Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is your car history?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I'd be the opposite :)

Had several 5 series for a few weeks while my 05 3.0 TDI Quattro A6 was in for the infamous chain rattle issue and I didn't rate them at all as a competitor. (BMW fans may look away now) :p

- The E39 was a generation previous fair enough and looked great from outside, but was horribly dated and cramped inside.

- The first E60 I had was similarly cramped, awful media interface system, awkward control layout and not bothering to even put RHD wipers on it struck me as a cheapskate move for a supposedly premium car

- The second E60 was an MSport and this was nicer to be fair but still suffered the same core issues. Both of these were more suited as A4 competitors than A6 IMO given the size and layout

- I did get a 07 630i for a few days a year or so back and it wasn't too bad really :) My best "loaner" to-date though was probably the Merc E320 diesel I had for a day when a garage messed up my servicing booking, though the V6 TDI Q7 was pretty cool too! :)

I can't see myself leaving Audi really at this stage. I went from the 05 one to a 2010 one with a higher spec and again the 3L Quattro diesel. Where do you go from there? A Merc E-class is probably the only option ... although a friend has a 07 S-Class (S350 I think it is) and it's like new. Very very nice machine. :)

May I suggest an A7:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,260 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

May I suggest an A7:)

I dunno :) I see those and from some angles I think "niiiice!!", but then I see the the rear from another angle and it looks awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I dunno :) I see those and from some angles I think "niiiice!!", but then I see the the rear from another angle and it looks awful.

Yeah I know exactly what you mean. Maybe too close to what you already have too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,857 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

I'd be the opposite :)

Had several 5 series for a few weeks while my 05 3.0 TDI Quattro A6 was in for the infamous chain rattle issue and I didn't rate them at all as a competitor. (BMW fans may look away now) :p

- The E39 was a generation previous fair enough and looked great from outside, but was horribly dated and cramped inside.

- The first E60 I had was similarly cramped, awful media interface system, awkward control layout and not bothering to even put RHD wipers on it struck me as a cheapskate move for a supposedly premium car

- The second E60 was an MSport and this was nicer to be fair but still suffered the same core issues. Both of these were more suited as A4 competitors than A6 IMO given the size and layout

- I did get a 07 630i for a few days a year or so back and it wasn't too bad really :) My best "loaner" to-date though was probably the Merc E320 diesel I had for a day when a garage messed up my servicing booking, though the V6 TDI Q7 was pretty cool too! :)

I can't see myself leaving Audi really at this stage. I went from the 05 one to a 2010 one with a higher spec and again the 3L Quattro diesel. Where do you go from there? A Merc E-class is probably the only option ... although a friend has a 07 S-Class (S350 I think it is) and it's like new. Very very nice machine. :)

5 series a competitor to the a4 and e39 cramped :pac:

ive heard it all now :D

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

2000 Daewoo Matiz, green (bought 2005, first car, loved it, drove it til the HG blew)
    2004 Rover 45, blue (bought 2008, awful yoke, wrote it off in 2009)
    2003 Nissan Primera, wine (bought 2009, loved it, so comfy to drive)
    2008 Renault Grand Scenic Dynamique, silver (bought 2012, needed space for kids and dogs, really liked it despite the engine being a tad agricultural sounding, good amount of extras too)
    2012 Renault Grand Scenic Dynamique, black (bought 2018, same reasons as the previous one, nicer to drive than the previous one, missing the sunroof though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

BronsonTB wrote: »
    86 Capri
    91 Fiesta
    93 Fiesta
    94 Focus
    96 Civic
    96 Skyline
    10 Avensis

When did the kids come?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,260 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Cyrus wrote: »
    5 series a competitor to the a4 and e39 cramped :pac:

ive heard it all now :D

To be fair, as I said, the E39 was the previous gen to the E60 so not strictly a fair comparison vs a C6 gen A6

But compare an E60 to that era A6 and you'll find the cabin is a lot smaller (especially in the back), the media interface vs the MMI is clunky and awkward, the sitting position isn't as comfortable, the controls aren't as logically laid out, and in general it just doesn't stack up to what was it's primary rival at the time. The MSport pack does improve it a lot, but it's still smaller and not as well designed IMO.

I haven't had/driven an F10 or above so maybe that's changed (it does look much nicer inside and out), but in that previous generation anyway the A6 wins in every department.... again just my opinion though. BMW drivers will obviously disagree :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭maddness

Peugeot 205 XRAD van
    98’ Mitsubishi Lancer
    Ford Fairlane LTD Ghia 5.0 V8
    98’ Mazda MX6 Auto
    98’ Golf VR6
    99’ Nissan Maxima 3.0
    00’ Opel astra 1.4
    02’ Honda Civic 1.6 Vtech 3dr
    04 Vectra 1.6
    06 Volvo S401.8
    08 Audi A4 2.0 tdi
    10 Superb tdi 170 elegance
    14 520D M-Sport
    16 Golf R

Just a selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

87 Ford Fiesta 1.0L - my first car, and I loved it, had a dodgy handbrake, a radio that was intermittent at best and the driver's window only wound down about a quarter of the way towards the end which was a pain in the arse in car parks but a much loved car. Kept 2.5 years

96 Ford Fiesta 1.3L - traded first fiesta for this one and it was certainly a step up at the time. Six weeks after I got it I got a phone call from my mother who had just had a phone call from the guards to say my car had been found burnt out. While she had a **** attack on the phone to them, they then confirmed the registration, and it turned out to be my first fiesta which the garage obviously never bothered to change over to their name. I was devastated my first car had such a terrible ending. Didn't like the second fiesta in the end, had 6 punctures in one year and the idle control valve went three times. Not so much fun going into a sharp bend with a locked steering wheel. Decided to get rid. Kept 2 years.

