Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭givyjoe

listermint wrote: »
    I dont want to win friends and im not trying to influence anyone.

There are those that want to know and those that dont, There are many of the latter here. They will remain that way of their own choosing. Im not here to politic im here to counter the narrative with facts.

No sh1t on both counts.

I didn't see any facts in the post I quoted you on. Just your opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

ELM327 wrote: »
    3 strikes and you're out is a great idea and I don't see why it is met with derision from your ilk.

I think 3 strikes and you're out might be a bit harsh (aside from the fact there are a lot of really bad precedents with it)

I'll quite happily take 30 strikes and you're out though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,187 ✭✭✭✭listermint

You could have a 3 strikes and you are sentenced to a Trade.

If you are under 18, and receive a 3rd conviction you are sentenced to work in a Trade Centre, where you have to turn up for work everyday to learn a trade of your choice and learn the value of regular work and allow yourself a route out of the cycle of poverty and crime.

They used a similar system in Glascow to great effect, to the individual himself/herself and to society.

Of course, I am a racist bigot so what would I know
    !

Who called you that me ?

If so when,

and if you are going to use such terms when referencing my name in a response please understand i will call you on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,333 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

FYI i havent called you 'ilk' so stop using scummy terms to make people appear less than you.
    Its a scummy thing to do.

It's only a scummy term in the mind of the reader not the author.
    What would you prefer? I will use "group of like minded people", I hope that is less offensive for you. Now let's revisit the actual content of the post as opposed to jumping with offense.

Read on what? Risible.

3 strikes and out works fine in the US. There's a load of great docu-series on Netflix at the moment called "lock up", I suggest you watch some.

3 strikes and you're out is a great idea and I don't see why it is met with derision from your group of like minded people.

wexie wrote: »
    I think 3 strikes and you're out might be a bit harsh (aside from the fact there are a lot of really bad precedents with it)

I'll quite happily take 30 strikes and you're out though?

Anything is better than the free for all that we have now tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,187 ✭✭✭✭listermint

givyjoe wrote: »
    No sh1t on both counts.

I didn't see any facts in the post I quoted you on. Just your opinion.

Telling me to go read a book to learn to influence people is doing what ? and why ?

why would i want to cuddle people who are stuck on single topic policies in their world vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Read on what? Risible.

3 strikes and out works fine in the US. There's a load of great docu-series on Netflix at the moment called "lock up", I suggest you watch some.

3 strikes and you're out is a great idea and I don't see why it is met with derision from your ilk.

FYI i havent called you 'ilk' so stop using scummy terms to make people appear less than you.
    Its a scummy thing to do.

Nice way to not discuss the FACT that 3 strikes and your out actually DOES work !!
    Your “ scummy” mask is slipping there pal

Anything is better than the free for all that we have now tbh.

What no apology ?

Ok grand.

Noted for future correspondence.

I know people get heated on topic, but name calling is schoolyard stuff.

Needs adults to discuss things rationally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,458 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

these trump comparisons are ridiculous. Casey is a church mouse compared to trump. He also only said the truth, thats it, get over it! Watch the netflix documentary on trump, he was calling the established politicos at the time 'morons' and in all fairness, they must be. He solved something in a few months, the city couldnt solve in years and for a fraction the cost.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8tlAUhGegs

The two parties or wasters have had power in this country for what? roughly a hundred years, for the past twenty years, we have been a rich country, these wasters are paid a fortune, look after huge budgets and everything here is JOKE!

Housing - yeah
    health -yeah
    infrastructure - yeah
    Crime - yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,562 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

blanch152 wrote: »
    Look when the State is paying more money to people on social welfare than their own nurses, guards and teachers get after paying tax, pension contributions, rent/mortgage and commuting costs, then there is something wrong with the system that has nothing to do with taxes.

Spot on there B, you gotta make WORK more advantageous than life on welfare with all the add ons.

Surely that isn’t too difficult to work out.

hawkelady wrote: »
    Nice way to not discuss the FACT that 3 strikes and your out actually DOES work !!
    Your “ scummy” mask is slipping there pal

I believe in reporting name calling so have at it.

And im sure you can do your own research on cost / benefit of 3 strikes.

If not then why bother.

If you believe 3 strikes is a panacea, then go research it come back and tell us how its working everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭qwerty ui op

hawkelady wrote: »
    You need look no further than the stats on the anmount of travellers in prison. ! There you go , and by god I’d say the majority of them haven’t got caught !
    You’re welcome btw

Ok, so thanks for reading my post
    But I didn't ask about travellers.

I ask the most basic simple straight forward question imaginable.

It's hard to believe that not a single poster could come up with some sort of half arsed answer.

So i'll try again(it's the question in bold). Because i'm genuinely interested.

Why do you believe rural crime is getting worse?

I searched the ice skating thing and then this next video popped up here, the reasons they give for voting him an alternative, to the absolute other swamp where the candidates come from.

'hes not afraid to say what we are all thinking' etc etc etc. Totally disillusioned with the democrats and republicans, the usual...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lcjr2FcrYzM

What no apology ?

Ok grand.

Noted for future correspondence.

I know people get heated on topic, but name calling is schoolyard stuff.

Needs adults to discuss things rationally.

That post was not even addressed to or in response to you :confused:

And I don't need to apologize if you choose to be offended by something I posted without intending to offend anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Who called you that me ?

