Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭914

DiTk3gSW0AA4D2I.jpg

Jaysus lads this whole Walsh Park debate has really put the cat amongst the pigeons!

We're starting to turn into an embarrassment down here. What should have been good news for waterford has really blown up in the gaa and county boards face.

A lot of he said, they said. If the county board were strong enough they should have just rose above it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

35,000 EUR for travel expenses for a match??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 dboss

PTH2009 wrote: »
    He gave a lot of money/cars etc to Waterford GAA over the past few years and losing that will be damaging

Can't see an outside manager coming in now unless another backer is found

No he gave a lot of money to the Waterford senior hurling manager not to Waterford GAA,Never seen a football manager driving a TM car.Like the rest of his entitled to go to his club AGM(if he has one) and put himself into these positions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Fred C Dobbs

This is straight out of Fr. Ted. Don’t be surprised if the county board next issues a statement titled “down with that sort of thing”.

Any potential external manager looking on is about to make himself scarce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

dboss wrote: »
    No he gave a lot of money to the Waterford senior hurling manager not to Waterford GAA,Never seen a football manager driving a TM car.Like the rest of his entitled to go to his club AGM(if he has one) and put himself into these positions

Very well said. I believe he never gave any money to Waterford county board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭enoughtaken

dboss wrote: »
    He gave a lot of money/cars etc to Waterford GAA over the past few years and losing that will be damaging

Can't see an outside manager coming in now unless another backer is found

Agree. The county board haven’t come out good in this episode. But they have planning In for Walsh Park. A 15,000 stadium to me is good if it’s built to a good and acceptable standard. Murphy and Cullen IMO out of order. Join your local club and put yourself forward for selection for the county board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Agree. The county board haven’t come out good in this episode. But they have planning In for Walsh Park. A 15,000 stadium to me is good if it’s built to a good and acceptable standard. Murphy and Cullen IMO out of order. Join your local club and put yourself forward for selection for the county board.

Absolutely right. Just because he throws money at it doesn’t give him the right to come out and insult all before him. We all have sent money into the kitty through one way or another over the years but we’re also keeping the clubs we’re involved with alive by keeping the grassroots active. Let him throw his money at his club(whatever club that is) and take on the county board from that angle. Blowing his own trumpet on the local paper says enough about him.
    Can you see JP McManus lowering himself to this level? Different class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

Pity Tom Murphy's sales team don't treat the common car buyer with the same respect he apparently offers towards the Waterford hurling team. He's probably right about a lot of things in fairness but the way he's going about it is bang out of order for what is supposed to be an amateur organisation. He's acting like the team owner! I'm sure the county board are grateful for all he's done and clearly they are a bit clueless but I wouldn't blame them at all if they banned him from Walsh Park after that sort of carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

fairly short sighted out of our great chairman ringing a sponsor telling him he is no longer welcome in Walsh park! Waterford GAA is a complete farce a the moment. The monkeys running it wouldn't run a bath. Term up next year be another round of musical chairs. Sad.
    Lucky man getting himself barred from Walsh Park, Id be happy if I never had to go in to that kip again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

seems the CB haven't got their man. John Allen was approached but has turned down the job. Allen spoke to several players over the past week and made his decision known over the weekend to the CB.

Good to see we are looking outside the county and not some of the thrash inside it

Gardner wrote: »
    seems the CB haven't got their man. John Allen was approached but has turned down the job. Allen spoke to several players over the past week and made his decision known over the weekend to the CB.

Good to see we are looking outside the county and not some of the thrash inside it
    I would have been surprised if he was to take it. He only gave one year with Limerick a few years back and  indicated he didn't have the appetite for intercounty management anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,653 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Was DJ Carey approached ??

Cummins can talk the talk on the Sunday game but so could Donal Og Cusack and it didn't really work out with him in Clare when he was part of the management team.

Saw on the paper public meeting about the redevelopment of Walsh Park tonight at 7.30pm in St Paul's community hall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Gardner wrote: »

Have you the right Cork man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭thesaturdayman

lets assume Walsh park does go ahead.

how pres tell are we going to host any concerts / events to generate cash & take the huge burden off the clubs who are currently part financing our fine county board / divisional boards?

You can be damned sure we won't get planning for an Ed Sheeran or a Bruce Springsteen concert!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

lets assume Walsh park does go ahead.

how pres tell are we going to host any concerts / events to generate cash & take the huge burden off the clubs who are currently part financing our fine county board / divisional boards?

You can be damned sure we won't get planning for an Ed Sheeran or a Bruce Springsteen concert!

The WP upgrade comes in at 6 mil of which the 1 mil is accountable to Waterford. This to be that paid off in 10 years. The expectation is to have at least 1 championship game (2 under current format) every year. Each game should generate 120000 to 150000 euro each (45% take) . That would mean the cost to Waterford of the Walsh Park upgrade should be covered in 4/5 years if current format is kept. Of course this is not the only revenue stream. Progressing in the Championship ie Munster finals and All Ireland finals bring in a lot of money. To progress in the Championship we need a home. The other option to Walsh Park with upgrade is league semi finals or u20/21 All Ireland semi, this is in addition to domestic stuff.