00 Peugeot 206 1.3L Enjoyed the pug. It was a bit bigger than the fiesta, was nippy and felt a bit sportier. One of my former students crashed into me and tried to claim it was my fault, when it was his third crash of the year. he paid through the nose for a heap of panel beating and respray so he wouldn't have to go through his insurance (for the third time that year). Kept 2 years 9 months.

04 Peugeot 206 1.1L Previous pug had been a 5 door and went back to 3 door this time and soon regretted it. Had gotten used to having back doors and it became a pain in the arse climbing over seats to get stuff/let people in and out. Said never again. Kept it a year.

07 Honda Civic 1.4L - First car bought new. Loved it, again a step up from the pug, did two european roadtrips in it. Was stopped at a stop go roadworks in rural Norway with my brother in the pissing rain at the front of the queue and some poor Norwegian county council lad looking at us and looking at the reg over and back and eventually approaches. So we rolled down the window, 'Did you drive here all the way from Ireland?' - 'Yes we did' - 'I've never seen an Irish car before':D. So we chit chat for another minute and then he heads back to his post and gets on his walkie talkie. So the two of us were like 'bet he's saying 'you'll never guess what's coming through the roadworks, keep an eye out for the irish civic' Sure enough we get to the end of the single lane and there's three county council lads, eyes out on stalks waiting for us.:pac: Did the Atlantic Way/Trollstigen in Norway and Stelvio Pass in Switzerland in that car. She was a beast. Kept just under 9 years. Still feel the guilt for selling her.:(

15 Mercedes A160 1.5L first adventure with diesel - decided to trade the civic after 9 years and was on the lookout for another hatch. The A class with the newer shape caught my eye. A fine solid car, felt like it would go forever, but was smaller than the civic and ultimately wanted something a bit bigger and with a bit more power (if it was going to be diesel). Did a roadtrip around Scotland's islands and highlands in her this summer before selling so she got her outing. But I don't miss her at all. Kept 2 years 8 months.

16 BMW 420d (current car bought 2 months ago) replaced the Merc in July and my what a difference. First auto, and a lot more horsies coupled with RWD is making driving a lot more fun. Even after this short time I think it would be difficult to go back to FWD. Think I'll have this one for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭alpahaeagle

My Fist car was a Fiat 127 in blue.....Took the girlfriend now wife to bray quite a few times...also up to the Dublin mountains...Teaching some to drive in it and they went from 3rd to 1st and broke an engine mount....

Then the following
    Fiat Regta-Red
    FSO-1990...peice of crap
    Austin meastro- 1988
    Mitsubishi Lancer
    VW passat
    Renualt 21
    Mazda 323f ( the one with the pop up lights)
    Renault Luguna
    Rover 400
    Ford Escort
    Citreon ZX
    Alfa 133
    Fiat Brava
    Nissan Premire
    Rover 45
    VW passat 03
    MGF
    Renualt Lunga
    Rover 75
    MGF
    Peugeot 405
    Citreon C5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I'm liking the stories people are posting for each car. I'll give it a go:

1998 Rover 400 - 1 year

After driving a Peugeot 106 diesel for almost a year as a learner, I passed my test and got this as my first car. It stank of smoke so I smoked in it. It was British Racing Green and I always thought it looked odd from the side due to how low the bonnet was compared to the liftback tailgate. If I'm honest, I wanted a Rover 200 but this was the only thing in my price range and was for sale in a near-by garage which was one of the things I needed in case anything went wrong. It got me around for the year I had it but I wasn't sorry to see it go. Sold it to a guy who worked with my dad in December 2005 and by January the head gasket blew. No idea what happened it after that.

2002 MG ZR - 1 year

Given that I wanted a Rover 200 previously, this was it only quite a step up. It was a red 3 door and God I loved it! Granted it was only a 1.4 105 bhp and wasn't all that fast but it handled so well. The seats were the half "leather" half cloth and were comfy enough. I'll never forget arriving in the dealership on Robin Hood Road and seeing it sitting there gleaming like a new pin. It had a leaky sunroof which I only found out about months later, never got to the bottom of it. Sold it to a guy from Waterford who arrived by train with a bag full of money! I was kind of sad to see this go. A few years ago it turned up in front of me out of the blue as I was driving home one day. The owner at the time was from Urlingford and he bought it from someone living in Nenagh so it got around and found its way back to me for a few minutes :)

1999 BMW 318i - 1 year

Disaster from the word go but I was too naiive to see it. It was an NI reg'd car and cost me a lot to buy plus another 2.5k to register. Had quite a bit of trouble with it in the year I had it. First was a seizing front driver's side brake caliper which left me stranded a few times. The smell of brake dist you get at a train station reminds me of it each and every time. Also had a coolant leak which a "mechanic" couldn't solve after several visits. Brought it to a different guy and he had it solved in half an hour - gaping hole in the rad. Got the rad replaced and traded the car in against the RX8. Met it again in a local shopping centre a few months down the line.

