Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Documentary on Irish Pubs RTE1

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

Watched it on the RTE player, I know Fethard, McCarthys is grand old pub but probably another one or two down there could be featured too but say it's the same with every town in Ireland. Keane's was a bit of a PR stunt other times I have seen him he has some good stories on the documentary it all seemed a bit forced, also he had bleach or something stained on his jumper, really off putting.

Hope this pubs never disappear, my own favourite pubs in Dublin include the palace, the boars head and Kehoes for a pint and a chat and with the boars some racing, it's a great way to unwind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,262 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

My admittedly unsympathetic view is that the Irish pubs have been persistently ripping people off for years, and it's only now that people - particularly young people thanks to things like Erasmus - are getting accustomed to the fact that a fiver a pint is utter eejitism in the context of how it goes in most European pubs, that they are finally making it clear that they're unwilling to keep putting up with that.

These type of traditional pubs probably charge 4.00 - 4.20 for Guinness.

That compares very well with Brussels and urban Germany.

In Leipzig, many pubs charge 3.50-3.80 for 50cl, which means 3.90 to over 4.00 per pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,262 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

themselves too much, but Irish pubs are clearly doing something most other European pubs are not, which drives their prices far higher than is considered reasonable throughout the rest of Europe.

In Koln city centre, 20cl of kolsch is 1.80, that means 5.11 per pint.

Okay, if you go to basic pubs, maybe 1-2km out, you could pay less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Outside of the price of the pint, what else in your opinion has been the death-knell of so many Irish pubs? People becoming more health conscious is a big reason but in my own opinion social media is a bigger reason for the lack of popularity in sitting in a pub mugging pints.
    it used to be fellas (& the odd woman) heading to the pub to find out the local gossip, scandal or just plain news....that's all at the touch of a screen nowadays.

Yeah it's just modern life in general I think. Before the ONLY thing many people could do for the evening is head to the pub. Now you can stay in with Netflix, Facebook, Mobile Phones, Playstations, HDTV's, YouTube or go out somewhere that isn't a pub like the gym, 5 a side, book clubs, tai chi courses, restaurants, cinema, painting classes, more people have cars now, more people work during evenings, men play a bigger role inside the family home ect ect ect.

The pub is still a great Irish institution but there's more to life than propping up the bar every night of the week now, whereas maybe there simply wasn't in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Yeah it's just modern life in general I think. Before the ONLY thing many people could do for the evening is head to the pub. Now you can stay in with Netflix, Facebook, Mobile Phones, Playstations, HDTV's, YouTube or go out somewhere that isn't a pub like the gym, 5 a side, book clubs, tai chi courses, restaurants, cinema, painting classes, more people have cars now, more people work during evenings, men play a bigger role inside the family home ect ect ect.

The pub is still a great Irish institution but there's more to life than propping up the bar every night of the week now, whereas maybe there simply wasn't in the past.

Read your post out loud and pretend there is a 70 year old man from Kinnegad in the room with you. Actually anybody from anywhere rural in the land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Read your post out loud and pretend there is a 70 year old man from Kinnegad in the room with you. Actually anybody from anywhere rural in the land.

Yes but in the heyday of the pub trade you'd have all ages mixing in the pub. Tbh I wouldn't fancy a pub experience that's solely made up of elderly men.

