Gardai target organised begging in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,144 ✭✭✭✭neris

Typical Irish Time snowflake rubbish.
    DaintyDavy wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,144 ✭✭✭✭neris

what have they ever done for us?

robbed us, lived on a rounabout on the M50 and robbed us even more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

neris wrote: »
    robbed us, lived on a rounabout on the M50 and robbed us even more

the concept of humour is clearly alien to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

What a complete tool. Quite simply, her contribution to society is on par with the aggressive beggars. Useless, idiotic woman. Twitter is a cancer when mixed in with and utilised by the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

inforfun wrote: »

Remember that every € you hand over to those bastards built this^

The Rathkeale of Eastern Europe.

Remember that every € you hand over to those bastards built this^

you have to admit they do have taste and style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭Hoboo

what have they ever done for us?

Ok Ill bite. The aquaduct.........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I thought this was just some eejit on twitter but it's a writer with a platform via the Irish Times?

At least the responses to that stupid tweet were sane and sensible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Not sure if it's still the same now, but a few years ago there were a couple of houses on the North Circular Rd where the organised beggars would surface from, they would all scamper out of the houses in the morning at the same time with their instructions of where to target.

Just beyond the Mater, big white house a little bit back from the road before the junction where the Big Tree is/was.

Fire Brigade have been in on a few occasions I believe, the numbers living in it are apparently off the charts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

you have to admit they do have taste and style.

I think your message fell victim of the swear filter here. There are 2 words missing, 1 before "taste" and 1 before "style"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

prinzeugen wrote: »
    I remember the one that used to hang around the Abbey St entrance to Easons with the plastic doll wrapped up in a blanket.

She was at it for years.

First time I came across something like this was around the Coliseum a good few years ago. Begging, bent over like they were 90 and the 'stump' of a leg out as if they couldn't walk then seeing them changing in the trees, full of life and not a bother on them.

A 16 year old with a blanket, a bent knee and a neck like a jockey's bo**ox can work miracles.

I think your message fell victim of the swear filter here. There are 2 words missing, 1 before "taste" and 1 before "style"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

JupiterKid wrote: »
    All the Roma should be rounded up by the Gardai and deported. They bring absolutely no benefit or contribution to any country they drift into and seem to involved in one scam or another. Very often they are involved in theiving also.

Delighted to see the Gardai cracking down on them - long overdue but better late than never.
    Yes fcuk them out,they don't give anything, repeat anything to our country,,,,and I'm not saying this lightly,my son's mother is Romanian,not Roma,huge difference,I worked on / off in Romanian orphanages / the/ aids clinics for 12 yrs plus,not biased where Romanian ppl are concerned,but these parasites need to be deported,same scamming all over Europe ,needs to be stopped,, fellow Irish ppl FFS wake up,don't donate towards criminality,I've seen first hand the mansion's the bosses live in RO,also seen the slums ,done in city dumps where the ordinary Roma live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

seamus wrote: »
    It is worth remembering that for the most part the beggars on the street aren't personally coining it in. You've got some pimp in the background who's directing their actions and enforcing their authority with violence and other threats.

That doesn't mean you should give them money - the exact opposite - but have a little consideration for their background and the sh1tty hand they've been dealt. They feel like they have no other option; they probably have no identification papers at all, and believe they have no other way of making money except to deal with their pimp.

Food is a good one. Especially if they have a child with them. The pimp has no use for food, and giving them food is a tiny ray of personal freedom in an otherwise brutal existence.

Looking back, the ones I encountered in Donegal were all women with children. The men exploited the kids; one wet cold day in one town a wee girl in a cotton dress and barefoot was being made to dance by her father ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

do you know where they don't do this? Romania. the cops there hockey them out of it if they pull this sheite.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

AGC wrote: »
    Just beyond the Mater, big white house a little bit back from the road before the junction where the Big Tree is/was.

Fire Brigade have been in on a few occasions I believe, the numbers living in it are apparently off the charts.

I believe they were moved on from NCR, haven't checked it out lately, but the houses were boarded up for a while.

