Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Trainee 2018 campaign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Uweir32

Elliot192 wrote: »
    Gmanno1 wrote: »
    What's your jobs got to do with vetting?

I don't know, I was just reading through what's involved in getting security clearance in other countries, obviously it's not guaranteed that that's what they look at here.

The common theme in each country I looked at was just making sure that you would not be vulnerable to blackmail or bribery.

One of the things that came up was work history either last 10years, 5 years or in the US since the age of 16! And in the US they ring every single employer and sometimes interview them face to face but that's for high level security clearance. They also check your credit history, and in the US for high level clearance they verify your entire medical history!

It's just that if it was like regular vetting, plus spent convictions and a quick scan of the pulse system I cannot see what the hold up would be?

The only thing that worries me about my vetting is my poor credit rating. Years of a misspent youth have it pretty poor. Although I am at a point where I’ve paid most things back it’s just taken me a long time :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭davinci88

Uweir32 wrote: »
    Gmanno1 wrote: »
    What's your jobs got to do with vetting?

I don't know, I was just reading through what's involved in getting security clearance in other countries, obviously it's not guaranteed that that's what they look at here.

The common theme in each country I looked at was just making sure that you would not be vulnerable to blackmail or bribery.

One of the things that came up was work history either last 10years, 5 years or in the US since the age of 16! And in the US they ring every single employer and sometimes interview them face to face but that's for high level security clearance. They also check your credit history, and in the US for high level clearance they verify your entire medical history!

It's just that if it was like regular vetting, plus spent convictions and a quick scan of the pulse system I cannot see what the hold up would be?

The only thing that worries me about my vetting is my poor credit rating. Years of a misspent youth have it pretty poor. Although I am at a point where I’ve paid most things back it’s just taken me a long time :(

Really

Its a job application not a mortgage application !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Elliot192

davinci88 wrote: »
    Really

It's probably more to do with honesty, integrity and whether you'd be vulnerable to bribery/blackmail. That's if they even do check your credit history in Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Elliot192

Uweir32 wrote: »

I think the key thing to remember (if they even do check it in Ireland - I really don't know) is that you are older, wiser and have spent your time clearing it. It's not like you built up and then walked away from a massive credit card debt and said screw it. Or left the ESB hanging for a couple of thousand and moved home. I'm just guessing because I'm bored and stressed out that my own vetting is taking forever! It's all pure speculation. I wouldn't worry.

Really

It's probably more to do with honesty, integrity and whether you'd be vulnerable to bribery/blackmail. That's if they even do check your credit history in Ireland!

Ok I get ye !

The whole countries in debt up to their eyes man ! Id say your good !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Uweir32

:([/quote]

Really

Its a job application not a mortgage application ![/quote]

I know but I’ve read loads mention it. Though I’m a civil servant in the north at the minute and it’s never effected me getting any internal posts etc maybe just overthinking it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Gmanno1

Really

Lads I think you're over thinking it.

They can't say youre not getting the job because you missed few payments or owe a bit of money. It would be unfair to say every man in debt is open to back handers, people can still be of good character, debt or no debt.

Once you're not related to a kinnahan or hutch etc,
    Have no serious criminal history
    And are of good character you'll be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭goodgolfer64

found a link on youtube for objective & verbal tests.. 150/450 tests examples in total.

www.gradtests.com.au

thinking of buying this if anyone looking to exchange careerservices refersher info for extra practice just PM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭tomhenryford

I booked my stage 2 on Sunday prior to the 3pm deadline on Monday. How long does it take to receive the thing we have to print off and bring with is on the day along with ID? There is nothing in my bookings now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭5i6blrtngojxwf

I booked my stage 2 on Sunday prior to the 3pm deadline on Monday. How long does it take to receive the thing we have to print off and bring with is on the day along with ID? There is nothing in my bookings now.

Should be in your messages, just stating the date and time you’re due in. That’s all I printed anyway and they took it! Good luck :)

Just screenshot your Public Jobs page it will suffice !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭LukeP26

Anyone any idea when we'll get results?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 P1nkr0ses

P1nkr0ses wrote: »
    Just received my results. Pleasent surprise for a Monday! Bricking it for this interview now.

Same here. They're only calling up the first 137 and I'm just over 150 so I'm hoping to be in the next batch called. Hopefully in October

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Davehego

Iv just found out Iv passed also. Improved on my place as well. Im not in the first interview group however. Anyone have an idea how quick they go through the interview groups?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭RabbitHeart18

Yahoo, delighted that I got through!
    Dropped a bit on OOM but still in the first batch. Terrified of this interview now!

Yahoo, delighted that I got through!
    Dropped a bit on OOM but still in the first batch. Terrified of this interview now!

Congrats! Yours to lose now if you're in the top 137! Good luck :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭RabbitHeart18

LukeP26 wrote: »
    Congrats! Yours to lose now if you're in the top 137! Good luck :)

Cheers and congrats yourself! I wouldn't say your batch will be far behind either, bit of extra prep time isn't a bad thing!

That's true too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Clare2018

Does anyone know the policy on tattoos. I know it said none on face or neck, what about fingers? I've some small tattoos on my fingers?is this gonna screw me over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭CZ 453

Clare2018 wrote: »
    Does anyone know the policy on tattoos. I know it said none on face or neck, what about fingers? I've some small tattoos on my fingers?is this gonna screw me over?

The Sgt there said no tattoos that are visible are allowed. They must be removed before medical. So neck up and hands. Arms and legs ok as they can be covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 traceyf933

CZ 453 wrote: »
    The Sgt there said no tattoos that are visible are allowed. They must be removed before medical. So neck up and hands. Arms and legs ok as they can be covered.

I'm just waitiw for interview. I have a tattoo on the back of my neck but is covered by a shirt buttoned up. Its small enough. I dont think this would be an issue would it seeing as its not visible outside of a shirt or on the frong of my neck or face or anything?

I’m up next week for Stage 2! If I was successful and get through to the interview, would anyone be able to guesstimate when the interview would be! I’ve been asked to cover hols for a week in October that I won’t be able to get out of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Vital Work

I’m up next week for Stage 2! If I was successful and get through to the interview, would anyone be able to guesstimate when the interview would be! I’ve been asked to cover hols for a week in October that I won’t be able to get out of!
    It all depends on your OOM after you complete your stage 2. I have my interview booked for 2 weeks time but we got a choice of dates over a 2 week period so you should be okay even if your interview is around the time you have to cover work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭kellbag91

Vital Work wrote: »
    It all depends on your OOM after you complete your stage 2. I have my interview booked for 2 weeks time but we got a choice of dates over a 2 week period so you should be okay even if your interview is around the time you have to cover work!

Interview in two weeks time ! I'm surprised how quick this campaign is moving compaired to recent years.

kellbag91 wrote: »
    Interview in two weeks time ! I'm surprised how quick this campaign is moving compaired to recent years.

Were you in the first group of the first 900? I'm in the second group, I have my stage 2 next week.

I'm in the second group booked in for next Thursday. I'm happy enough being in the second it gives me more time to add to the CV for the interview. You're next week as well ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭goodgolfer64

any ideas what the Job simulation testing involves at second assessment and how its marked?

Its the same as you did in stage 1 A. The only new element is Report writing.

Anyone know about the distance rule about being stationed from where you live? Is it outlined anywhere so that I can read up on it. Does every trainee have to do a term in Dublin?