Of course, who would ?. The alternatives presented were world cinema, gyms, yoga, painting classes etc...all readily available in city centre Dublin or Cork. Where the hell is your average village dweller going to find any of these wondrous activities ?
    You live in the backend of nowhere in a town with a population of less than say 2000 - what do you do with your time. Regardless of age.
    I can get up tomorrow and drink myself senseless in any one of 1000 pubs or go to a Mongolian restaurant via the Irish Film Institute after booking my Tai Chi course. If I was in Killybegs, what would my options be ?
    The pub is the lifeblood of rural Ireland, always was. Dublin can afford to lose a lot of pubs (I hope that doesn't happen) but to small town Ireland it is the only thing to do. A lot of people in that documentary said they went to the pub for a chat - they weren't all lying. You can drink yourself to death all by yourself anywhere on Earth. Human company is what the show was about - not alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Sad to say one of the pubs featured, Smyths of Newtown, Co. Carlow has now closed. The owner, who was shown playing the piano, passed away, and the place is looking very sad. It was THE music pub back in the 70's, and poignant to see the road signs still showing "Smyths of Newtown".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Of course, who would ?. The alternatives presented were world cinema, gyms, yoga, painting classes etc...all readily available in city centre Dublin or Cork. Where the hell is your average village dweller going to find any of these wondrous activities ?
    You live in the backend of nowhere in a town with a population of less than say 2000 - what do you do with your time. Regardless of age.
    I can get up tomorrow and drink myself senseless in any one of 1000 pubs or go to a Mongolian restaurant via the Irish Film Institute after booking my Tai Chi course. If I was in Killybegs, what would my options be ?
    The pub is the lifeblood of rural Ireland, always was. Dublin can afford to lose a lot of pubs (I hope that doesn't happen) but to small town Ireland it is the only thing to do. A lot of people in that documentary said they went to the pub for a chat - they weren't all lying. You can drink yourself to death all by yourself anywhere on Earth. Human company is what the show was about - not alcohol.

I agree that the pub is more important socially to rural Ireland. What would you put their decline in numbers down to?

Many modern conveniences still hold true in rural Ireland just to less of an extent. Cars, the internet and mobile phones alone ensure there is a non pub way to travel, interact and meet with other people. There are simply more ways to entertain oneself nowadays.

I love going to the pub btw. I'm just giving my opinion on why as an Irish institution it's days have long since peaked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Rescind the smoking ban, late night lock-ins, let the toilets devolve to their natural state.
    Any remnants of hipsterdom can be erased by using the "Free Steak" special trick - the steak is free so long as nobody asks who it's made from.

Indeed. The extinction of the local pubs jacks distinct sub-species of small fly is a sad comment on our times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

madmaggie wrote: »
    Sad to say one of the pubs featured, Smyths of Newtown, Co. Carlow has now closed. The owner, who was shown playing the piano, passed away, and the place is looking very sad. It was THE music pub back in the 70's, and poignant to see the road signs still showing "Smyths of Newtown".

Unfortunately the same is true of Gartlans in Kingscourt, Co. Cavan. The thatched roof pretty much caved in on it and it fell into an awful state. Has been closed for a good few years now.

Thankfully it has been bought again and is being brought back to its former glory but will be a while before it's open again.

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Unfortunately the same is true of Gartlans in Kingscourt, Co. Cavan. The thatched roof pretty much caved in on it and it fell into an awful state. Has been closed for a good few years now.

Thankfully it has been bought again and is being brought back to its former glory but will be a while before it's open again.

Was Gatlans the pub with the big fella as bar man? Had the bull **** sign behind him? Told some hilarious stories like the yank moaning about the bathroom and him getting grumpy with her?

That's the one alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

That's the one alright.

I thought the documentary was recent?

Obviously not if its closed years.

JustTheOne wrote: »
    I thought the documentary was recent?

Obviously not if its closed years.

It's closed at least 3 years and was nearly lost for good. Can't link on phone but if you google it there are a few articles on just how bad of disrepair it fell into. Obviously having a thatch roof speeded the process up but it was in a bad state.

The thatch has been restored lately but inside has to be gutted.

It's closed at least 3 years and was nearly lost for good. Can't link on phone but if you google it there are a few articles on just how bad of disrepair it fell into. Obviously having a thatch roof speeded the process up but it was in a bad state.

The thatch has been restored lately but inside has to be gutted.

http://www.anglocelt.ie/news/roundup/articles/2014/10/15/4033188-landmark-kingscourt-pub-gets-new-lease-of-life/

Here is a link to a piece. Best of luck to the couple, pity Paul couldn't keep it going, he seemed like a gas character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

Watched this last night on the player. Enjoyed it and it has the makings of a great pub road trip but didn't realised it was filmed so long ago (at least 3 years by the sound of it).

Overall it was a bit rose-tinted and twee. No talk about what publicans can do in rural areas to increase trade. The man with the young children climbing all over the bar was interesting, saying he'd lost his passion for the place. Would have liked a bit more rigour to the whole documentary though.

