Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭irishgeo

just caught the end of newstalk but because carnacon club notified the Mayo manager the players were leaving brought the club into the issue and as a result they got the whipping.

Someone didn't read the rule book cover to cover.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

The fact that the club reps voted to kick out Carnacon stinks of jealousy. Remember it was the LGFA County Board (some lads don't seem to have the IQ to distinguish between the men and the women) who proposed the sanction, but it was the actual clubs who voted for it. They could have voted against it and shown that what the Co Board was doing was ridiculous.

And I know what AudioSlaven is saying means that Carnacon as a club then got themselves involved is why they are been punished, but the Hollymount and Mayo Ladies captain also walked away and gets no sanction stinks tbh.

It won't end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭statto25

I'm talking specifically about Cora Stantoun and her legacy, not the actions of the others or how the others have come out of all this.

Stantoun is the most prolific footballer of a generation.

Yet she will have bowed out of inter county, and possibly club football, in a most ignominious manner.

No big hyped last game, no Mayo News souvenir pullout, no national or local media waxing lyrical about her career, nothing.

This is a Tiger Woods wrapping his SUV around a tree back in 2009 type moment.

im not disputing Coras legacy on the game Fr.Tod. If the rumours and hearsay are true regarding this incident then its very hard to have any sympathy for Coras and her lack of a send-off which is why I chose to mention the others not involved who are now directly impacted by this ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

The decision won't hold up on appeal. Totally headless stuff that makes the county board look ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,651 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

yop wrote: »
    The fact that the club reps voted to kick out Carnacon stinks of jealousy. Remember it was the LGFA County Board (some lads don't seem to have the IQ to distinguish between the men and the women) who proposed the sanction, but it was the actual clubs who voted for it. They could have voted against it and shown that what the Co Board was doing was ridiculous.

And I know what AudioSlaven is saying means that Carnacon as a club then got themselves involved is why they are been punished, but the Hollymount and Mayo Ladies captain also walked away and gets no sanction stinks tbh.

It won't end well.

From the statement by Peter Leahy after the Cavan game of the 12 who left the panel, 3 wrote to the liaison officer and cited personal reasons for leaving the squad with 1 other giving no reason.
    The problem for Carnacon from that statement is that it appears it was the Carnacon club secretary on behalf of the club that withdrew the other 8.
    In other words 4 withdrew personally whereas the 8 from Carnacon was a club decision to withdraw their players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,709 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

It won't end well.

I heard a first hand report of what happened at the county board meeting.
    Basically it was brought up about clubs paying their dues, apparently each club is required to cover costs for the county team (or at least thats what i took from the account, either way clubs have to pay) and the only club not to pay was Carnacon.
    They spoke about the issue of player welfare and stated there was an independent review done of the mayo ladies (don't know by who) and there were no issues of player welfare identified
    Then towards the end of the meeting someone said from the floor "is this what we're teaching girls in Mayo, thats if you get dropped that this is the way you behave". A discussion followed about how Cora and at least one other Carnacon player were told they didn't have 60 minutes in them and that this was what led to the walkout.
    It was discussed banning the girls for 6 months (I think 6) under a rule which states that you must play for your county (I would think this is a strange rule to have in but this is how it was relayed to me) but they decided that this would be severe on the younger players (who would miss college games) who they determined had followed the lead of the older players, so instead they came up with this rule 288 and bringing the game into disrepute
    Hollymount rep abstained and I'm not sure who the second vote against it was. Carnacon had sent some lad who had never been to a CB meeting previously, poor fecker.

I don't know anyone on the CB other than this girl and it was her first meeting also. I'm sure lots of them have an axe to grind. I'd also get the impression that there is no love lost between Sarah Rowe and Cora (Just my opinion). Interestingly there was no rep from Kilmoremoy at the meeting.

It seems from the outside that the Carnacon ladies would like to rule the roost. You can't have players dictating who is on the team or sulking when they are dropped. The player welfare "issue" looks more like a red herring everyday.

I said it after the AIF last year, Cora destroyed Mayo's chances that day, insisting everything went through her, you could hear her pitch side.
    Its time she either accepted a part time role or let the team move on without her and if that means without the Carnacon contingent then it's a pity but so be it, it'll be a loss for both sides.

I also doubt the ban will stand up by the sounds of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭monkeyman

What a mess. If it is simply down to not being on the starting team, that is shocking. But the reactions from both sides has been worse.

This could interesting!

Off The Ball Roadshow in Croke Park on Thursday before AI Final.

We’ve an all-star line-up including Jim McGuinness, Aidan O’Shea, Kieran McGeeney, Cora Staunton and James Horan with more big names to be announced!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭muddle84

Green&Red wrote: »

It won't end well.

Basically it was brought up about clubs paying their dues, apparently each club is required to cover costs for the county team (or at least thats what i took from the account, either way clubs have to pay) and the only club not to pay was Carnacon.
    They spoke about the issue of player welfare and stated there was an independent review done of the mayo ladies (don't know by who) and there were no issues of player welfare identified
    Then towards the end of the meeting someone said from the floor "is this what we're teaching girls in Mayo, thats if you get dropped that this is the way you behave". A discussion followed about how Cora and at least one other Carnacon player were told they didn't have 60 minutes in them and that this was what led to the walkout.
    It was discussed banning the girls for 6 months (I think 6) under a rule which states that you must play for your county (I would think this is a strange rule to have in but this is how it was relayed to me) but they decided that this would be severe on the younger players (who would miss college games) who they determined had followed the lead of the older players, so instead they came up with this rule 288 and bringing the game into disrepute
    Hollymount rep abstained and I'm not sure who the second vote against it was. Carnacon had sent some lad who had never been to a CB meeting previously, poor fecker.

