Overrated sights/destinations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Well I guess the clue about Ayer's Rock is in the name, best time to visit is early morning or dusk when the silence and play of shadow is really affecting. Same goes for Stonehenge.
    Most disappointing for me was probably Manneken Pis in Brussels. As well as being a fairly dull statue it's not even the the original but a copy from the mid 1960s. You have to visit the city museum to see the original.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

New York. Expensive, unfriendly, uncomfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

LirW wrote: »
    I'm planning a trip to the states in March and everyone says we need to go there. Of course we do now but in the back of my head I'm just worried that it's gonna be lame and we paid the park entrance for nothing!

The Grand Canyon takes a bit of effort
    *a really early start to see sunrise.
    *hike down to river and back

If you are just going to have a gawk from sky bridge with hordes don't bother.

Also Rome is brilliant city to visit.

Giant's Causeway was worth seeing for me and I don't agree with Ben Johnson.

But that fcuking Rope Bridge. Sweet Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

ford2600 wrote: »
    The Grand Canyon takes a bit of effort
    *a really early start to see sunrise.
    *hike down to river and back

If you are just going to have a gawk from sky bridge with hordes don't bother.

Also Rome is brilliant city to visit.

Giant's Causeway was worth seeing for me and I don't agree with Ben Johnson.

But that fcuking Rope Bridge. Sweet Jesus

Carrick-a-rede? I thought it was cool. Short, but cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

I'm planning a trip to the states in March and everyone says we need to go there. Of course we do now but in the back of my head I'm just worried that it's gonna be lame and we paid the park entrance for nothing!

Ah the grand Canyon is spectacular, definitely go and visit, and give yourself time for a hike too. Monument Valley on the other hand is not really worth it, and the roads are really cr@p to get there

As for other over-rated destinations, New York is a ripoff, its dirty and its extremely unfriendly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Afollower

I visited Venice in October some years back - major disappointment. It was cold, wet, dirty and smelly and vastly overpriced.

The Blue Mosque in Istanbul was another disappointment - very uderwhelming!

My favourity Cities, so far, Moscow, Krakow, Paris, Rome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Skyfloater

BailMeOut wrote: »
    no way. I saw Mona Lisa for first time only recently and was blown away by the painting as its so beautiful. The crowds swarming around it adds to the experience especially when you look from the painting back out to them.

465429.JPG

It's funny how few of them bother to look over their shoulder to the 3 Da Vincis' in the next room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Skyfloater

The hill of Tara would get my vote. A hill with a couple of small ditches on it, wow.
    BTW, could someone remind me how to directly insert an image into a post please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,520 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

This just confirms what others are saying. People looking at a painting they cant get within 20 feet of and ignoring other works that are right next to them.
    Skyfloater wrote: »
    It's funny how few of them bother to look over their shoulder to the 3 Da Vincis' in the next room.

How do you know they didn't look at the other works once they finished with, or prior to, the Mona Lisa? It's a still photo, not a moving picture.

I've been a few times, it's been amazing each visit. But if you're not into the outdoors or scenery, it's not for you.

Mona Lisa in the Louvre, a small squalid portrait behind bulletproof glass. Magnificent paintings adorning nearby walls all but ignored by tourists eager to chalk one off the list.

If someone hadn't told you that this was a famous painting you'd walk right past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Rockall, feck all to do and woeful hard to get a decent pint.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Squatter

Leaning tower of pizza, not that impressive.

Love it. Although it's not a patch on the Leaning Tower of Calzone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,253 ✭✭✭Greyfox

CrankyHaus wrote: »

I completely disagree, new Yorkers are very friendly and theres about 1,000 interesting things to do in n York. My best holiday ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Ladies View on the Ring of Kerry, I drove right past it then realised 'that was it'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,940 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I don't get when people are disappointed or underwhelmed by these things. Most of these attractions are telling you what they are simply by their name.

It reminds me of the episode of fawlty towers where the guest wasn't satisfied with the view out of the window of a Torquay hotel. Basil fawlty then asks what she expected to see out of the window, the hanging gardens of Babylon or herds of wildebeests ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Barcelona. I thought it was a bit sleazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Leaning tower of pizza, not that impressive. Lots of tourists doing stupid poses.

