If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

And random RA post in the middle :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Travellers are only a race within a political and cultural context
    Race is determined by biology, not politics or culture. Ethnicity has a broader spectrum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Race is determined by biology, not politics or culture. Ethnicity has a broader spectrum.

But ethnic discrimination isn't as hard hitting or as popular as shouting racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

51435110_588440728293554_6851009433154093056_n.jpg?_nc_cat=100&efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub1-2.fna&oh=a8d5c3c659d01572f77418f8166e3715&oe=5CF1935E
    51044275_588345684969725_1848413513127559168_n.jpg?_nc_cat=106&efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub1-1.fna&oh=49e3c781d377ea88e5bb4aab6802ffd2&oe=5CF0FEC7

Good man thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,401 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

This was another pic she shared a few days ago. I sort of got a laugh out of it.
    50976816_1059906004209169_2628490581805891584_n.jpg?_nc_cat=108&efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub1-1.fna&oh=ae9bc39f58bae357638dacebfb4254a5&oe=5CE7FB79

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

tuxy wrote: »
    And random RA post in the middle :D

What's with the RA stuff? Jesus when I was a young lad these two factions were sworn enemies. Although I did notice it changing. Markedly so after the ceasefire in 2005. I suppose since SF became sort of a commie/lefty party it suits the narrative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

This was another pic she shared a few days ago. I sort of got a laugh out of it.
    The sad thing about that meme is that plenty of people grew up with the wooden spoon but grew out of that treatment. Traveller children will grow up with that as being the norm and when they get a husband it's still expected. But we can't say anything about the high rates of traveller women in shelters because that would be racist.

I wonder did Ms PhD look at domestic violence rates in the Travelling community? I can't see how even she would spin that to be the fault of the settled community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Pity she didn't realize he was a complete waster after the 1st baby and to be honest even before that.

What a role model.

Scum is to nice a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,765 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

When was it changed that you can use 'I' in a thesis? I remember writing mine back in 2008 and I lost marks if I used I instead of 'the author'. Third person impersonal no?

And like others, I stopped after reading the introduction and saw how unbiased it was... Fair play to her for writing 26 pages on how she is the worst treated in society. Bualadh mall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

When was it changed that you can use 'I' in a thesis? I remember writing mine back in 2008 and I lost marks if I used I instead of 'the author'. Third person impersonal no?

And like others, I stopped after reading the introduction and saw how unbiased it was... Fair play to her for writing 26 pages on how she is the worst treated in society. Bualadh mall.

That was my first thought too.
    "The data was collected..." rather than "I collected the data ..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

Pity she didn't realize he was a complete waster after the 1st baby and to be honest even before that.

What a role model.

Scum is to nice a word.

She probably thinks nothing of his crimes with the amount of convictions she herself has and that crime, especially among men, in the traveller community is completely normal. I didn't think either way that most travellers "believed" in divorce as part of their quite religious ways. They have a greater % of marriages than the general population yet far fewer divorces. (2% vs. 6% of marriages)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,401 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Travellers fighting at Belfast airport.

You stay classy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

What's with the RA stuff? Jesus when I was a young lad these two factions were sworn enemies. Although I did notice it changing. Markedly so after the ceasefire in 2005. I suppose since SF became sort of a commie/lefty party it suits the narrative.
    They wouldnt be robbing old folks farms in south armagh, thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

NIMAN wrote: »
    Travellers fighting at Belfast airport.

You stay classy!

Where the hell was security?

I leave a jar of face cream in my luggage and security loose their sh&t and go through my smalls with a fine tooth comb.

Those f*ckers can wreck seats and inconvenience other tourists for 5 minutes and nobody does anything.

Outrageous. Unless the powers that be start clamping down on this unsocial behaviour they will continue to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Dante7

Where the hell was security?

I leave a jar of face cream in my luggage and security loose their sh&t and go through my smalls with a fine tooth comb.

Those f*ckers can wreck seats and inconvenience other tourists for 5 minutes and nobody does anything.

Outrageous. Unless the powers that be start clamping down on this unsocial behaviour they will continue to do it.

Airport security have a hands off approach when it comes to minorities in case they get accused of racial profiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,756 ✭✭✭AllForIt

https://www.youtube.com/watch?reload=9&v=zTTNGcM3vAk

If it weren't for the fact of the sheer comedy concerning travellers I'd be less interested in the whole affair.

