Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

PropJoe10 wrote: »
    Gomez out for 6 weeks with a broken ankle. Big blow, but ligament damage would've been a lot worse.

https://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/first-team/328824-joe-gomez-injury-latest-liverpool

back fighting fit in time for the title run-in ! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

FFS, Burnley feckers. Still Lovren and Matip are there for a reason and so is Clyne *cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

No sign of mane in the training photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I wouldn't recall Wilson myself I leave him play week in week out.

Even if the lad doesn't have a future at Liverpool his value will only increase as he plays week in week out.

You'd be looking for close to £30m for him in the transfer market these days and that being generous when you think Ibe went for £15m.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭qm1bv4p8i92aoj

That's terrible news about Gomez but am I the only one that saw nothing wrong in the Burnley players tackle on him? I thought it was his clash with the advertising hoarding that caused his injury.

Bardsleys tackle on Moreno was the bad one. Should have been off.

At least we are on the right side of the transfer window if Klopp thinks he needs to buy some cover in January for RB or CB.

Joe has come back from worse injuries than this before, he'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,573 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

That's terrible news about Gomez but am I the only one that saw nothing wrong in the Burnley players tackle on him? I thought it was his clash with the advertising hoarding that caused his injury.

Bardsleys tackle on Moreno was the bad one. Should have been off.

At least we are on the right side of the transfer window if Klopp thinks he needs to buy some cover in January for RB or CB.

Joe has come back from worse injuries than this before, he'll be grand.

He didn't hit the advertisement boards. His standing leg got taken out as the player kept sliding after the tackle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Our Fa cup against wolves has been moved to the monday which is great news as we have City away the previous thursday.

Put out the C team and ditch that competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Balls about Gomez. Bad time of year for an injury as well with all the games over Christmas. He's going to miss the Napoli, United, Arsenal and Man City games. Hope Lovren is fit as he's going to be needed quite a bit.

On the plus side it could have been 3 or 4 months with a fracture. At least he's back in mid January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

He got the ball but as Klopp said on a wet slippy pitch like that if you go sliding in you might get the ball but you will go straight through the man as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Hard not to feel for Gomez. Poor lad has gotten a few injuries now at awful times.

He's made an unreal recovery from previous two, and hopefully he'll be the same this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,361 ✭✭✭mosstin

rob316 wrote: »
    Fair enough but using phrases like "nowhere to hide" is pure hyperbole. Staring down a packed Xmas period rotating the squad is needed and the team he picked should be enough to beat a dire Burnley. We have 39 points out of 45!

It's a funny season in the sense that we've started it remarkably, albeit without the swashbuckling football we've seen at various periods over the past few years.....and yet.......there's the definite sense on here - Twitter also - that folk are just waiting to say 'There, told you' when we have a bad result.

We have 39 points from 45, played Spurs, Chelsea and Arsenal away (and City at home), conceded 6 goals FFS, and people still seem to be waiting for it to fall apart. I'm often nervous before games - last night also - but we almost always do enough (and a little more besides) these days. That's surely the point, no? How much more convincing do we have to be?

He got the ball but as Klopp said on a wet slippy pitch like that if you go sliding in you might get the ball but you will go straight through the man as well.

And then, remarkably, Dyche seemed to have something to say to Klopp after the match when it should have been the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Sofa Spud

Knex. wrote: »
    Hard not to feel for Gomez. Poor lad has gotten a few injuries now at awful times.

He's made an unreal recovery from previous two, and hopefully he'll be the same this time around.

At least he'll have that cheeky chappy the OX to keep his spirits up when on the exercise bikes in recovery. Gutted for the lad, just when it all seemed to be going so well for him. Be interesting to see if they risk Lovren at the weekend as he needs some game time if he's in the running now for a start on Tuesday and he apparently has a head injury (cue sarcastic posts!). Getting nervous about that one, really need everyone on the top of their game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

mosstin wrote: »
    It's a funny season in the sense that we've started it remarkably, albeit without the swashbuckling football we've seen at various periods over the past few years.....and yet.......there's the definite sense on here - Twitter also - that folk are just waiting to say 'There, told you' when we have a bad result.

