Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Light Recommendations (formerly Front Light For Dark Country) Road Commute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Traffic is back, the night is starting to claw its way back into mornings and evenings, and dull and wet days are ahead. It's time to resurrect the annual thread on lights.

I've seen a girl riding around Terenure in the evenings with multicoloured spoke lights. Obviously fnck all use for seeing, but incredibly conspicuous, looks like a really good augmentation to standard front and back lights, especially for commuting.

Anyone know the best of these? I've bought enough cheap lights in my time to know that spending €6 on a yoke from Halfords will need to replaced before Christmas after wrestling with it and hitting it for several weeks beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,785 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I think I'm convinced on the dyno hub. But I have a question - are all hubs created equal? I know resistance/ drag is probably not equal, but if it states 6v 3w, will it power any of the options?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Macy0161 wrote: »
    I think I'm convinced on the dyno hub. But I have a question - are all hubs created equal? I know resistance/ drag is probably not equal, but if it states 6v 3w, will it power any of the options?

From the power point of view yes. 6V 3W is the same regardless of hub. There are 2.4W hubs available also so be aware of these.

From the product quality point of view, there are a host of options...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

I have a cheap cree one and tape off the top half of the light with black insulating tape.. Stops light from blinding peeps and driving into me. Battery lasts for hours and lights up everything on the dark back roads...

recent purchase? any link to it? Suitable for dark roads at 26kph?

cdaly_ wrote: »
    From the power point of view yes. 6V 3W is the same regardless of hub. There are 2.4W hubs available also so be aware of these.

From the product quality point of view, there are a host of options...
    Is there any site that I can see comparisons/ reviews, or is it just get what you pay for? Nexus DH-C3000 was the hub I was looking at...

That's a solid-axle hub rather than quick release. As I understand it, both solid axle and quick release hubs fit the same frame so I'd go for quick release as the preferred option.

If you're not up to building a wheel yourself (actually a fun task), I'd suggest buying a pre-built wheel rather than a dynamo by itself.

cdaly_ wrote: »
    If you're not up to building a wheel yourself (actually a fun task), I'd suggest buying a pre-built wheel rather than a dynamo by itself.
    Yeah, I was looking at wheels rather than just hubs. I'm kinda still in the which bike to commute on dilemma from the flamme rouge thread. Very tempted by that offer from rose, but than that means better bike rather than current lower cost commuter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭italodisco

Order from gearbest.com, cree 3000 lumen front light, 30 quid with shipping.

I have a 3000 and 6000 lumen, both are absolute beasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭benneca1

Weepsie wrote: »
    italodisco wrote: »

They are overkill for roads here. You know when you think a driver is being dangerous when they have the full headlights on into on coming traffic?

These are worse.
    Agree if you are on roads get a road specific light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Justwinginit

ILIKEFOOD wrote: »
    recent purchase? any link to it? Suitable for dark roads at 26kph?
    Definitely suitable for dark roads at 26kph, you won't believe the light that comes from this for the price.....Here ya go https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01HI48VKQ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭clod71

Definitely suitable for dark roads at 26kph, you won't believe the light that comes from this for the price.....Here ya go https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01HI48VKQ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Thanks for that, I pushed the button last night on it...
    For that price, you can't really go wrong... and even if the beam is total ****e, it will still do me at low settings for the commute in the next few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,537 ✭✭✭✭ted1

italodisco wrote: »

They Blind other road users and also aren’t focusing on the road.
    I’d say that they offer poor lux compared to lumen

ted1 wrote: »
    They Blind other road users and also aren’t focusing on the road.
    I’d say that they offer poor lux compared to lumen

if they're not focusing on the road, where are they focusing? :rolleyes:
    Genuine question.

Broad scatter beam usually directing a lot of light upward which blinds drivers. Fine for MTB as there is no one else out there a real PITA on road for drivers and other cyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,537 ✭✭✭✭ted1

clod71 wrote: »
    if they're not focusing on the road, where are they focusing? :rolleyes:
    Genuine question.

Every where, so you have no better visibility than a light with 100 lumens that is focused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭halvis

I went for the CatEye 800 which is a nice slim light but powerful. Replacement batteries can be purchased, but are not as easy to get hold of tbh.

