Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I love the sellers name too, Spacer. Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Would suit a Suzuki main dealer as a promotional car

would he g'way out of that. 'come see the awful econoboxes we used to make in the nineties' is hardly the same as going to a bmw garage with a showroom M5 that took part in a race or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

.red. wrote: »
    What would that actually be worth? Obviously that price is utterly mad but is it rare enough that it would fetch a price if mint? I wouldn't drive it anyway!

I'm pretty certain a good one with nct and tax was advertised in the last 12 months for 950

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭.red.

I drove a 1l automatic one of them around new Zealand. Did about 1500k in a few weeks, mostly driving hills like mountains. Worst car I've ever drove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭liam7831

What a spacer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Nice car but he’s dreaming if he thinks someone is going to swap “property or land with an old house” for his 96 camero.

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/19270093

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

.red. wrote: »
    I drove a 1l automatic one of them around new Zealand. Did about 1500k in a few weeks, mostly driving hills like mountains. Worst car I've ever drove.

Suzuki notSwift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭circadian

Is Arnie driving that? Where are the front seats?!

Nice car but he’s dreaming if he thinks someone is going to swap “property or land with an old house” for his 96 camero.

Property or land for a fecking Camero. Sweet baby cheesis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭jelutong

160 BHP = Muscle Car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Lol even my civic is faster than that.

Presume that’s a Canadian model, with the km/h clocks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

lol.giflol.giflol.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Wildcard7

circadian wrote: »

Did you not read the ad? It's a very REAR car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Wildcard7 wrote: »
    Did you not read the ad? It's a very REAR car.

I always think megane when REAr is spoken about....

That or a really hot piece of tail.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

jelutong wrote: »
    160 BHP = Muscle Car?

Its an American V6...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

It's pretty embarrassing having a 3.4 with only 160bhp

EPAndlee wrote: »
    It's pretty embarrassing having a 3.4 with only 160bhp

Years back I had a mustang with a 302 engine, a 5ltr V8

120bhp from the factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Torque is where it's at.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 theviilkas

circadian wrote: »

Property or land for a fecking Camero. Sweet baby cheesis.

some yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

knipex wrote: »
    Years back I had a mustang with a 302 engine, a 5ltr V8

120bhp from the factory.

They have low RON rating petrol in the US (Or are least the used to have)
    So they needed big capacity engines to get the power.

Also because the engines are under less stress, they can use cheaper components.
    A lot of older muscle cars are very agricultural in their design because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭tcawley29

grahambo wrote: »

Also because the engines are under less stress, they can use cheaper components.
    A lot of older muscle cars are very agricultural in their design because of this.

Still do. I think its 87 here for the cheap stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

tcawley29 wrote: »
    Still do. I think its 87 here for the cheap stuff

RON87!!!!???

I thought it was RON91 or something, 87 is v low.

RON87!!!!???

Here ya go :)

https://www.exxon.com/en/unleaded-gasoline

Cheap as chips though.

I got 7.199 gallons for $19 when I was on a business trip in Virginia last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,944 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

RON87!!!!???

they dont use RON ratings in the states do though? that is a european thing. A rating of 91 at the pump in the US is the equivalent of 95 RON and 87 in the states is the equivalent of 91 RON here.

http://www.pencilgeek.org/2009/05/octane-rating-conversions.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

As with so many things, the Americans do things differently to the rest of the world.

They use the average of MON (Motor Octane Number) and RON (Research Octane Number - what most of the rest of the world uses, including us) to get AKI (anti-knock index), colloquially known as 'octane'. MON is typically 6 to 12 units lower than the RON equivalent, but they are not the same, as they are measured at different engine speeds.

87 AKI (or '87 octane' in US English) = 91 RON
    91 AKI = 95 RON
    93 AKI ('premium gas') = 98 RON

As with so many things, the Americans do things differently to the rest of the world.

They use the average of MON (Motor Octane Number) and RON (Research Octane Number - what most of the rest of the world uses, including us) to get AKI (anti-knock index), colloquially known as 'octane'. MON is typically 6 to 12 units lower than the RON equivalent, but they are not the same, as they are measured at different engine speeds.

87 AKI (or '87 octane' in US English) = 91 RON
    91 AKI = 95 RON
    93 AKI ('premium gas') = 98 RON

I always buy the cheap stuff to be honest. Its going into a rental car with less than 10k miles on it usually and I never see the effects of the next tank :)

To be fair power dropped hugely int eh 70's as a result of emission controls and only came back to the point where a 302 engine passed 200bhp in the 90's.

Agricultural is a good description, I also like lazy.

Big heavy steel lumps, over sized over weight and (in some ways) over engineered. Big unstressed blocks that physically incapable of revving.. get them anywhere near a red-line and valves will start hopping, springs snapping and holes will appear in blocks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

swap “property or land with an old house”
    Saw that (or the other 1 in the country) a good few years ago at a garage in donabate.

Young naive me thought to myself, "jaysus, must be worth 20 grand!".

Saw it online for 5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

2010, 5 door, white, low-ish spec 110k miles 1200 tax S3

Yours for a snip at only 17,500 euro and yes he is serious :eek:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-s3/19257863

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Note that there are 2 owners in Ireland yet he brought it in from the UK.

Seller also has an FQ300 and a diesel Maestro for sale, which to be fair you have to admire him for having.