Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018/2019 Part Two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Weepsie wrote: »
    What's this weird pogba hard on for?

France play as well if not better without him. Juve were as good if not better team without him.

There has to be some responsibility. If he's so good, he should be able to display that in this system. He hasn't. He needs players like Kante, Vidal and Pirlo to help him look good. All of those are/were world class.

He doesn't improve teams. He performs well enough on already excellent teams.

He's technically excellent, but he's not a reliable player. If he were as brilliant as you make out, he would be imposing himself on games more often.

He and Sanchez should be out the door.

Jones, Valencia and a few more too.

France and Juve (the one of three seasons ago) certainly do not play as good or better without him, I'm not saying they suffer either but its not like he adds nothing. Pogba was very good in the Italian league.

Last season 4 players were above him for assists and all of them were City players. I'm not sure we want to lose that from our squad just yet without trying him in a new system first. If he can assist reasonably well in Jose's defensive style he might do much better in a more progressive set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,244 ✭✭✭secman

pjohnson wrote: »
    Nice to see some of the "regulars" back again. They seemed missing after Saturdays win.

The Famous 5 are alive and kicking, pure fantasy.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Since when has it become acceptable for a player to sit on their hands and be allowed to not give an absolute ****e about the club on the pitch..

This should not be happening irrespective of who is the manager, if you don't like the manager, want him gone, don't like his tactics or whatnot, that does not give them an excuse for phoning in displays.

These players should be trying their upmost in whatever tactics they are asked to play, if it then doesnt work so be it but by god they should be playing out of their skin for the club that pays them handsomely. All we are getting is excuse after excuse for these type of displays.

I am firmly in the Jose needs to go boat but by jaysus the players need to show some desire to play for the club, and right now there is a good few who are not, and that is on them not the manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Second place last year could have been built upon but ever since the summer window JM has been running down the players he has and is getting the performances from them he deserves. That is the biggest issue at the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,336 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

JB81 wrote: »
    Normally when things are going wrong at a football club it is one of three things:

The Manager
    The Players
    Money ( Board )

I don't know much about your board situation however a lot of fans are not happy with the Glazers input or running of the club.

The players? There are good players at the club. Of course there is.

Your problem in Mourinho.

Laughably simplistic and ignorant. There are huge problems with all three and most United fans have been saying this for ages now. I have no confidence in the board or owners whatsoever, it's just a cash cow for them, recruitment of both players and managers has been a shambles for years. The players are mostly not good enough and and those who are good have been mostly underperforming for years. Mourinho has not brought about the improvement in play we expected and the signings under his watch have been average at best. He will be gone before next season but the club won't improve because the board will still be tossers and the players still mostly not good enough or not bothered.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,349 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

astradave wrote: »
    Since when has it become acceptable for a player to sit on their hands and be allowed to not give an absolute ****e about the club on the pitch..

This should not be happening irrespective of who is the manager, if you don't like the manager, want him gone, don't like his tactics or whatnot, that does not give them an excuse for phoning in displays.

These players should be trying their upmost in whatever tactics they are asked to play, if it then doesnt work so be it but by god they should be playing out of their skin for the club that pays them handsomely. All we are getting is excuse after excuse for these type of displays.

I am firmly in the Jose needs to go boat but by jaysus the players need to show some desire to play for the club, and right now there is a good few who are not, and that is on them not the manager.

also, the 'tactics' excuse is a great one, and an easy one to hide behind when chastising a manager. i've been guilty of it through the years too.

but players seem to get away with little to no personal responsibility anymore.

against Arsenal, I remember it was the last 10 minutes, and Mourinho could be seen and heard screaming at his players to make themselves available, and at his CBs to bring the ball out and get the team playing. they hoofed it, and he visibly got annoyed. is that an act? is he making out that he wants something to happen, but he secretly wants them to do something else?

yes, Mourinho is setting the team up in a certain way. but i cannot believe for the life of me, after seeing his Chelsea teams (successful ones), and his Madrid team, that he's quiet as negative as we believe. i don't believe he wants the football that he's seeing.

i don't believe it's necessarily the tactics. if there's anything that is wrong with him, it's that he's not adapting well to the modern player, gets on their wrong side too often, and so that has an effect on morale and performance. i honestly think that's it. now, he is responsible for that, and he should be adapting better, but players get away with absolute blue murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Roy Keane is in the sky studio for Sunday !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭garra

Will be interesting to see what he makes of the United team this season, and hopefully doesn't have anything nice to say after the match...

Not that he has an ounce of credibility when it comes to management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

He'll probably be more entertaining than the utd team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Well we all know what he thinks of jose anyway but he will prob dog into him and the players on sunday.

