Slow Cooker recipes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,053 ✭✭✭54and56

Serious Black Friday deal on the Instant Pot Duo for anyone looking to upgrade from a slow cooker - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Instant-Pot-Electric-Pressure-Stainless/dp/B00OP26T4K?ref_=Oct_DLandingS_PC_550132f0_NA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Cheshire Cat

Pulled the trigger this morning. Had it in my basket for ages.
    It was around £115 when I added it, not the RRP. Very pleased with the saving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,345 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Finally got around to making this pork ramen yesterday. Crap photo but it's really tasty. I used nam pla instead of hoisin, left the mushrooms out cause I hate them and added a dash of rice wine vinegar at the end.

46770537_10157925759852678_1894774270588878848_n.jpg?_nc_cat=104&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=afdd36c9c8daf621f4e7f9f5becdb714&oe=5C6F93DE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Didn't take a photo, but made a savage Bolognese in the slow cooker today (or last night depending on your perspective)

Here's what you'll need.

2 onions finely chopped.
    4 x garlic cloves, crushed.
    500g of mince.
    Glass of red wine (or beef stock)
    2 x tins of tomatoes (or 700ml jar of passata)
    2 tsps of Worcester sauce
    4 x tbsn of tomato puree
    3 tsps of oregano
    2 tsps of thyme
    3 x stock cubes crushed/crumbled
    Couple of bay leaves
    2 tsps of salt
    1 tsp of pepper.

Using a pan fry off the onion and garlic until they're sweet and translucent (5 mins or so) and put in your pot.

Fry up the mince in the same pan, breaking it up as you go, drain any water or fat so as you don't stew the mince, you want it browned. Do this in multiple batches if required. Put mince in pot with onions and garlic.

Empty the wine into the pan, and scrape off any remnants of the mince into it, and transfer to the pot with the mince and onions.

Place all the other ingredients into the slow cooker pot and stir well.

Cook on low for 6-8 hrs.

For the pasta, (I used penne, as I prefer this to spaghetti) I add it to a large pot of salted, boiling water, and just as it's gone al dente, remove a cup of the pasta water, and set aside.

Drain the pasta, and then add the Bolognese, and stir well over a medium heat, and add your cup of pasta water to the mix (emulsifying is what I believe thinks is known as)

The original recipe I had called for a few teaspoons of red pepper flakes, I put in one, but wouldn't again as it left the sauce a bit spicy, which Bolognese should not be, but it was still delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Cheshire Cat

Sounds good JD!
    I like to throw ia Parmesan rind into the Bolognese while it's cooking. Saw Jamie Oliver do it on telly some years ago. It adds some nice depth to the sauce. We use quite a bit of Parmesan and I keep the leftover rinds in the freezer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Didn't take a photo, but made a savage Bolognese in the slow cooker today (or last night depending on your perspective)

Here's what you'll need.

2 onions finely chopped.
    500g of mince.
    4 x tbsn of tomato puree
    3 tsps of oregano
    2 tsps of thyme
    Couple of bay leaves
    2 tsps of salt
    1 tsp of pepper.

Using a pan fry off the onion and garlic until they're sweet and translucent (5 mins or so) and put in your pot.

Fry up the mince in the same pan, breaking it up as you go, drain any water or fat so as you don't stew the mince, you want it browned. Do this in multiple batches if required. Put mince in pot with onions and garlic.

Empty the wine into the pan, and scrape off any remnants of the mince into it, and transfer to the pot with the mince and onions.

Cook on low for 6-8 hrs.

For the pasta, (I used penne, as I prefer this to spaghetti) I add it to a large pot of salted, boiling water, and just as it's gone al dente, remove a cup of the pasta water, and set aside.

Drain the pasta, and then add the Bolognese, and stir well over a medium heat, and add your cup of pasta water to the mix (emulsifying is what I believe thinks is known as)

The original recipe I had called for a few teaspoons of red pepper flakes, I put in one, but wouldn't again as it left the sauce a bit spicy, which Bolognese should not be, but it was still delicious.

Few questions because I'm definitely making that, sounds class.

Is the tomato puree in tablespoons?
    Are the oregano and thyme dried or fresh?
    Did you use beef stock cubes?

Thanks.

