Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Luxman

My Achill adventure continues. Today was just supposed to be easy enough (legs a bit sore after Croagh Patrick on Tuesday) so I headed for the Greenway. I am about 9km from the start of it in Achill Sound. General impression is thats its very good, however I knew fairly quickly there would be a headwind all the way home. It was drizzly but nothing that would stop you. Got a far as Malranny and had to dismount to get up the ramp there, I didn't expect it and could not get a run at it due to the sharp turn. Continued on to Newport and by the time I got there it was miserable, proper extra wet Atlantic drizzle, so I turned and headed back into the wind. So 80km all in. Saw a few families out, it was great to see. Over 500m climbing on Strava!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I was driving but I met a lot of cyclists on the road between Ballinasloe and Shannonbridge maybe 50 or more spread out, kind of unusual for a Friday.

Likely a Galway - Dublin cycle given the time of year. I'm doing it in August on a Thursday and Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Justwinginit

Haven't managed to get our for a while. Eased back into it with just shy of 39km.avg 26.4 top 56.2(yes downhill) Thought I'd ha e more aches and pains and still felt I had a bit left in the tank. I think I'll keep that bit for Sunday:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭saccades

yep, I've these and they do the job perfectly, means I don't have to wear my cycling shoes if just going somewhere local.

that said I expect you'll be surprised at how quickly you get used to being clipped in. we've all had those 1 or 2 tumbles as part of the initiation :pac:

I was going to recommend the m324, used them for years. When they wore out I got the XT trails ones which are nicer, new version has better grip pins on the flat side.

Last long commute today and it was cool so hammered it into work. 18 new PB's and destroyed myself up wind gates and got the green light flow through bray.

Strava didn't record the last 15km.... Curses.

Going home was torrential at times, half thought about phoning the missus for a lift but it was warm enough and you can only get so wet before it doesn't matter.

Last 125km before a 24 hour endurance event.

Bike computer is acting the maggot, dunno about a replacement or getting a small god.

Tired due to what I think is onset of summer man flue (worst kind) on the way home I pulled right into the drive a little too early and hit kerb and went straight over the bars, front wheel is shagged and so are my shorts and jersey but no major injuries other than grazes :o

The drive meets the road after crossing a footpath and has a 1cm lip with slanted kerbs either side.

EDIT: Some local teens had a good chuckle at my expense but did assist picking me up and making sure I was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Takca

Something I've been meaning to do for sometime is cycle to Dublin, today was the day

I met the family in kinnegad for something to eat (they were driving up), at that stage my legs were in pain, I was feeling cold, tired and my cycling strength was fading fast, with 60km yet to go. A coke, milk, burger and neurophen later and I took off feeling a lot better and I was pretty much fine again for the rest of the trip. Not sure which of the above to give credit to but something worked. I had a slight tail wind for most it, nothing very strong but I was happy to have it.

https://www.strava.com/activities/1715875566

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

that's some average speed to maintain for over 200km!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,538 ✭✭✭Gerry

That was some spin, fair play to you. Want to try a similar sort of thing, a journey that I've done by car many times but it will be approx 100k, maynooth to castlecomer.

that's some average speed to maintain for over 200km!

I probably overdid it a bit, feeling pretty tired today.

I did my pb on the Howth TT last night, still double figures but I should be able to get into the singles next time given it was rainy and windy up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭pjmn

70km today - got two punctures (first ones I'd say in 12 months) - thankfully had two tubes with me - dry and overcast...

https://www.strava.com/activities/1717071258

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭James 007

Did the same as last week, Drumcondra - Rathfarnham - Sallygap - Laragh - Drumcondra, 21.5km/hr, 4.66 hours, 100km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭dahat

First Spin in 5 weeks after surgery and with 4 new kilogram friends i was always going to find it tough no matter how easy I wanted to take it.

I failed to check the wind so I faced a block headwind for the last 25km or so, suffering.

55km at 31 avg and wrecked legs.... Still good to be back but I'm a long long way off any sort of fitness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

dahat wrote: »
    First Spin in 5 weeks after surgery and with 4 new kilogram friends i was always going to find it tough no matter how easy I wanted to take it.

I failed to check the wind so I faced a block headwind for the last 25km or so, suffering.

55km at 31 avg and wrecked legs.... Still good to be back but I'm a long long way off any sort of fitness.

How would you check the wind, is they an app

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »

Most forecasts will give wind speed and direction

This site is good if you want a visual representation
    https://www.windy.com

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

You can also give mywindsock.com permission to access your strava feed to give you feedback on how strong the wind would have been on each part of your cycle.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Just a short 36k today...was looking forward to my descent down Cruagh road...then I got stuck behind some oul lad in a Merc driving down at 25/30k :(

56km out to Dunsany and back today. 31.6km/h which I was pleased with.

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »

I just use my normal app to get the direction, I can plan my route then.

The app is Weather Station.

You can also give mywindsock.com permission to access your strava feed to give you feedback on how strong the wind would have been on each part of your cycle.

56% headwind... The hurt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭North of 32

103km today including 5 repeats of an average 11% hill. I remember back in April the first time I did that hill I was so close to getting off and walking, just begging for mercy. It was quite satisfying to repeat the hill today, spinning up in my granny gear like a slow but relentless terminator.

I do struggle a lot after 80km, my back in particular. It's not painful as such it's more like I'm too weak to hold it in a comfortable position. Maybe I need to do some core exercises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭John Hutton

Did the Howth TT climb bit yesterday for the second time, didn't have to stop this time and got up in 13:54. Sounded like a steam train the whole way �� Never really climbed anything before so I was quite chuffed.

It was tough, how people climb the other side I have no idea.
    Did this again a couple of times and managed it in 12:31 today, hoping at some stage to get under 10 mins.

It's great to see so many people out and about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Did the Viking Sportif down in Wexford today. Glorious scenery and a very hot fast day. Odins beard though. The drivers down here are such asshats. A special mention must go to the cretin in a tractor who, after having plenty of opportunities to overtake safely decides that a blind 90 degree left bend on a 13% gradient hill was the optimal time to perform said manoeuvre. Needless to say he has a new understanding of Dub expletives after that particular stunt.

Did this again a couple of times and managed it in 12:31 today, hoping at some stage to get under 10 mins.

It's great to see so many people out and about

Excellent, currently bring that warrior myself. My issue seems to be pacing though, I die on the last stretch. Best time is 10.55iirc so I should beat that shortly

Picked up a nice KOM today myself, I went for it a couple of months ago and was tied for second (with wishbone ash funnily enough) but I decimated it today and no wind assistance. The previous record was 4.38 and my best was 4.54 but today I did it in 4.11 and had to back out at one point when a car close passed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,136 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I did the Tour of Tyrone today - 165k with 2,200m of climbing. I underestimated how tough it would be. No long climbs but endless sharp rises and descents so difficult to settle into any rhythm. I started off with the second group but was spat out the back door after about 5k. :D

https://www.strava.com/activities/1720651193

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,266 ✭✭✭nilhg

Did the Audax Ireland 24hr TT over the weekend, I'm no stranger to long rides but this was as hard as anything I've done before.

Started on the TT bike, went out too fast, copped on and told myself to slow down, was still going too fast, then my legs told me to cop on, listened to them, my stomach went out in sympathy with my legs, not a great situation just as it's getting dark. Switched to road bike before it got dark, different position helped with stomach, switched over to milk based foods, that sorted things eventually, didn't get the boost I was hoping for from the dawn, stopped to change shorts as I couldn't sit on saddle any more, found a bottle of coke while I was stopped, rocket fuel, new man after half the bottle, flew (relative terms) around the last lap, suddenly my target of 600km which I thought was slipping away was on again, back on the TT bike for the short laps, finished with 614km odd.

To say that I'm sore now doesn't really describe it, but that'll go away (beer is helping), still not sure I'd take another of these on though.

https://www.strava.com/activities/1720279824#43121972628

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭Qrt

I know this thread is mainly for the big league cyclists, but I'm currently in rural Germany where all the towns are connected by footpaths but labelled as cycle paths (because nobody walks on country roads). Anyway, I did an 18km round trip on an old rusting Dutch style bike to get a dodgy pizza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Takca wrote: »
    Something I've been meaning to do for sometime is cycle to Dublin, today was the day

I met the family in kinnegad for something to eat (they were driving up), at that stage my legs were in pain, I was feeling cold, tired and my cycling strength was fading fast, with 60km yet to go. A coke, milk, burger and neurophen later and I took off feeling a lot better and I was pretty much fine again for the rest of the trip. Not sure which of the above to give credit to but something worked. I had a slight tail wind for most it, nothing very strong but I was happy to have it.

https://www.strava.com/activities/1715875566

It looks like you're ready for http://www.audaxireland.org...

cdaly_ wrote: »
    It looks like you're ready for http://www.audaxireland.org...

Its something I have on my bucket list, but options are sparse this side of the country so I may need to make a weekend out of it at some stage. I had been hoping to do the one in ballina next month but it clashes with family stuff. The only other one around me is here in sligo but I aint going to be testing the audax waters with 300km...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,362 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

From dublin up cruagh, featherbeds to kippure gates then back. Was nice and warm/humid, til i turned and saw the black clouds over the city. Got absolutely drenched coming down stocking lane, i wear glasses and could hardly see anything and with it being after 8pm and under tree cover, it was also really dark. Sketchy enough descent, but got home and straight in for a shower. Passed a few hardier souls on the way up as i was going down...hope it cleared up for them

https://www.strava.com/activities/1723044729