Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Sheep winter fodder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭early_riser

Thanks for the info.

We'd be feeding them along a concrete passage-way with them inside on straw behind a feed barrier so they'd be sticking their heads out to eat it.

Did you feed straw or hay with the beet for fibre? I mean, is beet like concentrates and too much of it could cause acidosis?

Do you have beet ordered? Lots grown around here but most forward bought this year by dairy men and beef finishers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭orm0nd

That’s another reason why I’d prefer not to be relying on it either. Spoke to the biggest mill in my area and was told their not taking in any new bulk delivery customers atm when I enquired about getting a few tonne blown in.

they're not able to fulfil their dairy customer deliveries just now , let down a lot of people badly over the august bank holiday weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

orm0nd wrote: »
    they're not able to fulfil their dairy customer deliveries just now , let down a lot of people badly over the august bank holiday weekend

Can't blame them really, demand is unprecedented

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Do you have beet ordered? Lots grown around here but most forward bought this year by dairy men and beef finishers

I'll check with him later today. 4-5 ton would probably do us.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I'll check with him later today. 4-5 ton would probably do us.

He said we’d be grand for that amount anyway so just need to check now whether all beet (plus some concentrate) might cause acidosis.

Anyone? Will we need to feed a little hay or straw for fibre with the beet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Here is my 2 cents Getting the minerals and protein in a mix you do yourself is impossible. If you can buy a ration with 18% protein (soya bean meal sourced)it will be hard to beat it. Getting the balance of minerals in a ewes diet is a fine line if you get it wrong sheep health is affected(more hardship for the shepherd)
    Cut costs where you can but that might not be the place.
    Scan the ewes and feed the singles less might be a better saving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭memorystick

Would this be a good year to buy store lambs? Thinking of buying 50 and grazing them on the silage ground and beet tops with meal. Hoping to buy December 1. Any advice. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Would this be a good year to buy store lambs? Thinking of buying 50 and grazing them on the silage ground and beet tops with meal. Hoping to buy December 1. Any advice. Thanks

good to buy now, not sure about december though

Was talking to a lad lives nearby yesterday he has sheep and tillage. He cut oats couple of weeks ago and kept some for himself was going to disc a stubble field and spread out the oats over field,then roll and let it grow for his early lambing ewes in jan feb give his grass a chance get going.
    In another field he is going to sow maize in next year he has ewes grazing any volunteer grain and around the ditches at the min, going to sow a rye vetch mix middle of next month, graze early and get a cut of silage early may before he tills for maize. He says it would work well for someone that wants to grow beet or kale aswell.
    Could be options for anyone with stubble fields to help stretch things a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭memorystick

ganmo wrote: »
    good to buy now, not sure about december though

I've no money at the minute and it should be Nov/Dec before I could buy stock. Even 1 lamb per hectare at that time of year should be ok with a pinch of meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Said i’d throw this in here, might be interesting for some...

http://www.nuffieldinternational.org/live/Report/1448138122MikeMillereditedreport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭DJ98

Have very little hay made this year, was wondering if I ordered twice the amount of beet this year and used hay just as roughage would this suffice in lamb ewes over the winter. Is there any risks associated with feeding too much beet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Floody Boreland

From the link provided by Dinzee Conlee...

All Winter Grazing for Sheep ... by Michael Miller
    A
    Nuffield Farming Scholarships Trust report
    ... generously sponsored by David Allen, Esq.

“To obtain this constant
    supply of fresh grass, let us suppose that a farmer who has
    any extent of pasture ground, should have it divided into 15 or 20 divisions, nearly
    all of equal value: and that, instead of allowing his beasts to roam indiscriminately
    through the whole at once
    , he collects the whole number of beasts that he intends
    to feed into one flock, and turns them all at once into these divisions; which, being
    quite fresh, and of sufficient length of bite, would please their pallet so much as to
    induce them to eat of it g
    reedily, and fill their bellies before they thought of
    roaming about, and thus destroying it with their feet.
    And if the number of beasts were so great as to consume the best part of the grass
    of one of these enclosures in one day, they might be al
    lowed to
    remain there no
    longer;
    giving them a fresh park every morning, so as that same delicious repast
    might be again repeated.
    And, if there were just so many parks as there required days to make the grass of
    these fields advance to a proper length after being
    eat bare down, the first field
    would be ready to receive them by the time they had gone over all the others; so
    that they might be thus carried round in a constant rotation.”

