Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

radio nova

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Need phone for work purposes so its a non option unfortunately !

I use an old phone with no sim and a set of cheap speakers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Kyle More

Nova up to their old tricks of deleting negative comments from Facebook again *sigh*
    It wasn't even a negative comment per se, just a poster asking why they're talking about the Spice Girls on the breakfast show. Valid question, if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,090 ✭✭✭prunudo

Anybody else think the promo for the first participant in the christmas party competition is scripted. Sounds very rehearsed and dare I say it, fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭peterobrien100

jvan wrote: »
    The app should run in the background.

Thanks will give this a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Had the station on a lunch time today... I heard that Colm and Lucy are threatening to show up at peoples xmas parties...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,037 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Jaysus just one look at the FB page paints an ugly picture.... It's just a page of news headlines... Is this all colm hayes fault or did something really bad happen to nova.... It's absolutely unrecognisable now.

Is this all colm hayes fault or did something really bad happen to nova....

Colm Hayes IS the bad thing that happened to Nova.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,090 ✭✭✭prunudo

Kyle More wrote: »
    Colm Hayes IS the bad thing that happened to Nova.

But its also the continual dumbing down of the rock element and morphing into the same as every other station. News stories mentioning the Spice Girls selling out is a prime example.

jvan wrote: »
    But its also the continual dumbing down of the rock element and morphing into the same as every other station. News stories mentioning the Spice Girls selling out is a prime example.

That's very true. In fairness, the rot was already setting in before Hayes arrived. But he has certainly exacerbated the situation under his direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

That's very true. In fairness, the rot was already setting in before Hayes arrived. But he has certainly exacerbated the situation under his direction.

Imo the station was in an identity crisis...it was losing money hand over fist, losing listeners and respect as the rock station it was supposed to be...i'm sorry but playing the same ACDC tracks over and over doesn't make a good rock station...it needed an enthusiastic forward thinking music ( guitar based) loving head of programming....but instead they got Hayes.....ye made yer bed Kev...;)....

Indeed. The constant repetition of tracks from 1994's 'Rock Anthems' compilation wasn't a sustainable business model. But instead of branching out and also digging that bit deeper into the catalogues of those very artists that they actually played, thereby providing a real alternative and filling a gap in the market with a credible rock station, they decided to abandon its intended purpose to join the rest of Irish radio in house no. 100 on Bland Street (between its neighbours no. 98 and no. 104). The question now is where do they go from here? Hayes hasn't led them to the Promised Land, their core audience is leaving them in droves and their reputation as an alternative lies in tatters. Your average listener won't bother with them as there already are superior alternatives to cater for the mainstream, but their core listeners have had enough. Brannigan has certainly made his bed, badly at that.

Hayes doesnt give a flying fcuk about Branigan or nova...his main aim in life is to feed his own ego by always "being there"...doesnt matter on what station as long as its daytime...and his displacement of PJ was done out of pure spitefulness..he was no threat (except for Pats ever increasing audience) but he still didnt want him there...He's made a mockery of the BAI, Branigan and the whole station....he really needs to be taken down a peg or five before he does or says something that bring the station down altogether...and pigs etc.....

Not sure how it is now as I only listen to PJ and TA but in some of the ads (clips from shows earlier in the week), the stuff he said to Loopy was soooo close to sexual harrasment. I have no idea how it wasn't actioned. He really is a creep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

FanadMan wrote: »
    Not sure how it is now as I only listen to PJ and TA but in some of the ads (clips from shows earlier in the week), the stuff he said to Loopy was soooo close to sexual harrasment. I have no idea how it wasn't actioned. He really is a creep!

Not enough people listen to the show to hear it so there's nobody to complain....

Let him break it, it is the only way.

Kamili wrote: »
    Not enough people listen to the show to hear it so there's nobody to complain....

Let him break it, it is the only way.

Loosey deserves anything he throws at her at this stage tbh....she should have walked months ago, but then again money and egos are close friends...

Lucy must be on some serious money with Nova to stick around, all the same. I mean, she's not a newbie trying to make a name for herself and she's already well established in the cartel that is the Irish media. So she doesn't NEED the job with Nova by any stretch of the imagination and certainly could have walked by now. Perhaps there's some kind of caveat in her contract with Virgin that states she must remain in place on the breakfast show for when Virgin eventually take over the station :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

Wheety wrote: »
    Liam Quigley on this morning instead of those 2. Knew something was different when I got up and 2 good songs played in a row without that stupid voice over saying "This is the bit where we play 2 songs in a row".

