If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Report: 'Thousands' of Children Sexually Abused by Hundreds of 'Predator Priests'

• 15-08-2018 11:39PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/child-sex-abuse-victims-predator-priests-pennsylvania-grand-jury-report-a8491941.html
    More than 1,000 children were molested by hundreds of “predator priests” among six Roman Catholic dioceses in Pennsylvania, a grand jury report revealed.

The investigation identified more than 300 priests who it alleged committed the abuse over decades.

The report suggested that the “real number” of child abuse victims was likely to be ”in the thousands”.

It added: “We believe that the real number of children whose records were lost or who were afraid ever to come forward is in the thousands.

The report is thought to be the most comprehensive to date into abuse in the US church, but while prosecutors have filed charges against two priests, the vast majority of crimes happened too long ago to prosecute under current laws.

It is absolutely harrowing that we are still dealing with this bullsh**, with the Church going so far as to refuse to pay damages by claiming the victims 'consented'.

The fallout from this towards good, innocent priests and Catholics is also going to be sad to see and hopefully does not end up in some form of vigilante backlash with how heightened the current climate in the US is at the moment anyway. Hopefully the victims get some form of justice or closure for this horrific abuse, and hopefully the scumbags responsible get what they have coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Do they shoot lasers and have a telltale shimmer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

I wonder how many Irish names appear on the list.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

"We believe"- so making up numbers then for effect ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭OB1Kildare

in many cases the church were just moving the problem priests around from one state to another ...creating town after town of victims. They have never in my mind fully apologized for the conduct - from those at the top to the ones preying on the school kids.....and i doubt they ever will .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ANDREWMUFC

Never ever trust a priest. Filth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,645 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Billy86 wrote: »
    The fallout from this towards good, innocent priests
    :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Billy86 wrote: »
    https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/child-sex-abuse-victims-predator-priests-pennsylvania-grand-jury-report-a8491941.html

It is absolutely harrowing that we are still dealing with this bullsh**, with the Church going so far as to refuse to pay damages by claiming the victims 'consented'.

The fallout from this towards good, innocent priests and Catholics is also going to be sad to see and hopefully does not end up in some form of vigilante backlash with how heightened the current climate in the US is at the moment anyway. Hopefully the victims get some form of justice or closure for this horrific abuse, and hopefully the scumbags responsible get what they have coming.

Sure the 'good' priests, if they weren't doing the fiddlin themselves were doing their best to protect the fiddlers.

What an insitution and to see people sitting in the churches on a Sunday still...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

OB1Kildare wrote: »
    in many cases the church were just moving the problem priests around from one state to another ...creating town after town of victims. They have never in my mind fully apologized for the conduct - from those at the top to the ones preying on the school kids.....and i doubt they ever will .

One of the priests in this report quit after years of allegations and being moved. The church were happy to give him a reference for his next job at Disney world. It's like they don't see child abuse as a problem at all, yeah let's not warn his next employment opportunity which will give him free access to kids yet again. Talk about a lack of conscience , absolute hypocrites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

Sure the 'good' priests, if they weren't doing the fiddlin themselves were doing their best to protect the fiddlers.

What an insitution and to see people sitting in the churches on a Sunday still...

Exactly.

I’d love to know the exact number of priest that

A - were fiddling

B - Priests that knew lads that they were working with were at it, and said nothing.

C - Priests that actually reported other priests for doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

And we're rolling out the red carpet for the Pope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

ANDREWMUFC wrote: »
    Never ever trust a priest. Filth

I have about as much love for the Catholic church as I do for Islam, but I have a hell of a lot less grá for bigotry.

People really need to start copping themselves on, or we're all going to suffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    One of the priests in this report quit after years of allegations and being moved. The church were happy to give him a reference for his next job at Disney world. It's like they don't see child abuse as a problem at all, yeah let's not warn his next employment opportunity which will give him free access to kids yet again. Talk about a lack of conscience , absolute hypocrites

Where did you read that? That’s horrendous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭buckwheat

This is nothing more than catholicophobia motivated church bashing. Those kids were sluts who wanted to be abused and if people want to celebrate the visit of the leader of this great institution then they should be able to do so without being constantly reminded of these trivial issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

buckwheat wrote: »
    Those kids were sluts who wanted to be abused.

Fecken hell.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 43,070 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

buckwheat wrote: »
    This is nothing more than catholicophobia motivated church bashing. Those kids were sluts who wanted to be abused and if people want to celebrate the visit of the leader of this great institution then they should be able to do so without being constantly reminded of these trivial issues.

What a depraved thing to come out with. Banned.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,129 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Glad we're in Ireland and not living in that mad country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I can see it at the gathering of people in the Phoenix park, and our rapping pope shouting out 'Dublin! Make some f#cking noise!' to a big roar of applause. The party will kick off until oh no
    'We've got a young streaker!',
    'No, wait, false alarm, its not a streaker; one of the young boys has escaped from the holding pen'

-F Boyle -

Sickening. Absolutely sickening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I blame God and Jaysus, they were the ones saying catholic priests cannot marry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭rgodard80a

erica74 wrote: »
    And we're rolling out the red carpet for the Pope.

Ideally to arrest him.... but unfortunately since the Vatican is it's own country he'd have diplomatic immunity I'd imagine.

Best we can hope for is that he gets struck by lightning in Phoenix park and it's labelled as an act of God.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

biko wrote: »
    I blame God and Jaysus, they were the ones saying catholic priests cannot marry

Now change that to "Mohammed" and "Married and impregnate a 9 year old" and use it to tar all Imams with the same brush.

That is just as ludicrous - apparently Catholic bashing is okay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

The Vatican's response: "We have no comment at this time"

Shameful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

I wonder will the Pope be giving an apology when he visits next week ?
    I wouldn't be holding my breath ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

It's an interesting point though, the fact that RCC priests can't marry seemed to have attracted the worst deviants to the priesthood (not saying all priests).

You just don't have the same issues (at least on this scale) with Reverends.

Church of England does seem to be a truly progressive institution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Keepaneye

Yet people will still defend their sky man organisation to the hilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,871 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

myshirt wrote: »
    I can see it at the gathering of people in the Phoenix park, and our rapping pope shouting out 'Dublin! Make some f#cking noise!' to a big roar of applause. The party will kick off until oh no
    'We've got a young streaker!',
    'No, wait, false alarm, its not a streaker; one of the young boys has escaped from the holding pen'

-F Boyle -

Sickening. Absolutely sickening.

Frankie Boyle I presume?

He obviously said this before he drank the leftie kool aid and started pontificating from the safe space of his Guardian column.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,645 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

That is just as ludicrous - apparently Catholic bashing is okay?

can't we bash all religions equally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,129 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

TomSweeney wrote: »

Not at same scale but hey, I wouldn't go patting them on the back just yet.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2018/06/22/church-england-excluded-child-abuse-allegations-inquiry-downplayed/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Keepaneye

Why wouldn't you bash an organisation responsible for the suffering of millions of people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

TomSweeney wrote: »
    It's an interesting point though, the fact that RCC priests can't marry seemed to have attracted the worst deviants to the priesthood (not saying all priests).

You just don't have the same issues (at least on this scale) with Reverends.

They had almost as much child abuse in their institutions.. and teaching against the Bible..

and see

http://www.bishop-accountability.org/AbuseTracker/

every church is guilty all over the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Graces7 wrote: »
    They had almost as much child abuse in their institutions.. and teaching against the Bible..

and see

http://www.bishop-accountability.org/AbuseTracker/

every church is guilty all over the world

Indeed the world would be a much better place without gods and religions.