Anyway, id take what he says with a pinch of salt. Never liked him after Nani red card v madrid. Very bitter man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

With Graham Sourness beside him, that's a lot of bitterness and resentment in one studio.

So you don't like someone due to some comments versus a decade of being an absolutely monster of a player for us, yet you fawn over pogba who has the attitude of a petulant child?

I wish we had a player of his calibre now.

You're a conundrum.

Loved him as a player. Hate him as a pundit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

So you don't like someone due to some comments versus a decade of being an absolutely monster of a player for us, yet you fawn over pogba who has the attitude of a petulant child?

You're a conundrum.

He can be a moany ****e but man's a united and Ireland legend. Not many players with his passion and drive if had one player with even half of what Keane had now would make some difference in team!!

Imagine Keane around with likes of Pogba now woulfnt take any ****e off him.

Sure your not aloud be tough in football anymore anyway so "dinosaurs" like Keane etc are thing the past.

You're a conundrum.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

bangkok wrote: »
    Loved him as a player. Hate him as a pundit

Would Pogba be a better pundit than him if there was a 3 man team and the others willing to do the talking ?

your a mad bastard !

Sorry we dont all have to like keane as a pundit.

Plenty here who hate scholes as a pundit and hes as big a legend as keane is

Keane will be awesome on Sky as a pundit. there i said it.

doesn't give a shít, hates us (Liverpool), and will call out Sky's bland nonsense. The minute Dave Jones asks him something like 'are the players afraid of Jose?' or 'are the players not following his instructions', he'll probably look at him like he's a moron and tell him that the players need to take some responsibility.

he'll wind Souness up, and Souness will wind him up right back. and they'll enjoy it.

and he will fúcking despise Redknapp if he has to sit beside him. i can see some quality giffage coming from some of his facial expressions if Redknapp starts simply calling Liverpool's front 3 'top top players'.

it'll be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Progressive seems to be the buzzword at the moment. Think the main word should be just good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    Progressive seems to be the buzzword at the moment. Think the main word should be just good.

Feck it,I thought the buzzword was Emotional.

SlickRic wrote: »

doesn't give a shít, hates us (Liverpool), and will call out Sky's bland nonsense. The minute Dave Jones asks him something like 'are the players afraid of Jose?' or 'are the players not following his instructions', he'll probably look at him like he's a moron and tell him that the players need to take some responsibility.

he'll wind Souness up, and Souness will wind him up right back. and they'll enjoy it.

and he will fúcking despise Redknapp if he has to sit beside him. i can see some quality giffage coming from some of his facial expressions if Redknapp starts simply calling Liverpool's front 3 'top top players'.

it'll be great.

Carragher is in studio as well not redknapp

bangkok wrote: »
    Carragher is in studio as well not redknapp

missed opportunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Feck it,I thought the buzzword was Emotional.

To be fair your not funny it's quiet boring the way some United fans just slip in these buzzwords every so often. Your all just serial losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

You do know you've set off an alarm somewhere now. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,156 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

SlickRic wrote: »

doesn't give a sh hates us (Liverpool), and will call out Sky's bland nonsense. The minute Dave Jones asks him something like 'are the players afraid of Jose?' or 'are the players not following his instructions', he'll probably look at him like he's a moron and tell him that the players need to take some responsibility.

it'll be great.

Can't wait! Love Keane as a pundit, cutting and ruthless, but actually pretty funny at the same time.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

~Rebel~ wrote:
    Can't wait! Love Keane as a pundit, cutting and ruthless, but actually pretty funny at the same time.

He's nothing but a bitter see you next Tuesday who's failed miserably since Fergie turfed him out of United
    Thought he was bigger than the club and git shown up for what he really is a self centered egotistical pain in the arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

brinty wrote: »
    He's nothing but a bitter see you next Tuesday who's failed miserably since Fergie turfed him out of United
    Thought he was bigger than the club and git shown up for what he really is a self centered egotistical pain in the arse

LoL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭xtal191

Hope its true, great servant but time to go

https://twitter.com/utdreport/status/1073351520698146817

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

garra wrote: »

Not that he has an ounce of credibility when it comes to management.

Neither does anyone on Boards but that doesn't stop us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭bassy

Neither does anyone on Boards but that doesn't stop us

we don,t get a paid a fortune where as he does for being a sh1te manager/assistant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

bassy wrote: »
    we don,t get a paid a fortune where as he does for being a sh1te manager/assistant.

He'll be getting paid to talk about United and Liverpool not for managing them.