Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018/2019 Part Two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,317 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I’m in the .1 club

The 0.1% :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,911 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I called him out multiple times for nonsensical gifs and winding people up instead of responding to direct questions and debating. His answer was to post more gifs childishly and claim the other person was triggered to the thanks of his equally childish mates.

This is the first time in a long time I've posted a gif and now'd he's having a cry because he can't handle a taste of his own medicine. To say I couldn't give less of a f*ck about his precious feelings is an understatement.

As an outside observer, you deserve a huge amount of credit for consistently excellent posting under fire, patiently laying out the repeated failures of Mourinho for what they were. Kudos icon14.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,327 ✭✭✭paulbok

Its the 3rd time Jose has lost to Klopp and got the sack ,

When Dortmund beat real .
    When Liverpool beat Chelsea
    When Liverpool beat United

Do ye get to keep that trophy now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,092 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Drumpot wrote: »
    Losing a game to Liverpool is very different to the club sacking its manager. Don't be stupid.

Whether you wanted Jose sacked or not, this is a disaster for the club. For all the talk of how bad things have been, he has been the best manager the club has had since SAF retired. That's the true state of this club and any united fan revelling in our best manager failing is an idiot. There is so much about this club that United fans should be worried about its not funny. There is nothing to celebrate. The same gobs*tes picking managers and signing players are still there. They have been there under Moyes, LVG and Jose.

I can understand why some fans may be relieved the crap we have been watching may improve, but I cant understand how anybody could think the clubs going anywhere good anytime soon. No United fan should be rejoicing. There is no guaranteed coach with a better pedigree then Jose who we can get. Zidane has no experience outside of a Madrid team that were champions when he took them over.

God I have to step away from the stupid here . . This is not a good day for United, just a reminder how bad our club is being run...

Thats not the point I made at all. You're trying to twist it.

The tables were turned as regards the gifs. And now some folks are having a strop.

If you're adept at posting sarcastic gifs to other posters (which you've done here quite a bit in fairness), its to be expected there'll be some in return.

That's all I said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,934 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    As an outside observer, you deserve a huge amount of credit for consistently excellent posting under fire, patiently laying out the repeated failures of Mourinho for what they were. Kudos icon14.png

Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

He was under fire for soapboxing and being massively hyperbolic. 90% of this thread wanted Jose gone for months and the far side just wanted to talk about the other things that need changing, which rarely got airtime as all we got were months of essays about how Jose was a **** attacking manager or had lost the dressing room, which most of the thread agreed with.

As an FYI, You Airbag was missing a lot the last 3 yeard as he was a massive LVG fan and argued for him to be kept in the face of similarly heated opposition. He was basically Drumpot 3 years ago. Just for some context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,317 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

https://twitter.com/Chris78Williams/status/1074986807455027203?s=19

As I said, scheduled marketing tweet, unless you want to read that as a cover for stupidity. To me, it was clearly marketing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

Headshot wrote: »
    Utd will have to break the bank to get Pochettino in the summer.

I think he's the only guy to bring back the fundamentals at utd like attacking football, giving youth a chance etc

This line of thinking is a big part of the problem with United as a club at the moment. Spend spend spend. And you can only see the shiny toy that the kid across the street has.

Problem is, the club seems to listen to this type of nonsense from the fans.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

And he was constantly told that nobody was disagreeing with him and almost everyone wanted Mourinho gone, but he fails to understand that the problems are far from solved by sacking Mourinho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Merry Christmas everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Thanks, and it was necessary I felt. There was a narrative being formed by a large group of people on here that players and downed tools or were too average etc and that Jose was blameless and a proven winner. Anyone who went against that was ridiculed by a mob and gifs and pics etc, including a mod on here.

I had to push back against that as it can sway an entire thread an that nonsense was in danger of being a group opinion. Though it was very important to do so to make sure that opinion was certainly not shared by all UTD fans, so your thanks means something.

