Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taken Down [RTE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

It's a quote by Margaret Atwood outlining how creating a boring "women good, men bad" dichotomy in fictional writing for political reasons results not only in weak fiction, but also weak feminism.

By portraying all of the female Gardaí as hardworking, diligent detectives, and all of the male Gardaí as either bumbling eejits or lazy pervs, the show is trying so hard to ram an agenda down peoples' throats that the agenda itself falls apart - and takes the fiction with it.

This applies to all storytelling IMO, not just TV and not just RTE. Well written fiction displays the range of human behaviours across its different characters without assigning who the "goodies" and "baddies" are purely along demographic lines. Even if you take something like Harry Potter, while the central conflict in the story comes down to pure blood elitism vs half blood inclusivity, there are good and bad people on both sides of it - Voldemort is an evil half-blood, the Weasleys are good pure bloods, etc. In Love/Hate, almost all characters are morally ambiguous, even the Gardaí (the three undercover lads beating up Chunky, Moynihan attacking Nidge in rage, etc). Breaking Bad is mainly lads, but Skyler in Breaking Bad is an incredibly complicated character as the show goes on and can't easily be put into a "good" or "bad" box based on the sum of all her actions throughout the show, and Lydia is overwhelmingly one of the baddies.

Most good fiction has examples of this - where the demographic divide as to whether characters are antagonists or protagonists is essentially random and thus doesn't jump out as an attempt at subliminal ideological messaging.

With both Acceptable Risk and now Taken Down, the "all the lads are going to be scumbags, all the women are going to be heroes" trope was easy to spot from the second episode at the very latest. Acceptable Risk in my view jumped this particular shark entirely when it was revealed that
    Ciarán, the deceased whose murder sparks the entire mystery of the show, was also a negative male stereotype of "can't hack that his wife makes more than him, so gets involved in dodgy behaviour as a result"
    , that was when it became obvious for a lot of us here that the show was determined to paint all of its male characters as either villains or deeply flawed caricatures of "toxic masculinity", while all of the female characters are fundamentally good, wholesome people apart from the retired Garda, and the spat between the main character and her sister over keeping secrets.

Let me put this as an analogy: If someone made a show or story in which every black character was one of the "baddies" and every white character was one of the "goodies", or vice versa, it would similarly be glaringly obvious that the people writing it had some kind of chip on their shoulders and were writing their characters in this way deliberately. When you take what RTE is doing in the context of what's happening in the wider world of fictional writing over the last three or four years, Occam's Razor suggests that it's deliberate message-pedalling.

And fundamentally, a lot of people - not all, but a lot - don't like to be preached to or "lectured" when they're trying to immerse themselves in a fictional universe.

As I say, I was trying to ignore this and not bring it up in case it was just my own bias (I'm fairly jaded by this trope especially after the dumpster fire that was House of Cards Season Six) but seeing as several others have mentioned it, it's pretty clear that I'm not imagining this. And while I can still enjoy a show for its storytelling, I find it essentially breaks the fourth wall - it's so jarringly obvious that this is a plot device, that it takes one out of their immersion into the story when it happens.

It is poor character development when all the characters look like caricatures. RTE's miscasting is blatant as well. Lynn Rafferty and Angeline Ball for example are not convincing in the role of Gardai. Poorly written, these RTE dramas end up looking 'feminism' produced by a misogynist.

That main male Garda character is a total idiot. Typical depiction of a stereotyped rural male Garda and presented to us as a total clown. That was ok in Mattie or Killinaskully as they are comedies but Taken Down is supposed to be a serious drama!!

Good, bad and more complex characters exist in proper dramas. Look at say Nidge or Serena Joy: nothing about them is straightforward and there is both bad and good in them. Detective Moynihan's obsession with Nidge and the unethical manner in which he and his team operate regarding Nidge's gang clearly shows they are far from being saints. Walt White was a good man who became a bad man which is what the title of the series he is the main character in states. Aunt Lydia, Irma Bunt and Rosa Klebb are some more examples of female villains while Furiosa, Offred/June and Sarah Connor are examples of good women (who were not perfect either). All such characters were well thought out and were real people not caricatures.