2004 Mazda RX-8 - 2.5 years

My first proper car. To this day I still pine for it and have thought about buying another. That rotary engine roar was nothing short of addictive and the style of the car turned heads everywhere it went. Had issues with the ignition system in this. Replaced plugs, coils and leads to no avail and it turned out to be the starter motor. It's known for being sh!te and is what caused the whole "flooded engine syndrome" in these cars. Got that replaced and it was like a normal car from then on no matter what I did - short drives, turning on/off immediately etc. Not one issue at all after that was fixed. Sold it to a guy who turned out to be a colleague of someone on here.

2007 Mazda6 MPS - 1 year

My first turbo car. It was black and the turbo kick was infectious from the day I test drove it. It was a car I wanted to own since a year into my RX8 ownership i.e. when I actually found out it existed! The 4WD system made sure it stuck to the road but wow the body roll was something else. The chassis stuck to the road around bends but the body was often like jelly. Didn't have any trouble with this at all but got bored of it quickly enough so I decided to lower it with H&R springs which made it too low altogether. Considered using EIbach springs instead but rather than waste more money I just had the original springs replaced. The biggest job I did on this was removing the EGR and spending ages cleaning it at conzy's place along with challengemaster. Fun times! I traded it into the garage I bought it from against the 335i and found out later that a user on here bought it from them and still has it as far as I know.

2007 BMW 335i - 2.5 years

BMW lesson not learned, I went for this beast. I gave up smoking and wanted to treat myself so conzy and I went up to Dublin and took it for a test drive. From start-up there was a loud ticking (think of a spinning ratchet) coming from the engine which the salesman said was the heat shield :rolleyes: It turned out to be the wastegate actuators were goosed as happened to nearly all 335i's. I'm sure I need not say any more as everyone here knows my woes with that craic :pac: Apart from that there were no issues bar having to replace the driver's door weatherstrip due to road noise and the 2 seatbelt assistant arms. This was also my first 6 cylinder and I fell in love with the noise off it (once you drowned out the turbo tick). Once the turbos were both replaced it was a superb motor especially when I installed JB4 on it.

2002 Ford Fiesta - 2.5 months

A few years later I started a new job so the time then came to sell the 335 and replace it with something newer. I sold it and had my eye on something that was coming up for sale so I got this Fiesta to tide me over until then. If I'm honest I kind of fell for this car despite the fact it was only a 1.25 and wasn't very powerful. It could damn well move when you put the foot down and even had an up/down sunroof! It was rather manky when I got it but I got it cheap, put a few hours into the inside and outside and got it gleaming. The only issue I had with it was a seized coolant valve. It wouldn't blow cold air so all you got was always roasting hot air. I got a spurious replacement which due to be being based on the original design did the same thing so I had to go to Ford and get a new one which worked fine. Sold it then locally and still see it around.

2013 BMW 330d (Current) - will have it 3 years next month

After every car I've had being petrol I was slow to consider a diesel. I wanted something newer with power and there wasn't much in my price range that suited so I made the jump to Devil juice :D My main reason for having petrols was due to the absolute lack of power in the Peugeot I started off in. I had it in my head that all diesels were like this but I was wrong. Didn't want a 2 litre however so the 330 suited perfectly plus it being a 6 cylinder again made it quieter and had the sweet spot for power and torque. I have to say I love this car dearly and I think it's showing given I'm coming up to 3 years of ownership and the novelty is still there. Work done since I bought it was just the front discs being replaced due to delamination and it has been a very reliable car up to now. I've added a few bits such as M-Performance boot lip spoiler and gloss black grille. May it continue on this reliable journey for a few years to come :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,774 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

I'll chime in with the stories for each car I suppose...bare with me:

Honda Civic EG3 2009-2010
    First real car on the road, little carbed 1.3 engine that gave me the reason to come to boards in the first place! Loved this little car for just over a year, never had any trouble with it. Drove it to school and back for 6th year, even drove it for the first 'All The Way Around' and then got the itch to get something faster. Got sold to a guy on here, now squashed as far as I know.

Honda Civic EK4 2010-2012
    Just as I bought this the recession came down hard, ended up with it for 2 years daily driving and going through 3 headgaskets and then building it for Time Attack. Ended up becoming a full time track car, and now actually still competes in ITCC.

Honda Integra DC2 Type R August 2012-March 2013
    Bought this off Graham_B18C on here, a car I'd lusted after for three years and it finally came to me. Loved this to the Moon and back as it was an original Irish car, but sadly only spent 6 short months with me as I got sick of people trying to get at it in my garden :( It ended up blowing up 2 owners later, and recently I got in touch to buy it back but he wants 3 times what I initially paid for it :O

Nissan 200SX S13 March 2013-June 2013
    My first real fling with RWD, immaculate original Irish one lady owner car with something stupid like 50k on the clock. Found it in a house in Ranelagh, the lady said yeah and here we are! Crashed it, got the fear of it and shifted it on after 3 months to get back into something FWD! Now sitting in a showroom somewhere in Kilkenny.

Citroen Saxo VTR June/July 2013
    After spending a few weeks driving a friends 106 GTI every day I got the goo for a little French hot hatch and in stepped the mighty 8v VTR! The best craic I've ever had was owning this car, it just did everything it needed and provided many fun spins across mountains! Went for NCT and all electrics failed so I left it parked in an underground, took €400 quid for it and let the new owner deal with it. Lasted just under a month with me I think!

