Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Buy a gps computer and save your battery :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Internet Friend

May also be cause for a new bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

2hrs of 5km mountain bike laps today in that ****ing wind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭North of 32

40km at an average speed of 31.6km/h, a new personal best.

I have been focusing a lot on trying to improve my pedal stroke and cadence. I think I've started to understand it and found something that suits me, at least on the flats. I gained around 3-4km/h with just a different style but what feels like the same effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,790 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

I gained around 3-4km/h with just a different style but what feels like the same effort.

"It doesn't get any easier, you just get faster" Greg LeMond

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

had my second go at taking the right at the church in howth. forewarned being forearmed, i found it waay easier this time. and this time, i took the right up windgate road, which i didn't do the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

72km around NCD. Brilliant weather but hard to cool down after. Not that I'm complaining, mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,362 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Finally got under 6mins for the cruagh bridge to bridge segment

screen-shot-2016-12-14-at-4-25-12-pm.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

120KM with 2k odd climbing. The Iron Man crew in 2wks have noooo idea what they're in for.

Leisurely 30km Spin with a pint or two around the dingle peninsula on he road bike with a friend.

Then took the mountain bike on the beach. That was fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Went out for a spin today and ended up staying out for 4hrs in order to try get some km's in the bank.

Back road from Clonmel to Carrick then Carrick to Kilmacthomas, some of the worst roads to travel with a still sensitive saddle area after surgery, clever stuff Dahat!!!

I dropped into the Coach House for coffee and was 30c short for a coffee n brownie so the kind sales assistant asked me what I wanted to leave behind, an already sweaty cyclist was now annoyed & sweaty, drank my coffee and went on my way dreaming of said brownie!

Took the easy route to Kilmeadan vua the Greenway and at times it was like negotiating a nervous A4 Peleton with folk all over the place. The Greenway users seem to think that 3 abreast facing you is grand once they slow down while you pass, odd folk.

All in all 112k at 27.9 avg which wasn't great but I tried to keep my HR at 150 as much as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭Qrt

35km today. Little tour of north Germany. Steinbergkirche, Sterup, Sörup, down and around the country roads (which have cycling direction signs). Stopped off for an ice cream too because I'm the epitome of good health.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

fairly flat 110k out past bective and tara and back. 28km/h average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

After a few beers etc last night in town, I didn't think I'd even be opening the shed let alone getting out on the bike. Anyway, 81km. Happy with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

First spin up the hills since the Mick Byrne and first solo spin up there in months. Haven't been up Kippure since this time last year. I just love being up there. It's good for the soul.
    Went from Tallaght, up Bohernabreena, Cunard then up Kippure and down to Laragh for a nice coffee and lump of sticky toffee cake with added whipped cream because to hell with diets when you're enjoying a spin. Then slightly slower than anticipated back up by the waterfall before getting a gentle tailwind back across the Gap.
    98 km, 1632m climbed. Bike mojo back :D
    https://www.strava.com/activities/1751604132

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Stayed up to watch the UFC last night so near 6 when I was going asleep. Got up at 10 and went out through Naul and on to Drogheda back through Balbriggan and having a pint in Kilmainham now. 100kms on the nose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

I managed 20km today. First time on the bike in months, but it felt great.

Another 30km leisurely spin and had a mechanical. Left crank fell off when out of the saddle on a small climb luckily didn’t come down, tried a running repair. And it came off again. Fixed it a second time and limped home. Went into the small ring and spun home putting as little pressure it as possible.

Must get a new bike :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭dahat

95km done on a smashing day to complete a 3 day block of sorts. A block headwind from Callan to Clonmel made for some hard work for 3 weary lads with Ninemilehouse being a particularly bad point for me.

I think it's time to jack in the 11 25 block and return to the realitve safety of 11 28 for the foreseeable future as my weary legs aren't fit enough for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭positron

Drogheda-Buncrana

Leaving Drogheda at 7 am, got to Buncrana just after 6 pm. 9 hours on the move, 11 hours door to door.

Compared to last time zero drama this time, no rain, no punctures, no hypothermia, no near-death experiences and life-saving kindness needed from strangers (aparts from many decent drivers giving me space on narrow parts of N2 and A5, thanks to them!!).