You look at the male character supposed villains of Taken Down and they are a joke. Wayne and Gar especially are just smart talking idiots so far. Both actors gave us the deranged Hughie and the perverted Git before but none of the menace in those two characters exists in either Wayne or Gar sadly. The bad African gangster character is done in a racist manner too even if that is not what was intended: all full of the stereotypical witchdoctor and voodooism stuff.

If RTE wanted a proper female strong cop character, they surely could have done a better match. Lynn Rafferty is no Tyne Daly for example and Rafferty was better as a minor character such as a gangster's girlfriend.

Taken Down has too many agendas that all backfire. It is designed to be a feminist, non-racist, non-violent crime drama. In reality, it ends up as a misogynist, racist, boring crime drama. The anti-violence agenda is clear too as I already discussed. Now, don't get me wrong, violence is not essential in a good drama but for a drama about fear and gangland issues like Taken Down, it is an essential ingredient. Imagine a non-violent Love/Hate!!! Would not work and would not be remembered.

We see people in fear in Taken Down but we do not see what they fear. We also saw for example Nidge hiding under a bed with a sword and so on when he was in the feud with Dano and we knew already from acts like Dano having Ado kneecapped why Nidge was afraid. Likewise, we see why people are afraid of the Gilead regime when we see hangings, execution by beating prisoners to death, gangland style executions in forests, electrocutions and kangaroo courts. Taken Down does not show us anything to justify the fear of some in it.

Are you some disgruntled former Late late show camera man or whats the story?..

"RTE in crap tv shocker!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,673 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

It is poor character development when all the characters look like caricatures. RTE's miscasting is blatant as well. Lynn Rafferty and Angeline Ball for example are not convincing in the role of Gardai. Poorly written, these RTE dramas end up looking 'feminism' produced by a misogynist.

That main male Garda character is a total idiot. Typical depiction of a stereotyped rural male Garda and presented to us as a total clown. That was ok in Mattie or Killinaskully as they are comedies but Taken Down is supposed to be a serious drama!!

Good, bad and more complex characters exist in proper dramas. Look at say Nidge or Serena Joy: nothing about them is straightforward and there is both bad and good in them. Detective Moynihan's obsession with Nidge and the unethical manner in which he and his team operate regarding Nidge's gang clearly shows they are far from being saints. Walt White was a good man who became a bad man which is what the title of the series he is the main character in states. Aunt Lydia, Irma Bunt and Rosa Klebb are some more examples of female villains while Furiosa, Offred/June and Sarah Connor are examples of good women (who were not perfect either). All such characters were well thought out and were real people not caricatures.

You look at the male character supposed villains of Taken Down and they are a joke. Wayne and Gar especially are just smart talking idiots so far. Both actors gave us the deranged Hughie and the perverted Git before but none of the menace in those two characters exists in either Wayne or Gar sadly. The bad African gangster character is done in a racist manner too even if that is not what was intended: all full of the stereotypical witchdoctor and voodooism stuff.

If RTE wanted a proper female strong cop character, they surely could have done a better match. Lynn Rafferty is no Tyne Daly for example and Rafferty was better as a minor character such as a gangster's girlfriend.

Taken Down has too many agendas that all backfire. It is designed to be a feminist, non-racist, non-violent crime drama. In reality, it ends up as a misogynist, racist, boring crime drama. The anti-violence agenda is clear too as I already discussed. Now, don't get me wrong, violence is not essential in a good drama but for a drama about fear and gangland issues like Taken Down, it is an essential ingredient. Imagine a non-violent Love/Hate!!! Would not work and would not be remembered.

We see people in fear in Taken Down but we do not see what they fear. We also saw for example Nidge hiding under a bed with a sword and so on when he was in the feud with Dano and we knew already from acts like Dano having Ado kneecapped why Nidge was afraid. Likewise, we see why people are afraid of the Gilead regime when we see hangings, execution by beating prisoners to death, gangland style executions in forests, electrocutions and kangaroo courts. Taken Down does not show us anything to justify the fear of some in it.