Honda Civic EG6 August 2013-January 2014
    Pulled this lovely Captiva Blue shell from a bush on a friends yard with a firm €700 quid offer under the impression that it was rightly w*nked. This one was built using all the running gear from my EK4 including the suspension and hubs etc too. Ended up making 203bhp on the little 1.6 N/A engine and just having fun baiting it around the place. Got a great offer on it and sold it after 4 months. Ended up eventually getting to a rally driver who put the engine in his car, then proceeded to flip it and throw a rod out the block.

Nissan 180SX Type X January 2014-November 2016
    The girl that broke my heart... Starting life as Type X, it did it's daily driving duties oh so well and provided great fun each and every single day. It was decent spec, 320bhp or so and greatly responsive. It got a bang outside a house I was working in, which allowed me to respray it and continue on driving it until I decided I wanted to chase speed. Took it off the road, stripped it down and bought a 2JZ for it. Fast forward two years and it's still being built, and suddenly has 525bhp on just 1bar of boost. Absolutely insane to move, spun 305/35/R18's in the dry in 5th gear! Ended up breaking my heart and my willpower, and duly broke it and parted it out to make the move to Canada. It's now mostly rebuilt with an SR20 and stupid bodykit.

Honda Civic EK4 Si 10 days in September 2014
    My first purchase while the 180SX was off the road, 42 owner Si saloon with polyfiller chassis legs and a stupid fast 1600 under the bonnet. Spent €750 on it, 10 days later got begged to sell it on and doubled my money. Grand says I!

BMW 525i E34 September 2014-December 2014
    My first 'couch'. Late registered (1996) and packed full of spec including blue interior, LSD and some other fancy shtuff. Stripped it, put in a hydro and learned how to properly drift in it. Floor was rotten, drivers quarter nearly fell off and somehow got my money back on it after 2 months. Gone and good luck!

Ford Mondeo Recurring family car
    The less said, the better...2 hateful months.

Nissan Skyline R32 GTS-T March 2015-October 2015
    The best daily driver I've ever had. Winter morning commutes made for immense fun off roundabouts and sweeping bends, while also being decent on juice and a real winner in terms of driveability. This one broke my bank account maintaining it though, every week there was something new to fix, and eventually it wore thin and I sent it off to a new owner. 8 Months it lasted, good going at this stage. It's now been smashed by the new owner on both quarter panels and just in a rough way.

Nissan Skyline R34 GT December 27th 2015-January 6th 2016
    9 days...that's all.

Toyota RunX Aero Z January 2016-December 2016
    This is another car I'd wanted for years but always missed the opportunity to own. It's basically a JDM 4 door T-Sport Corolla but with a nicer kit and options. Faultless car, 250km on it and all I did was a clutch after driving it 2200km around Ireland and another 12km over the year. An old owner now bought it back, so it's still so well looked after. Genuine peach. Sold this a month after finally getting rid of all of the 180SX parts, and it began my 8 months in Toronto.

Mazda RX8 July 2017-December 2017
    Landed back in Ireland the 26th of July and bought this the next day, randomly got a hankering for a rotary and at €1200 taxed and tested this certainly quenched my thirst. Put a straight twin-exit exhaust and decat on it and turned it into a 6foot flame machine :o I'd still have this if it wasn't for the 330km easy-driving tank capability. Drive it hard and you watched the needle dropping. Once used a quarter tank in 15 minutes...wasn't a happy day! One of the most reliable cars I had considering what it was, but finding out we were going to have a baby meant I needed something a bit more practical so off she went!

Honda Accord Euro R December 2017-August 2018
    Hands down the best all-rounder you can buy for 5 grand. This did it all, with decent power and comfort and usability. Put over 20km on it in the time I had it. No mad stories about this except 3 weeks ago it just let go. Driving down the M50 and just lost all power. Ended up being caused by a negligent past owner. A previously threaded spark plug had burrowed it's way down the cylinder head and dropped into cylinder 2. That was that, sold within 25 minutes and for very good money considering the problem. Genuinely heartbroken that I had to get rid of this.

Lexus IS250 (Current)
    Current motor, decided I wanted another 'couch' and what better than Toyota/Lexus reliability with black electric leather and all the bells and whistles. 3 months of tax, 8 months of NCT and a horrible baby blue colour. LOVE IT!

Nissan Skyline R34 GT-T (April 2017 -Current)
    Bought this while I was over in Canada as a come-home project. Currently sits in storage while my parts collection grows. Extremely clean 4 door shell, with all new genuine R34 GT-R front end, fully built Tomei RB25 engine and Nismo suspension. Aiming to have the biggest spec R34 in Ireland. This one is a long-termer as I bought it just as VRT was going mad (€4500 for this alone) but I got lucky in that I paid €4200 and it was already registered...win in my books. I'll finish it in 2 years maybe, then hang onto it and pass it onto my Son if he wants it.

Honda Civic EC 1988 (Current)
    Bought this in September 2014 as a little project. Haven't driven it since the day I bought it but sure look...probably a pile of dust now.

Honda Fit GP1 (Current)
    Bought this for the missus, little 1.3 hybrid automatic but God is it a little joy to drive. It's a guilty pleasure sort of car. Full Mugen kit, Kakimoto exhaust and Tein coilovers. Cool little thing.

And so ends my roadworthy collection...for now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭conor2469

1995 Toyota Starlet 1.3 - Jap import, silver, 3 door, non efi. It was my first car, kept for a few months and sold on, commuted to Uni in it.

1991 MK2 golf GTD 1.6 turbo diesel, black. Replaced my Starlet, also commuted to Uni in. Good on juice and I have a thing for old VWs. Apart from blowing a headgasket one day on the M4 it never let me down.

