Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

mloc123 wrote:
    Charging up my winter lights for this evening... summer is done I think

Did this on Weds night, got home from work and was on the bike at 7.30, back home at 8.45 after 33km. Thoroughly dislike this time of year. And it was cool & blustery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

rushfan wrote: »
    Did this on Weds night, got home from work and was on the bike at 7.30, back home at 8.45 after 33km. Thoroughly dislike this time of year. And it was cool & blustery.

I kinda enjoy it... this is when I get the local park back to myself. Endless 6km loops in the pitch dark and no walkers or dogs to worry about.

My second ever spin on a road bike this evening. 57.3km @27.7km/h and 682 m elevation gain.

Had to use my brother's bike again as went to collect the one I ordered in the bike shop this afternoon and it wasn't ready. However, this time I did have a pair of cycling shorts so my arse was spared.

Although it was a shorter spin than my first last Sunday, I felt fitter and stronger tonight. But it was very windy so while we were 1 Kim/h faster than first longer spin, we had to work harder as it was very windy.

Was pretty tired by the end but I managed to keep my momentum on the final climb home and was pretty happy.

I got home and my wife had gone to Ramen and offered me a choice of Thai Green Curry or Singapore Noodles. I ate both and collapsed on the couch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭positron

Attempted the Drogheda-Dundrum commute again this morning after a week off running and cycling - I was feeling burned out and tired and had taken a mini break from everything. And I felt it today - crosswind felt like headwind, legs heavy and weak, and it was nippy. Overall 20 mins slower than last few attempts. I was planning on riding back in the evening as well, but took the bus after looking up wind forecast. Sustained 25kmph headwind doesn't appeal to me at all.

58k, 23kph approximate average.

positron wrote: »
    Attempted the Drogheda-Dundrum commute again this morning after a week off running and cycling - I was feeling burned out and tired and had taken a mini break from everything. And I felt it today - crosswind felt like headwind, legs heavy and weak, and it was nippy. Overall 20 mins slower than last few attempts. I was planning on riding back in the evening as well, but took the bus after looking up wind forecast. Sustained 25kmph headwind doesn't appeal to me at all.

58k, 23kph approximate average.

You get that smell of **** around Drogheda this morning??? I sure as hell did last night and on a 20km spin towards donore this morning. Some farmers spreading manure somewhere local. Autumn is here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭positron

Yeah there was a stench alright, although I didn't connect the dots at the time and assumed it was related to the milk processing plant. The sweet smell of new growth! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

You get that smell of **** around Drogheda this morning??? I sure as hell did last night and on a 20km spin towards donore this morning. Some farmers spreading manure somewhere local. Autumn is here :D

Yeah, noticed it yesterday, while I was washing my bike. F***ing terrible.
    I live off Dublin Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭pjmn

Tipped out west this morning.... 63km avg 28kmph 523m climb lovely morning

https://www.strava.com/activities/1795870168

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭secman

Hit another milestone yesterday so planned on doing a 61 mile spin to mark the occasion which equates to 98 km, so went to ballyedmund and on towards Ferns via The Harrow, left for Enniscorthy and on to the Rosslare roundabout and into Wexford town, return via coast road to Curracloe, Blackwater, Kilmuckridge, Ballygarrett , Killenagh and home. 101.5 km avg speed of just under 28 kph... 27.9. Got caught in heavy traffic getting through Enniscorthy and Wexford town.
    A nice birthday solo spin though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Not quite today, but had the last round of the 3 Counties Interclub League on thursday. Pipped on the line for the win in the B race as there was a crash beside me and as I glanced around to see what happened, I eased up for a split second and the other guy in the mix stole a half a bike length. Next time I won't be so compassionate towards my fellow cyclists ;)

TDon97k.jpg
    Kson1kp.jpg
    FbHrpar.jpg
    PEI1I16.jpg

Thankfully the other lad wasn't too badly hurt although he'll need new kit and will be a bit tender for a while.
    I really enjoyed the club racing this year. It was a good reality check too as I'm a good bit away from being properly ready for open racing and the effort needed to get there may not be worth the hassle. On the other hand, racing with a good bunch of lads pulling well together to keep away from the scratch group every night was great craic.
    https://www.strava.com/activities/1792898445

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭dahat

How did he crash?