Your treatise on violence is just so wrong, I don't know where to begin.

It isn't in the style of the drama to give graphic illustrations of violence in the way L/H did. That is it's own style, it isn't a cop out.
    The violence is very much there though, the fecking series centres around a horrible murder.
    Have you ever heard of allowing your imagination to work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Nermal

"First, is “The Handmaid’s Tale” a “feminist” novel? If you mean an ideological tract in which all women are angels and/or so victimized they are incapable of moral choice, no. If you mean a novel in which women are human beings — with all the variety of character and behavior that implies — and are also interesting and important, and what happens to them is crucial to the theme, structure and plot of the book, then yes. In that sense, many books are “feminist.” " - Margaret Atwood.

The Handmaid's Tale is a great novel, and is a feminist novel, but that quote from Atwood is twaddle. It's not a feminist novel because women are human beings in it. It's a feminist novel because it is specifically about the power dynamic between the sexes.

It isn't in the style of the drama to give graphic illustrations of violence in the way L/H did. That is it's own style, it isn't a cop out.
    The violence is very much there though, the fecking series centres around a horrible murder.

I prefer the Love/Hate style. That other style has been used way too often by RTE in this, in Rebellion, Acceptable Risk, etc. too. I'd like to see the Love/Hate style used again for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭robwen

This thread is bizarre I follow lots of TV shows on boards (mainly to get recaps, others theories, pick up on things I might have missed) & they all talk about the actual show or they tend to go quiet, this one barely a mention of whats actually going on in the show but one of the most active threads in tv

Are you some disgruntled former Late late show camera man or whats the story?..

"RTE in crap tv shocker!!"

No the name late late show is based on a soccer term.

robwen wrote: »
    This thread is bizarre I follow lots of TV shows on boards (mainly to get recaps, others theories, pick up on things I might have missed) & they all talk about the actual show or they tend to go quiet, this one barely a mention of whats actually going on in the show but one of the most active threads in tv

Because there is very little actually going on in the show. Only the first episode had anything worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

robwen wrote: »

This is essentially because RTE spam-hyped the absolute sh!te out of it, and yet most viewers feel that it's nowhere near living up to the level of gushing that it's getting from the showbiz establishment. This inevitably leads people to question whether the aforementioned gushing is due to external socio-political factors and not the actual quality of the content.

Here's another trope which was similarly a feature of Love/Hate and one of its negatives IMO - why do these dramas always make the Gardaí out to be absolutely terrible at covert surveillance? The two lads getting discovered this week just hanging around outside the brothel looking incredibly suspicious, while Orla FitzGerald's character visibly dashes to keep up with her quarry - in Love/Hate you had the likes of Ciarán trailing Fran and literally stopping a few metres behind him every time he stopped, the Gardaí tracking the lads to the Zoo only to park an extraordinarily obvious unmarked car right next to them and blow the whole sting, etc - it's a useful plot device from time to time, but when it gets repeated incessantly across multiple shows it becomes a tiresome trope.

Put it this way: It didn't surprise me in the least that they got caught staking the place out. As soon as they decided to do an in-person surveillance operation, my brain went "bet they'll do something moronic and blow their cover". IMO, when it's that predictable, that's when there's an issue with the writing.

Does yer one actually speak like that, or are the accents being 'acted'..they're abysmal..

This is essentially because RTE spam-hyped the absolute sh!te out of it, and yet most viewers feel that it's nowhere near living up to the level of gushing that it's getting from the showbiz establishment. This inevitably leads people to question whether the aforementioned gushing is due to external socio-political factors and not the actual quality of the content.

Exactly spot on there. Viewers will feel short-changed by it because of the hype around it and it being sold as 'from the makers of Love/Hate'. Don't get me wrong, Taken Down is not all bad and is not The Big Bow Wow level but it is just like dozens of other Irish dramas that are tame and run of the mill. Clean Break and Amber were much better than it I thought.

