Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

Couldn’t watch the full ad, the whole family were such bores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,765 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Well spotted guys.

To thine own self be true

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,903 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Then when he offered to pay she should have accepted gracefully instead of faking being happy to go dutch and bitching about it afterwards.

Did she not start the date talking about how she was an independent woman who doesn't rely on a man as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,257 ✭✭✭jos28

wolfmoon87 wrote: »
    Wait, her son is Saoirse from last week's episode! He's in the Lidl ad too.

Top of the class Detective Wolfmoon :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

irish_goat wrote: »
    Did she not start the date talking about how she was an independent woman who doesn't really on a man as well?

Yes! Exactly!

I think many women both young and not so young expect men to be able to mind read.

My advice to them would be stop being a mind fcûk, say what you mean and mean what you say instead of pretending to be something you’re clearly not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭tinpib

Pussyhands wrote: »
    They use the excuse of "it adds to the experience of a date and the whole who pays question is asked".

Reality is it saves them money.

It's great for TV, causes plenty of drama. Shure, just look at us on here arguing the same sh!t over and over each week. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Think that Valerie is a food blogger chef cook person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,263 ✭✭✭joeguevara

tinpib wrote: »
    It's great for TV, causes plenty of drama. Shure, just look at us on here arguing the same sh!t over and over each week. :D

I agree with you a 100% but it’s such a false scenario. On all the first dates I’ve been on it has never come up with the way it seems to so regularly on this show. I have dated so many different types too so it’s not as if that’s the reason. A simple sure I’ll get this, and we moved on to the next funny story or topic of conversation.

It seems that on this show it’s because a point is wanted to be made and probably if it was a regular first date then it wouldn’t be. Saying that I think it’s handled clumsily by a lot of blokes on the show who want to appear to be chivalrous but do more harm than good. One guy on the UK show was the worst when he said ‘don’t be stupid’ to his date. Funnily enough I think she wanted to see him again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

There are stories going around about the woman you're speaking about above.. That she was with a local married man for ages and posted a letter to his wife.

I think her date should have offered again to pay.. The way he worded it aswell 'ill pay if you want me to' that was ****e.

But yeah she was acting all innocent and independent and i seriously doubt that's the case

well your man saoirse was going on about girls being mean to him growing up FFS, he's a bag of water end of story and if they are a real MOM ans SON then that's even more annoying as they obviously fancy themselves as good telly!! eejits who have YES men around them. People like that are as bad as that tallafornia clown as well, at least ye know he's a wanker and not like these saps masquerading as normal...bleeding modern family wannabes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,263 ✭✭✭joeguevara

There are stories going around about the woman you're speaking about above.. That she was with a local married man for ages and posted a letter to his wife.

I think her date should have offered again to pay.. The way he worded it aswell 'ill pay if you want me to' that was ****e.

But yeah she was acting all innocent and independent and i seriously doubt that's the case

But you can be independent and still have a guy pay for the first date. Now if that continues into the relationship the independent tag becomes diluted. But that’s my point, I have never heard anyone that I’ve been on a first date with go on about how independent they are. Now if we talked about her it should be obvious based on her life and experiences. But someone who goes straight into telling a guy or girl how independent they are, they invariably are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

joeguevara wrote: »
    But you can be independent and still have a guy pay for the first date. Now if that continues into the relationship the independent tag becomes diluted. But that’s my point, I have never heard anyone that I’ve been on a first date with go on about how independent they are. Now if we talked about her it should be obvious based on her life and experiences. But someone who goes straight into telling a guy or girl how independent they are, they invariably are not.

Absolutely. It just annoyed me how she was the one to mention going halves first. Then again, and then got annoyed when he did. She only has herself to blame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,765 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Was saoirse the dude who in the lidl ad tries to put condoms in mammys shopping trolley?

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,257 ✭✭✭jos28

bigpink wrote: »

There ya go
    https://www.valskitchen.com/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

jos28 wrote: »

I’d say a lot of bloggers actor types applying for it

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

I must say overall I'm really enjoying this series, it's holding my attention very well. I think it has the right mix of 'characters' and genuinely nice people, the dates overall are quite interesting to watch I think. Certainly one of the better things on tv right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

Strangely a couple of the girls I work with found him very attractive , I would have thought the same as yourself,

It takes all sorts. I thought he was smarmy and in love with himself. Also, didn't bother washing his hands after going to the toilet.

And the talking in Irish constantly to her after she said that she doesn't speak it at all.

Didn't matter to his date though, she lapped it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Just catching up on this (and the UK version) tonight.
    That Valerie one was incredibly rude. No need for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Just catching up on this (and the UK version) tonight.
    That Valerie one was incredibly rude. No need for that.

She was a pita. I thought that when I saw her, and now I see she’s a “food blogger” and on the Lidl ad, likes promoting herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Of course.....majority of people on this are just looking to make a name for themselves. All bloggers or aspiring artists. Pure fake ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,008 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

She is, and is very well established in Irish foodie circles. She was an "expert guest" on the Irish Masterchef a few times too.

I've met her at a few blogger events and she's every bit as terrifying IRL as she was on the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,994 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Dial Hard wrote: »
    She is, and is very well established in Irish foodie circles. She was an "expert guest" on the Irish Masterchef a few times too.

I've met her at a few blogger events and she's every bit as terrifying IRL as she was on the show.

I dont think she came across as terrifying but more of a complete arsehole who would be a nightmare to be around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭job seeker

I really enjoyed the episode last Thursday! That woman with the purple hair and tattoo's wow! I didn't heed that blogger woman! She seemed like alot too take and quite judge mental at times. The Craig fella with the dark hair and ear pairings I know through a friend/work college! :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,665 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

LisaD76 wrote: »
    Is that Phil from Tallafornia back next week?
    The Master wrote: »
    He responded to nearly every bad social media post about his last appearance saying it was all an act. So no doubt he'll do a perfect gentleman act on this appearance.

He has said that it's his last reality tv show.
    And for the romantics of you, don't read on.
    He's got a mot, and she's having his baby-any day now!
    https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/celebs/phil-penny-first-dates-tallafornia-15842734

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

He has said that it's his last reality tv show.
    And for the romantics of you, don't read on.
    He's got a mot, and she's having his baby-any day now!
    https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/celebs/phil-penny-first-dates-tallafornia-15842734
    So he got his **** buddy pregnant. Good man Phil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,838 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Is he still pretending to be a personal trainer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,462 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Ah be the lord, that French woman is sexy.

Tattoos aren't usually my thing, but holy god I'd make an exception for her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

That French one does nothing for me at all and I bet she's an arsehole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭dmcguq10

Ah be the lord, that French woman is sexy.

Tattoos aren't usually my thing, but holy god I'd make an exception for her

I thought she was transgender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,665 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Matthew is beautiful, the most gorgeous man ever on this.