Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Religious hate-speech in the UK or fearless speaker of truth?

• 20-10-2018 10:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭

Yet another muslim* rape gang (this one operating 2004-2011 in Huddersfield, England) finally brought to justice.
    Child abuse thrives in such dark corners, where people look the other way, not asking questions or following concerns because the subject matter is uncomfortable and scrutiny is potentially damaging. But when we look, we find...
    ...Victims and their families said they repeatedly told West Yorkshire Police what was happening but no arrests were made until years later.
    Activist Tommy Robinson was snatched off the street and imprisoned for talking about this.

*one of them is a Sikh.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

recedite wrote: »
    Yet another muslim* rape gang (this one operating 2004-2011 in Huddersfield, England) finally brought to justice.
    What kind of threshold is reached when the British Home Secretary, Sajid Javid, descends to the use of similar far-right language. Yesterday, we learned that the convicted people are "Asian pedophiles" -- the BBC says that all were "British Asians mainly of Pakistani heritage", by which I assume it means they were born and bred in the UK. We also learn that there are "no-go areas" of unspecified types as well:

https://twitter.com/sajidjavid/status/1053336915850739714
    These sick Asian paedophiles are finally facing justice. I want to commend the bravery of the victims. For too long, they were ignored. Not on my watch. There will be no no-go areas
    Activist Tommy Robinson was snatched off the street and imprisoned for talking about this.
    Tommy Robinson is just one of self-promoter Stephen Christopher Yaxley-Lennon's pseudonyms. There are others. Yaxley-Lennon was arrested many times, once - and I think this might be the time you are referring to - for violating the terms of a court judgement.
    *one of them is a Sikh.
    Bit silly referring to them as a "muslim* rape gang" then, eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

robindch wrote: »
    .Bit silly referring to them as a "muslim* rape gang" then, eh?

So one (singluar) charachter of this gang wasn't exactly muslim, but the other 19 were, and you think this is a 'silly ' to refer to the gang as such.

dH6ejSW.png

This is a very specific common trait (Pakistani-Muslim) not only with this gang, but other similar gangs with this behaviour, and not only in Yorkshire (Huddersfield, Rochdale etc) but across Eng (e.g. the Newcastle gang, see below).

Maybe you would even prefer to disagree with Javid - who even stated these cases were "disproportionately from a Pakistani background". Maybe you would class these gangs as 'multi-ethnic' because 5% might be of other faiths?

Maybe that newcastle gang (below) are also 'multi-ethnic', because they roped in a single disturbed 'white girl' (5.5%) to assist with their crimes of sourcing other white school girls?

ohCDLzj.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Yaxley-Lennon was arrested many times, once - and I think this might be the time you are referring to - for violating the terms of a court judgement.
    ...Which incarceration was later found to be a serious miscarriage of justice by the highest lawyer in the UK - the Lord Chief Justice. You can read the full judgement here, but if that is too long for you, here are a few excerpts....
    64. In this case, no particulars of the scope of the alleged contempt were ever formulated, let alone in writing, or put to the appellant. With respect to all those involved in the hearing, there was some muddle over the nature of the contempt being considered, not only in the short exchanges which represented such formulation as there was, but also in the sentencing remarks.
    ...It is entirely unclear what aspects of the video the appellant, through his counsel, was accepting amounted to contempt in that regard.
    However, in his sentencing remarks the judge made specific reference to the appellant’s generic comments during the course of his broadcast about his perception of the role of religion and ethnicity offending in nature alleged in the case in progress.
    Doubtless, these comments were, at least potentially, capable of amounting to a free standing contempt of court but they were not in any sense a report on the proceedings themselves.
    74. Accordingly, the classification of the appellant as a convicted prisoner has had the effect of depriving him of privileges relating to: visits by his doctor or dentist, the freedom to choose what clothes to wear and the absence of restrictions on prison visits and the sending and receipt of letters.
    77. In summary, the finding of contempt made in Leeds must be quashed because:
    (1) It was inappropriate to proceed immediately on the motion of the court to deal with the alleged contempt after immediate steps had been taken to remove the offending video from the internet. An adjournment was necessary to enable the matter to proceed on a fully informed basis; in any event
    (ii) The failure to comply with Part 48 of the Rules resulted in
    there being no clear statement, orally or in writing, of the conduct said to comprise a contempt for
    contravening the section 4(2) order in place;
    (iii) It was unclear what conduct was said to comprise a breach of that order and the appellant was sentenced on the basis of conduct which fell outside the scope of that order;
    (iv) The haste with which the contempt proceedings were conducted led to aninability of counsel to mitigate fully on the appellant's behalf.
    78. The finding of contempt must be quashed and all the consequential orders will fall away.
    I'm slightly surprised by the candour of Sajid David's tweet, but fair play to him.