If so when,

and if you are going to use such terms when referencing my name in a response please understand i will call you on it.

Sorry to be fair, I should have referenced my experience reading Irish media since the vote count, where I and people like me have been repeatedly referred to as racist bigots, or rural knuckle draggers and such, that was what I was referring to.

You're not allowed have a non left wing viewpoint, you know.

That post was not even addressed to or in response to you :confused:

And I don't need to apologize if you choose to be offended by something I posted without intending to offend anyone.

Call people ilk is an attempt to belittle.

You know well. I know well.

It's a great way to discuss things

You must be proud of the method.

And then come back with the political response of if you chose to get offended.

Good luck. It's transparent as your thought process on this subject. Single line with no answers .

Where will be put all these 3 strikers in your made up renua prison

I haven't refered to anyone like that in this thread I've consistently called Casey out on his nonsense.

Snake oil

You're not allowed have a non left wing viewpoint, you know.

Says who.

you know its bad here when the biggest bleeding heart mother Teresa nation on earth, starts to finally lose patience with the off the wall welfare state!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Step # 1
    Stop selling off the council housing stock

If you're in council housing you should not be able to buy the house, or afford to buy the house!

Take management of these houses off the councils. They are too slow to do them up and are far too tolerant of the houses being wrecked.

The tenants should be expected to do the basic maintenance on the houses - painting, servicing boiler, cleaning chimneys, cutting hedges etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

Ok, so thanks for reading my post
    But I didn't ask about travellers.

I ask the most basic simple straight forward question imaginable.

It's hard to believe that not a single poster could come up with some sort of half arsed answer.

So i'll try again(it's the question in bold). Because i'm genuinely interested.

Why do you believe rural crime is getting worse?

Stats for crime nationwide are on the CSO website and it is up.

The IFA are constantly asking the government to do something about rural crime and called for a task force to be set up.

The gardai recently announced they have set up a special task force to crack down on gangs targeting rural Ireland.

A quick glance at the IFA website will see articles advising people how to secure their tools, oil etc

But nothing to see here. No crime in rural Ireland. Everyone is worrying about nothing.

url?sa=i&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwj9zreO167eAhWPCuwKHerTDhAQjRx6BAgBEAU&url=https%3A%2F%2Ftwitter.com%2Frikoniharkin&psig=AOvVaw2-1zGNOOMswxCp3PZ6k057&ust=1541006609532019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,941 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Let's park the travellers for a moment (preferably in a legal halting site).

Does anyone disagree that there are a core number of people in this country who abuse the welfare system. Traveller and settled both. These are the generational unemployed, families who's grandparents, parents, children and grand children have never worked, or needed to, as the state pays for everything. Houses, health, drink, smokes, the whole gamut of needs.

Are they an ethnic minority? Is calling them out racist?

Casey believes that this isn't a sustainable model, and he's right. Plenty of people who voted for him took this issue into consideration. I don't understand why the politicians don't address this, it's a relatively east win and would mean more money for those who really need it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

wellwhynot wrote: »

The gardai recently announced they have set up a special task force to crack down on gangs targeting rural Ireland.

As it is it's miraculous there haven't been more of these fellas shot during burglaries. I wonder how long that will last.

Does anyone disagree that there are a core number of people in this country who abuse the welfare system. Traveller and settled both. These are the generational unemployed, families who's grandparents, parents, children and grand children have never worked, or needed to, as the state pays for everything. Houses, health, drink, smokes, the whole gamut of needs.

Casey believes that this isn't a sustainable model, and he's right. Plenty of people who voted for him took this issue into consideration. I don't understand why the politicians don't address this, it's a relatively east win and would mean more money for those who really need it.

are they abusing it? no , the government has created this welfare wonderland.
    They are indeed ENTITLED to everything that gets thrown at them! The blame stops with the state. What have they done about it? The government are the problem, human nature is the result. People with no work ethic or pride, just feed off the state...

I haven't refered to anyone like that in this thread I've consistently called Casey out on his nonsense.

Snake oil

Michael D Higgins was selling snake oil too, just different snake oil, he just had the entire establishment help him.

If you think I am mad for thinking that, go back to 2011 and tell me he wasn't assisted by our media.

We have had the largest number of jobless households in the EU for some time

https://www.thejournal.ie/jobless-households-3832381-Feb2018/

We can't even discuss doing something about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Idbatterim wrote: »
    are they abusing it? no , the government has created this welfare wonderland.
    They are indeed ENTITLED to everything that gets thrown at them! The blame stops with the state. What have they done about it? The government are the problem, human nature is the result. People with no work ethic or pride, just feed off the state...
    For crying out loud, the things people deflect to the government - how about the people actually choosing to be freeloaders? They are responsible for their own decisions. If it were human nature we would all be doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    I did two days labouring for a plasterer during the summer who was doing skimming work on our house

He told me he cannot get lads to do the job of mixing and throwing up stuff onto a mortar board. Nobody wants to work

It pays €90 a day, even €100 a day if you were good at it. Usually cash, too!

I managed to get the hang of the technique in half a day.
    I reckon i saved myself €200 on a labourer for the 2 days

So, there is plenty of work out there for lads prepared to work.
    Get off welfare, get out the door and do a weeks work.

That last bit is strange when we are considered in "Full employment"