Nice soft day with a cool start. The Halfords jacket with removable arms was perfect for the job - first as a jacket, and later as gillet (on sale now, less than 20 quid). Didn't need it after lunch. One of the aliexpress "SPEXEL" bib was up for the task as well. Another cool thing was the things you learn under pressure - midnight last night I was trying to get rid of some slack on front brake levers (I have the normal lever and one of those CX ones on the top of the bar as well) and ended up with the front wheel barely turning whatever I do. Thanks to an amazing Parkside video on adjusting mechanical disc brakes, 15 minutes to figure out bits and 2 mins of actual tweaking later (static pad too far away and the action lever was pulled too close etc etc), and now the brakes were perfect, and the front wheel were never been this free spinning to this date. Also minor tweaks with the seat angle, flipped the stem etc my neck is only mildly uncomfortable after 9 hours on the saddle. On the downside got just 3 hours sleep, not pleasant at all. Hopefully the fresh Innishower air and the quietness here will fix that tonight!

https://www.strava.com/activities/1752428241
    207.93km, 1,638m elevation, 23.1 kmph average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

^^^^^^^^^
    Tour de Boyne Valley will be a piece of p1ss after that.
    Well done.

Ha I was just looking at the few photos you had on strava of the spin , those Irish dancers they have up for the Fleadh along the dual carriageway scared the bejaysus out of my 4 year old earlier in a week, ran up to see what they were as we walked passed with the dog and came running back screaming :D

In fairness they are kind of creepy.

Boscoirl wrote: »
    Left crank fell off when out of the saddle on a small climb
    you must have been putting some monster power down.

positron wrote: »
    (aparts from many decent drivers giving me space on narrow parts of N2 and A5, thanks to them!!).
    fair play - would wonder about the N2, the only bit of it i've ever cycled would be a 10km stretch north of ashbourne, which is not pleasant, but i guess it'd be quieter further north.

if memory serves though, you would have hit a lot of rolling hills on it?

From what I recall of being on it north bound a few years ago the N2 at it's best after Ardee. Decent surface and good wideish hard shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭positron

Average speeds would be my main concern, to finish before cut off. Anyway I signed for the 96k version, so I should be okay.

Yeah absolutely, its the stilts - they remind me of something amazonian / tribal - heads on stakes type thing.

Like Enfilade mentioned its wide with decent surface etc north of Ardee. Navan to Ardee is very lumpy. Ashbourne to Navan is narrow with a lot of traffic. Good bit further up, after Castleblaney IIRC, it gets tricky when you hit the new-ish section where the road keeps changing between one lane and two lanes, traffic often moves along well over 100 kmph as well. It's always up/down all the way, there aren't that many flat stretches at all, but luckily no major hard climbs (except for the 10k after Ballygawley roundabout).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

The National 600 Audax is in the bag after the weekend. 14 starters, one DNF. 12 of us rode as a bunch up to the first control in Cavan from Dublin. Average speed of 28.2 for the first 115km. I knew I'd pay for it later but it gained me some extra time.

Let the bunch go at 150km and rode solo for the rest of the 600. Traffic was busy on the N55 with plenty of Monaghan supporters on the way to the match. The sun came out in Athlone and there wasn't much wind down to Roscrea and Cashel.

Cashel across to Clonmel was lovely, quiet road with a bit of climbing. Passing through Rosegreen there was a sign for Road Bowling but it was over and the pub was busy.

Clonmel to the sleep spot in Kilmacow was uneventful. Weird searchlights in the sky to the south, someone was sending a bat signal.

Into Kilmacow at 00:55, shower, a bit of restless sleep for less than 4 hours and out the door just before 7am. The N25 to New Ross is still horrible three years after the last time I did this route. The route turns south in New Ross to Arthurstown and the next control. If any Wexford readers are interested, there's a lovely 200km
    Audax around Wexford, The Yola 200. https://www.audaxireland.org/events-calendar/gazetteer/200km-events/yola-200/

Arthurstown to Wexford on a lumpy ribbon of road was fine. Then the slow climb back up to Dublin on the N11 through Enniscorthy and the hills out of Bunclody with the "Sunday Game" in my ear. A quick stop to gather my thoughts in Rathvilly and then the final push for home on familiar roads through Blessington. I passed the back of my house at 8pm and arrived at the finish at 20:15.

Thanks to the Orwell lads for organising a very successful event and well done to everyone who completed the course.

https://www.strava.com/activities/1752749166

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭secman

Dare someone to post a regular spin after that post ...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Internet Friend

secman wrote: »
    Dare someone to post a regular spin after that post ...:)

Eh...well I did my first ever century today :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,134 ✭✭✭patrickc

I did 50km on the new bike hadn't been out much in the last few weeks and averaged 27.7km/h

First time using clip in shoes, no disasters unlike falling off when practicing in the kitchen!