Many get behind the drama and ignore its average to poor quality because it highlights the plight of people in direct provision and people smuggling. Yet we see little of those worlds or zero backstories to why they left their countries. Sometimes, flashbacks to the past can really work and are among the best parts of The Handmaid's Tale and other such quality dramas.

Taken Down from this image is clearly sold as 'from the makers of Love/Hate'. There will be probably at the VERY END one Carolan-penned Love/Hate-style episode and we will be asking why didn't they do that all along!!

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8649378/mediaviewer/rm305820160

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

When I knew about the writers ties to Sinn Fein and the asylum seeker topic, I knew we were in for propaganda of the worst kind.

I just want good TV not leftie propaganda thrown in my face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,673 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Exactly spot on there. Viewers will feel short-changed by it because of the hype around it and it being sold as 'from the makers of Love/Hate'. Don't get me wrong, Taken Down is not all bad and is not The Big Bow Wow level but it is just like dozens of other Irish dramas that are tame and run of the mill. Clean Break and Amber were much better than it I thought.

Many get behind the drama and ignore its average to poor quality because it highlights the plight of people in direct provision and people smuggling. Yet we see little of those worlds or zero backstories to why they left their countries. Sometimes, flashbacks to the past can really work and are among the best parts of The Handmaid's Tale and other such quality dramas.

Taken Down from this image is clearly sold as 'from the makers of Love/Hate'. There will be probably at the VERY END one Carolan-penned Love/Hate-style episode and we will be asking why didn't they do that all along!!

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8649378/mediaviewer/rm305820160

It is far from 'poor'. It isn't Love Hate though and you need to get over that. Completely different style and it has an intensity I am beginning to get into tbh.

When I knew about the writers ties to Sinn Fein and the asylum seeker topic, I knew we were in for propaganda of the worst kind.

I just want good TV not leftie propaganda thrown in my face.

I too want good TV not 100% propaganda. I don't care if it is so-called 'leftwing' or so-called 'rightwing' propaganda thrown at me without any proper story, it is the same end result. Taken Down is full of propaganda and agendas of all kinds and this restricts where the drama can go and what the drama can do.

I've seen countless blatantly leftwing and blatantly rightwing series and films over the years. None were good because of it. Jo Spain is an advisor to Sinn Fein's Pearse Doherty. Usually when politicians or those who work for politicians get involved in drama making, the drama suffers. Well-known propagandist for both the 'right' and the 'left' Eoghan Harris was afterall one of the writers of The Big Bow Wow. Like his political views, this 'drama' was all over the place. Did not watch enough of it to remember if any of Harris' varied agendas were in it.

That reminded me of another drama. 2002's No Tears about a health crisis that some said was funded by a Fianna Fail friendly entity to damage then Fine Gael leader Michael Noonan.

Another thing we must remember about dramas in Ireland especially RTE is they are made to complement other programmes. Direct provision is a topic that up until now has seldom been discussed. It is something new for all the chatshows and just like the homelessness and all the other things, something the rich can PRETEND to care about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I see that Octagon films (the studio that produced Love/ Hate, The Tudors, Camelot, etc) weren't involved in Taken Down-and I wonder if that also played a part?
    (Octagon are currently involved in court case over the alleged embezzlement of 40 million euros-obviously RTE wouldn't want to be involved in something that will lose them a greater deal of money).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

I see that Octagon films (the studio that produced Love/ Hate, The Tudors, Camelot, etc) weren't involved in Taken Down-and I wonder if that also played a part?
    (Octagon are currently involved in court case over the alleged embezzlement of 40 million euros-obviously RTE wouldn't want to be involved in something that will lose them a greater deal of money).
    Sinn Fein have ties to much more serious crimes.A highlight real of their greatest crimes would also be too violent for RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Sinn Fein have ties to much more serious crimes.A highlight real of their greatest crimes would also be too violent for RTE.

