Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we protest against the pope's visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Caught a small snippet of 4FM today at lunch, about 13:00. Niall Boylan show. Was anyone else listening?

There were 2 callers at that moment: James and John.

Niall was expressing his hatred for the church but not the people. James was a devout christian that seemed to respect Niall's view. It seemed they were

John on the other hand was not happy at this. Instead of listening, he contradicted, argued and bickered his opinion without letting either really talk; like a spoiled little boy after eating 26 sherberts being a pathetic mess. Thankfully, the other 2 seemed to make dirt of him before I turned the radio off; you couldn't be listening to opinionated **** like John and the other 2 thought the same

Seems to me that there's 3 types of view on the papal visit as depicted above, or are there more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,935 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Caught a small snippet of 4FM today at lunch, about 13:00. Niall Boylan show. Was anyone else listening?

There were 2 callers at that moment: James and John.

Niall was expressing his hatred for the church but not the people. James was a devout christian that seemed to respect Niall's view. It seemed they were

John on the other hand was not happy at this. Instead of listening, he contradicted, argued and bickered his opinion without letting either really talk; like a spoiled little boy after eating 26 sherberts being a pathetic mess. Thankfully, the other 2 seemed to make dirt of him before I turned the radio off; you couldn't be listening to opinionated **** like John and the other 2 thought the same

Seems to me that there's 3 types of view on the papal visit as depicted above, or are there more?

I dont think i've seen anybody with an opinion like James on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Nixonbot wrote: »
    The man literally called victims of Church child abuse slanderers, get out of it.

Sanctimonious claptrap. You know well that the above sentence reads as if he has called all victims of the church slanderers when he has done nothing of the sort. Underhand nonsense.

What you're referencing is comments he made in response to very specific accusations about one bishop (Barros) having witnessed abuse and then covered it up (which was being reported by the Chilean media when he was there on a visit). He said until he saw proof it was just calumny. He later apologised for using the word proof and launched an investigation into the accusations, lead by the Vatican’s chief prosecutor of clerical sex abuse cases, which culminated in him removing Barros. He then invited the three abuse victims at the centre of the investigation to the Vatican.
    “As far as my role, I acknowledge, and ask you to convey faithfully, that I have made grave errors in assessment and perception of the situation, especially as a result of lack of information that was truthful and balanced. From this time I ask forgiveness to all those that I offended and I hope to do so personally, in the following weeks"

Which is precisely what he did and the main abuse victim, Juan Carlos Cruz, stayed with him in his home for a week where they spoke with each other for many hours, during which time Pope Francis apologised for what he had said in January and Juan accepted the apology as he believed him to be sincere, as he made clear in the following interview:

But yet even though Juan has accepted his apology, you, with your 'get out of it' remark, still suggest it's reasonable that people should protest his visit because of it.

Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,173 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I dont think i've seen anybody with an opinion like James on here.
    A devout christian respecting the right to peaceful protest? No I have not seen that here either.
    Taking the above analogy , on this forum theres not a lot of James but boy there's a lot of John!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Sanctimonious claptrap. You know well that the above sentence reads as if he has called all victims of the church slanderers when he has done nothing of the sort. Underhand nonsense.

What you're referencing is comments he made in response to very specific accusations about one bishop (Barros) having witnessed abuse and then covered it up (which was being reported by the Chilean media when he was there on a visit). He said until he saw proof it was just calumny. He later apologised for using the word proof and launched an investigation into the accusations, lead by the Vatican’s chief prosecutor of clerical sex abuse cases, which culminated in him removing Barros. He then invited the three abuse victims at the centre of the investigation to the Vatican.

Which is precisely what he did and the main abuse victim, Juan Carlos Cruz, stayed with him in his home for a week where they spoke with each other for many hours, during which time Pope Francis apologised for what he had said in January and Juan accepted the apology as he believed him to be sincere, as he made clear in the following interview:

But yet even though Juan has accepted his apology, you, with your 'get out of it' remark, still suggest it's reasonable that people should protest his visit because of it.