It turns out that the guy in the orange turban only "converted" after the investigation started, and long after these crimes were committed, presumably in an attempt to evade the law.
    Ringleader Amere Singh Dhaliwal, 35, was jailed for life earlier this year and told he must serve a minimum of 18 years in prison.
    Dhaliwal, who has children of his own and converted to Sikhism in 2013, was convicted of 54 separate offences, including 22 rapes involving 11 different girls.
    It seems genuine Sikhs are outraged by his wearing the turban and by this smear. Hopefully one of them will introduce him to the Sikh dagger.

Any guesses of what the mugshots of the similar Telfod & Ofxord gangs might be like?

ljm23JY.png & zjDewN3.png

Since 2011, groups of men have been prosecuted for organised sexgrooming crimes against 'hundreds of girls' in Rochdale, Rotherham, Oxford, Telford, Leeds, Birmingham, Norwich, Burnley, High Wycombe, Leicester, Dewsbury, Middlesbrough, Peterborough, Bristol, Halifax and Newcastle...

In only two of those cases were the men 'were not' of South Asian heritage.
    Of all the victims, only three 'were not' white teenage girls.

Still of course, let's not pin this on a cultural nor any religious aspects.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,103 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

If we pick out Asian men who have been convicted of child sex offences, we find that . . . every single one of them was Asian!

This is hardly earth-shattering. The question is, why would we be motivated to pick out the Asian abusers?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,719 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Peregrinus wrote: »
    If we pick out Asian men who have been convicted of child sex offences, we find that . . . every single one of them was Asian!

This is hardly earth-shattering. The question is, why would we be motivated to pick out the Asian abusers?

This was also my initial thought, though you'd also have to ask whether the percentage of Asian child abusers was considerably greater than non-Asian child abusers as a function of the total number of Asians in that population. The Telegraph article linked by accumulator suggests that it is the case, but it seems somewhat divisive. Interesting the involvement of Quilliam and their relationship to Tommy Robinson, ex of EDL.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,103 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

smacl wrote: »
    This was also my initial thought, though you'd also have to ask whether the percentage of Asian child abusers was considerably greater than non-Asian child abusers as a function of the total number of Asians in that population. The Telegraph article linked by accumulator suggests that it is the case, but it seems somewhat divisive. Interesting the involvement of Quilliam and their relationship to Tommy Robinson, ex of EDL.
    Well, firstly you'd have to ask if the number of Asian child abusers is large enough to derive statistically signficant information from it. Then you'd have to ask whether any correlation is in fact due to some other characteristic - for example, if child sex abusers are over-represented in the C and D socioeconomic classes and if Asians are also overrepresented in those classes (NB I have no idea if either of these things is true) then you'd expect Asians to be overrepresented in the child abuser group, but this wouild be an artefact of social class, not ethnicity. Finally, I repeat the question asked earlier as to why we are even looking at the information. Do we study whether brown-eyed persons are over-represented among child abusers, or left-handed persons, or followers of Leicester City? No? So why the fixation on Asians? I mean, we know why the likes of Tommy Robinson are fixated on Asians, but should we follow his lead?