I don't know if WP is too small for Ed Sheeran or Bruce Springsteen regardless of planning. You would need the Event Stadium in Carriganore to be able to bring in those acts. Pat Flynn stated in the Munster that Carriganore would cost 36 million, the debt burden to Waterford in developing that stadium would be 17million. 17 million is a lot of gigs. According to the examiner newspaper ED Sheeran played to 120,000 people over 3 nights in Cork this year it earned Cork GAA 1.2 mill that = 10 euro a fan (Ed got 2 mill btw). Taking this example of 10 euro a fan. Thats 1/4 mill take per sell out show at Carrignore with 25,000. Thats 4x17=68 Ed sheeran gigs to pay off the stadium using the ED Sheeran matrix. There would be no guarantee you would get anyone to fill the stadium. Maybe Cork hurlers every two years and a big act every 2 years. Nowlan Park and Pearse stadium get a decent gig on average every 2 years.

3ships wrote: »
    The WP upgrade comes in at 6 mil of which the 1 mil is accountable to Waterford. This to be that paid off in 10 years. The expectation is to have at least 1 championship game (2 under current format) every year. Each game should generate 120000 to 150000 euro each (45% take) . That would mean the cost to Waterford of the Walsh Park upgrade should be covered in 4/5 years if current format is kept. Of course this is not the only revenue stream. Progressing in the Championship ie Munster finals and All Ireland finals bring in a lot of money. To progress in the Championship we need a home. The other option to Walsh Park with upgrade is league semi finals or u20/21 All Ireland semi, this is in addition to domestic stuff.

I don't know if WP is too small for Ed Sheeran or Bruce Springsteen regardless of planning. You would need the Event Stadium in Carriganore to be able to bring in those acts. Pat Flynn stated in the Munster that Carriganore would cost 36 million, the debt burden to Waterford in developing that stadium would be 17million. 17 million is a lot of gigs. According to the examiner newspaper ED Sheeran played to 120,000 people over 3 nights in Cork this year it earned Cork GAA 1.2 mill that = 10 euro a fan (Ed got 2 mill btw). Taking this example of 10 euro a fan. Thats 1/4 mill take per sell out show at Carrignore with 25,000. Thats 4x17=68 Ed sheeran gigs to pay off the stadium using the ED Sheeran matrix. There would be no guarantee you would get anyone to fill the stadium. Maybe Cork hurlers every two years and a big act every 2 years. Nowlan Park and Pearse stadium get a decent gig on average every 2 years.

They could get a smaller act or maybe move the Daytripper festival up when the place is built ??

Not every decent stadium in Ireland gets gigs every year and Waterford has already been known to be a hard place to sell event tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

They could get a smaller act or maybe move the Daytripper festival up when the place is built ??

Not every decent stadium in Ireland gets gigs every year and Waterford has already been known to be a hard place to sell event tickets

the residents near WP wouldn't go for the like of the Daytripper anyway. Ye might get Ed Sheeran or Bruce Springsteen thru. If Ed Sheeran pocketed 660,000 per gig in Cork that 13,000 tickets at 50 euro to cover him alone before anything else, The capacity would be held at 15000. At a guess ye could get something like Niall Horan to make money but not much and it could actually go wrong as well and lose money. the excellent looking ATN festival in Portlaw will run at a loss with 10000 people there for the weekend hopefully itll be 15000 and it has a future.

If serious private money came in now with a music promoter is the only way Carraiganore would have a chance. Loads of people mention Carraginore but where's the numbers. Has there even been a gig of note in the WIT arena yet ,,,the Coronas or that level. Would the Greenway/train to City centre provide it with a unique selling point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭914

A good crowd turned up in St Pauls tonight regarding walsh park. Main concerns seemed to be traffic/parking.

County board listened to all residents and will be returning in two weeks with further answers and update with a traffic plan etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

3ships wrote: »

Finally someone speaking a bit of sense.

New favourite for the managers job

Pat Ryan who is 7/4

Who ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭RodVelvet

Former Cork Hurling player, coach & selector I think.

RodVelvet wrote: »

Good enough for the Job ?