Ridiculous.

obama10.jpg

Ridiculous.
    whether the victim accepts his apology is does not change the fact he made the remarks. The fact he HAD to apologise is relevant. Why did he apologise unless there was something to apologise for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,071 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

So hold on. The Pope knew of the allegations, but when asked he said it was calumny.

I strange choice of word, meaning the making of false and defamatory statements about someone in order to damage their reputation; slander. Now why he didn't just say he wasn't aware of the full facts and await further details but, given the learnings of previous abuse situations, it would be wrong to comment either way.

But he very deliberately called into question the integrity of those making the allegations. I wonder why he did it. According to you it was a mere slip of the tongue. But then we see that this is exactly the way the CC has tried to deal with all abuse cases.

Again, this is coming from a position that people in favour of the Popes visit are claiming that Francis as overseen a change in the CC and things are now different. Had this been the 1st time any allegation been made, had he been doorstepped with these allegations I could understand, if not agree. But he knew what was going on in Chile. He knew these questions would be asked. He knew the CC had a history in this area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Yeah, so exactly what I said. If I meant all victims I would have included the word all.

Fact is, Pope Francis I accused victims of Church sex abuse of slander (in Chile if that makes you feel any better, want me to find the town so you're absolutely sure I'm not saying it about everyone?). Absolutely disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

The Niall Boylan show is terrible and it's callers tend to be brainless.
    How can you listen to that muck?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,573 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I'm just going to leave this here, its something everyone should watch.

This video is taken from Questions & Answers which aired on RTE and covers the Ryan commission, the video features Michael O'Brien who is a former Mayor of Clonmel.
    He speaks about how he was treated, how he was told by a man who represented the Vatican that he was making it up and he was only in it for the money.

Its a very upsetting video to watch, but whats worse of all from all of this......very little has f*cken changed, we still have people making excuses for the church and the victims are still waiting on justice,

Your video link doesnt work Cabaal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Cabaal wrote: »
    I'm just going to leave this here, its something everyone should watch.

Powerful clip alright. It bring the crimes of Rome to reality.
    And you are right, the victims have never got justice or respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

The Niall Boylan show is terrible and it's callers tend to be brainless.
    How can you listen to that muck?

It just happened to be on the radio as I pulled into a car park; I wouldn't bother listening to it either. I heard the topic and thought of this thread

At the very least, it seems by me talking about that show, it's sparked some small conversation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Cabaal wrote: »
    He speaks about how he was treated, how he was told by a man who represented the Vatican that he was making it up and he was only in it for the money.

In fairness, there is context there which perhaps may explain why that was suggested. Even Christine Buckley said after she was made aware of previous comments Michael had made in defense of the church, that had she known, she wouldn't have stood on the same stage as him:

Survivors at loggerheads over denial of sex abuse

Survivors of sexual abuse in religious-run residential institutions are embroiled in an increasingly bitter row over how some €680m in compensation from religious orders identified in the Ryan report should be shared out, the Sunday Tribune has learned.

The dispute took a dramatic twist this weekend when the Aislinn Centre's Christine Buckley criticised a decade-old radio interview with the former mayor of Clonmel, Michael O'Brien, where he claimed not to have been sexually abused while he was incarcerated in St Joseph's industrial school, Ferryhouse.

This directly contradicts a highly-charged intervention on RTE's Questions and Answers programme in May of last year, where O'Brien detailed the extent of abuse he suffered, prompting widespread public sympathy and anger.

During the 1999 interview on a local radio station, O'Brien expresses sympathy for victims of sexual abuse who suffered at the hands of the notorious Rosminian abuser at Ferryhouse, Brother Sean Barry. He goes on to say: "But I must say, and I have to say it here and now, because I had to meet my family when this came out. And say it never happened to me, I never seen it happening, I never heard of it happening in my seven years in Ferryhouse. I never seen or heard of it."