It would appear you may be trying to 'dull down the facts' regarding these types of incidents, and the profiles of these typical grooming gangs* by refering to them simply as 'Asian', or worse as 'brown'.
    * Rochdale, Rotherham, Oxford, Telford, Leeds, Birmingham, Norwich, Burnley, High Wycombe, Leicester, Dewsbury, Middlesbrough, Peterborough, Bristol, Halifax and Newcastle.
    Firstly, they aren't 'mostly Asian' in the wider sense. They are specificaly 'South Central Asian', and from a very distinct region and heritage, i.e. That of Pakistani-Muslim heritage.

A simple fact-check on crimes (in Eng & Wales) does show already a strong over-representation by the wider Muslim community in the prison population (15% and increasing), and a statistic showing 12% for rape convictions last year by Muslims.

Sure they're not all bad eggs and no-one is saying that, but where there is a distinct pattern or representaion above and beyod their actual population (<300%), it indicates of course there may be an cultural issue.

Blame it on poverty levels (yes, Pakistani-muslim women are often kept away by their partners from undertaking work, again another 'cultural thing' to discuss). But even extreme poverty doesn't equate directly to sex crimes, it would be robbery, and fiscal fraud if anything surely.

The real question is why would people seem eager and motivated to sweep these basic facts under a carpet?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,178 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

If you believe the Crown Prosecution Service lead on child sex cases there is another factor that is generally ignored. The men in these cases had more than just being muslim in common.
    Where there is involvement of Asian men or men of Pakistani origin, he points to a practical, rather than cultural explanation – the fact that in the areas where grooming scandals have been uncovered, those controlling the night-time economy, people working through the night in takeaways and driving minicabs, are predominantly Asian men. He argues that evidence suggests that victims were not targeted because they were white but because they were vulnerable and their vulnerability caused them to seek out “warmth, love, transport, mind-numbing substances, drugs, alcohol and food”.

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2014/sep/03/nazir-afzal-there-is-no-religious-basis-for-the-abuse-in-rotherham?CMP=share_btn_tw

If you believe the Crown Prosecution Service..
    You mean if you believe the Nazir Afzal interview in The Guardian. Maybe the fact that these guys are now in control of important state functions such as the crown prosecution service, social services and local councils has something to do with the difficulty and the tardiness in getting prosecutions?

Whereas Tommy Robinson can be talking into his mobile phone on a public footpath outside a courthouse one minute, and the next minute find himself lifted off the street and put in solitary confinement for several months, all done and dusted within a few hours.

If Nazir Afzal's hypothesis is correct, and if he is going to suggest that one religious/ethnic group is more nocturnal than another (which assertion itself is questionable) then where are all the Chinese rape gangs? If any group habitually works antisocial hours its the Chinese.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,178 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

You mean if you believe the Nazir Afzal interview in The Guardian. Maybe the fact that these guys are now in control of important state functions such as the crown prosecution service, social services and local councils has something to do with the difficulty and the tardiness in getting prosecutions?

Whereas Tommy Robinson can be talking into his mobile phone on a public footpath outside a courthouse one minute, and the next minute find himself lifted off the street and put in solitary confinement for several months, all done and dusted within a few hours.

If Nazir Afzal's hypothesis is correct, and if he is going to suggest that one religious/ethnic group is more nocturnal than another (which assertion itself is questionable) then where are all the Chinese rape gangs? If any group habitually works antisocial hours its the Chinese.

Agree, this is extremely lazy attempt by those to choose to 'deliberately excuse' their behaviour, blaming it all on the work environment of 'mini-cab' drivers of the world, please...

Anyone can see from the pictures above there ain't no Chinese men in the profile pictures, in fact I've never ever seen a Chinese lad drunk or even doing anything slightly anti-social here, there, elsewhere or when in the asia-pacific.

Did either of ye actually read the interview?

• Registered Users Posts: 34,022 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

A racist conspiracy theory, no less.

Life ain't always empty.

Racist card played... /end discussion.

Yes, played by you. Suggesting that the CPS will refuse to prosecute Pakistani muslim rapists because it's been infiltrated by Pakistani muslim officials IS nothing more than a racist conspiracy theory.