Rotational grazing from 1777.

DJ98 wrote: »
    Have very little hay made this year, was wondering if I ordered twice the amount of beet this year and used hay just as roughage would this suffice in lamb ewes over the winter. Is there any risks associated with feeding too much beet?

Going to try a similar diet here too. Need to be careful of beet being bulky and ewes potentially getting too fat. I’m guessing the bigger stomach might also put pressure on the lambs chamber (can’t remember technical name!) and might lead to more prolapses.

Anyone have experience on here of using beet as the main part of in-lamb ewes’ diets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Done another paddock of silage today but still going to be tight on fodder. Decided against chopping it this year, to reduce wastage. Anyone know the recommended ratio of bales to ewes to get over the winter ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,347 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Going to try a similar diet here too. Need to be careful of beet being bulky and ewes potentially getting too fat. I’m guessing the bigger stomach might also put pressure on the lambs chamber (can’t remember technical name!) and might lead to more prolapses.

Anyone have experience on here of using beet as the main part of in-lamb ewes’ diets?

Fed a lot of beet to ewes for the last two winters , both in the fields and ad-lib with in the shed with straw , no problems with prolapse, used to add minerals into the chopper before chopping

Thanks for the info. Just need to find some straw now!

In all the calculators, they all leave it up to yourself how many days feed you think you’ll need, how many days winter feed are lads planning for this winter ? I’ve optimistically hoping to have grass up till mid nov, silage to start / mid March and plug all other gaps with meal ? How does that compare ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

In all the calculators, they all leave it up to yourself how many days feed you think you’ll need, how many days winter feed are lads planning for this winter ? I’ve optimistically hoping to have grass up till mid nov, silage to start / mid March and plug all other gaps with meal ? How does that compare ?

Its hard to know . all i know is 50 bales(30-35% DM) does us for around 120 ewes. Very hard to actually calculate it when youre supplementing with meal and if there outside with a pick of grass

That doesn’t sound too bad. I’ve been feeding chopping silage over the last few years and it wasn’t going that far, so gave up the chopping this year. Hoping it will make a difference and silage will go further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,347 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

In all the calculators, they all leave it up to yourself how many days feed you think you’ll need, how many days winter feed are lads planning for this winter ? I’ve optimistically hoping to have grass up till mid nov, silage to start / mid March and plug all other gaps with meal ? How does that compare ?[/quote

1 bale for 2 ewes with single lambs or a bit more over that length of time, ewes carrying twins will eat less

Anyone get any prices for beet yet this year?

Do sheep gorge on beet? Or do they just eat their fill?

We might be feeding beet outside and I’m thinking of spreading lots of beet around the field to save bringing out a day’s worth at a time.

Is it likely some will “overeat”?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭drive it

I have hay and silage got this year but it's only 2/3 of what I need 2 questions : 1) which should I buy hay or silage both are more or less the same price?
    2) which should be fed first the hay or silage?

• Site Banned Posts: 272 ✭✭Loves_lorries

Keep a handful of lambs here to graze field around house, lambs weigh about 50kg,was wondering how much meal they would need per day over the winter, would 5 kg do ten each day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Box09

Are these ewe lambs that you are going to sell for breeding hoggets?

• Site Banned Posts: 272 ✭✭Loves_lorries

Box09 wrote: »
    Are these ewe lambs that you are going to sell for breeding hoggets?

Fatten for xmas

Anyone get any prices for beet yet this year?

Was talking to a local dairy farmer this evening hes paying E55 a tonne washed and delivered for beet, expensive feeding enough i taught.
    How are people fixed for fodder now? With the good back end might just scrape by here with what i have but would like to get another few bales or take a bit grazing if i could get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭sheepfarmer92

Was talking to a local dairy farmer this evening hes paying E55 a tonne washed and delivered for beet, expensive feeding enough i taught.
    How are people fixed for fodder now? With the good back end might just scrape by here with what i have but would like to get another few bales or take a bit grazing if i could get it

Used to get beet for 40 a ton here washed but it's an awkward feed, never found it much good to be honest, high enough in energy but full of water