Graces7 wrote: »
    Looking back, the ones I encountered in Donegal were all women with children. The men exploited the kids; one wet cold day in one town a wee girl in a cotton dress and barefoot was being made to dance by her father ...

Seems like a lot of them live quite a brutal existence, far worse than is necessary in modern Europe, while the family gang heads live in luxury. Arrest the begging gangs sure but you need the other countries to do a CAB on the wealth holders too

Google: Hunedoara or Buzescu gypsy houses - two towns in Romanaia where the Roma kingpins like to build their mansions. This is where the money you give to these people goes.

Yeah I know, that's what you need a CAB for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,438 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

I was working with a Romanian guy on a contract last year. He used to tell me crazy stories about how the local Romanians and Roma gypsies would interact.

He said once about 8-10 years ago, a bunch of Roma gypsies beat up and killed a local man on the day of his wedding or something to that effect.

The locals, not putting up with that **** went to the village where the Roma's lived killed about a dozen of them and burned the rest out.
    Not sure how true it is. He tells me stuff like that goes on all the time but is rarely reported but the locals will know the ins and out. A bit like our own dealings with Travellers. There are lots of local stories (Ok, not that extreme to the one I mentioned) but they rarely make the press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭StereoSound

I was about to start a thread on something similar, I see a lot of Irish bums being very aggressive to, swinging out of you looking for a few bob out of your pocket. Especially around D2 car parks, it's not just the other specific foreign crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭killanena

Thankfully I don't see many homeless or beggars where i am from, but I was in Galway city on Wednesday and I saw someone sitting outside a Tesco express with a filthy quilt over them. It was very cold out and she looked like she needed help. Irish nationality too, so I went up to her and offered to buy her a cup of tea or coffee and a sandwich.

She didn't take my offer very well and lost the plot. Started throwing rubbish she had in a bag beside her at me and cursing me out of it. I just walked on because I didn't know what to say or do. Now I don't hold anything against her, she must be going through stuff I can't even comprehend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

My dope of a mother gave money to one of them, awhile later the same beggar was back in different clothing begging again off her...

These beggars also drug their children to keep them asleep to work on a pity angle.

Seriously loathe Romas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭DaintyDavy

Its seriously one of the down sides of the free movement of people in Europe, we know for a fact these people are coming with no other intention but to commit crime, and theres not a damn thing we can do about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Its seriously one of the down sides of the free movement of people in Europe, we know for a fact these people are coming with no other intention but to commit crime, and theres not a damn thing we can do about it.

We export our own travelling criminal gangs to even it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

I was parked outside the Rotunda a couple of weeks ago and there was a Roma woman in her 50’s sitting on the ground just up from the hospital doors. She wasn’t aggressive at all, just said hello, smiled and shook her cup but scowled at everyone that passed her by without putting something in it. Which was just about everyone that passed.

I was there for about an hour and of all the people that passed, the only ones to give anything were a pair of junkies, man and woman, turned back after a quick discussion and gave her a few coins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭DaintyDavy

We export our own travelling criminal gangs to even it out.

Ah grand so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Tbh, this is not really an effect of EU movement, but of affluence.

Even if we were completely independent border-wise, these people would still arrive here, attracted by our wealth.

It's a balancing act in any case; lock down your borders and the bad people can't get in. But neither can the good people. And without the good people we'd still be that poor sh1tty backwater from the 1970s.

So one has to accept that any measure which allows an economy to grow, always has a negative impact to be accounted for. There isn't a country in the world which has allowed inward migration and kept out the criminals. Even countries with famously strict border controls like the US and Australia, have a problem with immigrant criminality. It's part-and-parcel.

I was about to start a thread on something similar, I see a lot of Irish bums being very aggressive to, swinging out of you looking for a few bob out of your pocket. Especially around D2 car parks, it's not just the other specific foreign crowd.

I had one sitting beside an atm last saturday ask me if i could spare €50. When i said no he progressively dropped his demand down until he got to €5. He stopped after that so clearly didnt want to spoil his personage with common coin. He called me a wanker as he walked off.