Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018 pt3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Pogba been brilliant tonight and practically man marking fellaini Its amazing what he can do when he is putting a bit of effort in.

Think we can put these lack of freedom stories to bed now and formations. Enough of making excuses for him too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,470 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

TheDoc wrote: »
    No worries.

Mourinho bucks his trend and achieves this coming season with harmony and everyone pulling in one direction we can all enjoy it together and you won’t hear much nonsense from me :)

I won't be hearing anything from you, good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

jayo26 wrote: »
    Pogba been brilliant tonight and practically man marking fellaini Its amazing what he can do when he is putting a bit of effort in.

Think we can put these lack of freedom stories to bed now and formations. Enough of making excuses for him too.

I think what helps Pogba with France is having 2 workhorses in Kante and Matuidi, but mostly international football is generally slower paced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    I think what helps Pogba with France is having 2 workhorses in Kante and Matuidi, also international football is generally slower paced.

Not in a world cup semi final...

Also i think Pogba and jose dont see eye to eye. I doubt he is enjoying playing under him

I think what helps Pogba with France is having 2 workhorses in Kante and Matuidi, but mostly international football is generally slower paced.

I think what helps him is he is trying he is putting in a serious defensive effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

Witsel having a great game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭KH25

jayo26 wrote: »

I think what helps him is he is trying he is putting in a serious defensive effort.
    Agree. He’s not just sitting up front trying to beat 4 players at once. He’s tracking back and working hard and it’s great to see.

Em. Nearly everyone on the other team plays in the PL...

Liam O wrote: »
    Em. Nearly everyone on the other team plays in the PL...

They sure do, but it still looks slower paced with players putting on less pressure, with them only putting on pressure when the opposition is well inside the other half.

I'll also say that Pogba seems to be playing a more simpler game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Tickets for Spurs at home (Monday August 27th 8pm) available at manutd.com if anyone is interested. Need to have membership.

Picked up two tickets there. Was previously showing as “members application”.

Jaysus that was a great pass by Pogba

Delighted for France, delighted for Pogba. Immense tonight

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Sorry for Lukaku and Fellaini. Had a great World Cup and was hoping they'd win the thing.

But fair play France. Think they will beat whichever of EnglNd or Crotatia they get now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭Quandary

Very composed, disciplined and hungry performance from Pogba. Fair play to him. Hopefully he can do it for us this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,083 ✭✭✭✭adox

I’m not really delighted for Pogba. It’s nothing that we don’t know. There is a top player in there somewhere.

I’d be more happy if he produced for Utd in a regular basis. We can blame the manager, formations etc etc but really he has to look at himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

Pogba was great tonight, hopefully he saves some of that selflessness and good decision making for the club that pay his wages this coming season.

adox wrote: »
    I’m not really delighted for Pogba. It’s nothing that we don’t know. There is a top player in there somewhere.

I’d be more happy if he produced for Utd in a regular basis. We can blame the manager, formations etc etc but really he has to look at himself.

100 percent agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Pogbas been decent for most the tournament but it helps when have kante and matudi around you.

He has worked hard though I just think the French team is set up better for him though.

Pogba > dembele

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

bangkok wrote: »
    Pogba > dembele

Kante > Pogba

Matuidi > Pogba

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

adox wrote: »

Exactly. The problem wasn’t that it’s a position he can’t play.

I suppose those excusing his poor performances for united will fall back in blaming the manager cause it’s hard to argue because we just don’t know if it’s true or not!

Lukaku will be very disapointed tonight. Never got into the game at all. Little service but in general play didnt do much

Pogbas been decent for most the tournament but it helps when have kante and matudi around you.

He has worked hard though I just think the French team is set up better for him though.

He has worked hard and showed more discipline. Neither of which he looked in many occasions for united. You can do both these things as a minimum playing with different quality of players....

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Kante > Pogba

Matuidi > Pogba

Not tonight..

Drumpot wrote: »
    He has worked hard and showed more discipline. Neither of which he looked in many occasions for united. You can do both these things as a minimum playing with different quality of players....

If he goes on and wins world cup this weekend and goes straight into that united team and under performs again at start new season I just don't know.

That would be heartbreaking.... He’s shown he can be a top player. If he brings this form back to united it will be like a new signing. Then if Sanchez finds form ...

I mean when you think about the potential of those two players and how strong united would be if they work out whatever issues they are having , it could be an exciting season. We finished second with neither on full throttle!!!

He wont go straight into the team. Will prob miss start of season now france are in the final. Wont get any pre season.

Drumpot wrote: »
    That would be heartbreaking.... He’s shown he can be a top player. If he brings this form back to united it will be like a new signing. Then if Sanchez finds form ...

I mean when you think about the potential of those two players and how strong united would be if they work out whatever issues they are having , it could be an exciting season. We finished second with neither on full throttle!!!

Until it happens it's all ifs unfortunately.

There's no reason why they can't improve massively next season.

bangkok wrote: »
    He wont go straight into the team. Will prob miss start of season now france are in the final. Wont get any pre season.

I know but I meant when he goes straight back into the United team after this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

City signed Mahrez. Good signing.

Our right wing remains a barren, desolate wasteland.