I was thinking more along the lines of 'if those guys are embezzling money, RTE don't want to find out that money was embezzled from them too'. Not the crimes of Sinn Fein or the IRA.
    More along the lines of 'you told us it cost 6 million euros to produce this show, yet you only spent 4 million-where is the other 2 million?'

Octagon's accounts are currently frozen pending an investigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭prunudo

Have an actual question about episode 4. So spoiler alert for anyone who hasn't seen it yet.
    At the end of the episode we see the video of Wayne at the party. Is the girl he talking to at the end, the murdered girl Esme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,865 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Was getting worried for Abeni this episode when it looked like Gar was going to suggest to her to become a prostitute at the brothel, this was when she started working there in the day shift. I'm enjoying it myself, The Late Late Show here's a suggestion, why don't you watch something else you like lol. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Does yer one actually speak like that, or are the accents being 'acted'..they're abysmal..
    If the accents are real, are they still abysmal?

yes..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Graniteville

I think the people who were employed by octagon and were the main directors/producers of love hate went out on their own and have made this.

Octagon made several programmers.

Which accents are ye talking about? There's a fair few of them like :D

Personally I find Abeni's voice annoying, but it's not her 'accent' per se, it's the sort of breathy / whispery edge she puts on her words which, combined with her intonation, makes her constantly sound like a "shocked" scolding parent with their hand to their mouth, doing an exaggerated "I'm shocked that you've done this" sort of act. You know the one all our parents used to do, involving tuned intakes of breath to convey a sense of "whaaaaaaaat???" before they'd start giving out to you about whatever they were so shocked about :D:D:D

I'm not sure if that's just her natural voice or if she's acting that way, but personally I find it gives her character a sort of permanent tension which in my view just can't be sustained in a character. If you compare it to her boss in the brothel (who's name I still can't remember), who has a similar accent, she has far more dynamic in her voice which makes her a more believable character.

That's actually another comparison I'd make to Acceptable Risk - the lead actress's voice couldn't act anger at all, there was no dynamic - she would go from zero to teetering over the edge and growling within a few words. There was no middle ground and no transition, which is what a natural angry outburst would usually involve.

I'm a very voice-centric person in general though (honestly a sexy voice will bowl me over no matter what a woman looks like or if she's a complete asshole :D ) so maybe I find these things a bigger deal than others? It's essentially a case of poor voice acting leading to dodgy conveyance of emotions. Abeni's perma-shocked voice means that when she's actually shocked or outraged at something, the intensity doesn't come across in her voice because that's basically her "neutral" state to begin with. It's taken the edge off a few scenes which otherwise could have been more intense IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Pythagorean

The guff about direct provision is just that guff. I live down the road from direct provision apartments, the other day a Nigerian fella from there was jailed for a few years. There is no war in Nigeria yet these Nigerian fraudsters keep flooding in and getting free housing ahead of Irish people. It's honestly sickening to witness and they are involved in a large amount of crime.

There was a case reported recently of a Nigerian "Asylum seeker" who was being deported on a flight back to Nigeria, accompanied by a Garda. He screamed abuse and threats throughout the flight, and then viciously slashed the Garda with a razor he had concealed. The Guard required loads of stitches, was left permanently scarred, was off work for four months, and received a paltry 25k in compensation. The perpetrator walked free from the plane vowing to kill the first Irish person he met. He was never charged with any offence. because the crime occurred in mid air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Just on the accents, the actress playing Abeni is Senegalese-French, so you would have to assume English isn't her native tongue.

And if anything, it adds to the storyline as it's a fairly accurate portrayal of African's speaking english over here. They may learn some 'Irish' phrases and colloquilisms (ending sentences with 'like' as an example), but it will be done with their natural inflections etc. It's often hard to understand what the African characters are saying-but that's good as it is representative of real life.

The problem arises with the Irish cast. Some of their accents are ridiculous, particularly Don Wycherely's seargeant character, and a few more of the over-emphasised culchie/Dublin accents among the gardai. It is either one extreme or the other, nothing 'normal'.