We have 39 points from 45, played Spurs, Chelsea and Arsenal away (and City at home), conceded 6 goals FFS, and people still seem to be waiting for it to fall apart. I'm often nervous before games - last night also - but we almost always do enough (and a little more besides) these days. That's surely the point, no? How much more convincing do we have to be?

We have come so close before and (im not using that word) messed up, got pipped, had an unlucky injury in the most important match of last season, have been there or there abouts on numerous occasions in the league and cups and never got over the line.

There is only so much hope you can have before cautious optimism turns to refusing to believe to save yourself more heartache!

I learned years ago never to get too excited in life, things rarely work out, expect the worst and anything else is a positive - Im taking this one game at a time!

ardinn wrote: »
    We have come so close before and (im not using that word) messed up, got pipped, had an unlucky injury in the most important match of last season, have been there or there abouts on numerous occasions in the league and cups and never got over the line.

There is only so much hope you can have before cautious optimism turns to refusing to believe to save yourself more heartache!

I learned years ago never to get too excited in life, things rarely work out, expect the worst and anything else is a positive - Im taking this one game at a time!

I'm the very same. It's not really what I'm talking about. I would assume if we did lose that you wouldn't take it as an opportunity to wade into the thread moaning about how **** we've been even in the games we've won and how you foresaw the decline beginning before others did. Seems a sad way to follow a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,868 ✭✭✭54and56

Which our lads do all the time and isn't a foul, it's a normal part of the game. What else was Mee supposed to do? Not tackle Gomez?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,427 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Interviewing managers after they lose is a skill. You have to know how to needle them to get the sound bite. This is a minor spat.
    From MOTD I saw one bad tackle (on Moreno) which I think Dyche acknowledged. Gomez' injury is hard to take but it wasn't a foul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

He's a great footballer if correctly managed and motivated (by the manager) and is in a team which plays to his individual strengths (a roaming AM type role) and weaknesses (inability or lack of interest in pressing and defending). At the moment he has the wrong manager and is part of the wrong team.
    Doesn’t sound like a great player to need all that :)
    Pogba has talent, but he’s a bird brain. Even allowing for Jose, the sh!t he was doing against Southampton was just appalling. France seemed to use him as a direct runner at times, but with Kante ready behind him if he lost the ball. He’s not the influence behind their WC win as Zidane was.
    He’s a few months away from being 26 years old, but still acts like a kid new to the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

https://streamable.com/x5ju4

Favourite moment from last night, Alisson literally (again!) causing the third goal from a counter attack...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

ebbsy wrote: »
    Put out the C team and ditch that competition.

No, we've won one trophy in 12 yrs, I'd like us to win another trophy or 2 before I'm dead

Doesn’t sound like a great player to need all that :)
    Pogba has talent, but he’s a bird brain. Even allowing for Jose, the sh!t he was doing against Southampton was just appalling. France seemed to use him as a direct runner at times, but with Kante ready behind him if he lost the ball. He’s not the influence behind their WC win as Zidane was.
    He’s a few months away from being 26 years old, but still acts like a kid new to the game.

I don't disagree too much with you there and I'm not a defender of Pogba's unprofessional behaviour on and off the pitch but his problems seems to be strongly correlated to Mourinho/Utd. I don't recall anyone saying he behaved poorly on or off the pitch whilst at Juventus and similarly with France.

Good managers adapt and get the best out of their staff regardless of whether those staff are multi millionaire footballers or factory workers. Whilst no manager should allow one team member unlimited latitude to act the pr1ck regardless of their talent it is incumbent on a manager to figure out how to get the best out of each member of his team.

Players rebelling against a manager they have fallen out with and no longer respect is nothing new. Back in the day players would maintain a stiff upper lip, not go crying to the press but would advocate for a senior player or players to go see the Chairman and see if they can convince him to make a change.

Social media has changed all that and now players can make their unhappiness with a manager and/or style of play etc clear without overtly stating it and that is what's happening with Pogba. He's basically decided that as long as Mourinho is managing Utd he'll never be happy so he's barely going through the motions safe in the knowledge he's a WC winner, will still pick up £200,000 a week (or whatever) and has all the commercial opportunities and social media attention he can handle regardless of his performances.