Mona Lisa, tiny and swarmed with people

Barcelona / Venice; suffering from over tourism

Leaning tower is interesting from engineering perspective, well that is the engineer in me I guess.

The church the other side was pretty amazing, but most people seem to ignore it.
    Barcelona is over hyped, some areas are nice like up near Olympic stadium, but Las Ramblas area is to be avoided like the plague.
    Sirsok wrote: »
    Ayers rock...four day drive from Sydney with not much to see around you only to go see a big red rock, four day back.. waste of holiday from work

And did you walk right round it ?
    A three mile walk around a big rock in searing heat with loads of fecking snakes waiting for you if you wander off the path.
    Even if you start early it is boiling by the time you finish.

And as for the cr** about it changing colour at sunset.

Yep it does get darker alright.
    But that is because the fooking sun is going down and everything is getting dark.

Myself and this English guy turned away from it and start taking pictures of the opposite view only to realise a bus load of Japanese tourists were copying us because they thought they were missing something. :D

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Get up and go

Bondi Beach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Venice beach in LA. Full of f**king weirdos. Considering its America that's really saying something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Squatter

There are loads of lists on the web about overrated locations/sights around the world - this one includes kissing the Blarney Stone!

https://www.thisisinsider.com/overrated-places-around-the-world-2018-6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

The hill of Tara would get my vote. A hill with a couple of small ditches on it, wow.

My son & I went on a tourist tour of Ireland a few years ago. Wanted to see some of the stuff on our doorstep that tourists travel thousands of km to see. Saw Newgrange .... loved it. Saw Giants Causeway .... loved it. Hill of Tara .... yawn. It may have tons of history, and an important site in ye olde times, but as a visual site it's nothing.... Just a field like hundreds that I wandered around in when I was a kid.

Loved Venice first time I was there (honeymoon!)
    Went back years later with the kids and was very disappointed. But they loved it.... stupid kids! 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

My son & I went on a tourist tour of Ireland a few years ago. Wanted to see some of the stuff on our doorstep that tourists travel thousands of km to see. Saw Newgrange .... loved it. Saw Giants Causeway .... loved it. Hill of Tara .... yawn. It may have tons of history, and an important site in ye olde times, but as a visual site it's nothing.... Just a field like hundreds that I wandered around in when I was a kid.

Loved Venice first time I was there (honeymoon!)
    Went back years later with the kids and was very disappointed. But they loved it.... stupid kids! 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Pompeii
    It could do with a makeover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Venice beach in LA. Full of f**king weirdos. Considering its America that's really saying something.

Yep, it was worth seeing at least only to be underwhelmed.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,560 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Doolin, tourists hanging out of the rafters, bored paid by the tune musicians, Clare has so much better to offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,548 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Zaph wrote: »
    The Grand Canyon is a bit like that. Essentially it's a big hole in the ground, and it's so big that walking a mile further along the edge doesn't change the view. It is very impressive, but after 10 or 15 minutes looking at it you're left wondering what you and the rest of your tour group are going to do for the rest of the four hours you're there.
    Reminds me of the Rockies. The first day driving through them is quite impressive, but after 2 or 3 days of the same you just yearn for something different. Same could be said of much of the US and Canada really, it's just too big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Another one I didn't warm with was Munich. It's this really super posh German City that has a few good museums but beside that it's actually quite boring if you aren't into boozing and all the typical places to drink are quite cringey and it's really expensive. So many German cities are way way nicer and better craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,548 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Another one I didn't warm with was Munich. It's this really super posh German City that has a few good museums but beside that it's actually quite boring if you aren't into boozing and all the typical places to drink are quite cringey and it's really expensive. So many German cities are way way nicer and better craic.
    I could have spent a week in the Deutsche Museum, an amazing place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Alun wrote: »
    I could have spent a week in the Deutsche Museum, an amazing place.

The museums are one of the few good things there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭NSAman

CrankyHaus wrote: »

Really? I find New York cheap to eat in, expensive for hotels etc... New Yorkers are a wonderful bunch of people, They may be brashand say what they think, but are extremely friendly and would literally bend over backwards if they think you are genuine. Uncomfortable? Depends on your perspective. Yes the subway is grimey and hot, but everything in New York is available most of the day and top class... compare that to Chicago and you have a major difference.