Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,373 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Green&Red wrote: »
    Well theres been no meeting between the two, Rochford has just said that he wants to stay on. I doubt the players want him and I'd say they'd like the CB to do their dirty work for them

Why ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

PressRun wrote: »
    Do people have confidence in Coen as a midfield replacement for Tom or Seamie? Because I do not.

I don't see any other option at the moment, maybe someone will put their hand up in the club championship. Coen did well in midfield against Kildare and could grow into the role further. Up to now he's played a variety of positions in the backs, midfield and forwards which doesn't help. He gets into some great scoring positions if only his shooting could improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,460 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Green&Red wrote:
    Well theres been no meeting between the two, Rochford has just said that he wants to stay on. I doubt the players want him and I'd say they'd like the CB to do their dirty work for them

Why would you think the players don't want him? I've heard the exact opposite from a few of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Bit late to party with this one.

Mayo News Football Podcast 2018 All Ireland Under 20 Final Review

https://themayonews.podomatic.com/enclosure/2018-08-06T12_45_52-07_00.mp3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

RedDevil55 wrote: »
    I don't see any other option at the moment, maybe someone will put their hand up in the club championship. Coen did well in midfield against Kildare and could grow into the role further. Up to now he's played a variety of positions in the backs, midfield and forwards which doesn't help. He gets into some great scoring positions if only his shooting could improve.

Coen is not a midfielder imo. He really needs to improve and I think he was lucky to get a lot of the starting positions. He is clearly not able to take the opposition player on and beat them. He tends to turn back and play the ball back which is frustrating to watch.

He is very driven by all accounts so I hope he really steps up next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Why would you think the players don't want him? I've heard the exact opposite from a few of them.

There’s an incredible amount of bull****ters on Twitter. If they had anything to say, they’d have said it by now, the same crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Seen 2 interviews with Jason Doc and Zippy
    Both saying what I had hoped
    Break has energized them physically and mentally
    Allowed them time with club,family etc etc

Zippy did not sound like a man with retirement in mind as he was talking about winter training and the FbD!!!!

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=2008278889224970&id=595601400492733&_rdr

That’s zippys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

km79 wrote: »
    Seen 2 interviews with Jason Doc and Zippy
    Both saying what I had hoped
    Break has energized them physically and mentally
    Allowed them time with club,family etc etc

Zippy did not sound like a man with retirement in mind as he was talking about winter training and the FbD!!!!

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=2008278889224970&id=595601400492733&_rdr

That’s zippys

A mate met himself and Rob Hennelly one week night recently in Fagans, Drumcondra out having a few pints, made me think that this was just enjoying the normal simple pleasures that we take for granted. Were dead sound, enjoying the break and looking forward to next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,709 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Blackjack wrote: »
    There’s an incredible amount of bull****ters on Twitter. If they had anything to say, they’d have said it by now, the same crowd.

Well I doubt they could, they've played that card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Green&Red wrote: »
    Well I doubt they could, they've played that card.

The players don’t have a problem with Rochford. That’s been made clear already. Not sure why you would persist with trying to spread that sort of bs. Twitter Seems to be loaded with all sort of bull****ter accounts running polls and attempting to do some sort of parody podcasts and the likes.

Some people have too much time on their hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

I see The Big Tree is closing. No surprise, they couldn't keep the doors open without the Mayo support.

Yeah I saw that on the Indo.

Pretty sad,loved that gaff.

Manys a great night had there win,lose or draw.

seligehgit wrote: »

Same as that. Was in there after last year's final - good craic despite the result!

Limerick hurlers end up happy after a final at last. I’ve heard us and them being mentioned together sometimes because of similar experiences in finals (1994 being their particular nightmare). Hopefully we can finally get over the line soon enough.

They just did enough in the end
    Must be a great feeling

Can't help but feel we had our chance, last year especially - it all went right on the day but we just couldn't finish it off.

We'll always try to come back though.

They just did enough in the end
    Must be a great feeling

Oh it must be truly amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I lived in Drumcondra for a few years in the mid nineties.

Outside of match days The Big Tree had a poor reputation, particularly on Saturday nights when it was dirt birds as far as the eye could see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Limerick have macmanus as there backer for the last few yrs which is now bearing fruit for them.
    Delighted for limerick to win after so many yrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,652 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

And this is where you get the conflict with league performance.

If you want to run out a whole host of young guys then challenging for the league is likely not an option, and some here (and for good reason) think that challenging the league might be a good idea.

You could also end up in a situation where after running out the young guys early and losing you are scrambling for league points to avoid relegation and you got back to the old guys to dig you out of a hole. This is what Kerry did a lot under Fitzmaurice.

Or do you stick with young guys and take relegation if it happens ?

The best scenario of course is if you win early with young guys then you are safe in Division 1 after half the league then you can do as you wish after that.

Nowadays with the Super 8`s any team with genuine aspirations of even reaching that stage, never mind winning an AI, will need to be seriously blooding their bench during the league.

Games come thick and fast from the Q/F stage on if they stick to this years format.Three Q/F games and a S/F in five weeks. The teams with larger squads who can have lads coming in at the latter stages of games with experience are in an advantage in this format. Plus they have exact positional cover for any injuries on a game by game basis

Prime example is both teams in this years AI final.
    The days of the first 15 plus 6 or 7 handy subs are gone. Nowadays you need a second team practically as good as your first to win an AI imho.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Delighted for Limerick. Many parallels with ourselves. Lived there for 6 years and played down there so I remember their passion.
    As said, can only but imagine how they are feeling today.

Galway were way off the mark, thats 3 losses, but they got that all important one win. Interesting to hear the parallels with us and the curse last night on up for the match.

@AonghusOMaicin: Almost there. Plenty to dig into in tomorrow's Western People sports pages, including the latest on #mayogaa. Rochford's return, it would appear, isn't set in stone just yet. #buyapaper https://twitter.com/AonghusOMaicin/status/1031259169003905024/photo/1

Can't believe if this is still fecking dragging on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

naughto wrote: »
    Limerick have macmanus as there backer for the last few yrs which is now bearing fruit for them.
    Delighted for limerick to win after so many yrs

it's a lot more than 'few' years, since 2004 i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

it's a lot more than 'few' years, since 2004 i think

Is it that far back I live to no how much he had in them to win

@AonghusOMaicin: Almost there. Plenty to dig into in tomorrow's Western People sports pages, including the latest on #mayogaa. Rochford's return, it would appear, isn't set in stone just yet. #buyapaper https://twitter.com/AonghusOMaicin/status/1031259169003905024/photo/1

Can't believe if this is still fecking dragging on

Anyone read the western ?????

A horror show of monumental proportions now showing on Eir Sports 1.

The 1994 Connacht final.

A horror show of monumental proportions now showing on Eir Sports 1.

The 1994 Connacht final.

Had the pleasure of being at that one, the less said the better!

Had the pleasure of being at the one, the less the better!

Same as,I knew we were bad but this is an unwelcome reminder of how atrocious we were in an absolutely muck contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

Seems to be more rumbling with the Ladies and in particular from a leading Mayo club side who want the Co.Board out.
    The saga continues!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭irishgeo

ureds wrote: »
    Seems to be more rumbling with the Ladies and in particular from a leading Mayo club side who want the Co.Board out.
    The saga continues!

Is the ladies not a separate thing.