They are about €80 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

I use the lidl lights which have a car headlight beam, EUR12 with a poor back light.
    use them
    work grand for long trips like Clogher head to Stamullin at night, or Slane to Lusk

@Justwinginit I don't know how to thank you enough for your input. The light came yesterday and last night I went out on some back roads, in total darkness it was like riding at noon even at 40 km/h
    I still can't believe the amount of light is coming out of that...
    Given the price of it, I'm thinking of buying a second one... with a spare battery in the jersey pocket I think you could easily ride all night!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

@Justwinginit I don't know how to thank you enough for your input. The light came yesterday and last night I went out on some back roads, in total darkness it was like riding at noon even at 40 km/h
    Given the price of it, I'm thinking of buying a second one... with a spare battery in the jersey pocket I think you could easily ride all night!!!

is the beam focused enough to prevent dazzling on comers?? Need to sort one out for myself asap

ILIKEFOOD wrote: »
    is the beam focused enough to prevent dazzling on comers?? Need to sort one out for myself asap

I'd say not. Compare the Te-Rich to a B&M properly focussed light.
    1. The Te-Rich has a straight parabolic reflector with the led centred (this means light is sent up, down, sideways). The B&M has an led offset in a partial parabolic reflector (this means light is send in a more directed way).
    2. The Te-Rich has a plain cover glass (This means light is transmitted however it comes off the reflector). The B&M has a lens as cover glass (This means the light is focussed in some manner).
    3. The Te-Rich led is visible in the centre (This means much of its output is entirely undirected). The B&M led is under cover at the top of the reflector (This means all of its output is directed by the reflector).
    4. The Te-Rich beam pattern lights up trees, road, hedges and only a fraction of its light hits the road surface. The B&M beam pattern lights up the road and verges and all of its light hits the road surface.
    5. The Te-Rich will dazzle the fcuk out of oncoming road users unless you point it down to the point that it only lights the road in front of your wheel.

tldr: If you want a light for commuting, don't buy the Te-Rich (or anything of a similar nature). German street-legal lights will do a fine job...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Justwinginit

Ah good stuff....i taped off the top half of the light with black electrical tape to stop blinding peeps. My neighbour bought one after he seen the light from mine....i done croi and had it flashing and it lasted 4 and half hours and another couple of hours after that. I will be picking up another just for the spare battery.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,128 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Nine years later, I'm wondering did the OP ever get a suitable front light for a dark country road commute.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jethrothe2nd

Nine years later, I'm wondering did the OP ever get a suitable front light for a dark country road commute.:confused:
    Me too  - usually I stop commuting to work by bike over the winter, but this year I am strongly considering keeping going. Given that most of the way is on unlit back roads, I'm looking for a decent (ish) set of lights on a budget of about 60 squids. Anyone any recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Feck, I thought this thread was maybe a couple of years old. Time flies. :eek:

Exposure Strada 1200 pricey but still the best out there. Connect the remote switch and only use full when descending. You will get 12 hours plus of perfectly adequate light on medium and 36 on low which is grand if you are going slow and save the bright beam (4 hours ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jethrothe2nd

benneca1 wrote: »
    Exposure Strada 1200 pricey but still the best out there. Connect the remote switch and only use full when descending. You will get 12 hours plus of perfectly adequate light on medium and 36 on low which is grand if you are going slow and save the bright beam (4 hours ).
    I'd say I'd be receiving notice of divorce proceedings if I spent that much on a light.

Have my dynamo hub wheel picked out, german standard front and rear lights picked - what else do I need? I have 2 wire light cable in the basket. Is that it (apart from the rim tape and rotor for the new wheel)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Have my dynamo hub wheel picked out, german standard front and rear lights picked - what else do I need? I have 2 wire light cable in the basket. Is that it (apart from the rim tape and rotor for the new wheel)?

Lamp brackets?

Correct wiring connector for hub? Shimano and SP use a Lego block type connector, SON uses spades. The Lego block type usually comes in a bag with the dynamo hub, just need to make sure it's shipped with a built wheel. (I think I had to buy the spades separately when I got a SON wheel.) Its also worth buying a spare - they're cheap.

Does the rear light cable come with the correct connectors at each end?
    FWIW, the SON cable is the nicest - a very flexible co-ax with good insulation

Shimano Hub, with the lego block. Everything else is Busch + Müller - IQ-X headlamp, Toplight rear one for the rack. You made me look again at the wiring for the brake light function though, as appears to have to come from the headlight. It will have to wait until this evening though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Shimano Hub, with the lego block. Everything else is Busch + Müller - IQ-X headlamp, Toplight rear one for the rack. You made me look again at the wiring for the brake light function though, as appears to have to come from the headlight. It will have to wait until this evening though.

I think I got a bundled cable with a B&M Secula rear lamp before.

The brake-light function still only uses the same two wire cable as a standard rear light.