Overrated sights/destinations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Mac-Chops

Doolin, tourists hanging out of the rafters, bored paid by the tune musicians, Clare has so much better to offer.

Funnily enough and on a similar vein to Giant's Causeway, I found Doolin to be a great place on a recent camping weekend.

Did the coastal walk from Liscannor via the cliffs.
    The pints in O'Connors went down well after that. We even got seats 'coz some punters thought we looked American and needed a sit down. :pac:

In general, if you can mix it up a bit, Ireland has some pretty spectacular and definitely underrated (by the Irish at least) sights/destinations.

For overrated though, I'm going to go with an easy one that hasn't been mentioned yet: Temple Bar & €8 pints..g'luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

My son & I went on a tourist tour of Ireland a few years ago. Wanted to see some of the stuff on our doorstep that tourists travel thousands of km to see. Saw Newgrange .... loved it. Saw Giants Causeway .... loved it. Hill of Tara .... yawn. It may have tons of history, and an important site in ye olde times, but as a visual site it's nothing.... Just a field like hundreds that I wandered around in when I was a kid.

Loved Venice first time I was there (honeymoon!)
    Went back years later with the kids and was very disappointed. But they loved it.... stupid kids! 😀
    Can't wait to get your report on Uranus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

LirW wrote: »

I'll start: Stonehenge. It's literally a bunch of really boring rocks. Now I'm very into prehistoric sights and all but that one is pretty underwhelming.

Definitely the most underwhelming tourist attraction I have been to. Very ham-fisted organisation too. Barely a functioning car park, no visitor centre and a busy main road running right by it although I believe they have reclaimed a lot of land in recent times. The crosswind was something else.

Newgrange is a far slicker operation.

Venice like a lot of Italy is very dirty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Cliffs of Moher

The relatively unknown Sleibh League in Donegal is far more impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

I'll start: Stonehenge. It's literally a bunch of really boring rocks. Now I'm very into prehistoric sights and all but that one is pretty underwhelming.

It's one of the few (realistic) places on my bucket list.

Thanks for ruining it in advance :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,548 ✭✭✭✭Alun

The museums are one of the few good things there.
    ... and the Schweinshaxen of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,348 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Skyfloater wrote: »
    It's funny how few of them bother to look over their shoulder to the 3 Da Vincis' in the next room.

Well to be fair, they hardly put a bag over their head and walked as far as the Mona Lisa. This is just them at that moment looking at that particular painting.

The most significant element is the distance the people are from it given it's size. It's impossible to examine brush stroke or appreciate colour/shading fully from that distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Alun wrote: »
    I could have spent a week in the Deutsche Museum, an amazing place.

Myself and the missus left this till the last day thinking it would be two to three hours max, I'd say we had looked at maybe 40/50% of it before they announced it was closing, three and a half hours just flew by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Greyfox wrote: »
    I completely disagree, new Yorkers are very friendly and theres about 1,000 interesting things to do in n York. My best holiday ever

Exactly, you can always jump on a train for trip to Montauk or Greenport, that part of Long Island is lovely.

NSAman wrote: »
    CrankyHaus wrote: »
    New York. Expensive, unfriendly, uncomfortable.

Really? I find New York cheap to eat in, expensive for hotels etc... New Yorkers are a wonderful bunch of people, They may be brashand say what they think, but are extremely friendly and would literally bend over backwards if they think you are genuine. Uncomfortable? Depends on your perspective. Yes the subway is grimey and hot, but everything in New York is available most of the day and top class... compare that to Chicago and you have a major difference.

I'm not much of a city slicker but if I had to pick a big city to live in I'd definitely go to New York. It's expensive for the average tourist but with a bit of research you can find most things at a fraction of the price you will pay in the tourist traps.

Endless choice when it comes to food, activities, entertainment. People are nice in general.

There's some awfully depressing places in America defo not NY.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I guess alot of people don't actually read the thread title before they post........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,117 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

TKMaxx!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,348 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I guess alot of people don't actually read the thread title before they post........

