UFC 229 Nurmagomedov vs McGregor - Sat Oct 6th **Warning in first post!**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Watched it this morning.

Aspen Ladd, beast.

Lewis with the greatest post fight interview of all time.

Ferguson and Pettis with one of the best ten minute brawls you will ever see.

An odd main event. Khabib won the first round due to control, but that was all. Second round he was dominant, but although the commentators were going wild, his ground and pound missed more than it hit, at one point he punched the mat full force. Surprised he didn't break his hand. Thought the ref did a good job of not stepping in, and I think towards the end of the ground and pound you can hear Conor shouting "I'm okay" while covering up.

Third round, Conor recovered, and won the round, stuffing almost every take down attempt, with a quick trip that he got back up from, but he was still wasn't using his range and precision like he normally would. Standing way too close, so much so that his corner advised him against it between rounds.

Then he did the same in the fourth, got taken down, tried to roll to start a sweep, but Khabib rolled with him, and took his back, and tried to lock in the RNC. Didn't quite get his arm under, so turned it into a modifed neck crank, which Conor tried briefly to escape from, and then tapped to prevent any serious damage.

Then Khabib went crazy, tried to double foot stomp on Danis' head. Conor tried jumping the cage after him, but was grabbed by security, then Khabibs coach tried climbing the cage, so Conor climbed up and hit him, and was again dragged off the cage, when Khabib's teammates jumped the fence and attacked him from behind.

Absolutely crazy stuff, just mental.

It obviously goes back to the bus incident, which goes back to the Lobov incident. Hopefully this'll be the end of it, but there's huge money in a rematch, because despite it being a clear win for Khabib (even on points before the finish), it's not the mauling that some people have described, and the brawl sells the rematch by itself.

Ye because it was the 3rd round and Conor was in a real fight and getting tired. Should Khabib just stand there and allow Conor to work to all his strengths, instead of tiring Conor from the off in round one so he couldn't use his precision and range? Another thinly veiled way of saying that if the "real Conor" turned up he would of won, regardless of what the opponent might do. This is the problem with Conor and always was, after a few digs can't stand there and slug it out without looking dead on his feet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 301 ✭✭Muscles Schultz

Amazingfun wrote: »
    No, he didn't jump over the cage, and no, it was not "unprovoked".
    What a joke some of you are, sorry.

Carry on.

You’re starting to look like a silly billy now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Nurmagomedov by Decision
    A question on Round 3. For me, it's conceivable that either of them won it and while watching it live, I definitely thought Khabib was slowing down. However, it was clear at this stage he had no respect for McGregor's power. He stood right in front of him, centre of the Octagon, hands down.

My question is was he really slowing down (and thus was there a ray of light for McGregor) or was he just taking it off, waiting to re-engage in the 4th? Think he only went for two takedown attempts in it.

I think he took a round off to catch a breather.

He did the same against Al in his last 5 rounder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Managed to stay up all night, and fell asleep for the Ferguson/Pettis fight, the rage.

Conor didn't seem to ever get going properly, although he did better than I was expecting on the ground, he was still losing decisively but a good chunk of the gnp wasn't doing much to him.

Props to going after Khabib every chance though, ballsy.

That sub is painful as **** as well, if you're not tapping it's highly likely your jaw is gonna pop from the pressure.

Also, the absolute lols of this thread from some people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,871 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Nurmagomedov by Sub
    Anyone have any theories on why McGregor's shots were having little or no affect on Khabib? Even against Nate Diaz he still managed to visibly hurt him a number of times. He never seemed to trouble Khabib though. Was it:
    • Ring rust / not connecting right?
    • Getting his energy taken in the first round and not having any power after?
    • Khabib was blocking them or has a crazy strong jaw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,138 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Ye because it was the 3rd round and Conor was in a real fight and getting tired. Should Khabib just stand there and allow Conor to work to all his strengths, instead of tiring Conor from the off in round one so he couldn't use his precision and range? Another thinly veiled way of saying that if the "real Conor" turned up he would of won, regardless of what the opponent might do. This is the problem with Conor and always was, after a few digs can't stand there and slug it out without looking dead on his feet

Not sure where you're getting that interpretation from.

Right from the start of the first round he walked Khabib back to the cage, and fought at a closer range than he has in pretty much every other fight he's had in the UFC, and his last few fights in CW.

Maybe he thought that was the best strategy to take against the best wrestler ever seen in the UFC, but it was different than we've seen from him.

The last time he fought a renowned wrestler was Chad Mendes, and he started that off with a big spinning back kick to the body, and used body kicks, and front kicks from a comfortable range.

He didn't do that in this fight.

It's called analysis, not blind fanboyism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

CatFromHue wrote: »

Ah here it's very common place for fighters to mock where opponents are from.

Are you seriously saying it is fair game to call a nation backwards just to get an easy publicity jibe in and get the fanboys in a state of giggles.