Pity security didn't come in and tazer a few of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,756 ✭✭✭AllForIt

NIMAN wrote: »
    Pity security didn't come in and tazer a few of them.

In the UK that would be racist now, to specifically target a minority.

AllForIt wrote: »
    In the UK that would be racist now, to specifically target a minority.

They wouldn't have been targeting a minority, they would have been targeting trouble makers.

Do you think if a bunch of 10 or 12 young lads decided to have a fight in the airport for 5 mins, they would be allowed to without any intervention?

Not a chance, security would be there in a flash. But they probably got a call saying "theres a major punch-up going on, about 10 people, think they are travellers".

Once they heard the last bit, I'm sure they thought "f... that".

But surprisingly for an airport, as someone mentioned, they usually take security and passenger safety so seriously that they are OTT, but not in this case.

Margaret has just posted 4 videos of her shouting abuse at some pub's doorman for like 15 minutes for not letting her in.

She blames racism (yet talks of being allowed in before), they say she's not allowed in for being "aggresive, drunk and violent"..

https://www.facebook.com/margartandjohnnymccarthy/videos/588646178273009/

This woman has got addicted to publicity now.

Only just saw the bit there were she went up to a Garda car (likely called on her by the venue) and started complaining to them how unfair it is ("It's not fair Garda")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I live 2 miles from a halting site, reasonablely ok bunch. Here's the thing I'm a 'settled person' according to the description's certain commentators like to use. Yet I 'travel' to work 5days a week and contribute over 23 per cent of my wage in tax. My 'traveller' neighbours collect their dole once a week. Seems to me the wrong people are called 'travellers'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

According to those videos Tallaght is a ****hole now. So why did she demand a house there?
    When the hangover wears off tomorrow she’ll be claiming she’s a modern day Rosa Parks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭holliehobbie

One of her pals telling her to see a solicitor on Monday!!!! She wouldn't be telling her that if they had to 'god forbid' pay to see a solicitor. Just ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

ShaneC93 wrote: »
    Margaret has just posted 4 videos of her shouting abuse at some pub's doorman for like 15 minutes for not letting her in.

She blames racism (yet talks of being allowed in before), they say she's not allowed in for being "aggresive, drunk and violent"..

https://www.facebook.com/margartandjohnnymccarthy/videos/588646178273009/
    Who was minding all the angles?

One of her pals telling her to see a solicitor on Monday!!!! She wouldn't be telling her that if they had to 'god forbid' pay to see a solicitor. Just ridiculous.

When Paul Murphy was entitled to free legal aid, everyone should be. Mags should be very careful who she’s taking advice from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

If I took my 12-year-old child out of school, I'd be certain that it wouldn't take long before someone was knocking at the door to ask questions. Why isn't the same standard applied to Travellers? It should be obvious that barely literate parents are in no way equipped to home school their children.

Early school leaving and early marriage are the core issues contributing to Travellers' social and economic problems. They need to be tackled.

The way I see it is that if something goes wrong in your family or my family the state provides a safety net for our children. If I have some sort of break down, stop taking my child to school, don't educate him at home, let him out to play on the nearest busy roundabout, etc, someone comes and helps protect him. And I don't know about your child, but mine already has a safety net. My extended family will notice and step in if I stop caring properly for my child. But even still there are procedures in place to protect him. And I'm glad of that, I don't see it is an interference in my life. I see it as one last protection for my child, something that will help him if I can't.

The same just isn't true for traveller children. So many of those kids are stuck in a cycle of neglect that borders on abuse. Of grooming into behaviour that is utterly detrimental to their long-term prospects for safe, happy lives. And the state rarely steps in. It kind of can't, because if it stepped in for them they way it would for our children the action it takes would have to be so massive and far reaching it would spark off full scale riots. State workers and foster carers mightn't be safe. Innocent people would probably be hurt and the feeling of victimisation and racism would be fuelled to a point where it would never go away. So ultimately the real victims in the situation, the children, are left to stay in a life where the negative cycle will very, very rarely be broken out of. It's going to take something enormous to break that cycle en mass. It will be expensive and incredibly long-term, multi-generational.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

The door staff have to take some absolute crap.

Feel for them it's one tough job and after listening to her they need a pay rise and a holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭airy fairy

The door staff have to take some absolute crap.

Feel for them it's one tough job and after listening to her they need a pay rise and a holiday.

And therapy