Conversations evolve dude...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 54 ✭✭green shoots

Boston. My friend was living there for a while and I visited last year. Downtown is bereft of life at night. The trendy thing there seems to be these fancy bars where you're shown to a table and have no hope of interacting with other people. It's not a pretty city either. I mean I visited lots of nice restaurants and it was pleasant enough, but lots of people I've met have gone on about how great it is. Also very expensive. Dublin is a thousand times livelier and more interesting. Also drove up to Vermont, stayed in Burlington. It's a beautiful state and it was autumn so that made it even more beautiful, but the people there are just odd. So sterile. No craic. I just don't think I like the USA. Especially after immigration tore me a new ars*hole because I had been refused entry once 15 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,546 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Cheese and Onion Tayto.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 98,142 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

bop1977 wrote: »
    The giants causeway. A few rocks and it’s not that big.
    Very un-impressive. The drive around that area was nicer than the destination

Worth seeing but not worth going to, see.
    - Dr Samuel Johnson, the Dictionary dude , sometime back in the 18th century

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭M.m.m.

Lake Louise in Alberta, Canada.

The whole experience reminded me of being in Malahide Park on a Sunday afternoon but without the lake.

There was even a castle type building with a canteen for scones and coffee taking in all the tourists.

The place was overrun with tourists, very disappointed.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 98,142 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Edgware wrote: »
    Can't wait to get your report on Uranus

Worth seeing but not worth going to, see.

A Hoffman transfer orbit would take 16 years to get there. Then you have to hang around until the next one comes up and then it's another 16 years back. And you'll probably need a jump start once you've sorted out the parking charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭17togo

babydream wrote:
    Sistine Chapel in the Vatican, it has been touched up and now looks nearly 3D. Rome in general was very underwhelming.

Rome was the most amazing city I've ever been in. Every corner you turn there's another massive structure with so much history. I only had five days there but can't wait to go back.
    I know everyones taste is different, however, I couldn't recommend it highly enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Belem in Portugal for custard tarts. I just had Lidl version. Just as tasty.

More like someone in the internet thinks differently to me... must refute their post immediately regardless of thread title

And besides Uranus smells like farts.

Rockall, feck all to do and woeful hard to get a decent pint.

Can be dampish in winter.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rockall#/media/File:Rockall_wave_March_1943.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Conversations evolve dude...

True, full 180.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Boston. My friend was living there for a while and I visited last year. Downtown is bereft of life at night. The trendy thing there seems to be these fancy bars where you're shown to a table and have no hope of interacting with other people. It's not a pretty city either. I mean I visited lots of nice restaurants and it was pleasant enough, but lots of people I've met have gone on about how great it is. Also very expensive. Dublin is a thousand times livelier and more interesting. Also drove up to Vermont, stayed in Burlington. It's a beautiful state and it was autumn so that made it even more beautiful, but the people there are just odd. So sterile. No craic. I just don't think I like the USA. Especially after immigration tore me a new ars*hole because I had been refused entry once 15 years ago.

You were in Boston but you didn't see it. Down town Boston isn't really where you go to drink. Plenty of great bars like bars in Dublin. Your friend was probably bringing you to the fancy places. There is a huge college population so I can assure you there are cheap bars about. The places are divided up a lot so if you stay to one area you miss a lot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 54 ✭✭green shoots

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    You were in Boston but you didn't see it. Down town Boston isn't really where you go to drink. Plenty of great bars like bars in Dublin. Your friend was probably bringing you to the fancy places. There is a huge college population so I can assure you there are cheap bars about. The places are divided up a lot so if you stay to one area you miss a lot.

He lived in Chelsea, bit of a dive really. We went out in Cambridge which was nice. But yeah I'm more of a dive bar or "old man" pub type person when it comes to bars.
    Anyway yeah, usually downtown in US cities is dead at night, just business districts really. Like Canary Wharf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

Bruges, especially the Belfort tower. Full of fat Americans threatening to have a heart attack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Sonovagun

Earth, absolute **** hole

More like someone in the internet thinks differently to me... must refute their post immediately regardless of thread title

Can you post the one about custard tarts and Lidl again, please?

Very entertaining.