A good manager and/or a well run club would prevent such a situation from ever developing and if it did they'd spot it early and deal decicively with it in the same way SAF did with a few players like Jaap Stam over the years and Klopp did with Mamadou Sakho because as soon as you let one player away with it the rot sets in and you find yourself in the situation Utd are now in and Chelsea found themselves in at the end of Mourinho's 2nd reign and again during Conte's 2nd year in charge.

Can you see something like that being allowed to develop at Spurs where Levy would nip it in the bud in a nano second or with Klopp after how he dealt with Sakho?

Pogbas behaviour will forever taint his reputation but at 26 he could easily be rehabilitated under a new manager at Utd and 6 months later after decent performances and behaviour on and off the pitch all would be (almost) forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

He's a great footballer if correctly managed and motivated (by the manager) and is in a team which plays to his individual strengths (a roaming AM type role) and weaknesses (inability or lack of interest in pressing and defending). At the moment he has the wrong manager and is part of the wrong team.

I don't think there is a top 6 PL team where he would fit in and improve it they have more or less all adopted a high tempo structured game which doesn't accommodate his loose style of play. To a certain extent Jorginho at Chelsea and Mesut Özil at Arsenal also struggle to fit into their perspective teams despite both being very talented footballers.

Utd are very different to the top 6 in that they play a very negative defensive style of football but that doesn't accommodates Pogba either as he doesn't have the discipline to deliver his defensive duties. The fact that he looks like he doesn't give a toss any more and just constantly gives the ball away is only making things worse.

As Deshamps proved during the WC if you man manage Pogba correctly and give him a role which he is suited to play he can deliver to a very high level.
    Mayne its just me but pogba behind our front 3 would be unreal. Be able to provide eye of needle ball's for first time since coutinho. No point talking about it though
    Soem attacking talent might be bought in january hopefully

Fieldog wrote: »
    https://streamable.com/x5ju4

Favourite moment from last night, Alisson literally (again!) causing the third goal from a counter attack...

Not really seen it mentioned anywhere but if you watch that clip, see Salah run like a bastard, close the attacker down, deflect the cross into the hands of Alisson then hare off up the pitch to be there to set up the clincher.

I fucking love Mo Salah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

And then, remarkably, Dyche seemed to have something to say to Klopp after the match when it should have been the other way around.

Just saw Dyche's press conference on SSN.

I think his point is right.

It was a good challenge and the injury probably happened from hitting the barrier.

Dyche is right that you don't want these challenges out of the game and I don't see how players should adapt for weather etc.

Injuries are just something that's part of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Mayne its just me but pogba behind our front 3 would be unreal. Be able to provide eye of needle ball's for first time since coutinho. No point talking about it though
    Soem attacking talent might be bought in january hopefully

We should do a reverse Michael Owen.... let United sell him back to Juventus, and buy him next year and win the PL with him...

*Strokes non existent beard*

(Stops playing Football Manager 2018)

murpho999 wrote: »
    Just saw Dyche's press conference on SSN.

I think his point is right.

It was a good challenge and the injury probably happened from hitting the barrier.

Dyche is right that you don't want these challenges out of the game and I don't see how players should adapt for weather etc.

Injuries are just something that's part of the game.

My point is that I don't know why Dyche was having a moan at Klopp as they shook hands after the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

My point is that I don't know why Dyche was having a moan at Klopp as they shook hands after the match.

Not sure either but I think he may have be complaining about Klopp speaking to the 4th ref about challenges and/or Sturridge's dive.

I think its become clear (to me anyway as I'd had the same query) that he was annoyed at Klopp complaining about the slide tackles which he felt, bar Bardsley's over the top tackle on Moreno, were all fair and legal.

Provided we don't lose another CB we'll be ok. Not ideal though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    Provided we don't lose another CB we'll be ok. Not ideal though.

Ya. Much better gomez than onr of the front 3. We are adeuately covered at the back. Is clynes back acting up or whats the story?