For an internet moderator, that's a pretty "backwards" way of looking at things. I have seen posters banned for far less comments on these forums

Also it was pretty damn clear what he was doing with the whiskey nonsense. You would want to be blind not to see he was setting it up to get a jibe at the fact he doesn't drink because of his religion.

His constant Chechnya references, as if Khabib is party to the atrocities and the "chicken jaws in Dagestan" comment, all ethnic slurs.

This from a man who posted a posted a photo of himself with Putin with the caption "Today I was invited to the World Cup final as a guest of Russian President Vladimir Putin.
    This man is one of the greatest leaders of our time and I was honored to attend such a landmark event alongside him.
    Today was an honor for me Mr. Putin. Thank you and congratulations on an amazing World Cup. "

He is an intellect moron. A great fighter, a good self promoter (because fanboys buy into all that) but attempting wierd slurs regarding someone's background, no he mhade an idiot of himself there and lost a lot of moral respect

Man, the gulf here was huge. McGregor hardly touched Khabib in any meaningful way. Even taking into account an improvement from McGregor, he still ain't beating this guy

You may well be right. Khabib is a beast and it's hard to see what anyone can do to beat him.
    I think Diaz might give him more trouble than Ferguson would. He has good BJJ.
    Conor would be best dodging for now at least.

It was mainly Round 3 that made me wonder what Conor of 2016 would have done. The precision punching he showed against Alvarez, Aldo and Diaz just wasn't there.

I think his 2 year absence didn't help. But maybe he was just terrified of another takedown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,727 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

If Khabib just calls a few sexual assault victims liars he could be a supreme court justice be the end of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Probably has been mentioned already, but this guy Danis...any idea what he said that caused a lot of this commotion?

Was Khabib going to go after someone regardless, or is it what that fella said that pushed things over the edge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,720 ✭✭✭✭walshb

McGregor by Sub

He is an intellect moron. A great fighter, a good self promoter (because fanboys buy into all that) but attempting wierd slurs regarding someone's background, no he made an idiot of himself there and lost a lot of moral respect

I actually wouldn’t call him a great fighter...

Of all MMA fighters he is one I like to watch. His style appeals to me, but a great fighter for me needs to show a more complete game..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

You may well be right. Khabib is a beast and it's hard to see what anyone can do to beat him.
    I think Diaz might give him more trouble than Ferguson would. He has good BJJ.
    Conor would be best dodging for now at least.

It was mainly Round 3 that made me wonder what Conor of 2016 would have done. The precision punching he showed against Alvarez, Aldo and Diaz just wasn't there.

I think his 2 year absence didn't help. But maybe he was just terrified of another takedown.

Diaz is a good shout. He could stand the heat when the going gets tough, and deal with Khabib's power on the ground better than most

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,904 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

McGregor by Sub
    LowOdour wrote: »
    Probably has been mentioned already, but this guy Danis...any idea what he said that caused a lot of this commotion?

Was Khabib going to go after someone regardless, or is it what that fella said that pushed things over the edge?

Who knows, but pretty much any time Danis opens his mouth is to say something crass and knuckleheaded. The lad is a wrongbrain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭xtal191

McGregor by Sub
    Chuck Liddell is spot on imo

https://www.instagram.com/p/Bonsfh0lOwE/
    Incredible performance by both fighters @thenotoriousmma and @khabib_nurmagomedov But to end it like they did was a huge embarrassment to the sport. We (fighters)are sportsmen and champions and we should hold ourselves to a higher standard. We owe it to our fans and the sport itself. I don’t know when things started turning into some kind of **** show?!!! Unfortunately, when you allow more and more B.S. during weigh ins and outside of fights; You only slap fighters on the wrist for acting like barbarians and then offer them bigger contracts and reward them for this behavior. There is no penalty for their actions and it condones this type of behavior and consequently our sport loses its sacred respect. #respect #honor #martialarts #champion #goldenboypromotions #timeshavechanged #sportsmanship #whatashame

Nurmagomedov by Decision
    LowOdour wrote: »

Think it was to do with this post and a few comments made this week

https://www.instagram.com/p/Bn9xGwQAZt9/?hl=en&taken-by=dillondanis

Anyone have any theories on why McGregor's shots were having little or no affect on Khabib? Even against Nate Diaz he still managed to visibly hurt him a number of times. He never seemed to trouble Khabib though. Was it:

Khabib is rumoured to have a glass jaw, although no one yet has stood for long enough to test that.

I'd have to watch the fight again, but Conor just wasn't at it at all even in Round 3 on the feet.

Probably a combination of ring rust, fatigue and fear of Khabibs next takedown. But he can do much better than he did.

Nurmagomedov by Decision
    Khabib is rumoured to have a glass jaw, although no one yet has stood for long enough to test that.

I'd have to watch the fight again, but Conor just wasn't at it at all even in Round 3 on the feet.

