Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

UFC 229 Nurmagomedov vs McGregor - Sat Oct 6th **Warning in first post!**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,034 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

corny wrote: »
    I see McGregor throwing a left at the skinny lad backing up. I don't see a finger landed on him until the bigger fella gets going.

Fella in black swings at Conor then fella in red jumps cage and sucker punches him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Nurmagomedov by Decision
    173 TKO Mcgregor trololo.... Finished the obvious way.

Shame he then went and spoiled everything but such is life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,923 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Full fight on YouTube. Looks like the choke wasn't fully lock in but McGregor still tapped??

https://youtu.be/T1dSg_lTeLc

It was a neck crank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

McGregor by Decision
    So did Conor win the 3rd?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

Nothing beats a Conor McGregor thread for showing just how Irish people hate to see other Irish people do well
    Its quiet sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Sure he is, just like after the bus incident ? :rolleyes

Dana is creaming his pants right now at all the money he's going to make when these 2 fight again.

Who knows how he really feels. He knows they will be coming for khabib so he'll probably wait to see if khabib even gets the chance to get in again any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,888 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

As much as Dana likes money I don't think he'll be too happy with this when he's getting the blame for any incident that happens out on the streets nearby for the rest of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,500 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

McGregor by Sub
    Post presser live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

irishman86 wrote: »
    Nothing beats a Conor McGregor thread for showing just how Irish people hate to see other Irish people do well
    Its quiet sad

He didn't do well though. He got dominated

Full fight on YouTube. Looks like the choke wasn't fully lock in but McGregor still tapped??

It was a crank. It's bloody painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭liam7831

irishman86 wrote:
    Nothing beats a Conor McGregor thread for showing just how Irish people hate to see other Irish people do well Its quiet sad

Quite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭TJ Mackie

McGregor by Sub
    Fella in black swings at Conor then fella in red jumps cage and sucker punches him.

if you watch it, conor and another guy wrap up also AFTER the guy in red swings at him - don't know if it was the original guy in black or a third guy...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

He didn't do well though. He got dominated

Sad just sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,828 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Didn't kabib say he was done after this fight? So I don't think a ban or visa talk will bother him. Good riddance to him. His fights are a borefest.

Twitter will definitely supply the the lulz today

Go away ya little fan boy. Fights are boring? It's mixed martial arts not kick boxing. His level of grappling and ground domination is a sight to behold. Animal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

McGregor by Sub
    myshirt wrote: »
    Have you any links or are you just making sh't up again?

When did I make **** up? And the link is below it ye clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Finding it harder and harder to believe that these incidents aren’t pre-planned. It’s an awfully convenient reason for another recording-breaking rematch in a fight that was an conclusive as you could get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Nurmagomedov by Sub

No. It wasn't under the chin but it was a fully locked in neck crank.

Let me take your back and out in the RNC on your chin and you'll tap in about 4 seconds.

And I'm a really bad blue belt.

There's no early tap there. If he didn't tap he was either going to sleep it getting a broken jaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,351 ✭✭✭Guffy

Sure he is, just like after the bus incident ? :rolleyes:

Dana is creaming his pants right now at all the money he's going to make when these 2 fight again.

Not a notion they fight again.

1) Khabib wont get licensed

2) Conor was hammered tonight, wasn't even close. Not even a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Neck crank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,841 ✭✭✭corny

Its quiet sad

Might be more basic....people don't like him because he's not a nice character. He sank to new depths 'promoting' this fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

McGregor by Sub
    lol, ah twitter.....better to laugh than listen to the gloaters, the feckers:

https://twitter.com/Trizzzy_T/status/1048803465202290688

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭ASOT

McGregor by Sub
    In Fairness the mctapper/slagging him for tapping out are gas, I'd love to see them in a RNC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

McGregor by Sub
    Not to be unexpected, videos on social media of fan fights afterwords.

Years of establishing MMA as a real sport, a great night of fights and then it ends like that. A big setback for real fans and a terrible shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Sure he is, just like after the bus incident ? :rolleyes:

The difference with that is that Khabib isn't the same level of draw as McGregor. His fighting style doesn't draw in the casual fan and he is brutal at promotion not to mention unreliable. McGregor earned Dana's patiemce. Khabib has not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Sad just sad

I think it's a silly notion that I have to like someone just because they are Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭mancduff

https://twitter.com/FOXSports/status/1048804260094214149

Still a scummy K u nt Khabib.

Made me laugh though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

I suppose proper MMA fans would have predicted fight was going that way. Never saw a fight like that before - never saw a guy just want to pin you to the ground so much...I don’t think I’d be staying up for Khabib fights - always seemed in control...What there anything Mcgregor could have done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,819 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

McGregor by Sub
    Mellor wrote: »
    Again, nobody has done so.

You haven't. Any reasonable posters haven't.
    I'm not having a go at any of the regular, normal people here.
    But plenty of people have tried to justify it.

The bus incidient was completely out of order too. As was Belator. I slated Conor at the time for both.
    But it doesn't justify this in any shape. Massive blow to the sport.

I haven't seen anyone attempting to justify it in the slightest. There have been some suggestions of "you reap what you sow" and that's about it. Nobody has said this kind of thing is acceptable.

Unequivocally, McGregor for sucker punched for which there is no justification or excuse whatsoever. Whoever the two lads are should be arrested and charged, never mind banned by the UFC.

After he tapped, McGregor sat there and took Khabib roaring in his face like a man, which can't have been easy for him. Khabib's initial reaction after the tap is highly understandable given the way McGregor has abused him. Highly unsportsmanlike, but understandable.

The suggestion is (from Rogan at least) that Danis said or did something to further incite Khabib and prompt him to jump the cage. Again, that is completely inexcusable and unacceptable, regardless of what Danis did. Khabib is, or at least is supposed to be, a professional athlete, not a thug on the street. He had just won, convincingly, what may have been the biggest fight in MMA history. That should have been more than enough.

Whoever brought the "religion of peace" comment into things, kindly crawl back into your hole. The actions of one man have no bearing whatsoever on an entire faith.

Finding it harder and harder to believe that these incidents aren’t pre-planned. It’s an awfully convenient reason for another recording-breaking rematch in a fight that was an conclusive as you could get.

Yeah making it so that he's possibly never allowed back into America again is a great set up for a rematch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,500 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool