the other guys. If that makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

ok we get it, move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭MintyMagnum

Is the use of 'Bitch' not like the 'N' word? same rules apply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭ted1

A 21 year old and a 22 year old. Call me cynical but I dint think it will last.

Is the use of 'Bitch' not like the 'N' word? same rules apply

Absolutely nothing like it. Good grief

ted1 wrote: »

I suppose if you allow your engagement to be recorded by the production company that produced the dating show where you first met leaves you open to public discussion. It is obvious that people will disect the dates and give their opinion on likes and dislikes but is it not a bit uncomfortable when people pass judgment on the rest of their lives. The people are not celebrities and it’s different than discussing whether Cheri Coles newest toy boy is the one.

If I got engaged to marry and read someone on the internet saying that they don’t think it will last without any other information except a cynical mind, I think it really would sting. I am not having a go at the poster but has it been thought through the impact of publicizing their engagement. Surely ratings aren’t more important than the emotions of the couple.

But then again this is TV Land and they did sign up for their 15 minutes of fame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭tinyk68

ted1 wrote: »

I got engaged when I was 21 to my boyfriend who was also 21. We're now 50 and still married. Age and maturity aren't always the same thing.