Jose did exactly what I said he would do. Play rubbish football, cause infighting, get fans to turn on each other and the players and then f*ck of in his 3rd season claiming he was a victim of some sort. It was bloody inevitable.

Whats shocking is that some people in here seem to be upset that his con-job is now over. I can't even start to begin what they must be thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Next four games are pretty easy so expect the players and Caretaker to get off to a great start together,

It's disappointing that Jose's United tenure eventually ended in a sacking, many of his thought he would bring some league success even if it wouldn't be pretty or for a particularly long spell. But the sacking needed to be done. Ever since his press conference following the CL exit to Sevilla, I feel he has been separating himself from the club in his words when necessary, and that was only going to go one way sooner rather than later.

Woodward is in the crosshairs rightfully, but I do not blame him, the Glazers or anyone else directly but Jose for the toxic environment which was developing in the dressing room. Yeah, you can say 'Well they are ultimately responsible cause they didn't back/sack him in the Summer', but holy shít, does Jose Mourinho know how to piss off a bunch of his own players. He is entirely responsible for that. For example, Spurs didn't sign anyone over the Summer, but you don't see their manager putting down his players in every second interview.

He can be very petulant, scratch that, he is. Guardiola isn't an angel in interviews, Klopp neither, but their players largely escape their wrath and are still running through walls for them. Jose's words about Shaw, Martial, Mkhitaryan...all grand once we saw a positive response from the players. However, since those earlier days of his reign and especially during this season, it seems like something very different than a 'tough love' approach when he comments on the players. He didn't lose the dressing room, he pushed them away.

Not sure where we go from here. Poch, Zidane, Jardim, none of them guarantee anything. Would they even come to the club? Maybe Poch has 'reached his ceiling' with Spurs, or maybe he is picturing a long-term project there. He is still relatively young at 46, he could give Spurs another 5 seasons and still have 20 years left in his managerial career to go elsewhere. Jardim and Zidane...do they currently even have a desire to manage a Premier League team? Is there a chance the United job is viewed as a poison chalice at the moment or at least one to let someone else take a chance on first? If the rumours that the Glazers are looking to sell the club are true, maybe United aren't viewed as the most stable club to come in and manage right now.

I really have no idea who will be the next permanent United manager. Jose was the 'guarantee' that no matter how bad it got with Moyes or LVG, Jose was still out there to be hired someday, a safety net to bounce us back up. However not only did that safety net fail badly, but it's gone now.

We are truly into the managerial merry-go-round now, a trial and error approach, and that does make me wary for the future.

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Not sure why you don’t just ask Fergie to step in til the end of the season.

Because unfortunately that would be a bad move for all involved IMO. For one, Fergie almost died this year from a brain hemorrhage. Right, we see him out at the games now and he has made a few interviews during his recovery, but that health scare shook him something unreal. He is 76 and lucky to be alive.

6 years ago when he retired he was getting on in years as it was. If it wasn't for his wife's benefit in 2012/13, he would have retired in the following couple of seasons anyway for some other reason IMO.

He has nothing left to achieve. What...come back now to this shít show to probably ruin his legacy as the GOAT?

No thanks, that man stays in his retirement which I hope he is enjoying immensely outside of health issues. Plus, as much as I rate him as the greatest ever, it's a different game today.

War chest gone on Jose payoff rather than transfer the ironing is delicious

Ah sure it don't matter, we now have what will seem like a brand new team/squad of signings once the new manager gets a hold of them.

Seriously though, a lot of these players now have a very bright spotlight on them. They no longer have the Jose harness of toxicity as an excuse for some of the worst football United have played in almost 30 years. They better start showing up.

No matter how much our manager was turning into Darth Jose and needed to be removed, the fact remains: Some of these players have now failed under 3 successive United managers, and some of them were lucky to be in an Alex Ferguson team 4 managers ago. We really need to get many of these players the fúck out next Summer, like should have been done this past Summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

He was under fire for soapboxing and being massively hyperbolic. 90% of this thread wanted Jose gone for months and the far side just wanted to talk about the other things that need changing, which rarely got airtime as all we got were months of essays about how Jose was a **** attacking manager or had lost the dressing room, which most of the thread agreed with.