Life ain't always empty.

To say the least, that is a ridiculously inaccurate account of events.

Mr Yaxley-Lennon was arrested for live-streaming outside a court in violation of reporting restrictions which had been put in place by the presiding judge over fears that the outcome could be prejudiced. Yaxley-Lennon admitted contempt of court in subsequent proceedings against him and was jailed for 13 months, despite him claiming that he felt "deep regret" about his actions.

It was not the first time Mr Yaxley-Lennon was sent to jail either, as he's previously been convicted of assaulting a police officer (12-month sentence), convicted of threatening behaviour (12-month rehab order), convicted of common assault (three months in the clanger), convicted of financial fraud (six months), convicted of contempt of court (suspended sentence) prior to his 13-month sentence for violating reporting restrictions and potentially perverting the course of justice.

https://www.newsweek.com/why-was-tommy-robinson-arrested-far-right-activist-jailed-13-months-947525

For somebody who makes such a lot of noise about other people breaking the law, he seems curiously uninterested in sticking to it himself.

To say the least, that is a ridiculously inaccurate account of events.
    Mr Yaxley-Lennon was arrested for live-streaming outside a court in violation of reporting restrictions which had been put in place by the presiding judge ..
    What I said is 100% accurate. You have quoted from an old news report dating from last May, just after he was snatched off the street, which itself quotes the words of the judge as follows..
    This contempt hearing is not about free speech. This is not about the freedom of the press. This is not about legitimate journalism; this is not about political correctness; this is not about whether one political viewpoint is right or another. It is about justice, and it is about ensuring that a trial can be carried out justly and fairly.
    I had already cited much more up-to-date info by giving the appeal judgement which quoshed that very conviction and which effectively disgraced the judge involved. You obviously did not read any of it.

In the last few days, his alleged "contempt of court" came up for a review at the old bailey, and the judge refused to have anything to do with it, so now it bounces back to the AG, who will have to decide whether to start all over again with a new prosecution of this spurious allegation (highly unlikely)
    It was not the first time Mr Yaxley-Lennon was sent to jail either, as he's previously been convicted of assaulting a police officer (12-month sentence), convicted of threatening behaviour (12-month rehab order), convicted of common assault (three months in the clanger), convicted of financial fraud (six months), convicted of contempt of court (suspended sentence) prior to his 13-month sentence for violating reporting restrictions and potentially perverting the course of justice.
    These were all stitch-ups too. An off-duty copper came out of his house and attacked Tommy on his way home from the pub, who admittedly was "tired and emotional" at the time due to consumption of vodka.

The "Financial fraud" was when a friend of his was trying to get mortgage approval to buy a house, and Tommy gave him the phone number of a broker who he had heard of, who was known to be able to exaggerate peoples earnings in the application. So no direct involvement at all, in what was a very minor "crime". Trying to help a working class lad on a low income to put a roof over his family's head.

I'm not going to derail the thread with more details, you can look them up yourself.

You are claiming that Yaxley-Lennon is not - as John Bercow, speaker of the Houses of Parliament said a few days back under Commons' privilege, a "loathsome, obnoxious, repellent individual" - though Yaxley-Lennon has, for example, used #45's disgusting claim that the evidence-based, free press is the "enemy of the people" and repeatedly uses (from the same video) his own incendiary "muslim rape gang" rhetoric.

But instead, you make the improbable claim that Yaxley-Lennon is in fact a fine fellow and the subject of numerous miscarriages of justice over many years, led on by biased judges and bent coppers who have colluded to place a kind and honest man, illegally and unfairly in prison, multiple times for long stretches.

But instead of backing up your multiple extraordinary claims with prevailing, extraordinary evidence such as multiple court transcripts (one notwithstanding above), or interviews with Yaxley-Lennon indicating a side of him in which he doesn't constantly shit-stir, or indeed, any other useful primary-source material at all, you say it's my job to prove your claim for you? No, it's not.