1989 MK2 Golf GTi 16v - 3 door in white, very original. I wanted a MK2 GTi so bought this cheap needing tidying. Reliable apart from blowing a headgasket. Eventually resprayed it and fitted a turbo technics kit to it, Went efi management and then sold it.

1994 Toyota Starlet 1.3 - Jap import EFI, 3 door in white. Bought for daily duty. Fun car with the nippier EFI engine.

1994 Renault Clio 1.2 RN, 5 door in green - Cheap Daily bought from Adverts. Timing belt snapped after a few thousand miles, replacement engine sourced for 50 euro.

1983 Audi ur quattro - Bought needing full restoration. We spent a few years doing it up and sold it on.

1999 Audi A4 TDi

1989 MK2 Jetta Syncro (Still currently own) - Originally a 1.8 Carb, I fitted a G60 engine and later on a 1.8T.

2005 Peugeot 206 1.4 HDi Van (Finally broke into the 00's!)
    2003 VW Passat TDi 130

2001 Daewoo Lanos 1.3 - Bought for 100 euro off a friend and drove for a few months. It was reliable but there is nothing else positive to say!

1988 VW Transporter syncro (Still currently own) - Nearly finished restoring.

1991 VW Passat 1.6 Turbo diesel - Cheap daily

2003 BMW 525d (Best daily I've ever owned)

2001 VW Golf 1.8T (Broke for parts and put the engine in my Jetta)

1996 Nissan Almera 1.4 petrol (Sold it to someone on Adverts and it was confiscated at a checkpoint 2 days later for no insurance XD)

2003 Seat Arosa 1.0 - Driven daily by myself and girlfriend for 2 years, didn't miss a beat, very slow though.

1991 Peugeot 205 1.4 XS (Still currently own) - Always had a soft spot for these, eventually plan to respray it

1990 Toyota Celica GT4 (Still currently own) - Needs a clutch and a shot of paint.

2007 Peugeot 207 1.4 Petrol (Still currently own - Current daily)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭tobothehobo

92 Mk3 fiesta 5 door 1.1
    Good little car never gave me any trouble the perfect first car. kept for 1 year.

97 mk4 fiesta 3 door 1.3
    Great little car colour coded bumpers, side skirts, spoiler and alloys a real step up from the mk3. kept for 1year

00 Mk1 focus 5 door 1.4
    Big step up in drive and comfort for me at the time. Loved this car but it met its end after only 10 months when I rolled it 3 times on my 22nd birthday.

04 mk6 fiesta 1.25
    Bought it for insurance purposes as it went sky high after my crash. Had absolutely no love for this car but it was very reliable. Kept for 2.5 years.

1986 mk3 escort rs turbo (second car)
    Bought as a light project weekend fun car.
    Loved it and really should have kept it.
    Kept for 5 years.

07 mk2 focus 3 door 1.6
    Zetec connection model with all the extras. A brilliant car and the best I'd had as a daily to this point. Loved it kept it for 7 years.

83 Mk1 fiesta xr2.
    This replaced my rs turbo when I sold that. So much fun. But in the end I just wasn't using it and decided I currently dont have time for 2 cars. I sold it and my focus to help fund my current daily.

142 fiesta st 1.6 turbo
    Only 3 months in and its brilliant. Everyone should have a go in one its just an incredable car.

In summary you could say I like fiestas and love ford's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

1997 Nissan Micra - Red 4 door jap import mint (crashed it after 4 weeks :()

1997 Nissan Micra - Mint green (yuk) 2 door with velour seats very comfortable but moved around on the road a bit with 5 lads going to galway - could choose the distributor to either be quick off the mark but only 60mph or slower, higher top speed but couldnt get up hills with forementioned 5 lads!

1993 Ford Escort - greeny blue, loved the car but only had old 1.3 enduro engine as opposed to 1.4 zetec

1999 Ford Focus - 1.6 saloon Ghia - very nice car and the 1.6 was great, comforatable and have yet to find a car as good that could go over bumpy country roads and handle well without potholes unsettling it.

2006 Kia Sportage - 2ltr diesel first new car, nice solid transport and first suv, decent car, if stuck would buy again as no issues

2007 Kia Sorrento GLS - 2.5ltr diesel, nice auto gearbox, drove much better than previous sorrento and could pull like a tractor (actually pulled a patrol out of muck that had beached itself on its center diff) nice car to drive from top of france to bottom and I did so. Unfortunately hit a massive pothole in ireland while going 120 ish on a motorway and the steering rack had to be replaced - never drove as nice again.

2005 Lexus GS300 Sport - V6 petrol newer look, metalic red, beautiful sportback design - classy and was in a very unusual metalic red (never saw another one in ireland) - very fast and needed tyres often - sold to save my licence :(

2007 Honda CRV - 2.2 diesel, only had 53k kms on it and sold with approx 300kms, never let me down, great car, traded in recently for new car and its back on the road. lots of room, only thing to break in 6 years of ownership (& 11 years old) was the reversing sensors didnt like water. Drove really well in snow etc. with right tyres

2018 Nissan Leaf SVE - back to Nissan, love the car but in truth if Honda made an electric I'd go for that, my weekly bill is down from 60euro a week to 7.50euro a week! Fast off the mark and very relaxing to drive. Not great corning dynamics etc. but fun none the less.