Should just give him the job. Less inane chat, plays good songs and when he does talk, usually has a bit of trivia about the music he's playing.

Just turned the dial back to Nova just after 6am this morning. It was ffffing brilliant. Exactly what was wished for, a one man non cheesey show with just a few snippets of random and optional comment. I didn't even find out who he was until later on and it was so enjoyable I've googled him since.
    No famous persons birthdays, and guess the age of celebrities(wtf?).
    Lucy is of course away recording I want to say Ireland's got talent since last Monday week. Probably much more her level and she is not to be missed. But even on her first day away, Colm ran thru the checklist of dull things to say and do on a radio show in the morning. To make matters worse they must of prerecorded a segment between Lucy and Colm which they then played. They were discussing a skit by comedian Russell Howard about picking up dog poo. (Discussing a skit is not comedy lads) How it feels warm and soft etc. I didnt want to hear it because frankly the topic of poo is childish. Its either that or chatting about nappies or things kids say ffs. I turned to Q102 and moments later Desperado by the Eagles began. I listened to it, before it went to ad break so i flicked back to Nova. ...They were still talking about the feel of dog****.

I nearly punched my radio to rte one.

Contrast that to today. Arrived at work in a good mood. Tuned in the work radio (audible to a lab full of people-I couldn't subject them to dog **** conversation) to Nova and there it blared until 3pm and home time.

Give Quigley the show. That is all that has to be done. I will gladly subject my colleagues to that quality of a show with confidence! They are probably still listening on the second shift unless Courtney drove them mad with his bells and whistles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Supertoucher

Agreed, I usually like a male/female duo (which is why I quite liked Marty and Dee) but Liam Quigley was quite a breath of fresh air compared to Colm and Lucy.

Yeah it's crazy.....decent music, no bullsh1t, and a pleasant presenter, happy listeners.......why has nobody done this before...it can't last

Don't forget we were tortured with baby making/pregnancy/birth/childraising stuff from D&M. But if they talked about their own bodily functions and the consistency of their stools, it would be way better than the the loose stool water (currently watching an old episode of QI and that was a memorable quote from Stephen Fry) that the current morning muppets spew out.

I have to agree with you, FanadMan. Dee and Marty, although vastly superior to Colm & Lucy, weren't an ideal match as co-presenters. Personally, I feel that Dee is much better presenting alone and Marty & Conor were the better duo of Morning Glory's various incarnations. Although Morning Glory wasn't my favourite show, I'd be ecstatic if I switched on Nova this morning and Morning Glory with Marty & Conor was back, knowing those other pair were gone.

Stuck in traffic there and i tuned into Morty to see if he's improved...big fat NO....man he loves to talk about sh1te, on an on , say he's a great man at a pardy goin on about gas boilers or babies...jesus he's insufferable...almost as false and boring as courtenay and you know who...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

Tuned into Courtenay yesterday and he played Sailing to Philidelphia - Love that tune. Was a bit shocked he had never heard it before. It was a suggestion for his Duets day or whatever it was.

Still a good tune and I enjoyed it.

Totally..JT is a legend.....Heard Stevie Wonder , Higher ground..AGAIN...do they ever play the Chilli peppers version...or do they know it exists...its deffo guitar based...:p

Deleting comments on Facebook again. They're starting to look like a desperate dictator in the dying throes of their regime.

'What are your feelings towards the Colm & Lucy Breakfast Show?'

'I hate it!'

'You must love it. It is not enough to listen to it. You must love it.'

Deleting comments on Facebook again. They're starting to look like a desperate dictator in the dying throes of their regime.

'What are your feelings towards the Colm & Lucy Breakfast Show?'

'I hate it!'

'You must love it. It is not enough to listen to it. You must love it.'

Where was that question? Would love to give my honest answer :D;)

Looks like they killed it by flooding the page with ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭ORBY73

Stuck in traffic there and i tuned into Morty to see if he's improved...big fat NO....man he loves to talk about sh1te, on an on , say he's a great man at a pardy goin on about gas boilers or babies...jesus he's insufferable...almost as false and boring as courtenay and you know who...:rolleyes:

An absolute gob****e

Ha I just clicked on "visitors posts" the positive posts are so few they either have learning difficulties or they're their mates

The extremely poor grammar and spelling is also a curious element of the positive posts. Then again, the Colm & Lucy Show isn't exactly aimed at the more discerning listener.