Probably a combination of ring rust, fatigue and fear of Khabibs next takedown. But he can do much better than he did.

Im sorry but where did you hear this ?

Ive seen this line trotted out a lot in criticism of Khabib but still yet to see any evidence. The man walked through Mcgregors shots last night and has never been floored in his career.

I think its a myth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

McGregor by Sub
    xtal191 wrote: »
    Chuck Liddell is spot on imo

https://www.instagram.com/p/Bonsfh0lOwE/

Respect, honour, sportsmanship....goldenboy promotions lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

McGregor by Sub
    McGregor looked so far off where he was in 2016. Not only did he not have any power in his shots, he was much slower too. I thought he should have taken a warm up fight before this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Conor actually did better with the wrestling than I thought he would. He made Khabib work for most of his takedowns and even got up back to his feet from under Khabib once which nobody does really.

His striking seems to have slowed down or something though. Used to be super quick but he seems much more laboured these days. Granted the fear of the takedown probably stopped him from committing fully to his punches.

ricero wrote: »
    Im sorry but where did you hear this ?

Ive seen this line trotted out a lot in criticism of Khabib but still yet to see any evidence. The man walked through Mcgregors shots last night and has never been floored in his career.

I think its a myth.

In one of his recent fights against pretty much a no hoper, Khabib was hit and hurt.

I just watched last night's fight again. Conor is getting little to no power on his punches. He didn't hit Khabib once with a strong left. He was so slow as well. Didn't counter punch any of Khabibs attacks.

He just completely gassed again. It happens to him all the time. Ring rust probably impacted him early on, fatigue ended him. And that bear wrestling monster 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭James 007

News just in from McGregor, Proper 12 whiskey is now available on TAP in all Dublin pubs for 1 day only

His left hand was not cocked where it usually is. He was holding his hands much lower to protect against the takedown.

That's just an observation, not an excuse. They had a long time to prepare and develop a strategy and whatever they came up with was awful.

The other aspect is that he normally sets up his strikes with traps, movement, feints. These seemed to be totally absent - certainly after the first round. I think he was just too gassed to employ any of it. He was standing flat-footed in front of Khabib and trying to simply beat him to the punch. Which is the type of amateur MMA striking he has oft criticised in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Nurmagomedov by Sub
    TCM wrote: »
    Mcgregor was attacked from behind. He didn't do anything.

Except throw a sucker punch at an oul lad from Khabibs corner. Saint Conor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,720 ✭✭✭✭walshb

McGregor by Sub
    eagle eye wrote: »
    The thing that concerned me about Conor was how light he looked. He came in half a pound under and didn't look like he'd put on much weight when they got to the ring last night.

I thought Conor looked bigger/heavier than Khabib in the fight...

Khabib still had a visible tone to his midriff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,920 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Nurmagomedov by Sub
    A question on Round 3. For me, it's conceivable that either of them won it and while watching it live, I definitely thought Khabib was slowing down. However, it was clear at this stage he had no respect for McGregor's power. He stood right in front of him, centre of the Octagon, hands down.

My question is was he really slowing down (and thus was there a ray of light for McGregor) or was he just taking it off, waiting to re-engage in the 4th? Think he only went for two takedown attempts in it.

I think Khabib chose to stand in the 3rd round, maybe trying to show that he could beat him standing too but McGregor edged that round.

Khabib did exactly what everyone expected him to try, took McGregor down early, wore him out and finished him.

McGregor never got started, very flatfooted from the start, didn't control the range, didn't get any shots off before being taken down.

Nurmagomedov by Sub
    Dana White is so full of sh1t - his fake outrage afterwards was pathetic and he came out with so much hypocritical garbage that it was silly.

McGregor was smashed to pieces in that fight. He knew what was coming before it started - he looked positively scared sh1tless in the ring before it started.

no point in a rematch.

the king is back? the king was pummeled .

some of the straw-clutching around winning round 3 on points here is sad to see.

Nurmagomedov by Decision
    glasso wrote: »
    Dana White is so full of sh1t - his fake outrage afterwards was pathetic and he came out with so much hypocritical garbage that it was silly.

McGregor was smashed to pieces in that fight. He knew what was coming before it started - he looked positively scared sh1tless in the ring before it started.

no point in a rematch.

the king is back? the king was pummeled .

some of the straw-clutching around winning round 3 on points here is sad to see.

Have to agree with you on that one. His ring walk didnt seem right at all and neither did he when he was in the cage and Bruce was doing the introduction.

He feared Khabib.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,727 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Depsite all the reports of fighting on thr strip etc, ive just seen footage of one fight? Possibly in the Arena lobby. Its overblown?

Nurmagomedov by Sub
    J Mysterio wrote: »
    Depsite all the reports of fighting on thr strip etc, ive just seen footage of one fight? Possibly in the Arena lobby. Its overblown?

seems to be the case. no reports of mass brawls.