Patww79 wrote: »
    Few questions because I'm definitely making that, sounds class.

Is the tomato puree in tablespoons?
    Are the oregano and thyme dried or fresh?
    Did you use beef stock cubes?

Thanks.

Yes to all above.

And the oregano and thyme was the dried variety.

Full recipe can be found here, and it was truly delicious.

As I said, I would just omit crushed chilli next time (red pepper flakes)

Apart from that, all was good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

That Bolognese sounds delicious!

Just wondering how many servings did you get from it?

I'm asking because in the link for the recipe it suggests 8-10 servings, and the nutritional info they give for that means the salt content is over 2 grams per serving. That's a decent amount of salt!

That Bolognese sounds delicious!

Just wondering how many servings did you get from it?

I'm asking because in the link for the recipe it suggests 8-10 servings, and the nutritional info they give for that means the salt content is over 2 grams per serving. That's a decent amount of salt!

It fed 2 x fully grown male adults, 1 x female, and 3 x kids.

I'm guessing the salt content is in the stock cubes, as I only put a teaspoon of salt into it:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

It fed 2 x fully grown male adults, 1 x female, and 3 x kids.

I'm guessing the salt content is in the stock cubes, as I only put a teaspoon of salt into it:confused:

Yeah stock cubes have a decent amount of salt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Made the Bolognese above today. Didn't pre fry the onions, and used 800g of diced beef instead of mince. I did the three stock cubes, and puree in a jug last night, and prepped the spices (into a snap lock box) and onions, so it was literally just throw everything in and stir this morning.

Came out tasting lovely but a bit too much liquid, despite adding cornflour. I probably added too much water with the stock cube though thinking about it rather than the recipe. Would've been ripe to add the pasta to cook actually.

I split it 8 ways, but probably 6 full adult portions. Anyway, big hit with the children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,345 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Anything cooked in a slow cooker will generate more liquid than usual because it's sitting in its own condensation for hours and nothing is evaporating. Slow cooker recipes should account for that.

Personally (and no disrespect to the poster here), I didn't really see anything about that recipe that would recommend it to SC as opposed to stove-top cooking. I think the recipe as written is far better suited to the latter.

It went down well anyway in our house, and the reality is it wouldn't have got made on the stove. We cut a nice crusty loaf to mop up the juices, job done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

Macy0161 wrote: »
    Made the Bolognese above today. Didn't pre fry the onions, and used 800g of diced beef instead of mince. I did the three stock cubes, and puree in a jug last night, and prepped the spices (into a snap lock box) and onions, so it was literally just throw everything in and stir this morning.

Came out tasting lovely but a bit too much liquid, despite adding cornflour. I probably added too much water with the stock cube though thinking about it rather than the recipe. Would've been ripe to add the pasta to cook actually.

I split it 8 ways, but probably 6 full adult portions. Anyway, big hit with the children.

I never add water to stock cubes when cooking spag bol in the slow cooker. I just crumble them and allow them to dissolve in the sauce or I use stock pots and just stir them in.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,397 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Heading down to Rathwood on Saturday, plan on having the Bolognaise going in the slow cooker all day. With everything prefried the night before.

Huzzah! wrote: »
    I never add water to stock cubes when cooking spag bol in the slow cooker. I just crumble them and allow them to dissolve in the sauce or I use stock pots and just stir them in.
    I'll try the stock pot option the next time if I remember to get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Jorda 12

Here's what you'll need.

2 onions finely chopped.
    500g of mince.
    4 x tbsn of tomato puree
    3 tsps of oregano
    2 tsps of thyme
    Couple of bay leaves
    2 tsps of salt
    1 tsp of pepper.

Cook on low for 6-8 hrs.

I made this today and it was a great hit with all the family. I took a photo but I don't know how to post it. Thanks for sharing, I'll be making this again.I added mushrooms to it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,361 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Jorda 12 wrote: »
    I made this today and it was a great hit with all the family. I took a photo but I don't know how to post it. Thanks for sharing, I'll be making this again.I added mushrooms to it too.