As an FYI, You Airbag was missing a lot the last 3 yeard as he was a massive LVG fan and argued for him to be kept in the face of similarly heated opposition. He was basically Drumpot 3 years ago. Just for some context.

Where did I say Jose shouldn’t be sacked? Where did I say he’s doing a great job this season ? That’s the narrative that seems to be going around by the staunch anti Jose brigade that I never subscribed to. I’m not a Jose fan, I don’t see the issues of the club as simplistic as others.

The confusion is from people who think you have to be for or against somebody and if you aren’t staunchly against them or defend them on any capacity you must be for them. I saw the merits of both as did a lot of respectable football people who don’t caught up in the hyperbolic simplistic “sack the manager” bullsh*t. Gary Neville runs his own club , has managed and played. I’m totally on board with his assessment of the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,911 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Of course there are other problems, but you start the healing process by cutting out the cancerous tumor first. The idea that you would discuss Utd's present difficulties without a huge element of focus on the consistent mismanagement and outrageous media handling of Mourinho is laughable in the extreme!

Carrick interim?

So we're doing the equivalent of 'Give it to Giggsy' for the rest of the season.

Hmm.

Well, at least I hope Carrick has more than 'Give the fans summin to cheer for' in his locker.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Thanks, and it was necessary I felt. There was a narrative being formed by a large group of people on here that players and downed tools or were too average etc and that Jose was blameless and a proven winner. Anyone who went against that was ridiculed by a mob and gifs and pics etc, including a mod on here.

I had to push back against that as it can sway an entire thread an that nonsense was in danger of being a group opinion. Though it was very important to do so to make sure that opinion was certainly not shared by all UTD fans, so your thanks means something.

Jose did exactly what I said he would do. Play rubbish football, cause infighting, get fans to turn on each other and the players and then f*ck of in his 3rd season claiming he was a victim of some sort. It was bloody inevitable.

Whats shocking is that some people in here seem to be upset that his con-job is now over. I can't even start to begin what they must be thinking.

If you think that this mornings events are going to change the fortunes of the club, you're in for some shock. We still have non football people running the football side. Until that's changes we'll continue to plod along blaming manager after manager for the failure. That is not even close to being the same as backing Mourihno. The fact that you still can't see this is unbelievable.

I was always reading the thread in those 3 years (I'm not sure it was 3 but anyway), health reason kept me less active than i wanted to be but yeah I got it wrong with LVG but i'll admit that.

As for 90% wanting Jose gone you could only argue the number was that high very recently and certainly not throughout some of Jose's worse antics.
    And he was constantly told that nobody was disagreeing with him and almost everyone wanted Mourinho gone, but he fails to understand that the problems are far from solved by sacking Mourinho.

everyone my backside, there are a few in here that are inwardly raging that he is gone and its clear to see not matter what else they tell you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Carrick interim?

So we're doing the equivalent of 'Give it to Giggsy' for the rest of the season.

Hmm.

Well, at least I hope Carrick has more than 'Give the fans summin to cheer for' in his locker.

That's not happening

External interim person coming in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Econ__

Of course there are other problems, but you start the healing process by cutting out the cancerous tumor first. The idea that you would discuss Utd's present difficulties without a huge element of focus on the consistent mismanagement and outrageous media handling of Mourinho is laughable in the extreme!

Exactly. It was an obvious displacement activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

The club has its most successful period under Jose. When he was happy the club was doing well. He had to be sacked, as Neville and Keane put it, because when you don’t back a world class coach like Jose this is the inevitable outcome.