New favourite for the managers job

Pat Ryan who is 7/4

Who ???
    RodVelvet wrote: »

Yes that's him, Sarsfields man.
    Heard good things about him in the club scene down in Cork
    Id nearly be more confident hearing these lesser&#160 known being linked than the obvious ones. Its a sign that someone is actually doing their research about who are the highly rated up and coming coaches around at the moment, as opposed to just rattling off the same old names everytime a job comes up

Yes that's him, Sarsfields man.
    Heard good things about him in the club scene down in Cork
    Id nearly be more confident hearing these lesser  known being linked than the obvious ones. Its a sign that someone is actually doing their research about who are the highly rated up and coming coaches around at the moment, as opposed to just rattling off the same old names everytime a job comes up

Personally not too ecstatic about this guy taking over but he could surprise me if he does in fact get the job. I'm worried about his lack of managerial experience. All in good managing a club team in Cork but a senior intercounty team in another county

He could have a strong backroom team which I think he will need

Being in 1B might be what we need and possibly entering those pre season tournaments again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

914 wrote: »
    A good crowd turned up in St Pauls tonight regarding walsh park. Main concerns seemed to be traffic/parking.

County board listened to all residents and will be returning in two weeks with further answers and update with a traffic plan etc...
    Good to know. Getting this right is far more important than making sure Ed Sheeran's candy bowl isn't contaminated with brown M&M's.

To be fair.

I dont accept the e36m line, nor do I accept the proposed Walsh park sale price in the current climate.

Pour cold water all you wish over concerts and potential loss making, but if you had industry professionals in place who booked proper bands 2-3 times max annually (not Jedward and the high kings etc) talking Liam Gal, Bruce, Rod Stewart, Ed Sheeran etc. The benefits locally by way of ripple economic effects in pubs hotels restaurants etc would bring the "GAA" to a wider community. Which Is what Is needed in Waterford not the current closed shop.

What a typical Waterford answer - we could make a loss! BS how come Kilkenny town can do it and Waterford city can't? Come off it. People will support good quality acts, Waterford has a huge music scene. L

Re the stadium is the forward thinking that is needed, we have no chance of getting any such big box events in Walsh Park not with planning anything. Kilkenny made 125k per Bruce Gig. If the Co Board had the wherewithal to run 3 a year, instead of taking circa 2500 per club by way of levies, they could give clubs that back nd still make circa 250k cash in the paw per annum, build damaged relations with Joe Public & dramatically increase goodwill within the county.

We are stuck in a time warp, literally with our officers and mentally with our thinking. Walsh park should not be accepted as the only show in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

To be fair.

I dont accept the e36m line, nor do I accept the proposed Walsh park sale price in the current climate.

Pour cold water all you wish over concerts and potential loss making, but if you had industry professionals in place who booked proper bands 2-3 times max annually (not Jedward and the high kings etc) talking Liam Gal, Bruce, Rod Stewart, Ed Sheeran etc. The benefits locally by way of ripple economic effects in pubs hotels restaurants etc would bring the "GAA" to a wider community. Which Is what Is needed in Waterford not the current closed shop.

What a typical Waterford answer - we could make a loss! BS how come Kilkenny town can do it and Waterford city can't? Come off it. People will support good quality acts, Waterford has a huge music scene. L

Re the stadium is the forward thinking that is needed, we have no chance of getting any such big box events in Walsh Park not with planning anything. Kilkenny made 125k per Bruce Gig. If the Co Board had the wherewithal to run 3 a year, instead of taking circa 2500 per club by way of levies, they could give clubs that back nd still make circa 250k cash in the paw per annum, build damaged relations with Joe Public & dramatically increase goodwill within the county.

We are stuck in a time warp, literally with our officers and mentally with our thinking. Walsh park should not be accepted as the only show in town.

All well and good comparing to Kilkenny and Nowlan Park but you’re then asking for 3 gigs each year? How many gigs has Nowlan Park hosted in the last 5 years where they made that type of money? How many concerts have Wexford hosted as a matter of interest?
    I don’t think it’s as simple as you make it out to be.

how many people live in Waterford city by comparison to those other towns? At least twice as many. Also Wexford has a number of equally sized population bases. Within 10-15km of city accounts of 80% of population - before you talk about drawing from other close by counties - kk wx tipp carlow.

How many years is Daytripper running (successfully), upgrade the acts to include a Liam Gallagher - big box act. Being honest I think its very simple. If you pay peanuts you will get monkeys, if you have ambition & go for something big you will reap rewards, maybe not absolutely straight away, but you can build and develop something. Live at the Marquee for eg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

The way some people go on, you'd swear Nowlan Park was built for the specific purpose of bringing Bruce Springsteen to town. Sorry, city. Nowlan Park was built to host Gaelic games. Over the years they gradually improved it, with a few hiccups along the way, and holding the odd concert there is gravy on top of that primary mission of, you know, playing matches. If building a 25,000 capacity venue is such an obvious boon to the business community of Waterford City and County, then someone with the entrepreneurial brilliance of Tom Murphy should be coming up with the capital for it. Heck, we'll even name the stadium after whoever does it! Can't say fairer than that. Perish the thought that Tom and his ilk are engaging in some rent-seeking where profits are privatised and losses are socialised.

to answer your question - Rod Stewart x2, Dolly Parton, Brucex2 & Bob Dylan.