Set up an account with an image hosting site like www.postimage.com. Upload your image and click Share > Hotlink to Forums. The link will be copied so just paste into your post. :)

Put on that Bolognaise yesterday, tucked into a bit of it today with macaroni. Delicious. Only used 1 stock cube crumbled. Added pancheta, mushrooms and celery. All the heads nodded in approvement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,871 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Ha looks like half the board tried out that bolognese in the last week. I stuck it on today. Thought it came out WAY too beefy for my liking. Would definitely put less beef stock in it next time. Other than that it was pretty delish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

SNIP!

If you have nothing nice to say, say nothing!

The Gloomster!

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    Ha looks like half the board tried out that bolognese in the last week. I stuck it on today. Thought it came out WAY too beefy for my liking. Would definitely put less beef stock in it next time. Other than that it was pretty delish.

It's a real comfort dish. Easy, bar pre frying everything. I'd eat it with mash potatoes if I was stuck.

Had another go at the bolognaise last night, which slow cooked all day, but made it slightly different to last week's, I'll go through them individually now.

First off, where the recipe gives you the option of red wine or beef stock, in last night's dish I went with stock (no wine in the house lol), and I feel that the dish lost a bit of the sweetness the wine added. Definitely wasn't as tangy.

Only went with 1 x stock cube. Couldn't tell much difference tbh (but then again I was cooking with beef stock, so perhaps that's why :))

Last week I cooked it with passata, last night I used tins of crushed plum tomatoes, I feel this was a big improvement over last week, sauce was a good bit thicker.

I left out the crushed chilli altogether. I think I'll go back to returning a spoonful next week.

Feckin only discovered I was out of oregano when I was half way through cooking last night after 9, so the shop was shut, but I put in mixed herbs in steady, definitely feel like it was missing the oregano, but might have just been in my head because I knew it wasn't in it.

I also added a tbs of finely chopped fresh basil. Would definitely repeat.

Was still good, really good, but my general consensus would be to.stick with the glass of wine, and use chunky chopped tomatoes over passata.

Got a pic this week fresh out of the pot, literally still steaming.

IMG-20181203-WA0028.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

Practising for Christmas as I've never cooked ham in the slow cooker before. 2.2kgs ham, on Low, with 1ltr water, supposed to be 8 hours but I forgot about it and it had 9.5 hours. Still was lovely. I searched the house from top to bottom and nary a star anise was to be found!!! :rolleyes: I'm not bothered about fancy ingredients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

I have got a fine leg of lamb in mine right now, having it sometime this evening, a brilliant way to cook lamb, or beef,
    I have not tried out the ham yet, but must have a go one of these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Got some bacon ribs, normally boil them and then glaze and oven them. Would they go well in the SC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,511 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    Practising for Christmas as I've never cooked ham in the slow cooker before. 2.2kgs ham, on Low, with 1ltr water, supposed to be 8 hours but I forgot about it and it had 9.5 hours. Still was lovely. I searched the house from top to bottom and nary a star anise was to be found!!! :rolleyes: I'm not bothered about fancy ingredients.
    Looks good.

I do it regularily, i think an orange halved, some cloves and bay leaves added to the water are a good addition.

When its done i also score the fat and glaze it and whack it in the oven, honey, mustard and chilli glaze works really well with slow cooked ham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,548 ✭✭✭✭km79

Where do ye get the ham's?
    For Xmas we usually buy a cooked one from butcher but might try slow cooked one ourselves this year
    Do aldi do them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Jorda 12

Jellybaby1 wrote: »

That looks very nice.
    I add in some pineapple juice and massage soft brown sugar into my ham before cooking.....so not too fancy but very tasty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

Looks good.

I do it regularily, i think an orange halved, some cloves and bay leaves added to the water are a good addition.

When its done i also score the fat and glaze it and whack it in the oven, honey, mustard and chilli glaze works really well with slow cooked ham.
    Jorda 12 wrote: »
    That looks very nice.
    I add in some pineapple juice and massage soft brown sugar into my ham before cooking.....so not too fancy but very tasty.

I've watched all the slow cooker videos and read the recipes for cooking ham. We do just love our plain boiled ham but I thought to try the slow cooker this year. It worked so well I'll use it for the Christmas ham. The glazes I have to say, look tasty and I will definitely try it out at some stage, cloves don't go down well with himself so I'll won't be using them. I'm just so chuffed this worked so well.