Although O'Brien acknowledges in the interview that he was subjected to physical abuse and deprivation at Ferryhouse, he also pays tribute to the Rosminians and says that this was the state's fault, not Ferryhouse.

"We were left there to those brothers and those priests to become our parents, and look after us. And as far as I'm concerned, 99.9% of them done a good job... out of every group, no matter what organisation you're in, you'll find bad eggs, Ferryhouse is my home. And I will defend it to the end as long as I live, because I was reared by them."

"I couldn't doubt any victim of institutional abuse nor have I ever questioned anybody before. This is the first time I have done this," she said. "Being in denial is being in denial. But why be so vociferous in protecting the Rosminian order on the radio?"

Buckley added that she was passed a copy of O'Brien's radio interview in October of last year anonymously. If she had known its contents a month earlier, when she accepted a People of the Year award with O'Brien, she said she did not think she could have gone onstage with him.

When contacted by the Sunday Tribune this weekend O'Brien strongly defended the interview, which he said he had given in recognition of the fact that Ferryhouse was the "only home I ever knew".

"The reason I didn't say anything about sexual abuse on local radio was that I didn't want my family or anybody to know about it. I didn't want to talk about it... I had been mayor of Clonmel and I didn't want anyone to know about it," he said. "I want nothing off anyone out of this. I said that to the Taoiseach, I said it everywhere I went. I want nothing off you. I said it to the Bishops, personally I want nothing off of anybody. But I'll fight on my back for former residents, I do want the former residents set up. I do not want money out of it. I never wanted money out of it. And that is a fact."

Both Buckley and O'Brien were among a group of representatives of survivors who met with Taoiseach Brian Cowen last April. But O'Brien and other groups such as the Survivors of Child Abuse (SOCA) Ireland stormed out after they were informed by Cowen that just €110m out of some €680m expected total compensation from religious orders was to go into a state-administered fund for former residents of the institutions.

Far as I'm concerned though, Michael seemed quite genuine on Q&As and so have no reason to doubt his explanation for why he initially made the comments he did and we know scumbags from the Vatican have suggested to victims of the church before that they were just looking for money, so that also may have been said with no awareness of his history of defending the church..... however, in saying that, I fail to see the relevance here to why or why not the Irish people should be protesting Pope Francis. He has made his position clear and just how he sees such abuse.

Seems to me however that some people won't be happy no matter what he says or does. Even many of those who were victims of abuse at the hands of the evil men and women within the ranks of the church have accepted that this Pope has a genuine desire to do what needs to be done and have no problem acknowledging all he has done. So why not with others? Well, to me the reason is crystal clear and that is because they are vehemently anti church & state and wish to continue to use these people's injustices as a makeshift battering ram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,071 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Seems to me however that some people won't be happy no matter what he says or does. Even many of those who were victims of abuse at the hands of the evil men and women within the ranks of the church have accepted that this Pope has a genuine desire to do what needs to be done and have no problem acknowledging all he has done. So why not with others? Well, to me the reason is crystal clear and that is because they are vehemently anti church & state and wish to continue to use these people's injustices as a makeshift battering ram.

Grand so. What has he actually done? I have asked a number of times what actual work they have undertaken, unprompted by state legal processes, to find out why this happened and what changes to the CC itself needs to be made.

The guy comes across as a nice, kind emphatic person. Not exactly asking much when as Vatican II remarked, it is a charism the pope "enjoys in virtue of his office, when, as the supreme shepherd and teacher of all the faithful, who confirms his brethren in their faith (Luke 22:32), he proclaims by a definitive act some doctrine of faith or morals. Therefore his definitions, of themselves, and not from the consent of the Church, are justly held irreformable, for they are pronounced with the assistance of the Holy Spirit, an assistance promised to him in blessed Peter."