Club racing is great craic but I've never been in a B group that worked together to stay away from scratch. Lads love to wait up and get mullered by A1/A2 lads for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

AFAIK He unclipped by accident in the sprint and hit the road. We managed to keep the scratch group off us in all bar one race, they didn't work as well together with a couple of the strongest lads burning the others early then not having enough left to catch us whereas we all held steady as close to our limits as possible and helping each other around til the last km or so and then went for it.
    I was a great league for the weaker riders to get a feel for racing without being blown to bits early on and packing it in. And also , good motivation to do some winter training to be in better shape for next year ;)

Fair play to ye and keep up the hard work, sure that's what winter is all about really.

That shot of the Cervelo mid air and heading for a drive way is gold !!!!! Almost as if to say to the guy on ground "right, I'm off home" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Doc07

That shot of the Cervelo mid air and heading for a drive way is gold !!!!! Almost as if to say to the guy on ground "right, I'm off home" :D

Looks like the invisible man, having read all about A4 sprints on boards, decided not to risk his Cervelo in the sprint.

Ps hope poor lad on the deck is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Justwinginit

Club yearly spin today. 102km. Haven't been out much lately, and 3/4 up scrine Hill I felt it. Had to get off and hobble to the top. The last 20k I ran out of power in my legs and trundled into ballinasloe at around 20-23kph. I nearly stopped but pure stubbornness kept me going. Need to get back out twice a week at least. 4th 100k this year. Beer and chinese will be had very shortly....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,134 ✭✭✭patrickc

Getting closer to the 100k

I stopped to get a bite to eat in mullinavat and stupidly fell, I was a bit sore and slower there after!

https://www.strava.com/activities/1796373107/shareable_images/map_based?hl=en-US&v=1535306161

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

just in from a spin up around howth a couple of times; blustery and i'd mistakenly thought the rain had passed. didn't get too wet, thankfully.

Wimped out of the club spin due to rain so for my sins I decided to do two turbo sessions, 1h 15mins with threshold & tempo work then a 25min session with 4 x 30 sec sprints to failure within it, I failed alright but enjoyed the fact that this was the first time doing two turbo sessions back to back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

Rather blustery today when heading West, great heading East though. Anyway, 59km and I would have done more only I committed to collecting the youngest.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Where did that big yellow thing in the sky go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Went out for a handy 57/60km spin....Turned into 109km spin with an average speed of 30.4km/h shattered and sore now...Miss the sun all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,443 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Over 3000 Km this year and today was my trip with a +30Kph average. 30.1
    It was done on a couple laps of the Ennis bypass so not exactly something to write home about just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Over 3000 Km this year and today was my trip with a +30Kph average. 30.1
    It was done on a couple laps of the Ennis bypass so not exactly something to write home about just yet.

On the motorway or the link road to the Abbey Roundabout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,443 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    On the motorway or the link road to the Abbey Roundabout?

N85 from motorway to Lahinch road. two laps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Macy0161

First time out since the Moynalty GP crash. Only the commute, nothing strange and no incidents, but feels like a start despite feeling the rib/ actually appreciating how rough the N11 cycle lanes are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Club spin last night, did a warm up at the start and then 35km with about 25 from the club. Club numbers going from strength to strength
    https://www.strava.com/activities/1806185280

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Saw a bad one on my cycle home after work. On the Clontarf/Sutton track, at the very beginning, there was a few young girls with a labrador puppy off the lead. Dog ran out onto the cycle track and the guy a good bit in front of my crashed straight into the pup. Cyclist hit the deck hard and dog yelped and went off running. Ran straight out onto the road and off beyond. Poor dog was freaking out.

The cyclists was pissed, and looked mostly okay, but he was holding his wrist. I didn't stop for too long, as he seemed grand enough. But a pretty bad incident all the same. I think the dog came out from behind the sand bags so I'm not certain the cyclist could see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,136 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

...The cyclists was pissed,.. .
    As in drunk (or pissed off)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Saw a bad one on my cycle home after work. On the Clontarf/Sutton track, at the very beginning, there was a few young girls with a labrador puppy off the lead. Dog ran out onto the cycle track and the guy a good bit in front of my crashed straight into the pup. Cyclist hit the deck hard and dog yelped and went off running. Ran straight out onto the road and off beyond. Poor dog was freaking out.

The cyclists was pissed, and looked mostly okay, but he was holding his wrist. I didn't stop for too long, as he seemed grand enough. But a pretty bad incident all the same. I think the dog came out from behind the sand bags so I'm not certain the cyclist could see it.

The track again...

On my way in to work at about 9.40 I saw one cyclist lying in the road where the stop/go system was. The workmen were tending to him. He looked like a roadie. Looked like it had just happened but I didn't see it.