The cause of his unhappiness is the club. The club that has now wasted 6 years fumbling around with no strategy. The club is the cancer and was the cancer before he joined. Nobody comes to united under Woodward’s stewardship
    And improves. Nobody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Its the 3rd time Jose has lost to Klopp and got the sack ,

When Dortmund beat real .
    When Liverpool beat Chelsea
    When Liverpool beat United

Fascinating and still won more trophies then him each time afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

If that tweet was scheduled then whoever is responsible is a marketing genius. Obviously knew what would happen and capitalised on the publicity. Hats off

https://twitter.com/Chris78Williams/status/1074986807455027203?s=19

As I said, scheduled marketing tweet, unless you want to read that as a cover for stupidity. To me, it was clearly marketing.

Its clear to anyone without an agenda that it was not a vindictive post. Unfortunately some fans have been duped by Jose's deflection so Pogba will get stick from time to come about this.
    Drumpot wrote: »
    Where did I say Jose shouldn’t be sacked? Where did I say he’s doing a great job this season ? That’s the narrative that seems to be going around by the staunch anti Jose brigade that I never subscribed to. I’m not a Jose fan, I don’t see the issues of the club as simplistic as others.

The confusion is from people who think you have to be for or against somebody and if you aren’t staunchly against them or defend them on any capacity you must be for them. I saw the merits of both as did a lot of respectable football people who don’t caught up in the hyperbolic simplistic “sack the manager” bullsh*t. Gary Neville runs his own club , has managed and played. I’m totally on board with his assessment of the club.

As recently as Sunday night after the defeat I tired to engage with you civilly and asked you flat out what if anything you though Jose got wrong with tactics and setup for the loss we suffered, your response was a snide and sarcastic reply and total failure to debate. You've done this on multiple occasions and I have never seen you level any valid criticism at Jose regards selection and setup.

Now your upset and wanting to play the victim. Spare us please.

Good to see finally Woodward grew a set and made a decision. Unfortunately for the club it's atleast 6 months too late.

Had José even signed his new contract 6 months ago? Sacking him in the Summer would have seemed madness but I guess seeing how it played out it's baffling they didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭BenK

Hard to keep up with this thread at the moment.

Danny Mills reckons Southgate has to be looked at but doesn't know if he'd take it! Comical that some of these pundits have jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Its clear to anyone without an agenda that it was not a vindictive post. Unfortunately some fans have been duped by Jose's deflection so Pogba will get stick from time to come about this.

Tweet or no tweet the stick he has been getting is growing and growing and rightly so.

Whatever your opinion or anyone else opinion on Jose is Pogba, along with others have let themselves and United down big time.

I for one will be happy to see the back of Pogba, he simply hasn't produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

You think that it is laughable (in the extreme!) to want to discuss the fact that one man has overseen 3 failed managerial appointment and a slew of mediocre signings on big money that have not looked arsed? I guess we have different ideas of laughable opinions.

The buggest mistake any United fan will make right now is to buy i to the media narrative that getting rid of Mourinho solves the problem. It didnt solve it when we sacked Moyes and it didnt solve it when we sacked LVG. Woodward needs to go, more so than anybody else at the club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

If that tweet was scheduled then whoever is responsible is a marketing genius. Obviously knew what would happen and capitalised on the publicity. Hats off

The Monday Night Club on 5live had a very depressing discussion about this yesterday - Rory Smith (New York Times PL correspondent) I think it was noted that such is the level of social media activity surrounding the club a loss is actually a win in terms of clicks and hits because good news is not a story and defeat like that v Liverpool is a real win for interest in the club be it from supporters or otherwise. It was pointed out that sooner or later the clicks are no substitute for winning stuff as the next generation of (potential) fans will disengage or simply not be interested to start with, but it was also noted that such is the income from TV esp that not winning stuff doesn't matter that much now either (and by implication even full stadiums are a luxury income add on). The whole environment around the game is pretty bad in this regard now. Pogba is merely the most obvious symptom of this new age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Next manger is the most important appointment in United history ,
    They can not afford to make another mistake,

I heard mention Southgate would people be happy with him ?

Poch seems number one choice but will he leave Spurs ?

Zidane won't come to a club with problems , he will hold out for the Juve job next