But has he set about this with the zeal and single mindedness that it deserves? Has he made certain that this can never happen again?
    Pope Francis’s record on child protection ‘has been a dismal failure’
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/pope-francis-s-record-on-child-protection-has-been-a-dismal-failure-1.3597677

Pope Francis has utterly failed to tackle the church’s abuse scandal
    https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/jul/26/pope-francis-catholic-church-abuse-scandal-failed
    In July, Pennsylvania Attorney General Josh Shapiro wrote a personal letter to Pope Francis, warning him that "a comprehensive investigation" by his office had found "widespread sexual abuse of children and a systemic coverup by leaders of the Catholic Church."

Shapiro says he never received a response.
    https://edition.cnn.com/2018/08/15/us/pennsylvania-catholic-sex-abuse-vatican/index.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Well he hired Greg Burke as his PR guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Mailcoachinn

Get a Madonna lookalike tribute artist to infiltrate the entertainment crew and do a verbatim re-enactment of the Like a Prayer video. That’d be a sight to behold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

An_Toirpin wrote: »
    work wrote: »
    Really everything people are angered at? Women can now become priests? He is helping all authorities with investigating paedophile cover ups. Read the OP. Far from everything. Like previous popes he may talk a good game but action is always too late or too little and often because he has no real choice. What did he do to help the recent Australian prosecution of a bishop and was the said bishop demoted or punished by the CC, NO he will be looked after.

Most Catholics globally don't wnat women priests. It won't happen and I hope it doesnt too.

Kindly reference that most Catholics are misogynistic pigs as you claim. Like most of your factually presented cr@p. What do you think is wrong with Catholics to be so misogynistic as you claim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Nothe gonna wade through every page, bit is there actually any protests organised for this? Not interested in participating, just curious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Nothe gonna wade through every page, bit is there actually any protests organised for this? Not interested in participating, just curious

The Remembrance Garden organised by Amnesty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

It just happened to be on the radio as I pulled into a car park; I wouldn't bother listening to it either. I heard the topic and thought of this thread

At the very least, it seems by me talking about that show, it's sparked some small conversation

Niall himself is good, would agree that guests are brainless, but it's great entertainment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

They have a grip insofar as they are legally allowed to discriminate with regards to entry to State-funded primary schools - THAT needs to change - but again, this is not what the OP or anyone else wants to protest. If it was, they would have portested a long time ago.

That's the governments fault.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

Arlene Foster not attending, still not time for a Unionist leader to meet the anti Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Not looking forward to the long q's at the bars will you get away with a hip flask or are they searching people on the way in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,861 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Not looking forward to the long q's at the bars will you get away with a hip flask or are they searching people on the way in?

Heard the white wiz is bringing the wine.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,021 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Heard the white wiz is bringing the wine.
    I heard a rumour that Frankie will be making it himself from just plain tap water!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,839 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I think that Rememberance gathering is being organised by Colm O'Gorman in a personal capacity. Would go if I was in Dublin. My heart goes out to the survivors and those who didn't survive.

I heard a rumour that Frankie will be making it himself from just plain tap water!

I heard Frankie Goes to Hollywood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,364 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Water John wrote: »
    I think that Rememberance gathering is being organised by Colm O'Gorman in a personal capacity. Would go if I was in Dublin. My heart goes out to the survivors and those who didn't survive.

We're hoping to go but our part of Dublin will be on something approaching lockdown and public transport will be full of the bewildered.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

professore wrote: »
    They have a grip insofar as they are legally allowed to discriminate with regards to entry to State-funded primary schools - THAT needs to change - but again, this is not what the OP or anyone else wants to protest. If it was, they would have portested a long time ago.

That's the governments fault.

Yes that is the governments fault but it is changing slowly. I am not sure why princess says nobody wants to protest this of course they do, there is now however an opportunity (pope here for first time in 40 years) to let people know there are lots of people that are piss@d off at the church for many reasons as per the OP.
    separation of church and state is essential and if not in the OP apologies.