Best car for dynamics was the 1.6 focus saloon for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Bigsliothar

Ford Fiesta
    Renault Clio
    Vw golf mk3
    Vw golf tdi 130 mk4
    Vw golf gti mk4 x 3
    Vw golf tdi 150 mk4
    Landrover discovery td5
    Saab 93
    Vw golf v6 4 motion
    Bmw 318
    Range Rover p38 x 2
    Mitsubishi pajero x 3
    Vw golf gti mk5
    Renault megane
    Currently Vw amarok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Rainbow Kitty

2001 Silver Renault Clio (Bought June 2010)
    2007 Black Opel Corsa (Bought Feb 2014)
    2013 Silver Hyundai I20 (Bought Oct 2016)
    2014 Black Opel Corsa (Bought Mar 2017)

I only started driving in 2010 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭CorkMan_

1998 March - first car back in 1999. Still have it. Passed my test in it too.

1986 BMW E28 - Bought it in 2001 for €200 and learnt all I know getting it back on the road. Still have it.

1997 Renault Laguna 1.8 8v - Bought in 2004 and have done too much to it to sell. V6 interior, sports springs/shocks, strut brace, facelift lights, concorde accessories etc. Still have it.

BMW E30 - Bought in Feb 2005 and sold in Aug 2016 - loss of storage was only reason I sold it. Prefer the E28 though.

2000 Audi A4 1.8 20v. Loved that car. Bought it for €600 euro 5 years ago an did over 100,000 miles in 2 and a bit years. Should never have sold it as the engine could take some abuse. Sold it for €500 in 2016.

2008 Citroen C6 - always loved them and having had plenty of French cars in the family it didn't scare me. Have it 3 years so far and love it.

2006 Renault Clio - picked it up a few weeks ago for €400 as a winter beater. Only 71k miles on it and good fun to drive.

Plus the Wife has a 2005 Focus 1.4. Bought it 10 years ago and currently has 400,000 kms done. Worth nothing so as long as it passes NCTs it'll be driven on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Kersh

1986 Suzuki Swift 1.0, first car, bought in 1997
    1989 Fiat Tipo 1.6, bought in 1997 to replace the Swift
    1992 Mazda Familia Interplay 1.5Dohc, bought in 1998, replaced the Tipo
    1989 Toyota Celica 2.0 GT-R, bought in 1999, replaced the Mazda
    1991 Mitsubishi GTO, replaced the Celica in 2001
    1992 Honda Prelude 2.2 Vtec, bought 2002, went alongside the GTO
    1990 Nissan 300ZX TT, bought in 2002, went alongside the GTO and Prelude
    1991 Nissan 300ZX TT, bought 2003,went alongside the above 300ZX & GTO
    1979 Porsche 911 SC, sold the GTO and second 300ZX to buy this in 2004
    2002 Mitsubishi L200, inherited through work, daily driver, sold the Prelude
    1976 Ferrari 308GTB Fibreglass, bought in 2006, still have it.
    1997 Jaguar XK8, bought in 2007, still have it
    1999 Alfa 145 Cloverleaf 2.0, bought in 2010, still have it
    1998 Alfa 156 1.8, bought and sold in 2013
    1992 Honda Prelude 2.2 Vtec, bought in 2013, still have it
    2005 Jaguar S-Type 2.7 Twin Turbo Diesel, bought 2014, still have it
    2000 Volvo V70 T5, bought in 2014, sold in 2015
    1998 Volvo C70 2.4, bought in 2014, sold in 2014
    2005 Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.0d, bought in 2015, just about to get rid of it
    2015 Peugeot 2008 1.6HDi, still have it, near end of PCP deal,
    2004 XC90 2.4D, bought in 2017, still have it. 3 kids and all that!!
    1996 Dimma Renault Clio, bought in 2017, still have it
    2003 Renault Clio 172, bought in 2017,still have it

Thats them all I think, so currently still have the Ferrari, XK8, S-Type 2.7, X-Type estate, 145 Cloverleaf, Prelude 2.2 Vtec, Dimma Clio, Clio 172, XC90, Peugeot 2008 and I part own 4 Trackday Civics and an XK8 with another guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭nim1bdeh38l2cw

97 Opel Astra 1.4 Club
    99 Subaru Forester 2.0 XT
    01 Alfa 147 1.6 Veloce
    05 Jaguar X-Type 2.0D
    99 BMW 528i
    09 Honda Civic 2.2
    03 Mini Cooper S JCW 1.6
    05 Honda Accord 2.2 Sport
    11 Honda CR-Z 1.5 GT
    16 Ford Fiesta ST
    13 BMW 118d
    19 Mercedes A250 (all going well!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭BrookieD

ok this should be good for a trip down memory lane.