My local pub is thatched, about 200 years old and 5 miles from the nearest town. It has about 7 old fellas in it every evening watching the racing, mostly widowed or single men. They stay until about 10.30pm and then it's empty.

On saturday nights (if there's no 21st or other party) the place could be empty until 11pm, then maybe 30 people might show up for a few pints and stay until 2am. Anyone under 35 either doesn't go out anymore or drinks at home before heading into town. Why would you sit in a usually dirty pub with a tv blaring and everyone gossiping when you can sit in your own comfy chair at home with your friends, drink cheap cans and not queue for anything (not my view but one I hear often).

Last time I brought a new fella to the local to show him around we had burns in our back from people staring at us. My father was quizzed at mass the next morning who was the fella I was with and who were 'his people'. I'm in my 30s and couldn't care less but there's little sense of privacy in a local pub.

Still love them though.

^ ...don't keep us in suspense...who was de fella ? Are ye goin' steady ? Any wedding bells ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

^ ...don't keep us in suspense...who was de fella ? Are ye goin' steady ? Any wedding bells ?

You forgot the classic "Do I need to buy a hat?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Must say this is a thoroughly enjoyable documentary. Something kind of sad seeing what is essentially old Ireland with it's characters and time capsule-esque pubs being lost to the wifi,craft beer, tv on every wall "bars" two for a penny today :(

Go back a hundred years or so and most beer would have been brewed fairly locally to where it was consumed, and in smaller batches than Guinness or Heineken produce. Which would make it almost 'craft' by today's definition. So I don't see how craft beer would make a place less Irish than having Heineken or Guinness (Diageo based in London). Unless you mean the hipsteryness that some people associate with it.

Have to agree with the wall-to-wall TVs though, just f*uck that, I don't want to see Sky News on mute with the same bloody images coming round every ten minutes.

A normal TV in the corner on mute is acceptable. Sound only goes up for important events such as horse races and nearby terrorist attacks. None of that flat screen rubbish either. A proper telly that can fit a pint and an ashtray on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

There's a pub in Cork City centre, Callanan's - that's family owned and only opens about 4 nights a week. It's usually packed on the weekends, serves unreal pints of stout at €4.20 (and less for the Beamish) and no TV. Great craic to be had in there. Right next door to a much busier popular 'student' bar, which I equally enjoy.

Went for a walk with the girlfriend on the weekend in Timoleague in Wesht Cork, and who did I meet but the barman and his missus out for a cycle. Had a great old chat. Can't bate the friendly Irish barman who recognises you in the street!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

razorhead wrote: »
    Is it being repeated?

You can download it on Torrents .Thats the only way i could watch as i am here in Asia ,and when i try to look on RTE player ,it refuses to show in my region.Some RTE programmes i can get though without a VNP thingy.

I loved the Programme .Really well made and enjoyable.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Shame to hear that Gartlan's closed, looked like a good place to visit and the owner was hilarious. The one in Maam looked great too, must pay a visit next time anywhere near there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭marvin80

Is there a convenient list of the pubs featured (with their Eircodes)?

Close enough!!

http://irishpubfilm.com/the-pubs-2/

I see Brennan's Bar in Bundoran has closed - in there a few times - cracking bar, pity it's closed.

https://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/news/home/338922/end-of-an-era-tonight-as-brennans-in-bundoran-one-of-ireland-s-most-famous-pubs-closesits-doors.html

Looking at google maps and Gartlans Bar in Kingscourt, Cavan is open again - fair play to the new owners for getting it back up and running.

Smyth's in Newtown, Carlow looks in decent knick - was it re-opened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭madmaggie

marvin80, when did you look at Smyth's? It's not far from me, and fairly run down. Michael died a few years back.

madmaggie wrote: »
    marvin80, when did you look at Smyth's? It's not far from me, and fairly run down. Michael died a few years back.

My bad, I looked at google maps and the picture was taken in 2009:

https://bit.ly/2qqmnSW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

marvin80 wrote: »
    Looking at google maps and Gartlans Bar in Kingscourt, Cavan is open again - fair play to the new owners for getting it back up and running.

Marvin, I was in Gartlan's about two years ago, cracking spot, great trad music on the night I was in there, well worth a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Where can I find this online? Sounds like a great doc