Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Personal picture uploaded to social media without consent

• 01-10-2018 03:24PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭

Hi
    How are you? I recently came aware of someone putting up a very personal picture of me on some social media platform but I don't know which one.
    Does anyone know any good way of finding this out, like a private investigator or some online tools.
    It's very worrying and distressful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

How did you find out?

Would the person who told you not have told you what platform it was on and you could investigate the claim yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

How personal, and were you in a public place at the time? Personal, as in naked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭paleoperson

raher1 wrote: »
    Hi
    How are you? I recently came aware of someone putting up a very personal picture of me on some social media platform but I don't know which one.
    Does anyone know any good way of finding this out, like a private investigator or some online tools.

A private investigator, what?! :confused: A PI would involve aggressive stalking and surveying by every means possible and require huge fees. I'm sure he would join in on your game of grabass if you really want, but it would cost you thousands of euros.

This is probably a long-shot and maybe you already tried it, but have you tried uploading the image to google search?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

If you have a copy of the picture you could put it in google images and see if it pops up elsewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭raher1

In my house and I was about to take shower
    the_syco wrote: »
    How personal,
    and were you in a public place at the time? Personal, as in naked?

Do you know any private investigators who know do this kinda stuff I have no image to work off.
    A private investigator, what?! :confused: A PI would involve aggressive stalking and surveying by every means possible and require huge fees. I'm sure he would join in on your game of grabass if you really want, but it would cost you thousands of euros.

This is probably a long-shot and maybe you already tried it, but have you tried uploading the image to google search?

No.
    wexie wrote: »
    If you have a copy of the picture you could put it in google images and see if it pops up elsewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Hi

How did you become aware of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Do you know who took the photo?

Can you find out who has it or took it?

You need to report to Gardai.

You need to contact data commissioner also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Heebie

There are image search tools from Google and other entities that might help you track down where it was posted depending on private settings, but you need a copy of the photo that was posted for those searches to use as a reference. (Not the exact same file used, but the same image)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭GarIT

Gardaí is the only option really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

GarIT wrote: »

Its hearsay until he sees it himself Gar.

Not really, you need proof.
    The day of Garda having a quiet word is gone.
    I have a feeling who is doing it
    GarIT wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Not really, you need proof.
    The day of Garda having a quiet word is gone.
    I have a feeling who is doing it

Have a feeling?
    Is it a house share or something?

You can report it to Gardai and give all information you have.

Say you are extremely worried.

Hear say is right.
    I hear things alright.
    Any know anyone in Facebook
    STB. wrote: »
    Its hearsay until he sees it himself Gar.

It's my own house. I was in my house.
    It was a few years back I was alone and some peeping Tom tespassed and took a picture I think, it's info on picture I am getting
    Have a feeling?
    Is it a house share or something?

You can report it to Gardai and give all information you have.

Say you are extremely worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,358 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

raher1 wrote:
    It's my own house. I was in my house. It was a few years back I was alone and some peeping Tom tespassed and took a picture I think, it's info on picture I am getting

Unless you know for definite where it had been posted online your only realistic option is to get a solicitor to write to the perpetrator threatening legal action unless all online copies are removed and the image destroyed.
    You don't need to be specific nor give a clue that you don't know where it is shared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

It's my own house. I was in my house.
    It was a few years back I was alone and some peeping Tom tespassed and took a picture I think, it's info on picture I am getting

And where are you getting this info?

Did you know someone had taken a picture at the time?

Or has this been recently revealed to you?

How has someone told you there is a picture of you about to take a shower circulating online, but not actually showed you the picture or given you any information further to that?

Not trying to be rude, but this thread seems like a wind up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,404 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Have you actually seen the the photo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

Hear say is right.
    I hear things alright.
    Any know anyone in Facebook

I know a lot of people in facebook. Important people. People who can get things done.

No
    quote="PirateShampoo;108234455"]Have you actually seen the the photo?[/quote]

I heard a photo is being shared around in a local town but I haven't seen the picture.
    A bit dump and I avoid the place
    How has someone told you there is a picture of you about to take a shower circulating online, but not actually showed you the picture or given you any information further to that?

Not trying to be rude, but this thread seems like a wind up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,954 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

You're going to have to follow up what you have "heard" and get some actual information - something factual. Without that, you have nothing to go on, and certainly nothing you could take to the guards or to the social media providers to get them to take any kind of action.

Your opening query was, basically, "what is a good way of tracking down the intrusive image of me that, I am told, has been posted online?" And the answer is "from someone who has seen the image, and who can point you to it". If you're interested, talk to the people who have told you this image exists, and ask them to point you to it, or to point you to people who have seen it, and then go and talk to those people. And so on, until you see the image yourself. And, if you never see it, odds are it doesn't exist and someone has been winding you up. (And, even if it does exist, it's obviously so hard to find that in reality it can't cause you much embarrassment or do you much damage.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭bassy

load of bs.....................................

I don't think so
    bassy wrote: »
    load of bs.....................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

I don't think so

Well it's either you're winding us up or someone else is winding you up. Because if someone else has seen it then just ask them where they've seen it???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Mod
    Closing for mod review