In UK
    Circa late 70's mini
    Ccirca 84 Volvo 340dl
    70's Triumph Dolomite (bloody loved that car)
    Early 80's Ford Grandad Ghia X pack 2.8l Auto (beast of a car)
    80's Austin Maestro Vanden Plas (awful - digital dash was a joke)

#Moved to Ireland
    early 90's Ford Granada ghia
    97 Nissan Micra
    99 VW Passat (taxi) - wrote off due to drunk driver
    99 Fiat Marea(taxi)
    00 Nissan Almera
    03 Nissan Primera (family came along)
    05 Citroen C5
    ? Renault Scenic
    04 Mercedes E220 (loved it but sold a lemon, lesson learned)
    05 BMW 1 series
    08 Honda Civic Hybrid
    09 Nissan Qashqai
    09 VW Passat Estate
    11 Peugeot 508
    12 BMW 520d (current car and the best thing i have ever owned)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭BrookieD

Kersh wrote: »
    1986 Suzuki Swift 1.0, first car, bought in 1997
    1989 Fiat Tipo 1.6, bought in 1997 to replace the Swift
    1992 Mazda Familia Interplay 1.5Dohc, bought in 1998, replaced the Tipo
    1989 Toyota Celica 2.0 GT-R, bought in 1999, replaced the Mazda
    1991 Mitsubishi GTO, replaced the Celica in 2001
    1992 Honda Prelude 2.2 Vtec, bought 2002, went alongside the GTO
    1990 Nissan 300ZX TT, bought in 2002, went alongside the GTO and Prelude
    1991 Nissan 300ZX TT, bought 2003,went alongside the above 300ZX & GTO
    1979 Porsche 911 SC, sold the GTO and second 300ZX to buy this in 2004
    2002 Mitsubishi L200, inherited through work, daily driver, sold the Prelude
    1976 Ferrari 308GTB Fibreglass, bought in 2006, still have it.
    1997 Jaguar XK8, bought in 2007, still have it
    1999 Alfa 145 Cloverleaf 2.0, bought in 2010, still have it
    1998 Alfa 156 1.8, bought and sold in 2013
    1992 Honda Prelude 2.2 Vtec, bought in 2013, still have it
    2005 Jaguar S-Type 2.7 Twin Turbo Diesel, bought 2014, still have it
    2000 Volvo V70 T5, bought in 2014, sold in 2015
    1998 Volvo C70 2.4, bought in 2014, sold in 2014
    2005 Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.0d, bought in 2015, just about to get rid of it
    2015 Peugeot 2008 1.6HDi, still have it, near end of PCP deal,
    2004 XC90 2.4D, bought in 2017, still have it. 3 kids and all that!!
    1996 Dimma Renault Clio, bought in 2017, still have it
    2003 Renault Clio 172, bought in 2017,still have it

Thats them all I think, so currently still have the Ferrari, XK8, S-Type 2.7, X-Type estate, 145 Cloverleaf, Prelude 2.2 Vtec, Dimma Clio, Clio 172, XC90, Peugeot 2008 and I part own 4 Trackday Civics and an XK8 with another guy.
    I need to befriend you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

02 Skoda Octavia 1.4
    07 Ford Focus ST
    07 Volvo S60 2.0t
    02 BMW 520i msport
    04 Audi S4 Avant
    05 BMW 535d
    07 Nissan 350z HR
    01 Seat Leon 1.8t
    08 Ford Focus ST
    08 Volvo S80 2.5t
    07 Toyota Avensis D4D
    10 Megane RS 250 Cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Kersh

BrookieD wrote: »
    I need to befriend you :D

:D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

91 VW Polo 1.0
    99 Honda Civic 1.4
    00 Honda Civic 1.4
    98 BMW 318is
    91 Honda Civic 1.3
    97 BWW 323i
    92 BMW 520i
    98 Honda CRV
    98 BMW 523i
    90 BMW 316i
    91 BMW 320i
    02 BMW 318ci
    00 Honda Accord 1.8i
    07 BMW 520d (current car and my first ever diesel)

I miss my 318is the most, I think it ended up being scrapped not long after I sold it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

My history is rather short as I tend to keep cars for a while.

'88 Citroen AX GT Sportif.
    I bought it as part of a pair for €250. That'll tell you the condition. It was originally white but was various shades of rust. There was rust holes on the roof, gaps at the doorframe that you could get your fingers through, no interior fabrics. Electric windows worked whenever they wanted. Starter couldn't be trusted so you made sure you parked on a hill. It was fitted with a "slightly" bigger carb and set up by a mechanic who knew his stuff. Result was wheelspin in third gear!

It was a bloody howl to drive! You steered with the brake pedal and lift off oversteer. I even did night navigation trials in it.

The end came when I was in Killarney and the crank shaft oil seal went. I had to get back to Cork so my solution was a 2L bottle of Coke emptied into the bell housing through the flywheel locking access hole. I did have to stop once or twice more for extra Coke. I made it home, threw it in the back of the yard and left it for 6 months. I sold it in a fit of madness and the person who bought it decided to compete in a night navigation trial. When he changed the clutch, he never bled the coolant system properly and he cooked the engine at the time point I was marshalling at.

I'm still on the lookout for another GT or GTi.....

'00 Micra.
    This was bought when I called to a Nissan Main dealer to collect parts for another car. The manager is a neighbour and when he saw the Citroen above, he asked rather forcefully to get the heap of scrap off his forecourt and said he'd be out with a proper car. He then called at home a week or two later in the Micra, I bought it there and then.

That was a fair hoot to drive. It wasn't massive quick but you really learned how to carry speed (as it took a long time to build it back up). I kept it for 4 years or so. It got replaced with a.....

'05 Almera (Blue)
    Bought it at 2 years old. Kept it for 1 month. There was a "minor" accident (rolled it up the road) due to me swerving to avoid an idiot that came around a corner at my side of the road.

'05 Almera (red)
    Remember the Main Dealer manager who sold me a car in my own yard? He heard what happened and helped out when the insurance company tried to low-ball an offer. Again the car just "arrived" in the yard and bought there and then.