It's your responsibility to support your claim.

Your video of John Bercow above shows an MP abusing parliamentary privilege by using it to insult and slander a fellow citizen from a location where he has immunity to any possible legal defamation proceedings. A cowardly act indeed.

Mr. Bercow also whinges in a somewhat undemocratic and unconstitutional way that he has no control over "the other place".
    That "other place" is the House of Lords, and to provide fair context and balance to what he was saying, we would also have to view the video which offended him. That involved Lord Pearson complimenting Tommy as "a most remarkable man, not at all what the mainstream media would have you believe".
    As well as being an eloquent speaker, the Baron of Rannoch also shows he has a good understanding of Islam, and of the relationship between the koran and the hadiths (unlike some of his more vocal critics).

As for the "burden of proof" when making allegations, you made the allegations concerning Tommy Robinson's alleged criminal activities, so its up to you to cite links to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,012 ✭✭✭Odhinn

As for the "burden of proof" when making allegations, you made the allegations concerning Tommy Robinson's alleged criminal activities, so its up to you to cite links to them.

Even his alias uses an alias -
    The leader of the English Defence League has been jailed for 10 months for using someone else's passport to travel to the USA.
    Stephen Lennon, 30, from Luton, admitted possession of a false identity document with improper intention.
    Lennon used a passport in the name of Andrew McMaster to board a Virgin Atlantic flight from Heathrow to New York, Southwark Crown Court was told.
    https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-20935502

assault

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-lancashire-15117961

assault on a police officer
    https://www.the-round.co.uk/charges-on-tommy-robinson-rap-sheet/

leading a football hooligan mob
    https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-suffolk-14278957

And mortgage fraud
    https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-25862838

Its clear from the above that he has been targeted by those in authority because of who he is, and what he represents. Not because of the actual offences themselves.

10 months for leaving the country using somebody else's passport? Seems a bit harsh. Surely the real crime there would be gaining entry to the USA illegally, but the Americans did not attempt to pursue or extradite him.

From the account of the mortgage fraud, there were several involved but at the centre was Ms. Deborah Rothschild, a fallen angel of the infamous bankster family. Tommy had no direct involvement whatsoever, yet the judge was apparently satisfied that he bore responsibility in some vague way as a "fixer" because he had given somebody her phone number.

The "assault on a police officer" as cited above took place when some British ISIS supporters were mocking dead British soldiers.
    View the video and judge for yourself whether any policeman was assaulted.

He certainly is quite the scrapper for such a small guy, but I wouldn't hold that against him. Better to be a scrapper than a coward ;)

Recedite, The Preserver of Safety

• Registered Users Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

From the account of the mortgage fraud, there were several involved but at the centre was Ms. Deborah Rothschild, a fallen angel of the infamous bankster family. T

Proof that this fradulent mortgage broker is what you says she is? And why are the Rothschild's an 'infamous bankster family'?

Its clear from the above that he has been targeted by those in authority because of who he is, and what he represents. Not because of the actual offences themselves.
    .....)

Unless you mean representing and being a member of the Luton firms crew, I'd suggest GTF.

Or you could be taking the piss, hopefully.

Is this a parody?

You got a nice little anti-semite dig in there further down the post, well done :rolleyes: and I say this as someone who regards the current Israeli government as disgusting
    Recedite, The Preserver of Safety

Definitely a parody.

Life ain't always empty.

..I say this as someone who regards the current Israeli government as disgusting
    Whereas I don't criticise Israel and have nothing against jews. They do what they have to do, to survive.

Recedite, The Mighty One

That's very much an opinion. The opinion of many others is that they have gone far beyond what they need to do to survive. Conquering and colonising the West Bank, for instance. But I don't think you're here for any rational discussion of this issue so what's the point.