I don't know anyone on the CB other than this girl and it was her first meeting also. I'm sure lots of them have an axe to grind. I'd also get the impression that there is no love lost between Sarah Rowe and Cora (Just my opinion). Interestingly there was no rep from Kilmoremoy at the meeting.

It seems from the outside that the Carnacon ladies would like to rule the roost. You can't have players dictating who is on the team or sulking when they are dropped. The player welfare "issue" looks more like a red herring everyday.

I said it after the AIF last year, Cora destroyed Mayo's chances that day, insisting everything went through her, you could hear her pitch side.
    Its time she either accepted a part time role or let the team move on without her and if that means without the Carnacon contingent then it's a pity but so be it, it'll be a loss for both sides.

Ed McGreal Confirmed that rule is in the rule book and that it is unique to LGFA. Seems like a crazy crazy rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭statto25

This was just announced...

https://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/roundup/articles/2018/08/23/4160809-plans-for-new-mayo-gaa-training-centre-at-lough-lannagh/

Sounds very interesting and hopefully it doesnt take as long as the current Swimming Pool project!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

muddle84 wrote: »
    Ed McGreal Confirmed that rule is in the rule book and that it is unique to LGFA. Seems like a crazy crazy rule.

The rule allowing players who don’t play for county to be banned is ridiculous, be interesting to see if it’s enforcable or has ever been used.

The rule used to ban the club (288) appears to apply to members only - you’d expect that’s a solid basis for an appeal.

No matter what the real reasons are for the 8 players leaving - the clubs need to takes long hard look at who they send to these meetings.

Ridiculous hot headed stuff that will have long lasting serious consequences for ladies football in Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Just makes the one in bekan a white elephant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

irishgeo wrote:
    Just makes the one in bekan a white elephant

That's Connaught council not Mayo. Sligo have their own and Galway. Not sure about the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

It won't end well.

AFAIK, the other girls that walked did so for personal reasons and not the same reason as the Carnacon girls so that's why it was personalised to carnacon only.

It will eventually come out why they walked. The fact that the panel were divided on these issues means it will get very messy and probably take a while to fix this between the players. It may involve a clear out of some manner to gel the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Next up full time coaches at schools level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

mayo.mick wrote: »

About time,I wonder if it does happen will Niall McGarry throw a few bob into the pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

It was the delegates that proposed the sanction on the LGFA Co.Board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭boosabum

Actually think the board played a blinder here.
    Reminds me of the Bloodgate scandal in the rugby.
    By going the nuclear option, it forces the "player welfare issues" out into the open and negates this NDA/Confidentiality agreements.

Green&Red wrote: »

It won't end well.

There was no players named at the meeting but neither did anyone have to be a genius to know which player (s) had led the walkout!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,372 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I say fair play to the CB here.

In many sports we hear about the top clubs/players getting preferential treatment when it comes to acts of discipline etc.

Here the organisation have decided to throw the book at the big club, the All Ireland champions no less.

If those eight had informed management individually that they were leaving the panel then there would be no issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

I say fair play to the CB here.

In many sports we hear about the top clubs/players getting preferential treatment when it comes to acts of discipline etc.

Here the organisation have decided to throw the book at the big club, the All Ireland champions no less.

If those eight had informed management individually that they were leaving the panel then there would be no issue.

And what about all the other members of the club who aren't inter-county senior players?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

I hope if the men ever win the senior All-Ireland they don’t go as loopy as the women .

Talk about One club losing the Run of it Self .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,372 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

And what about all the other members of the club who aren't inter-county senior players?

They are collateral damage, tough but true, someone will always lose out.

This is a problem because the club informed Mayo of the withdrawal, not the individual players.

Had the latter happened the club would be not even involved, just as the clubs of the other four who informed Mayo as individuals are not involved.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

blinding wrote: »
    I hope if the men ever win the senior All-Ireland they don’t go as loopy as the women .

Talk about One club losing the Run of it Self .

In fairness, and I don't agree with Carnacon in this one, they have 18 Mayo titles in a row, 15 Connacht and 5 AI titles in the last 20 year, if the men win that they can run where they are :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

boosabum wrote: »
    By going the nuclear option, it forces the "player welfare issues" out into the open and negates this NDA/Confidentiality agreements.

I don’t think it does, an appeal looks likely to be successful on purely procedural grounds - the rule used applies to members rather than clubs.
    The issue of ‘player welfare’ doesn’t impact the likely basis of the appeal.

Banning the individuals or the club secretary who made the call on the other hand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

The fact that the players didn't stand up for themselves but decided to push the club out in front to spearhead their issues smells to me. It makes their arguement weak imo.

I'd be pretty pissed off the club thinks that 8 players are far more important than everyone else in the club.

bobmalooka wrote: »
    boosabum wrote: »

I don’t think it does, an appeal looks likely to be successful on purely procedural grounds - the rule used applies to members rather than clubs.

The club is a member of the LGFA.