I kept it for 7 years or so. I only got rid of it when the bills got too high. It needed a clutch for over 2 years (springs in the pressure plate got weak, resulting in a very heavy clutch when hot). It also started to burn oil and third gear started to go. It needed an engine and gearbox rebuild so it went.

It served well and the high ground clearance was used. It got a fair thrashing and wasn't as dull as some people say.

'14 Leon FR.
    Current car and it's the 184PS model. Bought new. Goes reasonably well (once off the line it really does gather speed up to 160kph very easy). But there is bugger all feeling and feedback. When it does let go, it BLOODY DOES let go. Also, the tyre pressure monitor system throws a wobbly whenever it steps out of line. It's quiet, efficient, cold, German......

Half thinking of getting rid of it due to the nature of Irish roads. It's on 18" wheels and I tend to drive slower and slower due to the rubber bands on the wheels and stiff suspension.

'77 Escort Ghia 2Door.
    Originally it was the brothers car. It was a 1 owner car when he got it (first owner had it 28 years). We got it with about 50k on the clock with full service history. I got it when the brother went off to the Middle East for work. We rebuilt the engine as it was burning oil (worn block due to all the short journies it did in its life in London). We decided to get it converted to unleaded and that lead to a ported and polished head, custom fast road cam, uprated bolts, oil pump, etc. It was a bloody quick little 1300 then thanks to the original 4 speed gearbox, yet it was happy cruising at 50mph. Over the years it got rebuilt suspension (massive difference to the car, finding Ghia spec springs shockscwas hard) rebuilt brakes, axle, etc even if they were not really needed. Sold a few months ago due to lack of use and I didn't want it to just sit there deteriorating....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭carzony

1996 Opel Corsa was my very first car back in 2011. I still paid 3,000 Insurance that year. It wasn't too bad other than the fact it had no power steering and the interior was seriously outdated. It was stolen in the end..

2000 1.4 Almera: I loved this car and a real step up from the Corsa/civic. I had lots of trouble with the clutch which was changed under warranty 3 times until it was put right. In the end I lost faith in the car and sold it.

1999 Honda Civic 1.4: A purple (sonic blue) Honda Civic saloon that was falling apart week by week. The rear wheel was extremely crooked after a previous crash, the back box of the exhaust fell off making it sound extremely loud, the throttle body was faults causing the car to constantly rev up and down.... what a heap...

2000 1.4 Ford Focus: My first bangernomics car, extremely slow, but was bought for a two hundred euro and lasted a whole year before the gearbox died (was noisy for nearly a year)

2001 1.6 Ford Focus (saloon): This was bright red with a large ariel on the back of it. Anywhere I went people asked me if I was a guard. It was the Ghia model so lovely interior. It began overheating so I think I scrapped it in the end.

2005 citroen c4: Great car, funky interior and extremely smooth for a small petrol car. The ECU kept burning out and was replaced twice in the time I had the car. I eventually sold it to a friend when it started giving the usual french electrical faults.

2004 1.4 Ford Focus: Another Focus bought for pittance with a good service history. It has been left lying in a garden so I ended up getting it for a few hundred euro. I actually still have it as a spare car and it runs like a dream.

2004 1.6 Toyota Avensis: An ex taxi but fairly low mileage and extremely comfortable. I regret selling and it was in mint condition with 4 brand new tyres. I think I held on to that for roughly a year.

2005 Golf Gti: My current daily driver and the most money i've ever spent on a car 2000 (I know still cheap). I really wanted something fun, fast and loved the look of the GTI. The fastest car i'll probably ever own given the cost of tax/insurance on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

First car was a 1988 Black VW Scirocco 1.6GT. Obviously rear ended someone in it and bought another to restore it. Replaced entire interior with Red and Black half leather
    1992 Volvo 440GLE (kids)First car with leccie windows and sunroof
    1992 Volvo 940 Estate - drove like a boat but most reliable thing ever
    1995 Volvo 850 GLE 2,5. Beautiful inside. Gave to my partner
    1988 Mercedes 230E. Pulled from a field, new battery. Big end let go on the airport hill
    1997 BMW 318 Convertible. My first and last BMW. Nightmare of a thing
    1996 Mercedes SL500 (still have) needs no words
    1995 Mercedes W124 Coupe (still have-for sale if anyone's interested)
    2003 Smart for two convertible (still have - such a blast on country roads)
    1996 Mercedes W124 Coupe - 1 owner car with full dealer history - still have
    1998 Mercedes W140 CL500
    2005 Mercedes CL500 current daily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

Sort and sweet only learned to drive about 4 years ago

1999 green fiat punto loved it but had to sell it in the end to pay college fees

2001 fiat seciento bought it in 2013 with 15k miles one lady owner, never had to spend a penny on it till it failed the nct and wasnt worth repairing

2005 honda civic bout in January of this year to replace the seciento, love the car but because of the mileage its needed a bit of work(timing belt, wheel bearings,brake caliper and now its hard to get in gear some day:rolleyes:) just need it to keep going till my visa comes through for the USa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

2008 - 2004 2.5 Kia Sorento GLS.
    2010 - Sold the Kia and Bought a 2002 1.9 Peugot Partner as a temporary car
    2010 - 2010 3.0 Isuzu D-Max LS - Only car I've ever bought brand new, fully loaded too.
    2012 - 1999 BMW 735i which I've kept as my project car.
    2015 - Sold The Isuzu in December.
    2016 - Picked up a 2010MY Range Rover Autobiography TDV8
    2016 - Bought a BMW 645ci

I've done alright in just over 10 years of driving.