Was getting worried for Abeni this episode when it looked like Gar was going to suggest to her to become a prostitute at the brothel, this was when she started working there in the day shift. I'm enjoying it myself, The Late Late Show here's a suggestion, why don't you watch something else you like lol. :)

I am watching other things I like. I have given Taken Down every chance but cannot get into it at all in any capacity. There are just too many good shows around that do not have the flaws like the awful Gardai characters here and the oppressively stifling RTE restraint.

Just on the accents, the actress playing Abeni is Senegalese-French, so you would have to assume English isn't her native tongue.

And if anything, it adds to the storyline as it's a fairly accurate portrayal of African's speaking english over here. They may learn some 'Irish' phrases and colloquilisms (ending sentences with 'like' as an example), but it will be done with their natural inflections etc. It's often hard to understand what the African characters are saying-but that's good as it is representative of real life.

The problem arises with the Irish cast. Some of their accents are ridiculous, particularly Don Wycherely's seargeant character, and a few more of the over-emphasised culchie/Dublin accents among the gardai. It is either one extreme or the other, nothing 'normal'.

Exactly. One of the many problems with Taken Down is the ridiculous accents of the IRISH characters. The African accents are by and large authentic but this 'Dublin culchie' cross accent is silly and not real. That sergeant character is a main character and should be a bit more sensible. You don't get someone like that in a Dirty Harry movie or in Miami Vice or Hill Street Blues. The main cops should be sensible not idiots.

The good shows will use a combination of showing violence and sometimes doing it offscreen. Showing Serena Joy's finger being chopped off or showing Janet being carved to death with a consaw were examples of things not shown onscreen because in this case, too gruesome. Other times, a violent act may not be shown to keep suspense going: who emerges from a closed door for example. This is then used in conjunction with shown violence and the 2 shows I refer to here are 2 who can get the balance right. Taken Down so far is all about not showing anything substantial and showing everything else in the dark mostly.

It's not her accent though, and it doesn't affect any of the other African characters so I'm assuming it's a conscious acting decision - she's overplaying the emotional load she's bearing by sounding aggrieved and shocked any time she says anything, with that sort of half-whisper mixed in to her voice. I just find it robs her character of any apparent emotional dynamic - she sounds as if she's shocked or taken aback pretty much any time she says anything. I don't think that's accent-related, it's a feature of all English dialects when someone is shocked or stunned by something, but she uses it even for the most mundane of conversations.

If I could liken it to anything, it'd be Winona Ryder in season one of Stranger Things - despite the obvious distress and havoc going on in her life, nobody can maintain that sort of panicky, adrenaline-fuelled type of voice for days on end. So when an actor or actress does it in all of their scenes for a particular character, to me it comes across as over-acting.

Again though, maybe it's just me. As I say, I set a lot of store in voices generally, including real life, so I just notice perceived dodgy voice-acting moreso than I'd imagine most people would. One of the lads in Clean Break had a similar issue of his voice portraying the exact same emotion throughout the show, IIRC (one of the hired guns for the robbery, not Danny but one of the other two) - not a lack of emotion, just overdoing one particular emotion to the point at which you're asking "is this person ALWAYS intensely angry / panicking / sad / cheerful, like do they ever have a different kind of reaction to anything" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Exactly. One of the many problems with Taken Down is the ridiculous accents of the IRISH characters. The African accents are by and large authentic but this 'Dublin culchie' cross accent is silly and not real. That sergeant character is a main character and should be a bit more sensible. You don't get someone like that in a Dirty Harry movie or in Miami Vice or Hill Street Blues. The main cops should be sensible not idiots.

You're scraping the barrel now..... Cops like Dirty Harry don't exist - and if they did they'd be locked up !!! My young fellas partner is from Miami and she tells us that they absolutely cringe at Miami Vice. All the locals apparently hate its success and the way that it portrays local cops (or locals in general). I think you might want to re-visit Hill Street Blues again as well. It was a show 'of its' time, and quite a good one at that time, but try watching a re-run. Has to be the corniest cop show ever !!