Life ain't always empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Well, firstly you'd have to ask if the number of Asian child abusers is large enough to derive statistically signficant information from it. Then you'd have to ask whether any correlation is in fact due to some other characteristic - for example, if child sex abusers are over-represented in the C and D socioeconomic classes and if Asians are also overrepresented in those classes (NB I have no idea if either of these things is true) then you'd expect Asians to be overrepresented in the child abuser group, but this wouild be an artefact of social class, not ethnicity. Finally, I repeat the question asked earlier as to why we are even looking at the information. Do we study whether brown-eyed persons are over-represented among child abusers, or left-handed persons, or followers of Leicester City? No? So why the fixation on Asians? I mean, we know why the likes of Tommy Robinson are fixated on Asians, but should we follow his lead?

I have never once heard anyone claim even on the far right that incidents of child abuse are higher in the Pakistani community. This issue is of real concern whether there are less, equal or more Pakistani child abusers than any other demographic. I'd image those ratios at any point in time could change for no particular reason and dependant on which ones were identified, so any stats could never show a true picture. For me the numbers are irrelevant anyway.

The only and to me obvious reason why the ethic background of the gangs must be acknowledge is precisely because of the way they operate. The Quilliam foundation report shows that Pakistani men merely have to mingle in their community to meet other child abusers. I can't imagine how this actually works in practice and don't want to but to say the least this one fact is rather shocking. What I find equally shocking is the number of commentators both here and in the media who don't think this fact is of any particularity significance or even mention it. I guess they think the issue of prejudice is a more serious issue so they will draw attention to that instead.

So, need it be said why said fact is significant but apparently it does, there are a whole raft of reasons.

1. If a Pakistani man intent on abusing a child can come across another abuser in their local community just like that then the gang must be known to the wider ethnic community passed on by word of mouth. In other words they
    must be know to at least some Pakistani non-abuser. Thus to say there is a particular issue in the Pakistani community is a rock solid undeniable conclusion.

2. They appear to work off the grid i.e. offline. This means digital evidence is lacking where white uk abusers can more readily be caught due to their online activity. Does this not mean that law enforcement must target those communities in a specific way now that we know Pakistani abuse gangs are a thing? I think it does which is a major reason to acknowledge the ethnicity of these groups.

3. As I write this post more news of a conviction is being reported today. Noteworthy in the news report is that one single victim was raped by more than 100 men. Yes, 100. This is a direct consequence of these people working in gangs as they pass their victims around in their community which completely rubbishes the argument then one shouldn't differentiate between white abusers and Pakistanis abusers.

Now I could go on but I wish to make some other points.

I continue to be gobsmacked by the prevalence of seemingly otherwise rational ppl in putting the issue of prejudice ahead of the child abuse that is causing the problem, of which the way this thread has developed is a typical example. I would hold those types directly responsible, yes directly, for facilitating the grooming gangs to go uncovered for so long and for doing absolutely nothing to
    ensure they will be uncovered in the future by continually clouding the discussion.

The ironic thing is that while those prejudice warriors complain about the far-right they are directly responsible for creating them as a result of accusing them of being racist and for inciting hatred by merely saying the kinds of things I have said above. To treat people like they are completely stupid is one great way to create a divide.

Lastly, Javid was wrong to use the word Asian. He should have said Pakistani. Unless Asia has shrank since I last checked. Rather that being wrong he was completely right and now some who might be more inclined to move more right have at least seen a tentative acknowledgement in government that there is a particular problem in the Pakistani community. The prejudice warriors must be livid with him. Good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

So the evil Tommy Robinson has now gone and helped fundraise for a new £20,000 wheelchair for a 7 year old with cerebral palsy. What a sick evil bastard the cheek of him fundraising for people who have served his country.

https://youtu.be/ipchA7656jI

Stephen15 wrote: »
    So the evil Tommy Robinson has now gone and helped fundraise for a new £20,000 wheelchair for a 7 year old with cerebral palsy. What a sick evil bastard the cheek of him fundraising for people who have served his country.

He may also be kind to animals, support a vegan diet and hug trees on occassion. He's still a vile right wing demagogue.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,352 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Stephen15 wrote: »

The Youtube channel of a convicted fraudster with multiple aliases is surely a reliable source.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith