Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

If I'm thinking of the right Pat Ryan he had a fairly short and not particularly eye-catching playing career with Cork - he was often a sub. As a manager he won a county title with Sarsfields. Not exactly a stellar CV.

Yea that’s him. Late 90s early noughtues as a fringe player. Would have come through on the same underage team as the Rock, Sean Og, Donal Og, Joe Deane etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭914

Cake Man wrote: »
    Anyone more familiar with Ryan care to give a bit of info on him? Haven’t heard of him before, did he play with Cork at any point? What are his strengths or in other words, if what’s said here is to be believed, why would the players have wanted him? Would any of our lads have played under him for colleges or anything like that? What kind of hurling does he play?

Think we played from 98ish up to 2002

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

If I'm thinking of the right Pat Ryan he had a fairly short and not particularly eye-catching playing career with Cork - he was often a sub. As a manager he won a county title with Sarsfields. Not exactly a stellar CV.

Yea that’s him. Late 90s early noughtues as a fringe player. Would have come through on the same underage team as the Rock, Sean Og, Donal Og, Joe Deane etc

Yeah, I think he won an All Ireland at U21 with them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

And so it begins....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Giveitfong

On Pat Ryan's background/credentials, check out:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pat_Ryan_(Cork_hurler)

https://www.eveningecho.ie/corksport/Cork-selector-Hartnett-hails-Pat-Ryans-coaching-for-Rebel-revival-ef4e5383-5e58-435f-9b45-f3ad9fe84ee3-ds

http://www.the42.ie/cork-hurling-pat-ryan-2990913-Sep2016/

Ryan was a member of the Cork panel which went on strike in 2002 for better conditions. He was dropped from the panel thereafter, but he was never an established member of the first team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Hardly set the world on fire has he....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

If Pat Ryan gets Waterford playing the style of hurling he coached Cork to play last year, I for one will be delighted. Time for a change from the defensive style of the last ten years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,653 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Deiseen wrote: »
    Hardly set the world on fire has he....

That's my worry a relatively unknown Rookie taking over. Prob nobody would of predicted a nobody taking over with all the BS about big names.

The selection committee must of been impressed with his plans and we might have him tied down in the next few weeks so he can have a look at the county championships for new players

If Pat Ryan gets Waterford playing the style of hurling he coached Cork to play last year, I for one will be delighted. Time for a change from the defensive style of the last ten years.

My worry is, he has next to no experience. A county club title and a senior intercounty selector position he has to his name.

I expected more for someone who is going to take over our "golden generation"

Please see below a statement from Tom McGlinchy regarding his decision to step down as Waterford Senior Football Manager!

‘I wish to inform The Board of Waterford GAA that i will not be seeking another term as Bainisteoir for the Senior Football team. I want to take this opportunity to thank the County Board Officers, the Backroom Staff and especially the Players for their honesty, integrity and commitment during my 4 year tenure and I wish the team and Waterford GAA all the best in the future.

Tom McGlinchey’

Waterford County Board would like to thank Tom for all his hard work and dedication to Waterford Football over the last 4 years and his commitment to progressing and promoting football at all times during his time in charge. The Board would like to wish Tom every success for the future!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 hz5309ofgkc7pe

cul beag wrote: »
    Pat Ryan is our new manager apparently.

Hope he invites the Lismore lads onto panel Culbeag👍

PTH2009 wrote: »

That's my worry a relatively unknown Rookie taking over. Prob nobody would of predicted a nobody taking over with all the BS about big names.

The selection committee must of been impressed with his plans and we might have him tied down in the next few weeks so he can have a look at the county championships for new players

He’s unknown to you doesn’t mean he is unknown to everyone else or not the best man for the job. Give us a break on the negativity for one day at least

The guy isn't unknown but his CV is definitely lacking a bit. I would have expected more to be honest. But hopefully I am proven wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

Very harsh to call the man a “nobody”

Motivator wrote: »

Very harsh to call the man a “nobody”

Think he just means in terms of what he has achieved. He might be an unreal coach but McGrath seems to have had slightly more success at managing than him, before taking the Waterford job. Unless i am mistaken...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Think he just means in terms of what he has achieved. He might be an unreal coach but McGrath seems to have had slightly more success at managing than him, before taking the Waterford job. Unless i am mistaken...

And Mattie Kenny would have a better CV aswell.

The guy isn't unknown but his CV is definitely lacking a bit. I would have expected more to be honest. But hopefully I am proven]

Arguably a stronger cv than Derek McGrath ever had before he took the job and a much more forward thinking approach to the game were led to beleive.

http://hoganstand.com/Article/Index/288118

Prob be confirmed next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

When i first read the posts on this here i thought it was about a new replacement manager for the Football team that people were giving out about. :eek: looks like the normal cheap as chips appointment from the county board, but who knows, maybe a left field appointment may work and this guy turns out to be the next big thing.

If Brian Cody showed up, and said "hey, ill do it for free" then i would understand not proceeding with more interviews and just take him.

But whats the rush with this guy? Whats the need to jump into it and not look at anyone else just because he has showed up?

If Brian Cody showed up, and said "hey, ill do it for free" then i would understand not proceeding with more interviews and just take him.

But whats the rush with this guy? Whats the need to jump into it and not look at anyone else just because he has showed up?

Yea I guess we don’t really know what has gone on behind the scenes as regards interviewing. It’s known that Matty Kenny was definetly interviewed and Brendan Cummins it seems aswell. There was talk of Fergal Hartley too but the one everyone seemed to think would get it was Sean Power but don’t know if he was even considered.

The biggest surprise for me is how quick the co board has acted on all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭parish girl

I heard the players have got the man they wanted so that's good enough for me. Hoping we will quit the bitching and let the man get on with the job. Seems to me no matter who was appointed some people here would find a reason to complain. Too fast/ too slow/ too cheap/ too dear/#county board can do nothing right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Yea I guess we don’t really know what has gone on behind the scenes as regards interviewing. It’s known that Matty Kenny was definetly interviewed and Brendan Cummins it seems aswell. There was talk of Fergal Hartley too but the one everyone seemed to think would get it was Sean Power but don’t know if he was even considered.

The biggest surprise for me is how quick the co board has acted on all this.

They knew months ago that a new manager would be required. Despite all the nonsense spouted on here and elsewhere there was only ever a couple of candidates. Nothing quick about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭redlead

Waterford is probably the only top county that routinely gives the manager job to rookie managers now. Wouldn't happen in most counties or even most sports. It's handy for these guys to learn their trade with some top class players. Sean Power must be scratching his head.

This county board aren't fit to run a seniors five a side league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭914

At the moment in hurling they are not a lot of managers floating around with inter county experience.

Have heard unsure how true this is, that sean power wasn't interested due to time commitments etc...

I Think no matter who we opt for, we would have doubts and concerns. Under the two previous cork managers we have had success and a great style of play.

Here's hoping we return to some of that flare.

Its Still 6 months til the new season and new management team will have plenty of time to prepare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

I heard the players have got the man they wanted so that's good enough for me. Hoping we will quit the bitching and let the man get on with the job. Seems to me no matter who was appointed some people here would find a reason to complain. Too fast/ too slow/ too cheap/ too dear/#county board can do nothing right

Can't imagine how the players would have a strong view on Pat Ryan one way or the other. As far as I know he hasn't worked with any of them. OK, players talk nowadays and maybe a few of the Waterford players have heard good reports of him from a few of the Cork players. But how that become "the players have got the man they wanted" is too much of a stretch for me.

Having said all that, he was highly highly regarded as a top class coach by the players during his short stint with Cork. So perhaps ye have pulled an ace from the pack by chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

Glad that that’s been put to bed, should bring a bit of freshness and new ideas/players to the panel. Already looking forward to the league :D

The club championship is the only show in town for now though.